Sandals Grande Ocho Rios Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Ocho Rios > Ocho Rios Hotel Index > Sandals Grande Ocho Rios reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Ocho Rios Hotels with Similar Ranking

Couples Sans Souci

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 23, 2010

Beaches Boscobel Ocho Rios

3.6 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed May 2, 2013

Riu Ocho Rios

3.2 based on 33 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 21, 2017

Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort & Spa

1.6 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 16, 2012

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios  

Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica

"I'm totally under-whelmed, the worst stay I've ever had so stay away!!"
Posted by: richard on Mar 13, 2013
see all reviews

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios Reviews
Sandals Grande Ocho Rios Pictures and Information
Sandals Grande Ocho Rios Ocho Rios Jamaica

#2
of 16 Hotels in Ocho Rios

User rating 3.3

Based on 19 reviews

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios Information


Sandals Grande Ocho Rios far exceeds the most lavish dreams of couples searching for that ideal lovers' getaway in the tropic

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios Reviews

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios Review: 3.3 of 5 19 reviews
Excellent
  7
Very good
  2
Average
  2
Poor
  5
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (15)
Wedding (3)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
With friend (1)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (12)
Solo
11 - 19 of 19

"HORROR SHOW!!! DIRTY DIRTY DIRTY!!!"

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Sandals Grande Ocho Rios Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Cass  on Mar 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
898 people found this review helpful

If you like to stay in dirty motels then you'll love this resort. We stayed on the Manor side in a villa(Paid extra to have our own private pool). We arrived upon our villa to see that pool looked like a lagoon...It hadn't been vaccumed for god knows how long,the patio was black from all the dirt,and there were towels left on the old,needed to be repaired lounge chairs. I'm guessing they were from the previous guests that left towels and noone came to clean up the pool. We got into our villa..we didn't even wanna take our shoes off the floor was soo dirty. We than inspected the rest of the villa..we found hair(NOT OURS!!) In the bath tub.The kitchen was really crappy,with an old dirty fridge filled with crap drinks and no name booze. You couldn't make a rez for dinner so when dinner came around if you didnt wait on line outside for 45min before the restaurant opened you would have to eat at the buffet(which was aweful) The only good restaurant was Valentinos.All others were low grade crap food. The beach was very small on the riviera side.Not to mention the hammering because of construction while trying to relax by the beach.The pool on the manor side was dirty with mold growning on the swim up bar...And top shelf liquor consisted of JD and Cointreau..everything else was no name crap...so forget about a good martini..The nitelife was aweful..They had nothing going on and the activities for the day were the same EVERYDAY!!! WORST VACATION EVER!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not safe!!!"

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Sandals Grande Ocho Rios Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  kathy  on Mar 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
935 people found this review helpful

We stayed at Sandals in Ocho Rios for 6 nights and I would not recommend this resort to anyone!! The second day we were there I had $850.00 stolen from my safe. The next day our son had his Iphone stolen from the room. The next day my daughter had a glass taken from her room and when she asked the conciere about it, somehow it reappeared.
Our son's fiancee had her credit card used for unauthorized purchases and when we came home our son-in-law had his debit card used for unauthorized purchases

We were told we would receive a copy of the report taken from security before we left and never have received it yet! When asked if we had travel insurance we told them we didn't and they said that was too bad. Maybe they need to get insurance for their employee's sticky fingers!

The hotel is beautiful and the bar service great but staying here will cost a lot more than what you paid for your trip!!

Room Block:
7501-7504

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice resort-Staff very friendly"

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Sandals Grande Ocho Rios Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  rory  on Mar 11, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
888 people found this review helpful

My wife and I just got back on March 9,2011, The taxi ride was a wild experience, next time we'll just wait for the bus ride. The taxi ride makes for a fun story to tell our firends. We had a conciere room, villa with a pool. Nice room and clean. Frig. always stocked with what we wanted. Full size bottle of alcholo, beer,water,etc. I dont wont spend to extra money next time on the conciere, cuz we didnt really spend that much time in your room. Resort is big and alot of activits to do, nice little places to hange out and hide with your partner. All the food is good alot of drinking its one big party. All the bartners are really cool and fun and they will drink along with you. Go see a bartdender is nike namey is CHUG he works in the sports bar on the beach. But over all i would recomend this resort all the staff is very friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The best time ever"

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Sandals Grande Ocho Rios Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Phil  on May 23, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2011 | Wedding | With Spouse/Partner
854 people found this review helpful

Well my spouse and i just got back from sandals on our honeymoon. And it blew our mind i would give it 20 out of 10 the staff was so nice, it was so clean , alot of stuff to do besides just swim they had beach partys, and they have playmakers that get paid to just have fun and make the guest happy. Just got back sunday and already booked our 1 yr anniv trip to there lol. Was thinking about tryin a different location at first but since we know everyone there.

Room Number:
7530

Room Block:
Villa

Arrival:
As soon as we got there we got a tour and of course had a jamaican smile daquri, pina colida , and rum

Rooms:
The room was great always had a stocked fridge, had bottles of liquar, plenty of coffie and the do the towl folding on the bed and flowers all over the bed was very romantic.

Restaurants and Bars:
They had 2 swim up bars and 3 night clubs/bars was always a good time at jamies sports bar at night and a polo club bar, they had 2 grills and 4 restaurants and a couple formal ones where have to dres up.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the had a big pool at the manor side that was so huge and had another on by the grill with a slide, and on the riveraa side had a nice size one with a swim up bar and. And the beach was amazing clear blue water warm water nice sandy beach very clean.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Ok this is where we first met anton,joel,kimberly,lori and others they are the playmakers aka entertament team they were in charge with coming up with activites they had a couple's game show. reggae party, all white party, live music and talent,shows and so so much more on the resort they had snorklin, salin, glass bottom boat, giant pictionary,alot of drinking games, rock climbing, fish a prize, casino night. Off the resort they have dolphin cove u can swin with dolphins ,snorkel with sting rays, feed sharks,. And the have zipling through the forest was alwsome , bamboo rafting was very relaxing and nice for couples to do, atv, horse back riding and swim, they have a hugh wallfall place where you can walk in the falls,and lil amusement place with bobsled ride, they will take you ofcouple off the resort and let you shop at local merchants was really nice to interact with the locals and help te out with money for there work they take so much pride in what they make

Other Comments:
I suggest anyone that is thinking of going to sandals go to ochio rios gran rivera the best had so much fun the best place ever felt like family they treat you so nice even the locals, its not dirty over there they take pride in there country, tough us alot of vauable lesson's. And all food and drinks are included what else can u ask for was woth every penny only a year to go till we will be back lol. Anyone has ?'s dont be affarid to ask i will elp you

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disappointing..."

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Sandals Grande Ocho Rios Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sandra  on Jun 29, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
871 people found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I stayed on the Riviera Beach side and let me tell you, WE WILL NEVER COME BACK HERE AGAIN! We've been to many places before Ocho Rios, e.g. Dominican Republic, Cancun, Cuba, Costa Rica... and Jamaica, is at the bottom of our list. We were not expecting to have the time of our lives, but even relaxing on the beach front was not enjoyable. The water was dirty and not clear/blue like expected and the sand was not white and SOOOOOO dirty as well! The food was also NOT up to par and coffee (which I need every morning), was SUCH a disappointment. The only thing that we were satisfied with was our actual hotel room, however, we woke up every morning to the sounds of construction as they were renovating. We sure didn't get our money's worth for this trip. At best and I mean at ABSOLUTE BEST, this should have been a 4 star resort, NOT 5!!!! (and believe me, 1 star difference can make a huge difference in price...especially going from anything to a 5) Of course, everyone has their own expectations and maybe ours were a bit high seeing we've had such great experiences our other vacations. Take my review with a grain of salt and do your research. If you do end up coming here, I really hope you have a better time than we did.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"They won't let me tell u how bad it was!"

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Sandals Grande Ocho Rios Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Marc  on Mar 29, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
781 people found this review helpful

We were so dissappointed by our experience. The Travel Agent had convinced us that we had finally reached a level of income and age that a Sandals vacation was warranted. That we had earned the "best of the best" and all they did was take our money and treat us poorly. We have been to several "all-inclusives" and this one just took our money and our pride away.

Arrival:
Flight departed from Toronto on Sunday January 15 and returned on January 22.

Rooms:
We arrived at the resort only to find silence. There was no one available, which was fine, but the shuttle driver was reluctant to let us remove our own bags from the vehicle so we had to wait. Soon a Porter was located and with our bags in hand we rushed off to check in, only to find we the Porter chancing after us telling us that we needed to tip the driver. Hmm, this was a bit bold, and a little unexpected.
• The check in was slow and cumbersome to say the least. Six people (three couples were on the shuttle bus) and there were three staff members standing behind the check-in desk. For some reason only one staff member acknowledge the shuttles arrival and began booking us in one by one. I guess it would have been too much to have each desk staff member assist in the check-in process.

Restaurants and Bars:
Breakfast at the Bayside was barely adequate which was very unfortunate since it is the same breakfast every morning. There was super salty bacon, dry breads and pastries, some mixed meats and a greasy omelet station. Thank goodness for fruits, toast and peanut butter. Not quite what I expected from a Sandals resort. Last year the Flight Center booked us into the Paradisius Resort in the Mayan Riviera and the buffet for breakfast, lunch or supper was far, far superior.
• After leaving breakfast we went to the front desk to make reservations for the two restaurants which we were told was almost mandatory if you wanted to ensure a position. At the front desk we were informed by the unwelcoming staff that there was no availability for the week. Stunned, we tried to explain that we only arrived last night and begged them to find something. They simply shrugged and said that they could do nothing. Only after asking to speak with a resort manager the front desk staff decided to call the restaurants to see if they could indeed book us something. It later became abundantly clear that many tourists fail to show up for their reservations since they double book or drink to much during the day. Simply put, the front desk service was again inattentive and would rather argue then try to resolve the concern. There would have been room on any given night if we were willing to wait for table to become available due to cancellations or no-shows, so why the conflict.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We then booked a shopping tour for the next day. The tour cost $20 per person or $40 per couple and lasted two hours. We were told to show up at 9:40 for a 10:00 o’clock departure. We arrived as requested and waited and waited. By 10:10 I asked the young lady Chaniqua who booked our tour why we needed to show up so early since she only arrived at 10:00 herself and why the shuttle was no where to be found. She assured us that the shuttle was indeed on its way and that we simply needed to be patient. As fate would have it, during our wait we learned that we could book a taxi for $13 and it would take us shopping in town and we could stay as long as we liked. Upon hearing this news I asked Chiniqua to cancel our excursion and please call us a taxi. Understandably she was not thrilled but she complied, or at least so it appeared. After waiting 30 minutes for a taxi, a Porter named Clinton walked by and asked what we were waiting for. I told him and he said that he would call the taxi again, but he soon returned to inform us that Chaniqua had never called the taxi, she had simply left us abandoned and waiting. Okay, things are not getting better; we began counting down the days that this vacation would be over.
• The following evening we are walking around the resort when a downpour occurred so we took shelter near an outside lounge beside the amphitheater where we met an older couple from New York. They were well travelled and had stayed at many Sandal resorts and confirmed our impression of this resort. They simply said “please, please do not judge Sandal resorts by this one. This is very poor and we have an appointment with the manager to express our dissatisfaction”. Intrigued and trapped by the rain we decided to socialize further and enjoy further substandard service. The young bartender seemed more intent on conversing with the young lady at the far end of the bar than attending to other patrons. As the night progressed the young lady became more interested in the bartender and the bartender became more intent on her to the point that we had to walk into the bar to get service regularly.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very disappointed"

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Sandals Grande Ocho Rios Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Scott  on Jan 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
791 people found this review helpful

I found the level of service very poor. On more than one occassion we missed our tee time/dinner reservation because the staff did not inform us of the correct day or time. It was like they were all new!!!

Another example was the new years eve party, no one informed us it was included, we were lead to believe we had to purchase an excursion, with which it was included??

The food was ok, not great. There is very little beach.

The best part was we stayed in a villa, and we could get away from the loud music played in the main pools.

I would never go back to this resort.

Room Number:
7244

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good service but room for improvement"

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Sandals Grande Ocho Rios Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Steve  on Mar 29, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
771 people found this review helpful

So, this was me and my wife's first exotic trip and I was told Sandals was the place to go. Personally, I commend the staff for being attentive to our every need and very hospitable from our conceierge to the grounds personnel. I mingled with everyone and give the staff the highest marks. What I knock Sandals for is all the extra's one must purchase to truly experience what you see on the website. As another person posted, the beach was small! They ran out of towels on 4 of the 6 days we were there. Lighting was poor in the room, especially the bathroom where the ladies like to apply makeup. Because we stayed on the beach side, the music was loud when us 'old people' wanted to go to bed. Lastly, I really looked forward to relaxing with a couples massage but felt $240 for one hour was too expensive. I get massages stateside all the time so a warm breeze with Jamaican hands can't be that much better. I'm not cheap, I just didn't want to drop such an excessive amount for one flippin hour without a happy ending. If the spa offered more reasonable rates, they wouldn't have to solicit the guests for business. Restaurants were good but the portion sizes extremely small. I thought all inclusive was as much as I could eat and drink. The drinking was no problem but when I asked the waiter for a second helping, he looked at me like I asked him for a 10 yr old boy. The trip was wonderful and I don't regret it but it was also educational and we will consider other resorts before returning to this one. Hope this helps.

Arrival:
Trip to the resort was hair raising. The return trip to the airport was much better.

Restaurants and Bars:
The bartenders were nice, funny, and let the rum flow! No complaints here.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was small. Pools were nice with the swim up bars and the grounds were impeccable.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
At every tour we attended, the vendors were like carnies wanting you to buy their stuff...very aggressive.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I'm totally under-whelmed, the worst stay I've ever had so stay away!!"

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Sandals Grande Ocho Rios Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  richard  on Mar 13, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2013 | Wedding | Family and Kids
672 people found this review helpful

After my arrival we had to be relocated the next morning because of all the noise from construction. The next room was next to the laundry pickup and the sounds golf cart alarms was 24 hours a day. The bed was good but that's pretty much it. they cleaned the rooms at 4 pm daily which made for difficult showers and changing.

The food was subpar and every meal was tiny portions, overcook and lacking any quality of preparation. The final blow was we had to wait for 2 hours to even get a seat and then it took another hour to get the meal served on the table. The manager of the restaurant had no idea how to run a restaurant.

Drinks very weak and the poorest of liquors. Had to request proper mixers and still used as little liquor as possible.

this worse than a cruise ship as they charge you to make a phone call to the adjacent property. Buses not on time, the pick up service never comes even after several calls. The refills for the in room frig weak at best and they only put tiny bottles of juice or water. Pretty much the Carnival of the land resorts, cheap, shitty service and overpriced to say the very least.

The wedding party had to move rooms since they had partitioned their room and add fuel to the fire, the entire planned event was totally screwed up by a novice DJ who got the sequence totally wrong and decided on his own to add some stupid local dancer which blew the wedding party over the edge with that crapp.


Overall I'd strongly suggest finding another resort of quality and forget any Sandals locations.

The worst I've ever seen and I live out of a suitcase most of the year so I'd know a quality resort if it were possible. They advertise strongly but fail to deliver.

STAY AWAY AND FIND ANOTHER RESORT OF QUALITY!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Number:
7346 AND 7501

Arrival:
7/3/2013

Rooms:
7346 AND 7501

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube