Riu Palace Tropical Bay Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Negril > Negril Hotel Index > Riu Palace Tropical Bay reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Negril Hotels with Similar Ranking

Hedonism II

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 23, 2010

Couples Swept Away

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 19, 2011

Couples Negril

4.5 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 14, 2011

Beaches Sandy Bay Resort

4.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed May 25, 2012

Riu Palace Tropical Bay  

Norman Manley Blvd, Bloody Bay Beach

"Wonderfull Time"
Posted by: David on Feb 19, 2012
see all reviews

Riu Palace Tropical Bay Reviews
Riu Palace Tropical Bay Pictures and Information
Riu Palace Tropical Bay Negril Jamaica

#3
of 50 Hotels in Negril

User rating 3.0

Based on 4 reviews

Riu Palace Tropical Bay Information


Situated in the west of Jamaica, above the famous beach of Bloody Bay and bathed by the warm waters of the Caribbean, we find the Hotel Riu Tropical Bay. An elegant, Victorian-style hotel where you will enjoy a first-class holiday.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Riu Palace Tropical Bay Reviews

Riu Palace Tropical Bay Review: 3.0 of 5 4 reviews
Excellent
  0
Very good
  2
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (4)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 4 of 4

"Wonderfull Time"

Riu Palace Tropical Bay
User Rating:  Riu Palace Tropical Bay Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  David  on Feb 19, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
228 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
304

Room Block:
3

Arrival:
The flight from Toronto arrived in Montego Bay 1/2 hour early and there was no other passengers in customs so we were through very quickly, on the bus and on our way to the hotel in very short order.
We had an issue with the key cards not being programed correctly and we had to have the keys reprogramed

Rooms:
The room was a Guarden View Junior Suite with all the amenities typical of a RIU Hotel. Even though it was a Junoir Suite it did not have the 2 tier living space in the suites of other RIU hotels.
Our house keeper did a wonderful job keeping the room clean during our stay.

Restaurants and Bars:
The Main dining room had a wide varity of food.
We ate at 3 of the 4 A-La-Carte Restaurants and found the food apetizing and well prepaired. There was a wide variety of local dishes with seafood
The staff in all the restaurants work very hard under to make the guests welcome and satisfied.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is on Bloody Bay and is shared with 5 other resorts
The sand is soft and white and one of the best beaches I have ever been on
There are a number of traveling musicians that preform along the beach The musicians provided wonderful music that was sometimes mixed a good measure of comic relief

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did a couple of shopping excursions into Negril with the local taxis and went to Mary Gate of Heaven Roman Catholic Church.
The service was a very enjoyable and uplifting experience. Father Jim gets all his pasishoners involved and does a lot of work in the community

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not so good"

Riu Palace Tropical Bay
User Rating:  Riu Palace Tropical Bay Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Don  on Feb 6, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
211 people found this review helpful

Beautiful beach, nice room, good breakfast.
Dinners were dull. Same mediocre things every night. Empty trays. Tables touched each other in the main dining room. At the main restaurant and the a la cartes (which you have to get up before 8 AM to have a shot at) there were a lot of baseball caps and T-shirts.
Difficult to get a chair (chairs were pretty beat up) after 10 AM. Maybe it was just a bad week but the hotel had a lot (10-15%) of loud people who drank too much.
Pressure to tip was also a problem.
All told, I was glad when the time was up and I was returning home. I will not come back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Time at the RIU Palace Tropical Bay"

Riu Palace Tropical Bay
User Rating:  Riu Palace Tropical Bay Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Pat  on Mar 16, 2011  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
328 people found this review helpful

I was not really sure about this place upon reading some reviews, however, when we arrived, well, we knew we made a very good decision. I travelled with my wife and son of 9. We really dont have anything bad to say. Even the vendors on the beach were cool and respectful ( especially when they got to know you).

Room Number:
third floor garden view

Room Block:
13

Arrival:
Arrival ( wife and 9 yr old son) was efficient at the Montego Bay airport. What was long was the ride to the hotel ( +- 1.5hrs). Although it was interesting to see the island while on bus, I would have preferred a quick ride. The hotel staff were quite accomodating and respectful.

Rooms:
3rd floor, no elevator, no problem ( burns some calories). Room was clean and all functionned well. We had garden view and it was nice. Voltage was good for our North american standards.

Restaurants and Bars:
Wow, the choice of buffet was impressive. You also have a choice of specialty restaurants ( japanese, italian, steakhouse and fusion)that you needed to reserve ahead of time.We had the steakhouse only, buffet was good enough for us and the buffet changed along with a theme ( Italian,Mexican,etc.). The bars were good although i'm not a heavy drinker. Red Stripe beer was good though. 24 hr service for snacks.

Good choice of breakfast buffet as well. Dont forget the jerk chicken on the beach, its a must!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was awesome! great white sandy beach, calm waters. Sunset was one of the best we have seen in the carribean. Pools were well maintained and our son enjoyed it alot. The grounds around the hotel was spotless.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We really did not opt for any activities, but if you are one that enjoys activities, well, there are plenty.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Mixed feelings at Riu Palace Tropical Bay Nigril Jamaica"

Riu Palace Tropical Bay
User Rating:  Riu Palace Tropical Bay Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Greg  on Feb 21, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
357 people found this review helpful

This was our first time visiting a Riu Resort in any country so we were not sure of the quality of the hotel or the service.

Your Arrival:
Upon arrival at 1pm we were told our room was not available until 3pm. No issue as we had expected that. What we did not expect was the 25 min delay after 3pm. My wife and I were told at 3pm to come back at 3:10pm and then 3:20pm and then at 3:25pm we were told the room was ready. Note! The staff was very apologetic.

Rooms:
We wanted a room on the 3rd floor and got it which was great.
The room is well detailed and very clean. We did have to complain 5 times over the 2 weeks we stayed at the Riu about the smell of the air conditioner (smelled like raw sewage) Finally we gave up and slept with the sliding door open. The maint dept sprayed an air freshener in it to no avail.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was good but very repetitive in the dining area. We tried the Japanese Restaurant and the Steak House Restaurant. As we are well versed on Japanese food it was a disappointment. The Steak House Restaurant was to say the least not as expected with steaks about a 1/4" thick. If you wish to get a reservation at the restaurants be prepared for long line ups and do it 2 days before you actually want a reservation. Check out the Jerk Chicken Hut by the beach all we can say is great food! The staff in the dining room is fantastic too!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Fantastic beach. White sand, clean bottom, you can walk out about 40M's at chest level.The pools were very well maintained.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went shopping at Times Square for discounts. Be aware that you pay $10 US per person and the deals in some cases were better at the airport.
We also went horse back riding at Crocodile Reserve and Horse Back riding. First they have no Crocodile the one they had died. This trip was to start with a 9:30am pick up at the resort. At 10 am I found the Sunquest rep and told her no one showed up at which time she made a call to Paul the operator. It seems the driver took the wrong people. About 10:15 we were picked up by another driver. Upon arrival at the Horse Back riding area no one was there to greet us and after 10 mins of sounding his horn the taxi driver did manage to get someones attention. As we were standing by the taxi two tour guides got into a fight as one wanted the other ones horse. This fight went on for about 10 mins with one of the men finally taking a leather harness and beating on the horse which in turn ran off. Our guide finally came over and calmed us down by taking my wife and I away from the scene. Javin our guide saved the day from that moment on. The horse back riding took us to the Caribbean Sea where we went swimming on the back of the horses. Overall the tour took about 2hrs and it was a very good experience, with the exception of the fight and horse beating we saw at first. We did report this to the Sunquest rep upon our return to the resort.

Other Comments:
The resort is clean but run very poorly. The front desk does not write down any concerns you bring forward unless you go to them 2 or 3 times and even then I had to go 5 times to get the A/C looked at to no avail. I went 3 times to ask for a light bulb replacement in our bathroom to no avail. I finally asked the house keeping supervisor to please get someone to replace it which she promptly did. (it took 2 days before the light was changed) On our last night there Feb 19/10 we went back to our room but we could not get in as the key did not work. We went to the front desk and I told them about the problem, they reprogrammed our swipe card. We walked back to our room and tried the card again it did not work. We did this 2 more times before I went directly to the Assistant Mgr who again reprogrammed the card. Again the card did not work and again we walked back to the lobby. This time the Assistant Mgr decided to come back to the room with us to try the swipe card for herself. It seems the battery had died in the swipe system on our room door. She called maint who showed up only after she left for 15 mins to find them. Maint could not open the door because the battery was dead. They told us there was no other way into the room. We mentioned that a ladder to our balcony would get them in the room as we have the screen open because of the A/C smell. They did not have a ladder! This story goes on for over 2hrs after which time the break into the room by forcing the door! Oh and I did tell the Assistant Mgr about all our concerns and she handed me a complaint sheet to fill out. Oh and during the whole incident with the lock the Assistant Mgr stayed approx 30 mins after which time she abruptly left and she did not even check back to see if everything was ok. Last but not least the staff was fantastic our whole trip. (that is the working staff) Management in the SPA was rude to my wife, Management at the front desk could careless about you! But the working staff was great. Thanks to Damion and Andrew in the dining room and the RoseMarie who cleaned our room daily, you all made our trip very pleasant. Watch out for the drug peddling on the beach! Our first week was terrible for this but we think many people complained as the second week we noticed a drastic reduction. We have been to Jamaica before but this beach was the worst by far. Management was and is oblivious to it or so they say!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube