Riu Negril Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Negril > Negril Hotel Index > Riu Negril reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Negril Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sunset at the Palms

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 9, 2014

The Caves Hotel

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 10, 2012

Rondel Village Negril

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 19, 2011

Beaches Negril

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 6, 2010

Catch a Falling Star

3.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 1, 2008

Samsara

2.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed May 19, 2014

Riu Negril  

Bloody Bay, Negril, Jamaica

"Will not return to this resort!"
Posted by: Penny on Jan 23, 2012
see all reviews

Riu Negril Reviews
Riu Negril Pictures and Information
Riu Negril Negril Jamaica

#1
of 50 Hotels in Negril

User rating 3.3

Based on 7 reviews

Riu Negril Information


Built on the turquoise beach of Bloody Bay, the ClubHotel Riu Negril is set amongst extraordinary natural surroundings.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Riu Negril Reviews

Riu Negril Review: 3.3 of 5 7 reviews
Excellent
  1
Very good
  3
Average
  1
Poor
  1
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (5)
Party (1)
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (1)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (1)
Solo
With friend
1 - 7 of 7

"Will not return to this resort!"

Riu Negril
User Rating:  Riu Negril Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Penny  on Jan 23, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
199 people found this review helpful

This resort was definitely not a five star. The staff was very friendly and courteous but the service left little to be desired!

Room Number:
1375

Arrival:
Arrived late at night and on the way to our hotel, our bus broke down three times (something to do with the gas filter getting plugged) so we kept losing power to the bus. When we finally did arrive at the resort at approx 1:30 a.m., the welcoming staff was friendly but not too accomodating when it came to assistance in locating my room which was a very long distance from the front lobby nor did I receive any help with my luggage up to my room.

Rooms:
My room was very large and made up nice at all times. The air conditiong didn't work very well so it was very muggy at the best of times. The remote for the tv didn't work very well (was hit and miss), the fridge was well stalked with beverages but the bar had half empty bottles from the last person that was in the room and never got replaced once.

My phone didn't work for most of the trip and I had to use my cell phone just to call down to the front desk at $2.50/min I might add. Upon checking out of the hotel at the end of my stay, I was charged for all calls including errors I made when dialing out. I asked to be reimbursed for any calls that I had to make to the front desk and was denied this request.


Restaurants and Bars:
The food was okay but not what I would call five star.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was very nice. Great atmosphere, great service and lots of fun.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The nightly entertainment was fantastic. Lots of audience participation.

Other Comments:
This was not what I would consider a five star resort..a three at best. My stay in Mexico at the Velas Vallarta resort was incredible ~ now THAT is more than a five star resort by any stretch! The RIU could take a few lessons on how it's done from them!

Laundry service was not good. I set it out to be picked up and waited two days. I finally took it down to the front desk only to be told that their laundry services were not working and that I would have to pay ahead of time to have it sent outside of the resort and that it would take approx 2 days to be returned.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Most for your money"

Riu Negril
User Rating:  Riu Negril Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  matt  on Jul 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Party | With Group
266 people found this review helpful

Amazing hotel, stayed for 4 nights, mini fridge was always restocked. Beautiful 7 mile white sand beach, the staff treat you like family. food was amazing, buffet open really late. seafood was always fresh. rooms were huge, big bathroom, nice shower. great nightly shows. bar and dancing at night. pool was warm. bar tending staff were very talented.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Never will stay here again !"

Riu Negril
User Rating:  Riu Negril Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  craig  on Jul 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
264 people found this review helpful

Never again ! room was not ready when we arrived. room safe was broken. found vomit on matress which was finally replaced. they don't change sheets daily. sent laundry in which finally was retuned the last day. door key had to be replaced 7 times. food is horrid. they don't tell you it is necessary to stand in line for 2 hours to try and get seating in one of the other more formal dining rooms in which the food is just as bad. was discusted to see people smoking in the pools and dumping the ashes in the pool, complained about this and was told it was normal.

Room Number:
6202

Arrival:
July 5

Restaurants and Bars:
horrid food but nice bars

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
clean

Other Comments:
front desk staff was not responsive to requests.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The real truth about Riu Negril Club"

Riu Negril
User Rating:  Riu Negril Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Namabeer  on Jun 23, 2011  >  5 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
255 people found this review helpful

Overall Impressions
Just got back from the Riu Negril in Jamaica
Good place if you get a good price on the property and willing to live with few minor problems or laid back service. I’d say more of a 4 star (4 ¼ star property). This is my second time to Bloody Bay (1st time was at Riu Tropical Bay 6 yrs ago). I typically go to the Mayan Riviera and stay at places like the Iberostar, Barcelos, Palladium, Princess, Gran Sirenis, Coral Turquesa etc…… down there.

The Crowd:

Mainly Canadians, Americans, Italians, Brits, and local Jamaicans esp. on weekend.
Wide variety of guest: couples, families, groups, and of course single people wanting good time. Note as it’s one of the most affordable all inclusive resort in Negril, this resort will attract a different clientele. So if you don’t want the 20s crowd being a bit rowdy, having a good time drinking, smoking, and smoking other stuff, go to another resort. Remember it is Jamaica. If you want a bit more sophisticated crowd – pay more and go to the Tropical Bay Palace next door or Sandals.

Room Number:
1248

Room Block:
building 1

Rooms:
•Snagged a nice room with oceanfront view in bldg 1 (rm 1248). Only booked garden view. Bit dated but still clean

•Lucked out and got a room with working A/C. Some room A/C didn’t work well but I guess with a premium room we got, they made sure this one worked.

•Although it looks like my room was refreshed (new paint, new thermostat etc..), toilet bowl a bit disgusting with stains and tub had rust spots, shower hose leaked big time. Still no biggy.

Restaurants and Bars:
FOOD:

Buffet:

Breakfast: eat outside in the courtyard with the egret. Good breads and usually good flaky croissants and cinnamon rolls that are not soggy like in most places. Reg eggs, ommelete, sausage, bacon etc…… Cold cuts were not premium quality but edible. Fruits varied from pineapple, cantelope, to Jamaican apple (yuk), jackfruit (not bad), mangos (yum), apples and of course bananas

Fruit juices a bit too sweet as they add concentrated juices/nectar to the fresh fruit.

Lunch: (@Shadows): ok selection for lunch. Reg stuff like burg, dogs, sad looking pizza, great pasta station esp when there is someone cooking it, salty fish filet, beef stews, hard rice. Ok for lunch.

Jerk Hut: Grab some jerk chicken to snack on the beach or bring to buffet to go along with your lunch. Closed Saturdays.

Dinner:

Bit disorganized on scheduling. No one seemed to know if there were any theme dinners (front desk, mgr at buffet and even head chef). Seem like it was whatever they feel like. During my week these appear to be the themes (non – theme). Appears to be no more seafood or gala theme or Italian theme. The buffet lacked the premium foods you may see in other resorts esp in the Mayan Riveria. No smoke salmon, no big shrimps, no proscuito, poor quality cold cuts, and only one or 2 types of fish thru out the week. But I must say the breads were good (crunchy crust and dense inners), and desserts were pretty good too.

But in the end – always something to eat.

Sunday – International (ie normal food – grilled salty fish, beef filets (hit or miss if tender)
Monday – Asian (didn’t look appetizing – sweet & sour pork, mandarin duck, gross chop suey, very vingery sushi rolls……..)
Tuesday – Mexican (chicken beef fajita, tacos, etc…….) Ok
Wednesday – International (roast beef, turkey breast)
Thursday – International (beef brisket)
Friday – International (chicken)
Saturday – Jamaican - Good – (jerk chicken (not as good as beach), oxtail stew – yummy, goat curry, spinach, roast pig, chayote veg, festival (deep fried bread), ackee and salt fish and of course rice and peas (always hard I find).…….

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Entertainment:

Shows not too good and amateurish. They try but still not at the same calibre as other resorts. Michael Jackson which was suppose to be the best show was far from good. Tried watching Michael Jackson it on a Sat night but it just didn’t do it for me. Seen better productions elsewhere. Other dancers seemed to move better than Michael (who sort of looked Asian to me)

Paul the singing bartender in the main lobby at night was good – see him on YouTube

People who complain about no reggae music. It does exist. Remember local people don’t listen to this stuff. So if you hear other stuff played around that the resort, that may be the real Jamaican music.

Other Comments:

Shopping and Off the Resort:

You can buy your souvenirs right off the beach in the public area between the 2 Riu properties. Bargain hard. About 1/3 should be fine. Little reggae pencils go for $3US but got down to $1US each. At airport they go for $3-$5 US.

For Blue Mountain coffee go to a supermkt. Downtown Negril has a small one based on my last trip. But this time, I managed to hit a Megamart (like Costco) in MoBay one day and 1 lb of coffee would go for about $17 (J$1397). The airport was selling it for $30US. Of course in the US/Cda/ UK this would be many multiples as Blue Mountain is one of the most if not the most expensive type of coffee in the world. Jerk sauce is about J$202 or $2.30 per jar for Walkerton or Eaton brand.

Did a quick trip to Doctor’s Cave in MoBay with the aid of a friend who took us around. Nice little beach/cove and good snorkeling with huge coral formations. Bring your own gear as the rental stuff is all broken.

Real Jamaican food. Tried “Scotchie” which is a local (dive) place along the highway near Riu Montego bay. All locals with good outdoor atmosphere. Jerk Chicken, Jerk Pork, Conch soup Festival, Roasted Breadfruit, coconut water, and of course Red stripe. Good to experience the real deal….

If you have any question you can contact me at namabeer@hotmail.com

Al La Cartes:
A La Cartes:

Very few choices here compared to other resorts. Yes as most say, buffet is same or if not better. The only exception was the Sir Andrews which was worth going to. Steakhouse was awful and we saw 3 other tables leave along with us after presented with our entree.

Yes you have to reserve and can only book for 2 days in advance
If full be persistence and you will get in. The girls at the table is nice/sweet once you break the ice with her and then she will do anything for you.

Steakhouse at Shadows (3 out of 10)

Outside hot so you will be sweating so much.
Appetizer buffet is basically the same stuff or leftovers from the lunch buffet there. Where’s the good smoke salmon or other prem stuff you see at other resorts as appetizers?
Even the salty onion soup you have

Tenderloin disgusting. Everything is pre cooked even before the we sat down and then just warmed up (in my case “reheated til it’s leather – they actually butterfly the tenderloin when reheating til it’s dry and burnt. Didn’t even eat mine.

Snapper was pre cooked but was eatable.

Didn’t stay for dessert as all they had was cheesecake which was at the buffet.


Sir Andrews (8 out of 10)
Went here 2 times ( 1st time better) but it’s full service.

For appetizer:
Good couscous seafood salad
Good salmon & cream cheese

Crab bisque good but could be salty

Tenderloin ok – not same as grade as other resorts but still ok . Definitely better than steakhouse’s filet as cooked to order. Bit salty the meat and worse was the sauce which was extra salty.

Grouper & Octopus – tasted like frozen fish deep fried. Ok but so so.

Linguine vegetarian – was ok but nothing special

Veggies were sad that came with the entrees. Odds and ends of broccoli. & some whipped mash


Didn't’ go to the Brazilian restaurant as I can foresee dried up meat on a skewer.

The Good The Bad:
The Good
•Compact resort – beach and pool are closeby
•Nice calm shallow beach. Sand is beige and sand in the water is fine/corally – in some parts a tad sludgey but still ok.
•Good snorkeling right off the beach – best is between the beach bar to the life guard chair by the bouys. Saw huge spotted ray, barracuda, white spotted sea snake, lots of star fish, surgeonfish, needlefish, wrasses, sergeant major, box fish/puffer but to my disappointment – no lionfish
•Can walk over to Tropical Bay resort which has got an amazing beach there.
•Free electronic safe
•Nice big fridge that actually worked and well stocked with red stripe and lots of water/pop.
•In general friendly staff. Of course some better than others. Noticed that they were not tip hungry contrary to other reviews. I actually found it insulting that most guests didn’t tip at all.
•Lots of smaller fish and conchs at the fish sanctuary at the extreme end of the beach. Just watch out for sea urchins and jellyfish.


The Bad
•Nightly shows pretty lame compared to other resorts so didn’t bother.

•Stink of rotting milk behind theatre bar, pool bar. Depends on the wind direction.

•Bug bugs bugs. It’s gotta be sand flies/fleas as you get all these red dots on your leg/ankle. Other got mega welts from these pest and itched like crazy all over their body. This affected some but not others. Bring bug spray and don’t hang out at the beach at dusk/sunset when they are most likely to bit. Mosquitos are around but it seems like sand flies caused more problems. Remember the beach is manmade on this former swamp and therefore this maybe the cause. (imported sand or swamp)

•Some questioned dilution of drinks – quite possible but most of the time they are emptying ½ empty bottle to consolidate them.

•Slushy drinks from machine – not blended in general and a bit too sweet.

•Daily Jamaican corner appeared like it was always left overs…….. Definitely much better Jamaican night of Friday.

•Mirky pool – at pool with bar. Hopefully due to all spilt drinks and nothing else

•The 2 pools are not large enough for such a size resort. They are about 4’1” deep so smaller kids will have to have a floaty or rely on the beach. The kids pool is a joke (more like a mini foot bath).

•Ancient door key with huge tag and room number. Not good if you lose it. Only one too.

•A/C off during day in room. In some rooms it’s even off at night. Confirmed with a grin by manager.

•Useless package of gel and shampoo. Not enough to take a real shower. Bring your own.

•Pretty raggedy towels in room. Some with major stains.

•This is not a slam against the workers but most seem to be more interested in socializing with fellow workers rather than serve guests. It’s sort of the Jamaican mentality to socialize and be laid back and nothing is urgent. Very different from Mexico. Of course the male entertainment staff only have one goal in mind……..

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Jamaican Vacation"

Riu Negril
User Rating:  Riu Negril Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  darlene  on Jan 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
305 people found this review helpful

We were very disappointed in our stay at Club Hotel Riu. Rooms are small. We waited 4 days for our bar to be stocked with water. Not very clean. Never swept floor and never wiped off vanity in bathroom. No soap in the rooms. People were fighting for chairs at pool. Towels were suppose to arrive at 8 am never showed up on time. Empty glasses down at pool from the night before. Upgraded our room for a nice fee but like i said we never received any toiletry items. These people need to go to Mexico to see how its done. We stayed at Riu Caribe in Cancun and it was great! Beach was not very clean and was very rocky.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good Place to Stay"

Riu Negril
User Rating:  Riu Negril Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Vince  on Apr 24, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
350 people found this review helpful

I went to RIU for one week, the first week of April. After the flight from Wash DC and the drive (yes I drove) to the resort, I found Riu Negril family and kid friendly. Our time there was awesome. The staff was top notch. I walked to the Riu Tropical one day, it seemd dry and small and crowded, unlike Club Riu. I went to a wedding at Sandles, I am glad we pick Club Riu, Negril. Over all, I would recommend going their and I would go back.

Your Arrival:
We were greeted with the beverage of my choice. My wife knew we were at the right place

Rooms:
The beds need to bed a little more firm. The rooms were clean and maids were nice.

Restaurants and Bars:
I did think that the policy of waking up at 8 am to sign up for the select restaurants was stupid. I knew when they told me that it wasn’t going to happen with me, after all I am on vacation. I found the food in the Green Island Restaurant more than sufficient. What made my dining more pleasurable was this one waiter ‘Otis’. His section is- as you walk in the main door, walk pass the food straight to the back, his section is against the wall to the left. Otis really enjoys his job and is good at it. He is so energetic he was working the next section as hard as he was his own. Take it from a very thrifty and frugal person, I enjoyed tipping him. He personally greeted everyone and he doesn’t miss a beat. He assured everyone had a smile on their faces. He totally deserves a raise.

Bar tenders were top notch

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I was not really annoyed by the venders like I was lead to believe; they were on the outskirts but I found them friendly and respectful. I observed Jamaican police officers, not in uniform patrolling the beach; you really had to pay attention because they blended in, but they were the only ones wearing long pants. I found Bloody Bay ‘ok’; the barrier broke the waves before they got to shore.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities were good. The people working entertainment department were the hardest working people in show biz. I can’t remember all of the names (Batman, Sponge-bob, Spiderman, Pencil, etc.), but they were “all that”. Just somebody tell Devon to carry smaller wallet (LOL).

Other Comments:
What I didn’t like was having to pay to make local phone calls, having to pay to use their computers (it is ok if you have your lap top and don’t mind sitting in the lobby). They beach towel situation needs a little work. They should give a choice of American dollars when cashing Travelers Checks.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Visit to Negril, Jamaica - Rui Negril Club Hotel"

Riu Negril
User Rating:  Riu Negril Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Fran  on Apr 18, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
361 people found this review helpful

People very friendly, food was great, lots to choose from.

Your Arrival:
From the airport in Montego Bay to the resort in Negril, it took about 2 hours due to traffic. The view from the bus was beautiful as the road follows the water. Bus driver was friendly. About half way to the resort we stopped for a break at a local restaurant/bar/store. Arrival at the hotel was quick and our room was ready for us.

Rooms:
Rooms are clean but the cleaning staff missed cleaning our room one day so we had a load of dirty towels. Bathrooms are nice - nicer than in the Dominican. Water is potable so you can drink it and there isn't any odor when you turn on the taps.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants (Shadows and Green Island) had lots of variety. The wait staff was friendly and efficient. Came for a family wedding. Reception was at Shadows and it was very good. The waiter was amazing and friendly too.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools and grounds were clean. Beach wasn't that great. Punta Cana has a much better beach. There were vendors on the beach and if you bought something for $15.00 and gave the vendor a $20, you might not get change and they usually say they don't have any change. They get you to purchase something else for your change. Bring lots of small bills with you. You can haggle with the vendors.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Did the catamaran sunset tour with a stop at Rick's Cafe. Did some snorkeling but it was only for about 20 minutes. At Rick's Cafe the catamaran could not get to the dock due to its size so if you wanted to go to Rick's you had to swim. Locals were standing by, asking for money for the divers. When you purchase something at Rick's and pay with US dollars you get change in Jamaican currency so bring lots of small bills with you.

Other Comments:
A little disappointing, much prefer the Dominican. Will not travel to Jamaica again. Only came for a family wedding which was beautiful. It was on the beach at 4pm in the afternoon. Seats for guests were in the blazing sun. It was very hot while there. Temperature reached about 100 degrees the first 4-5 days there along with high humidity, then rain came and cooled things down nicely and made it much more comfortable.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube