Riu Ocho Rios Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Ocho Rios > Ocho Rios Hotel Index > Riu Ocho Rios reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Ocho Rios Hotels with Similar Ranking

Couples Sans Souci

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 23, 2010

Beaches Boscobel Ocho Rios

3.6 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed May 2, 2013

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios

3.3 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 13, 2013

Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort & Spa

1.6 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 16, 2012

Riu Ocho Rios  

Mammee Bay, St Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica

"Nice vacation"
Posted by: Dan  on Jun 21, 2017
see all reviews

Riu Ocho Rios Reviews
Riu Ocho Rios Pictures and Information
Riu Ocho Rios Ocho Rios Jamaica

#1
of 16 Hotels in Ocho Rios

User rating 3.2

Based on 33 reviews

Riu Ocho Rios Information


Enjoy the finest amenities and personalized service available on Jamaica. Our exceptional Ocho Rios Jamaica resort features five-star accommodations, fabulous amenities, and superb service.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Riu Ocho Rios Reviews

Riu Ocho Rios Review: 3.2 of 5 33 reviews
Excellent
  10
Very good
  5
Average
  7
Poor
  4
Terrible
  7
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (22)
Party (1)
Wedding (8)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (8)
With friend (2)
With Group (11)
With Spouse/Partner (11)
Solo
1 - 10 of 33

"Nice vacation"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Dan  on Jun 21, 2017  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2017 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
39 people found this review helpful

We spent a week at the riu Ocho rios (in Ocho rios). First this is an 1:45 minute drive from the airport make sure to have an afternoon flight home. Our departure was at 1 pm and had to catch a ride at 9:30 am. On the upside staying at this hotel is only a 10 minute ride from Dolphins cove, zip line and Dunn's river falls. If staying in Montego Bay you will have a hike to get to these excursions but on the other hand closer to the airport, the choice is yours. So let's talk about the hotel. I gave it a 4 star because we stayed in the newer building by the adults only pool. The adults only pool still had kids there , which no big deal to us but there is no activities at this pool . Your entertainment is at the main pool. We spent out time there . We have traveled allinclusive to May places and always stayed in the riu chain but never Jamaica. Pool side entertainment lacked only from 3 -4:00 pm . Staff was plentiful but no wait service . Again not a huge deal but never experienced this before. We made our own fun and gathered people for water volleyball . The exterior of the hotel could use some painting not very appealing from the outside. If you are in to exercise and like to work out I recommend getting to the gym (not much and equipment is very outdated)early since there in not ventilation!!! Food is plentiful and good ,no complaints,something for everyone. Nighttime entertainment is amazing ! Staff are friendly , no language barrier which was a huge plus. Drinks are very strong, no holding back on the liquor that's for sure. There is no room survive because they don't want bugs hanging around which I can understand however if you need a late night snack you can go to the pub/casino (open all night) and grab nachos and popcorn. Finally if your a morning coffee drinker you have to go to the pub to get that every morning , no coffee in the rooms. Bring a bubba cup , a must as cups ar small for anything you drink. All in all our stay was good just minor things that they could improve on. Ran in to vacationers that were staying at the new rio in Montego Bay that said it was an awesome place. If we ever go back we would try there and wouldn't return to this one! Happy vacation to anyone booking this hotel , make your own fun as we did ! Oh and if you plan on dinner at the resort restaurants make sure ladies have dresses and men wear dress pants ,dress shirts and close toed shoes or you won't get in.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Extremely sleazy business practices "

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Katherine  on May 14, 2017  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2017 | Business | With Group
53 people found this review helpful

My husband and three of his coworkers come here about one week a month to help the Jamaican military on a project. My husband asked a woman who works at the front desk on April 23, 2017, which she as the day he and his coworkers were leaving how much extra it would be if he brought his wife next time. He was told $75 US a night.

However, once I arrived, and the hotel knows I'm essentially stuck here, they charged me $125 US/night. When my husband and I complained, Richard the Supervisor keeps saying "prices vary".

My husband has a screen capture showing he was charged the online price, and the online price for an additional person is $66US/night. But Richard keeps repeating "prices vary.

Why were we told $75 then? Why not just be honest? I really dislike dishonest business practices such as this.

Clearly this hotel is taking advantage of me already being here, after my husband specifically asked how much it would be three weeks ago, when he was here helping the Jamaican military.

Do not stay at this sleazy resort. I hold people to a high ethical standard and clearly staff know they can screw me, so that's exactly what they are doing.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Quality of rooms was not what we expected, the rest was amazing.."

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lucian  on Aug 13, 2016  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2016 | Leisure | Family and Kids
153 people found this review helpful

Our 2-week stay at RIU would have been a 5-star experience had it not be for the mold in the rooms. The whole section on the right of the reception (the old area) is full of mold. You can see it on the walls around the doors, on the paintings... Even after we washed all our clothes upon our return home, they kept the smell. I suggest trying to upgrade your room to the newer section on the left of the reception (facing the beach; behind the show stage).. The swimming pool water needed treatment, it was always blurry. Try the beach, it's amazing! There's plenty of chairs and shade for everybody.. There you'll be doing gym with Pim, dance classes with Orlando, PIM, Bruno and the rest of the entertainment team. There's also volleyball &. Other fun activities on the beach for the rest of the day.

The food was really tasty and well diversified from breakfast to supper, they even have a small restaurant opened all night. The entertainment group is really friendly and funny! We loved the shows, both ourselves and our kids. The service at the pool bar is very good and fast. My favourite bar was the one between the reception and the show stage. They have more variety..

I hope you enjoy your stay and have a safe return back home!

Room Number:
2227

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"property and service are heading in the wrong direction"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Duane  on Jul 8, 2016  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2016 | Wedding | With Group
152 people found this review helpful

Visited in 2013 and I would have given the place 5 stars...it's obvious that less effort has been placed on overall experience in 2016...coupled with a very unpleasant experience of the staff and others allowing one of my bags to be stolen not more than 15 minutes after arrival...caused great consternation for my daughter, and now husband as well as other family and friends. All told we brought 40 individuals to the resort and over $40,000.00 worth of business.....pools needed maintenance as well as other public spaces..obvious deterioration can be seen throughout....and this in only 3 years..entertsinment was not of the same quality in 2013 and ended early a few nights with nothing else to do at the resort....corporate offered to reimburse me possibly, for my loss of less than $600 only if I could produce receipts, pictures, etc....I declined since I had no intent of trying to recreate the contents of my bag in the time they allotted...in closing, we spent more tha $40,000.00 and they balanced that against less than $600 ...good business move I guess but none of our family and friends will travel there again because of their indifferent approach.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Bonnie  on Mar 10, 2016  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2016 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
177 people found this review helpful

Had a great time. It's a big resort so not everything will go perfect. Lots of good food something for all tastes. Rooms are dated but clean,large and comfortable, beds are big. Enjoyed our 14 days,would go back again.

Room Number:
2065

Arrival:
Feb 21

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"very disappointed in resort"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Del  on May 24, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2014 | Wedding | Family and Kids
274 people found this review helpful

The minute we arrived to check into our room I was rubbed the wrong way from a staff member. I asked for a extra key and was told no and it was going to cost me $250.00 per key if I lost them. Posted ME right off. Then she proceeded to tell me that if I lost the cards for our beach towels it would cost me $20.00 per key card. They didn't have any locks available for the safe in our room. So, I waited till next day and spoke with a gentleman at the desk 're: the items I requested and he said NO PROBLEM MAN. Most of the staff was rude and the food was the same thing over and over during our stay.I will say this though, the beds were comfortable,beach was great but that was about it. I will never stay there again. My overall experience was a big disappointment and I felt it was not worth the money. We had a much better experience in Mexico plus the service and people were fantastic.

Room Number:
2416

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"One of the Best Resorts in the Caribbean"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Dave  on Jan 8, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2013 | Leisure | With Group
452 people found this review helpful

The Riu Ocho Rios exceeded all of our expectations! The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the food was excellent at all of the a la carte restaurants. In fact the food at the buffet was also excellent. The beach had plenty of rrom for sun-bathing, and the water was very clean. Just 50 feet off the beach there were natural coral reefs that offered spectacular snorkelling. We saw clown fish, pencil fish, trumpetters, octupus, sting rays, and may others. Some of the locals were selling their wares at the beach, but even they were pleasant to deal with. Without question this was one of the best resorts we have visited in the Caribbean!!!

Arrival:
The arrival procedures were well organized and efficient.

Rooms:
The rooms were very comfortable and the cleaning staff were friendly and did an amazing job.

Other Comments:
The Spa is well worth the visit. My wife and I had the couples relaxation massage and highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"If this was my first experience in Jamaica I wouldn't go back!"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  jenn  on May 19, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
488 people found this review helpful

The first night they gave us a garden view room and we paid for ocean veiw they told us we needed to check out the next day at 12 put our luggage behind the desk and wait till 230 to get a different room so we did. When we finally got another room they gave us a key to an occupied room! So we waited another hr before getting a room with the veiw we paid for. Then I had my phone on the night stand the ceiling was leaking right into my phone the management was useless! Needless to say I had to buy a new one when I got back. They had the worst customer services staff could really give 2 shits if u have a problem. They are a huge resort and they know they will always have customers no matter what you are just a number. The resort on the surface is nice but needs a lot of maintenance a woman was complaining that her toilet wasn't working and her husband had to fix it! Umm last I checked nobody should befixing a toilet on vacation especially when u pay the price u pay to go to Jamaica! Stay at your own risk ... good luck!

Room Number:
2214

Arrival:
Was fine.

Rooms:
Need maintenance!

Restaurants and Bars:
Alot of the same foods everyday!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Clean. Pools close at 6pm for treatment so don't plan on swimming after 6!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
They charge a ridiculous amount to take u off the resort. I will say the entertainment was good!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not a 5*"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Joanne  on Mar 20, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
529 people found this review helpful

We just returned from a week in Ocho Rios Rui resort. I read the reviews and thought people just complain to hear themselves.
I have a couple of issues with this resort. First the line up for a la cartes is riduculous who does things that way. We went to the Japanese thats the only one we could get into because everything was booked days before we arrived and believe me it was the worst a la carte I have have been too!
The rooms or suites are not set up for three adults the beds are pushed 48in beds. The sofa couch is non existent. Wow was that an eye opener never again.
The pool was great as well as all the bars. The buffet was very repetative and it was hard to find different foods each nite. A la cartes as said above are out the question.
We did make the most of the trip we were on vacation and you have to roll with it. I must say that the entertainment team were amazing. That was the best part of the trip. They work from early morning to late at night all i can say is they were great.
As for the flight with Sunwing I paid extra for Elite plus well i got screwed. Air transat is way better and thats a comment within itself. I think sunwing could retire a few flight attendents. Im sure they have been there as long as the company! Wow not great customer service.
I have now considered myself one of the complainers which is a terrible thing for me to say. I usually never complain I'm just happy to get out of canada and the minus weather. This is our second time to Jamaica and I never had a complaint about the resort last year.

Room Number:
1030

Room Block:
1000

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Susan  on Mar 17, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
494 people found this review helpful

This is my third time here. Five years ago for my nieces wedding, November 2011 (myself and eleven friends) and February of this year. I had never been disappointed in anything from this resort. From the time that we arrived we encountered the most courteous staff. We got off the bus and were in our room within thirty minutes. The food in all the restaurants including the Buffet were very good.

Room Number:
1219

Arrival:
The hostess had everything ready for us just to pick up our keys (safe and room key), and our brackets. No time wasted.

Rooms:
Very clean and neat. Cleaning staff did a wonderful job. We had a junior suite ocean view. We sat on the balcony and
Had coffee each morning. Very relaxing. King size bed was very comfortable. The fridge was stocked every second day.

Restaurants and Bars:
Excellent. I especially liked the waiters and waitress in the buffet dining room. Actually everyone always had a smile.
The had a good variety of food.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We had rooms on what they called quiet side. It was very clean. The other pool I must say could have used a little better care.
Not only the pool but the surrounding area. The beach was picture perfect. You never had to play the game of get up at six and run down to get a chair.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The entertainers really did their very best. They seem to work twelve hours a day.

Other Comments:
I would go back I a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube