Riu Ocho Rios Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Ocho Rios > Ocho Rios Hotel Index > Riu Ocho Rios reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Ocho Rios Hotels with Similar Ranking

Couples Sans Souci

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 23, 2010

Beaches Boscobel Ocho Rios

3.6 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed May 2, 2013

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios

3.3 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 13, 2013

Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort & Spa

1.6 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 16, 2012

Riu Ocho Rios  

Mammee Bay, St Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica

"very disappointed in resort"
Posted by: Del on May 24, 2014
see all reviews

Riu Ocho Rios Reviews
Riu Ocho Rios Pictures and Information
Riu Ocho Rios Ocho Rios Jamaica

#1
of 16 Hotels in Ocho Rios

User rating 3.3

Based on 28 reviews

Riu Ocho Rios Information


Enjoy the finest amenities and personalized service available on Jamaica. Our exceptional Ocho Rios Jamaica resort features five-star accommodations, fabulous amenities, and superb service.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Riu Ocho Rios Reviews

Riu Ocho Rios Review: 3.3 of 5 28 reviews
Excellent
  10
Very good
  2
Average
  7
Poor
  3
Terrible
  6
By Occasion...
Leisure (19)
Party (1)
Wedding (7)
Business
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (7)
With friend (2)
With Group (9)
With Spouse/Partner (9)
Solo
1 - 10 of 28

"*Warning*Warning*Warning*"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Edward  on Jan 26, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
233 people found this review helpful

My trip to RIU Ocho Rios was the worst vacation experience of my life. On 10 January, 2012, our room was broken into and we were robbed. The (not-so) safe was removed from the wall, and the contents removed from the back. The room safe offers NO security for your expensive items. To date the RIU has offered to compensate me at the rate of less than 50% of the value of our loss, and no compensation for the disruption to our vacation. I do not know if we were targeted because we were at dinner, because we were seen with expensive items (iPad2, dive gear, etc.) or because we were in a suite, or for some other unknown reason. I am very glad we didn't return while the perpetrators were in the room, or we could have been hurt. The rooms lock with a standard key, marked with the room number, which if lost is easily reproduced. Be warned. This is an impoverished country, and crime IS an issue. If you choose to travel to Jamaica, I would recommend leaving anything you're not willing to lose at home. So far, RIU's response to this has been extremely disappointing, to say the least.

Room Number:
3457

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"If this was my first experience in Jamaica I wouldn't go back!"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  jenn  on May 19, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
200 people found this review helpful

The first night they gave us a garden view room and we paid for ocean veiw they told us we needed to check out the next day at 12 put our luggage behind the desk and wait till 230 to get a different room so we did. When we finally got another room they gave us a key to an occupied room! So we waited another hr before getting a room with the veiw we paid for. Then I had my phone on the night stand the ceiling was leaking right into my phone the management was useless! Needless to say I had to buy a new one when I got back. They had the worst customer services staff could really give 2 shits if u have a problem. They are a huge resort and they know they will always have customers no matter what you are just a number. The resort on the surface is nice but needs a lot of maintenance a woman was complaining that her toilet wasn't working and her husband had to fix it! Umm last I checked nobody should befixing a toilet on vacation especially when u pay the price u pay to go to Jamaica! Stay at your own risk ... good luck!

Room Number:
2214

Arrival:
Was fine.

Rooms:
Need maintenance!

Restaurants and Bars:
Alot of the same foods everyday!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Clean. Pools close at 6pm for treatment so don't plan on swimming after 6!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
They charge a ridiculous amount to take u off the resort. I will say the entertainment was good!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrible place for a Wedding"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  K  on Jan 3, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Wedding | With Group
185 people found this review helpful

The good: Junior Suites and wedding suites, as well as the a la cartes for the Jr Suite guests

The bad: Michael the photgrapher - terrible photographer and shady businessman: do not use this service!!!!! Also, overpriced wedding packages, accessories, etc. Ordered gorgeous flowers off the resort, planned a dinner reception at the Ruins, wayyyyy better and cheaper than the Riu. Weddign coordinator forgot many details of our wedding, not enough champagne glasses, no flexibility on the start time or length of the ceremony. A complete wedding factory, many many brides on the same day, all over the resort.

The resort: break-ins to the standard guest rooms. Many drug dealers all over the resort and beach, harrassing. Food not bad. Pools are good. Swimming area bad, always being approached and yelled at by drug dealers. A huge problem for this resort is the drug dealers and Michael the photographer; both need to be removed from the resort for bad business practices.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Horrible food! Bad customer service!"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Michelle  on Nov 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Party | With Group
265 people found this review helpful

The customer service at this hotel s***ed! The people that worked there (with the exception of a few) was horrible! We called down to the front desk for towels several times & they never came! Fridge wasnt restocked some days because of a "beer shortage"! Really?! Asked for a wake up call to go on a trip to Negril & they never called, almost missed our bus! Rooms smell like mold/mildew! Food s***ed! Not to mention you can't make reservations at some of the resturants unless you have a suite, how is that all inclusive? Its bs! & if you do get to reserve something do it because they werent able to accommodate all guests! Would never stay here again! We stayed at the Iberostar in Mexico & it was AMAZING! Will never stay at a Riu again!!

Room Number:
3436

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very, very disappointing"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  tim  on Jan 18, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
205 people found this review helpful

Buffet repetatively boring,requested king sized bed was given 2 doubles,broken toilet,travelled with another couple and requested rooms to be close;we were at opposite ends of the complex(2 different buildings Found ALL
staff to be non-accomidating.Person at non-motorized kayaks very rude.

Room Number:
3238

Room Block:
not given

Arrival:
unorganized mass confusion

Rooms:
nothing special

Restaurants and Bars:
buffet boring,bars dirty,tried 2 of their ala cartes.
Sir Richards was excellent but Tashumis was disappointing

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was surprisingly small (I usually walk the beach at resorts)this one was blocked by a pier at one end and aprivate beach at the other
Pools was refreshing
Grounds were not kept very clean

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Wasn't given the opportunity to use kayaks or paddle boats.
Only water aerobics in 1 pool
Off the resort went ATVing at Chukka, Awesome!!!!!!

Other Comments:
It may be another 24 years before I get back to Jamaica,but you can be sure it wont be at the Riu.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"RIU OCHO RIOS ~ THE WORST VACATION EVER ; COMPLETE NIGHTMARE "

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  true-critic  on Jan 11, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
168 people found this review helpful

RIU OCHO RIOS ~ The worst Vacation EVER ! My vacation was the worst and most horrible experience anyone could EVER have. I have already notified ALL or my friends, family, neighbors, acquaintances, co workers, distant relatives, EVERYONE that I know that Jamaica IS NOT a good place to go, that the people were RUDE, Condescending, Unhelpful, Not Courteous, and overall VERY Unpleasant. When I arrived I was directed to a travel booth upon which I was told to stand in a spot in the airport for 2 hours until the shuttle picked me up and took another one and a half hours to get me to the resort. When I was greeted by the staff at the resort upon arrival was the 1st and last time I ever was shown any type of "customer service" or "hospitality" I was sexually harassed by a guy that claimed to be "head of security" and he even forced his way into my room and exposed himself to me, I was also constantly followed and haggled by other male staff members who were trying to flirt and make sexual advances. I was very VERY displeased with the "customer service" at the reception desk of the hotel, the women working would act like they didn't see you, and would just stand around and chat with each other, AND then act put off if you spoke up to get their attention! Also one male staff member called my room one day 6 times, saying that he couldn't stop thinking about me and that he wanted to see me after work, and that did I need him to come massage me, etc. etc. This is disgusting that I cannot go on a Christmas Vacation and just relax and enjoy myself ! The food was AWFUL. Even fast food is better than what was being served in the restaurants there, and I also got sick from the food. I think the theory is to serve enough liquor and keep everyone drunk so they don't care about the bad food, bad service, and overall bad feel of the place. The food was buffet style for the majority unless you made reservations to eat at the two fancier places. It did not matter though, because all the food was horrible. I tried to go scuba diving and started having ear and chest pains in the pool before the dive, I opted to quit the pool lesson and not do the dive because I was worried about my health. I was offered NO REFUND, even though I had not even completed the pool portion of the lesson. In fact I was still owed $1 because the girl taking payment said she did not have change. I was instructed to come back at the end of the day to collect my change! This is just BAD customer service and BAD business ethics. I ended up leaving my vacation two days early to return home, because it was that HORRIBLE. I was notified that I would not get a refund and would have to buy a new ticket home, as if this fact would change my mind about leaving. I paid $600 just to get home because anything was better than being stuck in Jamaica. It amazes me that a place that is stimulated largely on tourism could be so rude and have an overall lack of any customer service or hospitality. Even now I get si

Your Arrival:
My vacation was the worst and most horrible experience anyone could EVER have. I have already notified ALL or my friends, family, neighbors, acquaintances, co workers, distant relatives, EVERYONE that I know that Jamaica IS NOT a good place to go, that the people were RUDE, Condescending, Unhelpful, Not Courteous, and overall VERY Unpleasant. When I arrived I was directed to a travel booth upon which I was told to stand in a spot in the airport for 2 hours until the shuttle picked me up and took another one and a half hours to get me to the resort. When I was greeted by the staff at the resort upon arrival was the 1st and last time I ever was shown any type of "customer service" or "hospitality"

Rooms:
The rooms were average but nice. Except for the fact that the heat did not work and it did get very cold at night and early evening. The T.V. channels were limited. And the room smelt moldy and more like very unpleasant like sewer as the days went on

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was AWFUL. Even fast food is better than what was being served in the restaurants there, and I also got sick from the food. I think the theory is to serve enough liquor and keep everyone drunk so they don't care about the bad food, bad service, and overall bad feel of the place. The food was buffet style for the majority unless you made reservations to eat at the two fancier places. It did not matter though, because all the food was horrible.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was so cold I couldn't even swim in it, think Hypothermia ! The grounds smelt like bad food and old garbage. The beach was usually a mess with debris and other things that washed up on shore from the nightly storm/showers.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I tried to go scuba diving and started having ear and chest pains in the pool before the dive, I opted to quit the pool lesson and not do the dive because I was worried about my health. I was offered NO REFUND, even though I had not even completed the pool portion of the lesson. In fact I was still owed $1 because the girl taking payment said she did not have change. I was instructed to come back at the end of the day to collect my change! This is just BAD customer service and BAD business ethics.

Other Comments:
A complete Nightmare, AND the Worst Christmas EVER ! I was met with rudeness and aloofness from the moment I landed until the moment I re-boarded the plane to home.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"very disappointed in resort"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Del  on May 24, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2014 | Wedding | Family and Kids
20 people found this review helpful

The minute we arrived to check into our room I was rubbed the wrong way from a staff member. I asked for a extra key and was told no and it was going to cost me $250.00 per key if I lost them. Posted ME right off. Then she proceeded to tell me that if I lost the cards for our beach towels it would cost me $20.00 per key card. They didn't have any locks available for the safe in our room. So, I waited till next day and spoke with a gentleman at the desk 're: the items I requested and he said NO PROBLEM MAN. Most of the staff was rude and the food was the same thing over and over during our stay.I will say this though, the beds were comfortable,beach was great but that was about it. I will never stay there again. My overall experience was a big disappointment and I felt it was not worth the money. We had a much better experience in Mexico plus the service and people were fantastic.

Room Number:
2416

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It's a 3 dressed up as a 9"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Geejie  on Jan 24, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
173 people found this review helpful

Having travelled throughout the Caribbean and having seen many different all-inclusives, maybe I am now more choosy. The hotel looks pretty but upon closer observation, has many design flaws and, in my opinion, is poorly managed. The employees bend over backwards to be helpful, generally-speaking, but they can't produce things which haven't been provided by management, and they can't change the basic layout of the hotel. We wrote a list of our concerns and presented them to the assistant manager on the 3rd day of our 7-day stay. His response was to shrug and say nothing. We asked him to find a way to compensate our displeasure but he really had nothing to offer us.

Your Arrival:
We had stayed at another hotel for a week in Negril and so we accepted their transfer to the MBJ airport and then we were on our own for finding a way to the Riu. Someone had given us the name of a reasonably priced, reliable taxi service, so we used that. We arrived at the RIU around 7 p.m. on a Saturday evening. We were greeted with a sweet cocktail dispensed from a large machine and rum was added into it. We arrived to find that the hotel only had one key available and no safe locks available. They assured us that we could get these the following morning. It surprised us to learn that the room safe was locked in the old fashioned way (key and removable lock) as most hotels now have the programmable combination types. We also discovered that we had the old-fashioned lock and key for our room, while our friends in Bldg. 1 had digitized cardlocks. The entire hotel was built at the same time (not in phases) so we are not sure why one area had better locks.
We had paid for an ocean view room and were informed we were in Bldg. 3 (of 3 possible buildings)
The bellman loaded our bags and lead us on a long trip to the elevator. The trip took us through an area where there was open-air seating for the large buffet restaurant. Because we arrived during the supper hour, the bellman dodged hungry guests running back and forth from their tables to the buffet, and he also dodged busy waiters with full carts of dirty dishes. I was surprised that this was the only way to get to the bank of elevators in Bldg. 3. After that evening, we called a trip through this passageway "running the gauntlet". There is a lot of marble in this beautiful-at-first-glance hotel. Unfortunately, the marble can be slippery and is made worse by the open-air aspect (rain gets in, drinks spilled, etc.) This was "taken care of" by a mass distribution of bright orange hazard cones. It really spoiled the appearance of the place. To add to that, one must navigate a 15 ramp to get to the elevator, and although parts of the marble/granite had been surfaced with grit, it was still an accident waiting to happen.

Rooms:
We took the elevator to our top floor room. We looked forward to a magnificent view as we had been worried that we might be assigned a 2nd floor room and the ocean view would be nothing but treetops. However, after stepping onto the balcony, we were greeting by a solid wall. Instead of a railing so that the view was in fact viewable, we had to stand up to enjoy seeing anything. I have to admit that standing there in the morning did give us a magnificent view. But as mentioned, this was not achieved by sitting in a deck chair with a cocktail in hand. Additionally, there was only one chair on the balcony, and despite 2 calls to the front desk, we never had more than one.
There were never enough towels. Somedays we had one bath towel and 2 hand towels and other days 3 bath towels and no hand towels. We did put in requests for more, but never got any. We did tip our maid daily, but short of knitting her own towels, I am certain that she had no access to any.
Our clock lost 15 seconds per minute so was useless. Channels on the TV were mostly American and Spanish (RIU is a Spanish chain) and we were hard pressed to find a local station or one that provided us with a weather forecast. Many large hotels include a channel with daily events. This was not the case here.
The mattresses are poor quality and uncomfortable. The pillows are attrocious.
The furnishing and artwork are very attractive, however.

Restaurants and Bars:
I have mentioned the problem with traffic in the main (St. Ann) buffet. The same can be said for the main hallway between 2 bars leading from the reception area to Bldg. 1.
The food was quite good, generally. However, we had friends staying in Bldg.1 and we were in Bldg. 3. Our friends had jr. suites and likely paid a bit more for their rooms. Therefore, they had access to certain restaurants that we did not have access to. It seemed a bit elitist to me, but we found ways to get around it.
Sadly there wasn't a single bar/lounge where one could go to have a drink and talk with friends. Every public area was loud and noisy. The sound system was poor in the entertainment area made worse by the sound bouncing off hard materials like wood and marble.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pools are lovely. The grounds are breath-taking. There were plenty of lounge chairs available on the beach (not so much at the pools) but we prefer the beach. It is man-made but very well groomed - not like the beaches of Negril, but just fine. No real snorkeling to be done from shore, but great for cooling off.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We had a couple massage on our first day at the resort. It was wonderful - it took place right on the beach and our attendants were delightful.
We attended a wedding at the gazebo on the beach - it was beautifully done.
As with all the all-inclusives that have tour companies attached, the tours are expensive and dependent on who happens to be the tour guide that day. We did 2 tours -one was a Catamaran ride to Dunn's River Falls with a snorkeling stop on the way back and the other was rafting down the Martha Brae. This was our second trip to the falls and I think it is well worth it. I wouldn't ever go on the Martha Brae trip again. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly, but the bus trip was an hour each way and unfortunately, our raft guide wasn't overly friendly or talkative. Other guides were singing and chatting about local flora/fauna. Ours just wanted to sell his carved calabashes to us for $50-60. (as if we brought that kind of money with us on a tour!)

Other Comments:
The earthquake in Haiti was a recent occurence and the weather in Jamaica was the poorest I had experienced. However, we did have more sun than rain and Jamaica is a most beautiful country.
The people of Jamaica are the highlight. They are the happiest, friendliest people and they keep us coming back. We just won't stay at a RIU next time!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very Mixed Review"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Phil  on Dec 12, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Wedding | Family and Kids
366 people found this review helpful

Travelled to Jamaica for my daughters wedding. Wedding was awsome, went as planned and better than expected 10 out of 10.
Staff. Ranged from great to downright aggressive. The most worring thing, the front desk was hard, and at times, impossible to reach by phone...inexcusable!
Overall: dissapointed. The sound systems in both the stage area and night club were terrible. The sound from the stage area was so loud and reverberating that I could not hold a converation in the lobby.
5 stars it may be in Jamaica, but in the rest of the world I doubt it could cling to a 3.

Room Number:
5332

Arrival:
OK for us but for some in our party it was truly horrible. Wrong rooms, rooms not ready, being told to come back in an hour only to find that the person that they were talking to were no longer there and had to start again.

Rooms:
Rooms.

Pros: Fairly well appointed, good view, free booze.

Cons: Very Intermittant hot water, room smelt of damp and was damp, quite a hike to get to the lobby/bars. No Wi-Fi.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food.

Pros: Non.
Cons: Cafeteria at best. Had an 10 Oz steak at the steak resturant.My steak was lucky to be 5 Oz and some of my companions steaks were even smaller and served with overcooked vegatables. Cooks moved as if in molasses. Slow to replenish foods especially the deserts. Wine was awful. Beer was crap and the cocktails if made correctly used cheap ingredients.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach and Pools.

Pros: lots of room and loungers. Clean and well kept. Cons: Ran out of towels. Closed at six pm.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
On the beach.

Windsurfing: Usless your an absolute beginner, forget it.

Sailing: plenty of hobie Cats. Althought you had to pay for instruction.

Diving: my niece went diving on a wreck from the hotel. She has her diving ticket. Cost her $40 for the total dive including eqipment. She was very impressed.

Off the resorts. we went on a couple of excursions. Very, very expensive, felt like i'd been gouged. Not the hotels fault.

Other Comments:
Probably won't stay at another Riu.

Seems to me many of the problems could be resolved with a few well place polices and quality controls. Good thing spoiled by sloppy management.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Beach"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sharol  on Jan 12, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
120 people found this review helpful

Lovely big resort. Internet connection with your own laptop in Lobby area with only 1-2 laptops available at Riu. The beds were most unconfortable & fresh fruit was hard to find most days. The beach area was the best with reef area for protection from huge waves. Entertainment was poor quality in the evenings. The staff were friendly & all English speaking which was nice.

Your Arrival:
Jan 3, 2010

Rooms:
Requested the king bedroom & had 2 doubles put together, but made individually.

Restaurants and Bars:
You could only book 1 restaurant per day & had to be in line 45 min before 8am when they opened the booking desk. Sir John's was good; but Steakhouse was poor.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds were well kept & lovely. The beach area was large & protected from ocean with a reef which was nice as you could snorkel there. Sailboats, kayaks & paddle boats available also.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Hired a taxi from resort for $35 USD for 2 couples to go into Ocho Rios 10 min away from resort.

Other Comments:
Relatively good value for resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube