Riu Ocho Rios Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Ocho Rios > Ocho Rios Hotel Index > Riu Ocho Rios reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Ocho Rios Hotels with Similar Ranking

Couples Sans Souci

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 23, 2010

Beaches Boscobel Ocho Rios

3.6 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed May 2, 2013

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios

3.3 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 13, 2013

Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort & Spa

1.6 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 16, 2012

Riu Ocho Rios  

Mammee Bay, St Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica

"Nice vacation"
Posted by: Dan  on Jun 21, 2017
see all reviews

Riu Ocho Rios Reviews
Riu Ocho Rios Pictures and Information
Riu Ocho Rios Ocho Rios Jamaica

#1
of 16 Hotels in Ocho Rios

User rating 3.2

Based on 33 reviews

Riu Ocho Rios Information


Enjoy the finest amenities and personalized service available on Jamaica. Our exceptional Ocho Rios Jamaica resort features five-star accommodations, fabulous amenities, and superb service.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Riu Ocho Rios Reviews

Riu Ocho Rios Review: 3.2 of 5 33 reviews
Excellent
  10
Very good
  5
Average
  7
Poor
  4
Terrible
  7
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (22)
Party (1)
Wedding (8)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (8)
With friend (2)
With Group (11)
With Spouse/Partner (11)
Solo
1 - 10 of 33

"*Warning*Warning*Warning*"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Edward  on Jan 26, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
509 people found this review helpful

My trip to RIU Ocho Rios was the worst vacation experience of my life. On 10 January, 2012, our room was broken into and we were robbed. The (not-so) safe was removed from the wall, and the contents removed from the back. The room safe offers NO security for your expensive items. To date the RIU has offered to compensate me at the rate of less than 50% of the value of our loss, and no compensation for the disruption to our vacation. I do not know if we were targeted because we were at dinner, because we were seen with expensive items (iPad2, dive gear, etc.) or because we were in a suite, or for some other unknown reason. I am very glad we didn't return while the perpetrators were in the room, or we could have been hurt. The rooms lock with a standard key, marked with the room number, which if lost is easily reproduced. Be warned. This is an impoverished country, and crime IS an issue. If you choose to travel to Jamaica, I would recommend leaving anything you're not willing to lose at home. So far, RIU's response to this has been extremely disappointing, to say the least.

Room Number:
3457

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"If this was my first experience in Jamaica I wouldn't go back!"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  jenn  on May 19, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
485 people found this review helpful

The first night they gave us a garden view room and we paid for ocean veiw they told us we needed to check out the next day at 12 put our luggage behind the desk and wait till 230 to get a different room so we did. When we finally got another room they gave us a key to an occupied room! So we waited another hr before getting a room with the veiw we paid for. Then I had my phone on the night stand the ceiling was leaking right into my phone the management was useless! Needless to say I had to buy a new one when I got back. They had the worst customer services staff could really give 2 shits if u have a problem. They are a huge resort and they know they will always have customers no matter what you are just a number. The resort on the surface is nice but needs a lot of maintenance a woman was complaining that her toilet wasn't working and her husband had to fix it! Umm last I checked nobody should befixing a toilet on vacation especially when u pay the price u pay to go to Jamaica! Stay at your own risk ... good luck!

Room Number:
2214

Arrival:
Was fine.

Rooms:
Need maintenance!

Restaurants and Bars:
Alot of the same foods everyday!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Clean. Pools close at 6pm for treatment so don't plan on swimming after 6!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
They charge a ridiculous amount to take u off the resort. I will say the entertainment was good!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrible place for a Wedding"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  K  on Jan 3, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Wedding | With Group
284 people found this review helpful

The good: Junior Suites and wedding suites, as well as the a la cartes for the Jr Suite guests

The bad: Michael the photgrapher - terrible photographer and shady businessman: do not use this service!!!!! Also, overpriced wedding packages, accessories, etc. Ordered gorgeous flowers off the resort, planned a dinner reception at the Ruins, wayyyyy better and cheaper than the Riu. Weddign coordinator forgot many details of our wedding, not enough champagne glasses, no flexibility on the start time or length of the ceremony. A complete wedding factory, many many brides on the same day, all over the resort.

The resort: break-ins to the standard guest rooms. Many drug dealers all over the resort and beach, harrassing. Food not bad. Pools are good. Swimming area bad, always being approached and yelled at by drug dealers. A huge problem for this resort is the drug dealers and Michael the photographer; both need to be removed from the resort for bad business practices.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Extremely sleazy business practices "

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Katherine  on May 14, 2017  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2017 | Business | With Group
49 people found this review helpful

My husband and three of his coworkers come here about one week a month to help the Jamaican military on a project. My husband asked a woman who works at the front desk on April 23, 2017, which she as the day he and his coworkers were leaving how much extra it would be if he brought his wife next time. He was told $75 US a night.

However, once I arrived, and the hotel knows I'm essentially stuck here, they charged me $125 US/night. When my husband and I complained, Richard the Supervisor keeps saying "prices vary".

My husband has a screen capture showing he was charged the online price, and the online price for an additional person is $66US/night. But Richard keeps repeating "prices vary.

Why were we told $75 then? Why not just be honest? I really dislike dishonest business practices such as this.

Clearly this hotel is taking advantage of me already being here, after my husband specifically asked how much it would be three weeks ago, when he was here helping the Jamaican military.

Do not stay at this sleazy resort. I hold people to a high ethical standard and clearly staff know they can screw me, so that's exactly what they are doing.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Horrible food! Bad customer service!"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Michelle  on Nov 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Party | With Group
381 people found this review helpful

The customer service at this hotel s***ed! The people that worked there (with the exception of a few) was horrible! We called down to the front desk for towels several times & they never came! Fridge wasnt restocked some days because of a "beer shortage"! Really?! Asked for a wake up call to go on a trip to Negril & they never called, almost missed our bus! Rooms smell like mold/mildew! Food s***ed! Not to mention you can't make reservations at some of the resturants unless you have a suite, how is that all inclusive? Its bs! & if you do get to reserve something do it because they werent able to accommodate all guests! Would never stay here again! We stayed at the Iberostar in Mexico & it was AMAZING! Will never stay at a Riu again!!

Room Number:
3436

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very, very disappointing"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  tim  on Jan 18, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
428 people found this review helpful

Buffet repetatively boring,requested king sized bed was given 2 doubles,broken toilet,travelled with another couple and requested rooms to be close;we were at opposite ends of the complex(2 different buildings Found ALL
staff to be non-accomidating.Person at non-motorized kayaks very rude.

Room Number:
3238

Room Block:
not given

Arrival:
unorganized mass confusion

Rooms:
nothing special

Restaurants and Bars:
buffet boring,bars dirty,tried 2 of their ala cartes.
Sir Richards was excellent but Tashumis was disappointing

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was surprisingly small (I usually walk the beach at resorts)this one was blocked by a pier at one end and aprivate beach at the other
Pools was refreshing
Grounds were not kept very clean

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Wasn't given the opportunity to use kayaks or paddle boats.
Only water aerobics in 1 pool
Off the resort went ATVing at Chukka, Awesome!!!!!!

Other Comments:
It may be another 24 years before I get back to Jamaica,but you can be sure it wont be at the Riu.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"RIU OCHO RIOS ~ THE WORST VACATION EVER ; COMPLETE NIGHTMARE "

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  true-critic  on Jan 11, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
282 people found this review helpful

RIU OCHO RIOS ~ The worst Vacation EVER ! My vacation was the worst and most horrible experience anyone could EVER have. I have already notified ALL or my friends, family, neighbors, acquaintances, co workers, distant relatives, EVERYONE that I know that Jamaica IS NOT a good place to go, that the people were RUDE, Condescending, Unhelpful, Not Courteous, and overall VERY Unpleasant. When I arrived I was directed to a travel booth upon which I was told to stand in a spot in the airport for 2 hours until the shuttle picked me up and took another one and a half hours to get me to the resort. When I was greeted by the staff at the resort upon arrival was the 1st and last time I ever was shown any type of "customer service" or "hospitality" I was sexually harassed by a guy that claimed to be "head of security" and he even forced his way into my room and exposed himself to me, I was also constantly followed and haggled by other male staff members who were trying to flirt and make sexual advances. I was very VERY displeased with the "customer service" at the reception desk of the hotel, the women working would act like they didn't see you, and would just stand around and chat with each other, AND then act put off if you spoke up to get their attention! Also one male staff member called my room one day 6 times, saying that he couldn't stop thinking about me and that he wanted to see me after work, and that did I need him to come massage me, etc. etc. This is disgusting that I cannot go on a Christmas Vacation and just relax and enjoy myself ! The food was AWFUL. Even fast food is better than what was being served in the restaurants there, and I also got sick from the food. I think the theory is to serve enough liquor and keep everyone drunk so they don't care about the bad food, bad service, and overall bad feel of the place. The food was buffet style for the majority unless you made reservations to eat at the two fancier places. It did not matter though, because all the food was horrible. I tried to go scuba diving and started having ear and chest pains in the pool before the dive, I opted to quit the pool lesson and not do the dive because I was worried about my health. I was offered NO REFUND, even though I had not even completed the pool portion of the lesson. In fact I was still owed $1 because the girl taking payment said she did not have change. I was instructed to come back at the end of the day to collect my change! This is just BAD customer service and BAD business ethics. I ended up leaving my vacation two days early to return home, because it was that HORRIBLE. I was notified that I would not get a refund and would have to buy a new ticket home, as if this fact would change my mind about leaving. I paid $600 just to get home because anything was better than being stuck in Jamaica. It amazes me that a place that is stimulated largely on tourism could be so rude and have an overall lack of any customer service or hospitality. Even now I get si

Your Arrival:
My vacation was the worst and most horrible experience anyone could EVER have. I have already notified ALL or my friends, family, neighbors, acquaintances, co workers, distant relatives, EVERYONE that I know that Jamaica IS NOT a good place to go, that the people were RUDE, Condescending, Unhelpful, Not Courteous, and overall VERY Unpleasant. When I arrived I was directed to a travel booth upon which I was told to stand in a spot in the airport for 2 hours until the shuttle picked me up and took another one and a half hours to get me to the resort. When I was greeted by the staff at the resort upon arrival was the 1st and last time I ever was shown any type of "customer service" or "hospitality"

Rooms:
The rooms were average but nice. Except for the fact that the heat did not work and it did get very cold at night and early evening. The T.V. channels were limited. And the room smelt moldy and more like very unpleasant like sewer as the days went on

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was AWFUL. Even fast food is better than what was being served in the restaurants there, and I also got sick from the food. I think the theory is to serve enough liquor and keep everyone drunk so they don't care about the bad food, bad service, and overall bad feel of the place. The food was buffet style for the majority unless you made reservations to eat at the two fancier places. It did not matter though, because all the food was horrible.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was so cold I couldn't even swim in it, think Hypothermia ! The grounds smelt like bad food and old garbage. The beach was usually a mess with debris and other things that washed up on shore from the nightly storm/showers.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I tried to go scuba diving and started having ear and chest pains in the pool before the dive, I opted to quit the pool lesson and not do the dive because I was worried about my health. I was offered NO REFUND, even though I had not even completed the pool portion of the lesson. In fact I was still owed $1 because the girl taking payment said she did not have change. I was instructed to come back at the end of the day to collect my change! This is just BAD customer service and BAD business ethics.

Other Comments:
A complete Nightmare, AND the Worst Christmas EVER ! I was met with rudeness and aloofness from the moment I landed until the moment I re-boarded the plane to home.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"very disappointed in resort"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Del  on May 24, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2014 | Wedding | Family and Kids
268 people found this review helpful

The minute we arrived to check into our room I was rubbed the wrong way from a staff member. I asked for a extra key and was told no and it was going to cost me $250.00 per key if I lost them. Posted ME right off. Then she proceeded to tell me that if I lost the cards for our beach towels it would cost me $20.00 per key card. They didn't have any locks available for the safe in our room. So, I waited till next day and spoke with a gentleman at the desk 're: the items I requested and he said NO PROBLEM MAN. Most of the staff was rude and the food was the same thing over and over during our stay.I will say this though, the beds were comfortable,beach was great but that was about it. I will never stay there again. My overall experience was a big disappointment and I felt it was not worth the money. We had a much better experience in Mexico plus the service and people were fantastic.

Room Number:
2416

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"property and service are heading in the wrong direction"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Duane  on Jul 8, 2016  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2016 | Wedding | With Group
147 people found this review helpful

Visited in 2013 and I would have given the place 5 stars...it's obvious that less effort has been placed on overall experience in 2016...coupled with a very unpleasant experience of the staff and others allowing one of my bags to be stolen not more than 15 minutes after arrival...caused great consternation for my daughter, and now husband as well as other family and friends. All told we brought 40 individuals to the resort and over $40,000.00 worth of business.....pools needed maintenance as well as other public spaces..obvious deterioration can be seen throughout....and this in only 3 years..entertsinment was not of the same quality in 2013 and ended early a few nights with nothing else to do at the resort....corporate offered to reimburse me possibly, for my loss of less than $600 only if I could produce receipts, pictures, etc....I declined since I had no intent of trying to recreate the contents of my bag in the time they allotted...in closing, we spent more tha $40,000.00 and they balanced that against less than $600 ...good business move I guess but none of our family and friends will travel there again because of their indifferent approach.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very Mixed Review"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Phil  on Dec 12, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Wedding | Family and Kids
601 people found this review helpful

Travelled to Jamaica for my daughters wedding. Wedding was awsome, went as planned and better than expected 10 out of 10.
Staff. Ranged from great to downright aggressive. The most worring thing, the front desk was hard, and at times, impossible to reach by phone...inexcusable!
Overall: dissapointed. The sound systems in both the stage area and night club were terrible. The sound from the stage area was so loud and reverberating that I could not hold a converation in the lobby.
5 stars it may be in Jamaica, but in the rest of the world I doubt it could cling to a 3.

Room Number:
5332

Arrival:
OK for us but for some in our party it was truly horrible. Wrong rooms, rooms not ready, being told to come back in an hour only to find that the person that they were talking to were no longer there and had to start again.

Rooms:
Rooms.

Pros: Fairly well appointed, good view, free booze.

Cons: Very Intermittant hot water, room smelt of damp and was damp, quite a hike to get to the lobby/bars. No Wi-Fi.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food.

Pros: Non.
Cons: Cafeteria at best. Had an 10 Oz steak at the steak resturant.My steak was lucky to be 5 Oz and some of my companions steaks were even smaller and served with overcooked vegatables. Cooks moved as if in molasses. Slow to replenish foods especially the deserts. Wine was awful. Beer was crap and the cocktails if made correctly used cheap ingredients.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach and Pools.

Pros: lots of room and loungers. Clean and well kept. Cons: Ran out of towels. Closed at six pm.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
On the beach.

Windsurfing: Usless your an absolute beginner, forget it.

Sailing: plenty of hobie Cats. Althought you had to pay for instruction.

Diving: my niece went diving on a wreck from the hotel. She has her diving ticket. Cost her $40 for the total dive including eqipment. She was very impressed.

Off the resorts. we went on a couple of excursions. Very, very expensive, felt like i'd been gouged. Not the hotels fault.

Other Comments:
Probably won't stay at another Riu.

Seems to me many of the problems could be resolved with a few well place polices and quality controls. Good thing spoiled by sloppy management.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube