Riu Ocho Rios Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Ocho Rios > Ocho Rios Hotel Index > Riu Ocho Rios reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Ocho Rios Hotels with Similar Ranking

Couples Sans Souci

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 23, 2010

Beaches Boscobel Ocho Rios

3.6 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed May 2, 2013

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios

3.3 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 13, 2013

Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort & Spa

1.6 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 16, 2012

Riu Ocho Rios  

Mammee Bay, St Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica

"Quality of rooms was not what we expected, the rest was amazing.."
Posted by: Lucian on Aug 13, 2016
see all reviews

Riu Ocho Rios Reviews
Riu Ocho Rios Pictures and Information
Riu Ocho Rios Ocho Rios Jamaica

#1
of 16 Hotels in Ocho Rios

User rating 3.3

Based on 31 reviews

Riu Ocho Rios Information


Enjoy the finest amenities and personalized service available on Jamaica. Our exceptional Ocho Rios Jamaica resort features five-star accommodations, fabulous amenities, and superb service.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Riu Ocho Rios Reviews

Riu Ocho Rios Review: 3.3 of 5 31 reviews
Excellent
  10
Very good
  4
Average
  7
Poor
  4
Terrible
  6
By Occasion...
Leisure (21)
Party (1)
Wedding (8)
Business
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (8)
With friend (2)
With Group (10)
With Spouse/Partner (10)
Solo
11 - 20 of 31

"Very, very disappointing"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  tim  on Jan 18, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
385 people found this review helpful

Buffet repetatively boring,requested king sized bed was given 2 doubles,broken toilet,travelled with another couple and requested rooms to be close;we were at opposite ends of the complex(2 different buildings Found ALL
staff to be non-accomidating.Person at non-motorized kayaks very rude.

Room Number:
3238

Room Block:
not given

Arrival:
unorganized mass confusion

Rooms:
nothing special

Restaurants and Bars:
buffet boring,bars dirty,tried 2 of their ala cartes.
Sir Richards was excellent but Tashumis was disappointing

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was surprisingly small (I usually walk the beach at resorts)this one was blocked by a pier at one end and aprivate beach at the other
Pools was refreshing
Grounds were not kept very clean

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Wasn't given the opportunity to use kayaks or paddle boats.
Only water aerobics in 1 pool
Off the resort went ATVing at Chukka, Awesome!!!!!!

Other Comments:
It may be another 24 years before I get back to Jamaica,but you can be sure it wont be at the Riu.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very Mixed Review"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Phil  on Dec 12, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Wedding | Family and Kids
558 people found this review helpful

Travelled to Jamaica for my daughters wedding. Wedding was awsome, went as planned and better than expected 10 out of 10.
Staff. Ranged from great to downright aggressive. The most worring thing, the front desk was hard, and at times, impossible to reach by phone...inexcusable!
Overall: dissapointed. The sound systems in both the stage area and night club were terrible. The sound from the stage area was so loud and reverberating that I could not hold a converation in the lobby.
5 stars it may be in Jamaica, but in the rest of the world I doubt it could cling to a 3.

Room Number:
5332

Arrival:
OK for us but for some in our party it was truly horrible. Wrong rooms, rooms not ready, being told to come back in an hour only to find that the person that they were talking to were no longer there and had to start again.

Rooms:
Rooms.

Pros: Fairly well appointed, good view, free booze.

Cons: Very Intermittant hot water, room smelt of damp and was damp, quite a hike to get to the lobby/bars. No Wi-Fi.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food.

Pros: Non.
Cons: Cafeteria at best. Had an 10 Oz steak at the steak resturant.My steak was lucky to be 5 Oz and some of my companions steaks were even smaller and served with overcooked vegatables. Cooks moved as if in molasses. Slow to replenish foods especially the deserts. Wine was awful. Beer was crap and the cocktails if made correctly used cheap ingredients.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach and Pools.

Pros: lots of room and loungers. Clean and well kept. Cons: Ran out of towels. Closed at six pm.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
On the beach.

Windsurfing: Usless your an absolute beginner, forget it.

Sailing: plenty of hobie Cats. Althought you had to pay for instruction.

Diving: my niece went diving on a wreck from the hotel. She has her diving ticket. Cost her $40 for the total dive including eqipment. She was very impressed.

Off the resorts. we went on a couple of excursions. Very, very expensive, felt like i'd been gouged. Not the hotels fault.

Other Comments:
Probably won't stay at another Riu.

Seems to me many of the problems could be resolved with a few well place polices and quality controls. Good thing spoiled by sloppy management.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great time at the Riu ocho rios"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Andrew  on Nov 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
428 people found this review helpful

My wife and I, spent a week at the Riu. This is our third time there and we loved it. We were amazed at how clean the hotel was kept, the staff were very friendly especially our waiter Gregory. The food was amazing and plentiful as usual. My wife and I were very impressed that the hotel was able to give us a wake up call exactly on time, also the hotel grounds were well maintained. We appreciated the fact that the manager went out of his way to make sure our dinning experience was perfect. This hotel met all of our expectations, we would like to let you know that we have recommended this hotel to many of our friends and family. I can promise you that we will be visiting your hotel next year with our family. To conclude this review I would just like to say that a good hotel needs good food, entertainment and a good staff, and riu has it all.

ps. and as jamaicans would say yeaaa mon, see u guys next year

from Ontario Canada

Room Number:
1267

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Horrible food! Bad customer service!"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Michelle  on Nov 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Party | With Group
343 people found this review helpful

The customer service at this hotel s***ed! The people that worked there (with the exception of a few) was horrible! We called down to the front desk for towels several times & they never came! Fridge wasnt restocked some days because of a "beer shortage"! Really?! Asked for a wake up call to go on a trip to Negril & they never called, almost missed our bus! Rooms smell like mold/mildew! Food s***ed! Not to mention you can't make reservations at some of the resturants unless you have a suite, how is that all inclusive? Its bs! & if you do get to reserve something do it because they werent able to accommodate all guests! Would never stay here again! We stayed at the Iberostar in Mexico & it was AMAZING! Will never stay at a Riu again!!

Room Number:
3436

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Staff -- wedding ring lost and found and returned"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  coco  on Nov 12, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Wedding | With Group
240 people found this review helpful

In August 2011 I joined about 10 friends and we helped celebrate the wedding of a mutual friend at Riu. We had a blast. The food was fabulous, the beach was wonderful and it was a good time all around. The one unfortunate thing that happened, was that my husband forgot his wedding ring in the safe of our room. He didn't realize this until we started unpacking back home. FORTUNATELY we called the Riu right away and the staff was able to locate and secure the ring. After a few weeks, I'm happy to say that the ring is back on my husbands finger. THANKS to the staff at Riu for helping us!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Positive Positive Positive!"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dick  on Jun 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
236 people found this review helpful

We saw numerous negative reviews but since we have stayed at several other RIUís across Mexico and the Caribbean and never were disappointed, we took a chance. We were very happy we did! The past negative reviewers are crazy!

Granted the airport is several hours away from the hotel, the drive is smooth and the Sunquest people made the connection easy. When we got to the resort, they didnít have the ocean view room we wanted, so they instantly upgraded us (we didnít have to ask) to the Palace section of the hotel with an ocean view Junior Suite. The accommodations were lovely, everything worked properly, and the place is immaculately clean with gorgeous grounds. The pools, especially the special ďinfinity poolĒ were spotless and delightful. As residents of the Palace section, we had access to several exclusive a la carte restaurants, but didnít take advantage of this because the buffets were so good.

The staff was unfailingly friendly and helpful. Everyone greeted us with a smile each time we met. Every day the housekeeping staff left one of the towels on the bed sculpted into a different arrangement with fresh flowers (eg. a swan).

The food was incredibly plentiful, and the variety amazing. It was hot and fresh. All kinds of Jamaican specialties and fruits at each meal. My favourite was the Jerk Chicken shack on the beach at lunch time. The coffee was superb.

The beach is lovely. All white sand, CLEAN, and only a couple of occasional vendors who had to stay in the water past the rope barrier. They didnít pester you. Lots of shade on chaises nder palm trees if you wanted it, or take advantage of the sun. The water is bathtub-warm. Plenty of paddle-boats and other water craft. We were able to arrange a lesson on a catamaran because we are novices. The only disappointment with the beach is that the nearby reef is dead and therefore snorkeling right at the resort isnít good.

I have to make special mention of two wonderful excursions off the resort. We went on the Blue Mountain Bicycle Tour. We in fact planned to go to this part of Jamaica specifically because of this tour. This is an all-day excursion - they take you by bus high into the Blue Mountains. The scenery is breathtaking. Then you bike in a group of about 30 people downhill along a narrow mountain road, with stops along the way for commentary, sampling of mountain coffee, intro to native medicinal plants, and a dip in a natural waterfall pool at the end. The downhill is about 10 miles (16 km) and is NOT TO BE MISSED!
We also went tubing down the White River, a beautiful lazy river with thick bamboo forest on either side. Again, well worth it!

RIU is always a terrific value and this hotel was no exception.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic Time at Ocho Rios"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Russell  on Mar 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Wedding | With Group
256 people found this review helpful

I had an absolutely unbelievable time at Riu Ocho Rios. The staff are warm, welcoming and very professional. The rooms are great! Comfortable beds, modern and spacious bathrooms, immaculately clean. The food was beyond excellent - from the buffet to the various other restaurants, you will want for nothing!! The entertainment was great every night.

The only part of my stay there that I had to frown at was the small amounts of litter on the beach, but this is NOT a knock against the staff. Some inconsiderate guests would bring their drinks and food down to the beach and leave their glasses and food remnants. The staff, to their credit, were fantastic at keeping things tidy.

If you're considering spending your vacation at this resort, do it. You'll love it. I didn't want to leave!

Arrival:
Our arrival was handled quickly and the staff made us feel like we were the most important and welcome people in the world.

Rooms:
Incredible rooms!! Clean, modern, comfortable. I wish all resort rooms were as nice as the ones at Ocho Rios.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food here is unbelievably good. So much variety! I was often full before I could sample everything I wanted to try. The restaurant and bar staff are amazing and so accommodating.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Definitely go to Mystic Mountain. Zip-lining and bobsledding through the jungle - the best time I ever had!

Other Comments:
I will definitely be going back. I don't travel as much as some, but staying at this resort was one of the best travel experiences of my life!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  sandy  on Mar 9, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
270 people found this review helpful

Read alot of negative reviews but went anyway and I'm glad we did. It is a great resort we did not have any problems that other people complained about. There was always lots of towels, face cloths etc. the mini bar restocked daily always full. Our room was geat had a nice oceanview. Staff were always friendly. Food was good always had lots of variety. We did 3 resturants,steak house, Japanese and Asian all were good. Though service at the steak house was pretty slow but food was still good. The Jerk hut is great had chicken there every day. the beach was fantastic,the water was crystal clear. Overall had a great time and we go back in a heartbeat. I think people complain about the tiniest things, remember its not your home

Room Number:
1349

Room Block:
deluxe wing

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"as i seee it"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  ernie  on Jan 24, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
228 people found this review helpful

staff were very friendly housekeeping great ocean view and service were excellent entertainment was exciting and colorful the disco was to loud and hard rock music the buffet was good and plentiful i sat down and within i-2 minutes was approached to see if i needed anything else the swim-up bar and pool had lots of room the beach was clean and big lots of chairs to relax on with a small cafe on the beach cabs or buses were available to travel on to shop or sight see-the market was pushy and cramped you had to haggle for everything there are private malls for tourists to shop at also the things i didn't like don't use Jamaican money for purchases everyone's has their own exchange rate i.e. us or Canadian no coffee machine in your room although there is a complete bar 4 40 oz bottles and beer tonic water cola and the safe is a keyed model instead of combination lock my brother lost his key i believe it cost 75.00 to replace the lock the thing most annoying was booking a table for dinner you couldn't always full by 8:00 a.m.

Room Number:
3515

Restaurants and Bars:
always full by 8:30 a.m. to bookings 7-9 you should be giving a better system than having to get up every day in the early morns while on vacation to book your dinner in Cuba we were allowed only three separate dinners in our weeks stay and everyone got to appreciate the fine dining experience

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
sky gliding snorkeling scuba diving bike riding

Other Comments:
i was there as an invited guest to a wedding we had at the mumbreey falls it was close to dundas falls also a nice place to visit

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Overall, Disappointing"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lynne  on Jan 23, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Wedding | With Group
250 people found this review helpful

A mixed review. Went for grandson's wedding. Planned to stay an extra week after wedding.

As long as your needs fit into a box, you are okay, but once you have a problem you are on your own. See below: "The Problem".

Room Number:
1322

Room Block:
Junior Suites

Arrival:
Well managed.

Rooms:
Junior suite with balcony and ocean view. We were always short of towels. Water poured from a ceiling grill twice. Phone never worked properly, necessitating trips to the desk when we needed anything. Key cards only worked intermittently. All minor inconveniences (except the phone), unexpected in five-star. No room service - also odd for five-star. Despite "all-inclusive" a bottle of champagne(which turned out to be sparkling wine) cost $15 and had to be picked up by ourselves.

Restaurants and Bars:
Excellent service and cuisine. Varied menu, abundant food all perfectly cooked and seasoned.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is gorgeous, with both full sun and tree shade. Pools are very well maintained, short on towels at times. Grounds are beautifully kept.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Plelnty to do. Exercise groups, Jamaican dance classes. Evening entertainment ranged from good to spectacular.

Other Comments:
The wedding. It rained - no fault of the hotel, and they did pull together a wedding site on an ocean terrace quite quickly. The clergyman did a great job. The wedding dinner: The guests arrived on time, then were made to wait twenty-five minutes outside in their pretty shoes in the puddles. No apparent reason. The reception: This had been planned for the beach but because of the rain it was transferred to one of the covered bars. Guests once again arrived on time, to a dark bar with no staff in sight. Bridesmaid's call to front desk brought the response "It's not my fault". Soon someone arrived with the cake and a barman who began setting up, while the guests once again waited outside in the puddles and a fine rain.

The Problem:
My husband has angina, a pre-existing condition controlled by meds. Though medically cleared for travel, while in Jamaica he began to suffer attacks of increasing frequency and severity and the meds weren't working. Our travel insurance covered everything except a pre-existing condition, so we decided to cut short our stay and go home immediately for medical care. From that point on we felt abandoned and exploited. I had a four-hour margin to get on that day's flight. Our tour rep (when she arrived a precious half-hour late) told us there were no flights available to Vancouver. She also told us it would cost $900 to fly, even though we had paid for round trip. No refunds from Sunquest. She seemed unable to help us at all, but she did give me some phone numbers to call the airlines myself. She also said we would have to see a Jamaican doctor for a "Fit to Fly" certificate. The phone in our room was still not working. After several failed tries I went to the front desk for help. After explaining my problem I was told 1-800 numbers do not work in Jamaica. (Why couldn't the operator have told me that - I had told her I was calling a toll-free #.) I explained my situation and asked for her help. She said "I can't do anything?" "You can't help me?" I asked, amazed. "No." That was it. "No."
Two guests offered to give us their return seats home, and to stay in our prepaid room for our remaining week and then take our seats home. We were told we could not exchange seats, and if they stayed in our prepaid room, they would have to pay the hotel the full price - again! No refunds!
Another guest told me that I could purchase a calling card from the hotel (why couldn't the front desk have told me that?). I did, and back in the room, surprise! The phone worked! I ended up calling Alberta, Canada to arrange my flight home, and learned that there were several seats available on that day's flight, which the tour rep had said was full.
Next, the doctor. We paid US$160 for the "Fit to Fly" certificate, and US$30 to the nurse for doing nothing.
Back at the front desk to check out, with only a short time to catch the shuttle bus,they tried to charge me for all times I had been given a failed outside line. Considering the nearly $5,000 I was forfeiting to get my husband home I refused to pay, but they insisted on $2.00 for the one successful connection.

while dealing with the Sunquest desk that morning, three couples with problems of their own said they would never book with Sunquest again, and I concur. And the words "RIU Ocho Rios" will always invoke feelings of abandonment and exploitation.

All is lovely as long as your needs fit into their box. Otherwise you are on your own.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube