Riu Ocho Rios Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Ocho Rios > Ocho Rios Hotel Index > Riu Ocho Rios reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Ocho Rios Hotels with Similar Ranking

Couples Sans Souci

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 23, 2010

Beaches Boscobel Ocho Rios

3.6 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed May 2, 2013

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios

3.3 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 13, 2013

Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort & Spa

1.6 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 16, 2012

Riu Ocho Rios  

Mammee Bay, St Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica

"Nice vacation"
Posted by: Dan  on Jun 21, 2017
see all reviews

Riu Ocho Rios Reviews
Riu Ocho Rios Pictures and Information
Riu Ocho Rios Ocho Rios Jamaica

#1
of 16 Hotels in Ocho Rios

User rating 3.2

Based on 33 reviews

Riu Ocho Rios Information


Enjoy the finest amenities and personalized service available on Jamaica. Our exceptional Ocho Rios Jamaica resort features five-star accommodations, fabulous amenities, and superb service.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Riu Ocho Rios Reviews

Riu Ocho Rios Review: 3.2 of 5 33 reviews
Excellent
  10
Very good
  5
Average
  7
Poor
  4
Terrible
  7
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (22)
Party (1)
Wedding (8)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (8)
With friend (2)
With Group (11)
With Spouse/Partner (11)
Solo
11 - 20 of 33

"*Warning*Warning*Warning*"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Edward  on Jan 26, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
498 people found this review helpful

My trip to RIU Ocho Rios was the worst vacation experience of my life. On 10 January, 2012, our room was broken into and we were robbed. The (not-so) safe was removed from the wall, and the contents removed from the back. The room safe offers NO security for your expensive items. To date the RIU has offered to compensate me at the rate of less than 50% of the value of our loss, and no compensation for the disruption to our vacation. I do not know if we were targeted because we were at dinner, because we were seen with expensive items (iPad2, dive gear, etc.) or because we were in a suite, or for some other unknown reason. I am very glad we didn't return while the perpetrators were in the room, or we could have been hurt. The rooms lock with a standard key, marked with the room number, which if lost is easily reproduced. Be warned. This is an impoverished country, and crime IS an issue. If you choose to travel to Jamaica, I would recommend leaving anything you're not willing to lose at home. So far, RIU's response to this has been extremely disappointing, to say the least.

Room Number:
3457

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very, Very Disappointing Resort Jan 8-22, 2012"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  John and Barbara  on Jan 24, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
462 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
1076 and 1301

Room Block:
N/A

Arrival:
Arrived with group of 40 and check in was handled very quickly and efficiently.

Rooms:
Our first room #1076 smelled and felt damp. There were bugs in the bed! We were very quickly moved to #1301 which smelled fine. Our key cards stopped working several times during our stay which meant lining up at the front desk – spoke with a guest there who had arrived the previous day and not yet been given a room key as the magnetizing machine wasn’t working - each time she wanted into her room, she had to come to reception and ask for a bell boy to unlock her room!
Rooms were kept clean and we always had fresh towels and drinks in the fridge (we tipped the maid every day).

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants were the most disappointing part of the vacation. Only one place in the resort for breakfast and as the resort has 846 rooms, it could be chaotic. Fresh omelets in the morning were very good but the other choices were not varied. Only one toasting machine in the resort – very frustrating. Two places for lunch but these served the same things with perhaps one main course different. The fresh pasta station at the Plantation was good. All the fish was fried until leather like and was unappetizing. The coffee dispensers were frequently out-of-order.
Most disappointing of all were the specialty restaurants - the food was not freshly cooked to order – it was brought from the other restaurants and served buffet style (Mandalay, Steak House). The gourmet Sir Richard was very poor. The Japanese restaurant was very good however, and we ate there twice. The restaurants were not staffed properly and dishes were not cleared away promptly.
Hygiene - the chefs and folks who manned the buffet did not wear gloves when cooking/serving/replenishing food.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was small but pleasant and kept clean; always clean towels available and lots of loungers; the ocean was perfect and we enjoyed that part immensely. Grounds very limited; no areas to walk around.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Snorkeled and used paddle boats. Tried to snorkel a second time and was told all the equipment was out – there was not a snorkeler to be seen along the whole beachfront so we suspect that they wouldn’t lend us the gear as we had not tipped!

Other Comments:
This hotel has doubled its room number but not the amenities or staff to look after this number of guests. The staff were often unhelpful and certainly it was clear that many of them did not like their job! There was not enough staff to keep the lobby and bar tables clean and fresh. There was only a very small non-smoking area at the front of the stage and the restaurants were all non-smoking; ash trays were not emptied promptly – disgusting to non-smokers.
Paper hand towels in all the public area washrooms ran out for several days and often the air driers were broken at the same time.

The 5 star rating is certainly not warranted – probably closer to 3 based on experiences at previous resorts.

Star Rating?:
How and by whom is a this rating determined?

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very, very disappointing"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  tim  on Jan 18, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
420 people found this review helpful

Buffet repetatively boring,requested king sized bed was given 2 doubles,broken toilet,travelled with another couple and requested rooms to be close;we were at opposite ends of the complex(2 different buildings Found ALL
staff to be non-accomidating.Person at non-motorized kayaks very rude.

Room Number:
3238

Room Block:
not given

Arrival:
unorganized mass confusion

Rooms:
nothing special

Restaurants and Bars:
buffet boring,bars dirty,tried 2 of their ala cartes.
Sir Richards was excellent but Tashumis was disappointing

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was surprisingly small (I usually walk the beach at resorts)this one was blocked by a pier at one end and aprivate beach at the other
Pools was refreshing
Grounds were not kept very clean

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Wasn't given the opportunity to use kayaks or paddle boats.
Only water aerobics in 1 pool
Off the resort went ATVing at Chukka, Awesome!!!!!!

Other Comments:
It may be another 24 years before I get back to Jamaica,but you can be sure it wont be at the Riu.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very Mixed Review"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Phil  on Dec 12, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Wedding | Family and Kids
594 people found this review helpful

Travelled to Jamaica for my daughters wedding. Wedding was awsome, went as planned and better than expected 10 out of 10.
Staff. Ranged from great to downright aggressive. The most worring thing, the front desk was hard, and at times, impossible to reach by phone...inexcusable!
Overall: dissapointed. The sound systems in both the stage area and night club were terrible. The sound from the stage area was so loud and reverberating that I could not hold a converation in the lobby.
5 stars it may be in Jamaica, but in the rest of the world I doubt it could cling to a 3.

Room Number:
5332

Arrival:
OK for us but for some in our party it was truly horrible. Wrong rooms, rooms not ready, being told to come back in an hour only to find that the person that they were talking to were no longer there and had to start again.

Rooms:
Rooms.

Pros: Fairly well appointed, good view, free booze.

Cons: Very Intermittant hot water, room smelt of damp and was damp, quite a hike to get to the lobby/bars. No Wi-Fi.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food.

Pros: Non.
Cons: Cafeteria at best. Had an 10 Oz steak at the steak resturant.My steak was lucky to be 5 Oz and some of my companions steaks were even smaller and served with overcooked vegatables. Cooks moved as if in molasses. Slow to replenish foods especially the deserts. Wine was awful. Beer was crap and the cocktails if made correctly used cheap ingredients.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach and Pools.

Pros: lots of room and loungers. Clean and well kept. Cons: Ran out of towels. Closed at six pm.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
On the beach.

Windsurfing: Usless your an absolute beginner, forget it.

Sailing: plenty of hobie Cats. Althought you had to pay for instruction.

Diving: my niece went diving on a wreck from the hotel. She has her diving ticket. Cost her $40 for the total dive including eqipment. She was very impressed.

Off the resorts. we went on a couple of excursions. Very, very expensive, felt like i'd been gouged. Not the hotels fault.

Other Comments:
Probably won't stay at another Riu.

Seems to me many of the problems could be resolved with a few well place polices and quality controls. Good thing spoiled by sloppy management.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great time at the Riu ocho rios"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Andrew  on Nov 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
450 people found this review helpful

My wife and I, spent a week at the Riu. This is our third time there and we loved it. We were amazed at how clean the hotel was kept, the staff were very friendly especially our waiter Gregory. The food was amazing and plentiful as usual. My wife and I were very impressed that the hotel was able to give us a wake up call exactly on time, also the hotel grounds were well maintained. We appreciated the fact that the manager went out of his way to make sure our dinning experience was perfect. This hotel met all of our expectations, we would like to let you know that we have recommended this hotel to many of our friends and family. I can promise you that we will be visiting your hotel next year with our family. To conclude this review I would just like to say that a good hotel needs good food, entertainment and a good staff, and riu has it all.

ps. and as jamaicans would say yeaaa mon, see u guys next year

from Ontario Canada

Room Number:
1267

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Horrible food! Bad customer service!"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Michelle  on Nov 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Party | With Group
370 people found this review helpful

The customer service at this hotel s***ed! The people that worked there (with the exception of a few) was horrible! We called down to the front desk for towels several times & they never came! Fridge wasnt restocked some days because of a "beer shortage"! Really?! Asked for a wake up call to go on a trip to Negril & they never called, almost missed our bus! Rooms smell like mold/mildew! Food s***ed! Not to mention you can't make reservations at some of the resturants unless you have a suite, how is that all inclusive? Its bs! & if you do get to reserve something do it because they werent able to accommodate all guests! Would never stay here again! We stayed at the Iberostar in Mexico & it was AMAZING! Will never stay at a Riu again!!

Room Number:
3436

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Staff -- wedding ring lost and found and returned"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  coco  on Nov 12, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Wedding | With Group
265 people found this review helpful

In August 2011 I joined about 10 friends and we helped celebrate the wedding of a mutual friend at Riu. We had a blast. The food was fabulous, the beach was wonderful and it was a good time all around. The one unfortunate thing that happened, was that my husband forgot his wedding ring in the safe of our room. He didn't realize this until we started unpacking back home. FORTUNATELY we called the Riu right away and the staff was able to locate and secure the ring. After a few weeks, I'm happy to say that the ring is back on my husbands finger. THANKS to the staff at Riu for helping us!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Positive Positive Positive!"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dick  on Jun 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
256 people found this review helpful

We saw numerous negative reviews but since we have stayed at several other RIU’s across Mexico and the Caribbean and never were disappointed, we took a chance. We were very happy we did! The past negative reviewers are crazy!

Granted the airport is several hours away from the hotel, the drive is smooth and the Sunquest people made the connection easy. When we got to the resort, they didn’t have the ocean view room we wanted, so they instantly upgraded us (we didn’t have to ask) to the Palace section of the hotel with an ocean view Junior Suite. The accommodations were lovely, everything worked properly, and the place is immaculately clean with gorgeous grounds. The pools, especially the special “infinity pool” were spotless and delightful. As residents of the Palace section, we had access to several exclusive a la carte restaurants, but didn’t take advantage of this because the buffets were so good.

The staff was unfailingly friendly and helpful. Everyone greeted us with a smile each time we met. Every day the housekeeping staff left one of the towels on the bed sculpted into a different arrangement with fresh flowers (eg. a swan).

The food was incredibly plentiful, and the variety amazing. It was hot and fresh. All kinds of Jamaican specialties and fruits at each meal. My favourite was the Jerk Chicken shack on the beach at lunch time. The coffee was superb.

The beach is lovely. All white sand, CLEAN, and only a couple of occasional vendors who had to stay in the water past the rope barrier. They didn’t pester you. Lots of shade on chaises nder palm trees if you wanted it, or take advantage of the sun. The water is bathtub-warm. Plenty of paddle-boats and other water craft. We were able to arrange a lesson on a catamaran because we are novices. The only disappointment with the beach is that the nearby reef is dead and therefore snorkeling right at the resort isn’t good.

I have to make special mention of two wonderful excursions off the resort. We went on the Blue Mountain Bicycle Tour. We in fact planned to go to this part of Jamaica specifically because of this tour. This is an all-day excursion - they take you by bus high into the Blue Mountains. The scenery is breathtaking. Then you bike in a group of about 30 people downhill along a narrow mountain road, with stops along the way for commentary, sampling of mountain coffee, intro to native medicinal plants, and a dip in a natural waterfall pool at the end. The downhill is about 10 miles (16 km) and is NOT TO BE MISSED!
We also went tubing down the White River, a beautiful lazy river with thick bamboo forest on either side. Again, well worth it!

RIU is always a terrific value and this hotel was no exception.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic Time at Ocho Rios"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Russell  on Mar 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Wedding | With Group
279 people found this review helpful

I had an absolutely unbelievable time at Riu Ocho Rios. The staff are warm, welcoming and very professional. The rooms are great! Comfortable beds, modern and spacious bathrooms, immaculately clean. The food was beyond excellent - from the buffet to the various other restaurants, you will want for nothing!! The entertainment was great every night.

The only part of my stay there that I had to frown at was the small amounts of litter on the beach, but this is NOT a knock against the staff. Some inconsiderate guests would bring their drinks and food down to the beach and leave their glasses and food remnants. The staff, to their credit, were fantastic at keeping things tidy.

If you're considering spending your vacation at this resort, do it. You'll love it. I didn't want to leave!

Arrival:
Our arrival was handled quickly and the staff made us feel like we were the most important and welcome people in the world.

Rooms:
Incredible rooms!! Clean, modern, comfortable. I wish all resort rooms were as nice as the ones at Ocho Rios.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food here is unbelievably good. So much variety! I was often full before I could sample everything I wanted to try. The restaurant and bar staff are amazing and so accommodating.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Definitely go to Mystic Mountain. Zip-lining and bobsledding through the jungle - the best time I ever had!

Other Comments:
I will definitely be going back. I don't travel as much as some, but staying at this resort was one of the best travel experiences of my life!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  sandy  on Mar 9, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
292 people found this review helpful

Read alot of negative reviews but went anyway and I'm glad we did. It is a great resort we did not have any problems that other people complained about. There was always lots of towels, face cloths etc. the mini bar restocked daily always full. Our room was geat had a nice oceanview. Staff were always friendly. Food was good always had lots of variety. We did 3 resturants,steak house, Japanese and Asian all were good. Though service at the steak house was pretty slow but food was still good. The Jerk hut is great had chicken there every day. the beach was fantastic,the water was crystal clear. Overall had a great time and we go back in a heartbeat. I think people complain about the tiniest things, remember its not your home

Room Number:
1349

Room Block:
deluxe wing

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube