Riu Ocho Rios Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Ocho Rios > Ocho Rios Hotel Index > Riu Ocho Rios reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Ocho Rios Hotels with Similar Ranking

Couples Sans Souci

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 23, 2010

Beaches Boscobel Ocho Rios

3.6 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed May 2, 2013

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios

3.3 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 13, 2013

Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort & Spa

1.6 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 16, 2012

Riu Ocho Rios  

Mammee Bay, St Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica

"Nice vacation"
Posted by: Dan  on Jun 21, 2017
see all reviews

Riu Ocho Rios Reviews
Riu Ocho Rios Pictures and Information
Riu Ocho Rios Ocho Rios Jamaica

#1
of 16 Hotels in Ocho Rios

User rating 3.2

Based on 33 reviews

Riu Ocho Rios Information


Enjoy the finest amenities and personalized service available on Jamaica. Our exceptional Ocho Rios Jamaica resort features five-star accommodations, fabulous amenities, and superb service.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Riu Ocho Rios Reviews

Riu Ocho Rios Review: 3.2 of 5 33 reviews
Excellent
  10
Very good
  5
Average
  7
Poor
  4
Terrible
  7
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (22)
Party (1)
Wedding (8)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (8)
With friend (2)
With Group (11)
With Spouse/Partner (11)
Solo
11 - 20 of 33

"It was decent"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Alexis  on Nov 12, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
425 people found this review helpful

Although I can never complain about being in a beautiful place like Jamaica, the resorts had its ups and downs, like every resort does.

Arrival:
Arrival was great.. it did take awhile to get there, but not a big deal, the scenery was nice on the way there. My mother and aunts were there before us so they greeted us at the door with drinks. Check in took awhile, but the check in lady was great. We had ocean view rooms, we were told that prior, they had put us in rooms that were suppose to be ocean view but you had to look to the side, so my aunts/mom complained and they corrected it and put us in rooms that overlooked the ocean (we were in building two). I know that my mom had an issue with one of the luggage people. She said that he was taking up their luggage and they had put their purses on the luggage push (their mistake), and he forced them out of the elevator at the last minute before they knew what was happening and when they got to their room my mother said that her money was in disarray and she was $40 light. So just be careful not to let your purse leave your shoulder, or anything valuable.. like everywhere, not everyone's trustworthy.

Rooms:
The rooms were beautiful - however people are correct in saying that the beds and pillows were horrid. They are by far the most uncomfortable sleeping arrangments I've ever been in. My cousin said the pillows were like soft rocks, and she was right. We did have ants in our room (which was our fault b/c we smuggled up food and left it covered on the table, but they found it anyway). Our room did smell musty as well, but since it was cooler due to tropical storm tomas we kept the windowns open most of the time. The room service was good/bad at the same time. They did clean, but getting wash clothes was an effort. We had to call a few times to get them, every single day, it got rather irritating. We did tip our maid every day, and we had been tipping her every time she brough washclothes, but by the third day we were so irritated that we kept asking for them but weren't getting them.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants were alright. A lot of the same foods, and it was different and unique - I ate mostly veggies and fish while I was there, so it was rather healthy. We tried to get the server terry ann at saint ann's, she was really sweet and fun to be around. At the steakhouse Walvin was a very good server as well. There was another server that liked to sing and we really enjoyed him also during dinner.
The bars were great. We were mostly at the pool bar next to our building and the two or three in the lobby area. We had a blast with most of the bartenders

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
They were gorgeous.. very picturesque, we enjoyed walking around and seeing everything.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The only really poor thing about the hotel was its entertainment. Don't get me wrong, the ENT team were fabulous dancers, but the entertinament was just not that great... basically it was too long and drawn out. They would have different contests which were funny, but they lasted too long. Also, the lead girl in the group from Cuba,compared to the other girls is not very good. She's a good dancer, but she really comes short compared to the other ladies. The one girl with super long hair we thought was the best, and the one guy (Nitro) was a really great dancer, but all the guys were really good. We also didn't like that they lyp synched a lot of songs and grease - especially grease, the lady playing Sandy was off most of the time and it was just poor.

Other Comments:
In relation to the lady that hated the place, we did have some issues with some of the men there being 'overly' friendly. I'm the mindset that, yes, flirt with me at the bar, take my tip money, but other than that please leave me alone. There was a security guard that was extremely forward and kept calling our rooms over and over again. We finally started leaving our phone off of the hook so we could sleep, as we had no desire to get him in trouble. Unfortunately, since we were ocean view they could see us while patrolling and knew our room numbers. I also had a person who tried very hard to get our room number and I had to continuously fib that I did not know it, nor did I have a key, which was a lie.
I could definitely understand them being forward if we were flirting shamelessly (we're all married, engaged or committed), but it was irritating when they would approach you when you're just trying to relax. We found though that for those that were most forward, if we told them to back off (mainly my sister in law b/c she's beautiful!), they would without a problem.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"as i seee it"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  ernie  on Jan 24, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
383 people found this review helpful

staff were very friendly housekeeping great ocean view and service were excellent entertainment was exciting and colorful the disco was to loud and hard rock music the buffet was good and plentiful i sat down and within i-2 minutes was approached to see if i needed anything else the swim-up bar and pool had lots of room the beach was clean and big lots of chairs to relax on with a small cafe on the beach cabs or buses were available to travel on to shop or sight see-the market was pushy and cramped you had to haggle for everything there are private malls for tourists to shop at also the things i didn't like don't use Jamaican money for purchases everyone's has their own exchange rate i.e. us or Canadian no coffee machine in your room although there is a complete bar 4 40 oz bottles and beer tonic water cola and the safe is a keyed model instead of combination lock my brother lost his key i believe it cost 75.00 to replace the lock the thing most annoying was booking a table for dinner you couldn't always full by 8:00 a.m.

Room Number:
3515

Restaurants and Bars:
always full by 8:30 a.m. to bookings 7-9 you should be giving a better system than having to get up every day in the early morns while on vacation to book your dinner in Cuba we were allowed only three separate dinners in our weeks stay and everyone got to appreciate the fine dining experience

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
sky gliding snorkeling scuba diving bike riding

Other Comments:
i was there as an invited guest to a wedding we had at the mumbreey falls it was close to dundas falls also a nice place to visit

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Overall, Disappointing"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lynne  on Jan 23, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Wedding | With Group
396 people found this review helpful

A mixed review. Went for grandson's wedding. Planned to stay an extra week after wedding.

As long as your needs fit into a box, you are okay, but once you have a problem you are on your own. See below: "The Problem".

Room Number:
1322

Room Block:
Junior Suites

Arrival:
Well managed.

Rooms:
Junior suite with balcony and ocean view. We were always short of towels. Water poured from a ceiling grill twice. Phone never worked properly, necessitating trips to the desk when we needed anything. Key cards only worked intermittently. All minor inconveniences (except the phone), unexpected in five-star. No room service - also odd for five-star. Despite "all-inclusive" a bottle of champagne(which turned out to be sparkling wine) cost $15 and had to be picked up by ourselves.

Restaurants and Bars:
Excellent service and cuisine. Varied menu, abundant food all perfectly cooked and seasoned.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is gorgeous, with both full sun and tree shade. Pools are very well maintained, short on towels at times. Grounds are beautifully kept.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Plelnty to do. Exercise groups, Jamaican dance classes. Evening entertainment ranged from good to spectacular.

Other Comments:
The wedding. It rained - no fault of the hotel, and they did pull together a wedding site on an ocean terrace quite quickly. The clergyman did a great job. The wedding dinner: The guests arrived on time, then were made to wait twenty-five minutes outside in their pretty shoes in the puddles. No apparent reason. The reception: This had been planned for the beach but because of the rain it was transferred to one of the covered bars. Guests once again arrived on time, to a dark bar with no staff in sight. Bridesmaid's call to front desk brought the response "It's not my fault". Soon someone arrived with the cake and a barman who began setting up, while the guests once again waited outside in the puddles and a fine rain.

The Problem:
My husband has angina, a pre-existing condition controlled by meds. Though medically cleared for travel, while in Jamaica he began to suffer attacks of increasing frequency and severity and the meds weren't working. Our travel insurance covered everything except a pre-existing condition, so we decided to cut short our stay and go home immediately for medical care. From that point on we felt abandoned and exploited. I had a four-hour margin to get on that day's flight. Our tour rep (when she arrived a precious half-hour late) told us there were no flights available to Vancouver. She also told us it would cost $900 to fly, even though we had paid for round trip. No refunds from Sunquest. She seemed unable to help us at all, but she did give me some phone numbers to call the airlines myself. She also said we would have to see a Jamaican doctor for a "Fit to Fly" certificate. The phone in our room was still not working. After several failed tries I went to the front desk for help. After explaining my problem I was told 1-800 numbers do not work in Jamaica. (Why couldn't the operator have told me that - I had told her I was calling a toll-free #.) I explained my situation and asked for her help. She said "I can't do anything?" "You can't help me?" I asked, amazed. "No." That was it. "No."
Two guests offered to give us their return seats home, and to stay in our prepaid room for our remaining week and then take our seats home. We were told we could not exchange seats, and if they stayed in our prepaid room, they would have to pay the hotel the full price - again! No refunds!
Another guest told me that I could purchase a calling card from the hotel (why couldn't the front desk have told me that?). I did, and back in the room, surprise! The phone worked! I ended up calling Alberta, Canada to arrange my flight home, and learned that there were several seats available on that day's flight, which the tour rep had said was full.
Next, the doctor. We paid US$160 for the "Fit to Fly" certificate, and US$30 to the nurse for doing nothing.
Back at the front desk to check out, with only a short time to catch the shuttle bus,they tried to charge me for all times I had been given a failed outside line. Considering the nearly $5,000 I was forfeiting to get my husband home I refused to pay, but they insisted on $2.00 for the one successful connection.

while dealing with the Sunquest desk that morning, three couples with problems of their own said they would never book with Sunquest again, and I concur. And the words "RIU Ocho Rios" will always invoke feelings of abandonment and exploitation.

All is lovely as long as your needs fit into their box. Otherwise you are on your own.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not for weddings if you want that very special day!"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  shilo  on Jan 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Wedding | Family and Kids
399 people found this review helpful

Overall the hotel was good. We didn't have problems with the hotel. However, my husband and i were very disappointed in every way with our wedding. Initally the coordinator met with us two days before the wedding day, which i though that it wasn't alot of time to meet with someone to go over the details and expectations of your special day. On the day of the wedding as i began to walk to my soon to be husband, the steel band approaches me and informs me that they can not play our wedding song. This could have been told to me a least a day or a few hours before, not as im about to walk to my husband. band ($350) then as i approached my husband at the gazibo i notice the unity sand that we requested and payed ($150) for was not there. After the ceremony i let the coordinator know and she offered to do the sand after the fact. The dinner was the steak house menu. Two nights before our wedding we ate at the steak house and it was great. However our wedding dinner was a disaster. Our food was really cold and the meat was horrible. The service was also terrible. Half our table was served, ate and had finished desert before the other half of our guest was served. Our cake was so late to come out that we didn't get our full two hours of our dance and open bar at the pool side due to this. Which we payed ($300) for. So the wedding was crappy, it's like an assembly line of brides. It is not about you but about how munch money they can get out of you. The only good thing is, they gave me some money back for the band and my sand. I would encourage anyone to make plans off the resort for their wedding.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  sandy  on Mar 9, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
419 people found this review helpful

Read alot of negative reviews but went anyway and I'm glad we did. It is a great resort we did not have any problems that other people complained about. There was always lots of towels, face cloths etc. the mini bar restocked daily always full. Our room was geat had a nice oceanview. Staff were always friendly. Food was good always had lots of variety. We did 3 resturants,steak house, Japanese and Asian all were good. Though service at the steak house was pretty slow but food was still good. The Jerk hut is great had chicken there every day. the beach was fantastic,the water was crystal clear. Overall had a great time and we go back in a heartbeat. I think people complain about the tiniest things, remember its not your home

Room Number:
1349

Room Block:
deluxe wing

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Positive Positive Positive!"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Dick  on Jun 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
376 people found this review helpful

We saw numerous negative reviews but since we have stayed at several other RIU’s across Mexico and the Caribbean and never were disappointed, we took a chance. We were very happy we did! The past negative reviewers are crazy!

Granted the airport is several hours away from the hotel, the drive is smooth and the Sunquest people made the connection easy. When we got to the resort, they didn’t have the ocean view room we wanted, so they instantly upgraded us (we didn’t have to ask) to the Palace section of the hotel with an ocean view Junior Suite. The accommodations were lovely, everything worked properly, and the place is immaculately clean with gorgeous grounds. The pools, especially the special “infinity pool” were spotless and delightful. As residents of the Palace section, we had access to several exclusive a la carte restaurants, but didn’t take advantage of this because the buffets were so good.

The staff was unfailingly friendly and helpful. Everyone greeted us with a smile each time we met. Every day the housekeeping staff left one of the towels on the bed sculpted into a different arrangement with fresh flowers (eg. a swan).

The food was incredibly plentiful, and the variety amazing. It was hot and fresh. All kinds of Jamaican specialties and fruits at each meal. My favourite was the Jerk Chicken shack on the beach at lunch time. The coffee was superb.

The beach is lovely. All white sand, CLEAN, and only a couple of occasional vendors who had to stay in the water past the rope barrier. They didn’t pester you. Lots of shade on chaises nder palm trees if you wanted it, or take advantage of the sun. The water is bathtub-warm. Plenty of paddle-boats and other water craft. We were able to arrange a lesson on a catamaran because we are novices. The only disappointment with the beach is that the nearby reef is dead and therefore snorkeling right at the resort isn’t good.

I have to make special mention of two wonderful excursions off the resort. We went on the Blue Mountain Bicycle Tour. We in fact planned to go to this part of Jamaica specifically because of this tour. This is an all-day excursion - they take you by bus high into the Blue Mountains. The scenery is breathtaking. Then you bike in a group of about 30 people downhill along a narrow mountain road, with stops along the way for commentary, sampling of mountain coffee, intro to native medicinal plants, and a dip in a natural waterfall pool at the end. The downhill is about 10 miles (16 km) and is NOT TO BE MISSED!
We also went tubing down the White River, a beautiful lazy river with thick bamboo forest on either side. Again, well worth it!

RIU is always a terrific value and this hotel was no exception.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great time at the Riu ocho rios"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Andrew  on Nov 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
582 people found this review helpful

My wife and I, spent a week at the Riu. This is our third time there and we loved it. We were amazed at how clean the hotel was kept, the staff were very friendly especially our waiter Gregory. The food was amazing and plentiful as usual. My wife and I were very impressed that the hotel was able to give us a wake up call exactly on time, also the hotel grounds were well maintained. We appreciated the fact that the manager went out of his way to make sure our dinning experience was perfect. This hotel met all of our expectations, we would like to let you know that we have recommended this hotel to many of our friends and family. I can promise you that we will be visiting your hotel next year with our family. To conclude this review I would just like to say that a good hotel needs good food, entertainment and a good staff, and riu has it all.

ps. and as jamaicans would say yeaaa mon, see u guys next year

from Ontario Canada

Room Number:
1267

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Staff -- wedding ring lost and found and returned"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  coco  on Nov 12, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Wedding | With Group
403 people found this review helpful

In August 2011 I joined about 10 friends and we helped celebrate the wedding of a mutual friend at Riu. We had a blast. The food was fabulous, the beach was wonderful and it was a good time all around. The one unfortunate thing that happened, was that my husband forgot his wedding ring in the safe of our room. He didn't realize this until we started unpacking back home. FORTUNATELY we called the Riu right away and the staff was able to locate and secure the ring. After a few weeks, I'm happy to say that the ring is back on my husbands finger. THANKS to the staff at Riu for helping us!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Horrible food! Bad customer service!"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Michelle  on Nov 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Party | With Group
521 people found this review helpful

The customer service at this hotel s***ed! The people that worked there (with the exception of a few) was horrible! We called down to the front desk for towels several times & they never came! Fridge wasnt restocked some days because of a "beer shortage"! Really?! Asked for a wake up call to go on a trip to Negril & they never called, almost missed our bus! Rooms smell like mold/mildew! Food s***ed! Not to mention you can't make reservations at some of the resturants unless you have a suite, how is that all inclusive? Its bs! & if you do get to reserve something do it because they werent able to accommodate all guests! Would never stay here again! We stayed at the Iberostar in Mexico & it was AMAZING! Will never stay at a Riu again!!

Room Number:
3436

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very Mixed Review"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Phil  on Dec 12, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Wedding | Family and Kids
739 people found this review helpful

Travelled to Jamaica for my daughters wedding. Wedding was awsome, went as planned and better than expected 10 out of 10.
Staff. Ranged from great to downright aggressive. The most worring thing, the front desk was hard, and at times, impossible to reach by phone...inexcusable!
Overall: dissapointed. The sound systems in both the stage area and night club were terrible. The sound from the stage area was so loud and reverberating that I could not hold a converation in the lobby.
5 stars it may be in Jamaica, but in the rest of the world I doubt it could cling to a 3.

Room Number:
5332

Arrival:
OK for us but for some in our party it was truly horrible. Wrong rooms, rooms not ready, being told to come back in an hour only to find that the person that they were talking to were no longer there and had to start again.

Rooms:
Rooms.

Pros: Fairly well appointed, good view, free booze.

Cons: Very Intermittant hot water, room smelt of damp and was damp, quite a hike to get to the lobby/bars. No Wi-Fi.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food.

Pros: Non.
Cons: Cafeteria at best. Had an 10 Oz steak at the steak resturant.My steak was lucky to be 5 Oz and some of my companions steaks were even smaller and served with overcooked vegatables. Cooks moved as if in molasses. Slow to replenish foods especially the deserts. Wine was awful. Beer was crap and the cocktails if made correctly used cheap ingredients.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach and Pools.

Pros: lots of room and loungers. Clean and well kept. Cons: Ran out of towels. Closed at six pm.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
On the beach.

Windsurfing: Usless your an absolute beginner, forget it.

Sailing: plenty of hobie Cats. Althought you had to pay for instruction.

Diving: my niece went diving on a wreck from the hotel. She has her diving ticket. Cost her $40 for the total dive including eqipment. She was very impressed.

Off the resorts. we went on a couple of excursions. Very, very expensive, felt like i'd been gouged. Not the hotels fault.

Other Comments:
Probably won't stay at another Riu.

Seems to me many of the problems could be resolved with a few well place polices and quality controls. Good thing spoiled by sloppy management.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube