Riu Ocho Rios Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Ocho Rios > Ocho Rios Hotel Index > Riu Ocho Rios reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Ocho Rios Hotels with Similar Ranking

Couples Sans Souci

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 23, 2010

Beaches Boscobel Ocho Rios

3.6 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed May 2, 2013

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios

3.3 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 13, 2013

Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort & Spa

1.6 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 16, 2012

Riu Ocho Rios  

Mammee Bay, St Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica

"Nice vacation"
Posted by: Dan  on Jun 21, 2017
see all reviews

Riu Ocho Rios Reviews
Riu Ocho Rios Pictures and Information
Riu Ocho Rios Ocho Rios Jamaica

#1
of 16 Hotels in Ocho Rios

User rating 3.2

Based on 33 reviews

Riu Ocho Rios Information


Enjoy the finest amenities and personalized service available on Jamaica. Our exceptional Ocho Rios Jamaica resort features five-star accommodations, fabulous amenities, and superb service.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Riu Ocho Rios Reviews

Riu Ocho Rios Review: 3.2 of 5 33 reviews
Excellent
  10
Very good
  5
Average
  7
Poor
  4
Terrible
  7
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (22)
Party (1)
Wedding (8)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (8)
With friend (2)
With Group (11)
With Spouse/Partner (11)
Solo
21 - 30 of 33

"Nice vacation"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Dan  on Jun 21, 2017  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2017 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
539 people found this review helpful

We spent a week at the riu Ocho rios (in Ocho rios). First this is an 1:45 minute drive from the airport make sure to have an afternoon flight home. Our departure was at 1 pm and had to catch a ride at 9:30 am. On the upside staying at this hotel is only a 10 minute ride from Dolphins cove, zip line and Dunn's river falls. If staying in Montego Bay you will have a hike to get to these excursions but on the other hand closer to the airport, the choice is yours. So let's talk about the hotel. I gave it a 4 star because we stayed in the newer building by the adults only pool. The adults only pool still had kids there , which no big deal to us but there is no activities at this pool . Your entertainment is at the main pool. We spent out time there . We have traveled allinclusive to May places and always stayed in the riu chain but never Jamaica. Pool side entertainment lacked only from 3 -4:00 pm . Staff was plentiful but no wait service . Again not a huge deal but never experienced this before. We made our own fun and gathered people for water volleyball . The exterior of the hotel could use some painting not very appealing from the outside. If you are in to exercise and like to work out I recommend getting to the gym (not much and equipment is very outdated)early since there in not ventilation!!! Food is plentiful and good ,no complaints,something for everyone. Nighttime entertainment is amazing ! Staff are friendly , no language barrier which was a huge plus. Drinks are very strong, no holding back on the liquor that's for sure. There is no room survive because they don't want bugs hanging around which I can understand however if you need a late night snack you can go to the pub/casino (open all night) and grab nachos and popcorn. Finally if your a morning coffee drinker you have to go to the pub to get that every morning , no coffee in the rooms. Bring a bubba cup , a must as cups ar small for anything you drink. All in all our stay was good just minor things that they could improve on. Ran in to vacationers that were staying at the new rio in Montego Bay that said it was an awesome place. If we ever go back we would try there and wouldn't return to this one! Happy vacation to anyone booking this hotel , make your own fun as we did ! Oh and if you plan on dinner at the resort restaurants make sure ladies have dresses and men wear dress pants ,dress shirts and close toed shoes or you won't get in.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Quality of rooms was not what we expected, the rest was amazing.."

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lucian  on Aug 13, 2016  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2016 | Leisure | Family and Kids
591 people found this review helpful

Our 2-week stay at RIU would have been a 5-star experience had it not be for the mold in the rooms. The whole section on the right of the reception (the old area) is full of mold. You can see it on the walls around the doors, on the paintings... Even after we washed all our clothes upon our return home, they kept the smell. I suggest trying to upgrade your room to the newer section on the left of the reception (facing the beach; behind the show stage).. The swimming pool water needed treatment, it was always blurry. Try the beach, it's amazing! There's plenty of chairs and shade for everybody.. There you'll be doing gym with Pim, dance classes with Orlando, PIM, Bruno and the rest of the entertainment team. There's also volleyball &. Other fun activities on the beach for the rest of the day.

The food was really tasty and well diversified from breakfast to supper, they even have a small restaurant opened all night. The entertainment group is really friendly and funny! We loved the shows, both ourselves and our kids. The service at the pool bar is very good and fast. My favourite bar was the one between the reception and the show stage. They have more variety..

I hope you enjoy your stay and have a safe return back home!

Room Number:
2227

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Time and Great Weather!"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sandy  on Nov 22, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
469 people found this review helpful

This is our 4th RIU Hotel, 3 were in Mexico. Our first time experience at the
RIU Ochio Rios in Jamaica. We loved our room although it was ground floor, it
had a beautiful garden and pool area to see. The coffee is great! If you need to buy some to bring home get it at the airport to guarantee you get the fresh stuff. Yes, it is buffet. But I got an omlette made to my taste every morning and a little tip and a smile goes a long way. It didn't matter what meal time, I always found something I liked at the buffet. If you want something heated longer, ask! I found all the staff very friendly and accomidating. The room was spotless all week and a little tip goes a long way there too. The bartenders made drinks a little strong. The tip went a long way there. I asked them to make it a little weaker, and they obliged. The staff is awesome! We would run out of pool towels at the end of the day but they would have fresh next morning. The jerk chicken shack is the best for lunch and we would go everyday. The hotel has a very upbeat atmosphere and not for the ones who want to sit and be quiet. It is very large and spacious and lots of beach chairs at the pools and beach. The vendors come twice a week and will haggle with prices. The people of Jamaica work hard, but have a happy go lucky attitude, don't worry. Great vacation, can't wait to go back to Jamaica next year!

Arrival:
We found our arrival quick and organized. Greeted with a cocktail.

Rooms:
A suite in the Wing. Beautiful and very clean the whole week. Housekeeping did an excellent job. Minor musty smell, but I always bring room plug in where ever I go.

Restaurants and Bars:
The premium liquor is at the main lobby bar. The steak house is not worth the wait in line in the morning. Maybe try one of the others.

The buffets are good. Get a little boring after a week.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
2 beautiful pools with swim up bars. Lovely beach and activities.
Beautiful grounds and palm trees.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots of activities at pool and beach area. They have great organized excursions to Dunns River and Shopping.

Other Comments:
Great hotel for the people who can't afford the lush hotels.
I would recomend this to my friends and family.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Yuh jus cant please them"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Blessing  on Nov 12, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
458 people found this review helpful

For all the very negative comments that are posted. You need to remember that hotels are not your home.... so do not expect perfection. If you can get a comfortable enough room, adequate food and great beaches, then give thanks. As for the miss who complained about being stalk, why didn't you complain to the supervisor or someone in charge. As bad as you want us Jamaican to look, we are not going to put or jobs on the line, when there are many other women out there to pursue. So go ahead and tell the world not to go to RIU, because there are alot of us who have been there, enjoy it and will be going back. The root of it all is, STOP BEING NEGATIVE, and the only perfect place to aim to go is HEAVEN.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Staff -- wedding ring lost and found and returned"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  coco  on Nov 12, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Wedding | With Group
439 people found this review helpful

In August 2011 I joined about 10 friends and we helped celebrate the wedding of a mutual friend at Riu. We had a blast. The food was fabulous, the beach was wonderful and it was a good time all around. The one unfortunate thing that happened, was that my husband forgot his wedding ring in the safe of our room. He didn't realize this until we started unpacking back home. FORTUNATELY we called the Riu right away and the staff was able to locate and secure the ring. After a few weeks, I'm happy to say that the ring is back on my husbands finger. THANKS to the staff at Riu for helping us!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Positive Positive Positive!"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Dick  on Jun 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
411 people found this review helpful

We saw numerous negative reviews but since we have stayed at several other RIU’s across Mexico and the Caribbean and never were disappointed, we took a chance. We were very happy we did! The past negative reviewers are crazy!

Granted the airport is several hours away from the hotel, the drive is smooth and the Sunquest people made the connection easy. When we got to the resort, they didn’t have the ocean view room we wanted, so they instantly upgraded us (we didn’t have to ask) to the Palace section of the hotel with an ocean view Junior Suite. The accommodations were lovely, everything worked properly, and the place is immaculately clean with gorgeous grounds. The pools, especially the special “infinity pool” were spotless and delightful. As residents of the Palace section, we had access to several exclusive a la carte restaurants, but didn’t take advantage of this because the buffets were so good.

The staff was unfailingly friendly and helpful. Everyone greeted us with a smile each time we met. Every day the housekeeping staff left one of the towels on the bed sculpted into a different arrangement with fresh flowers (eg. a swan).

The food was incredibly plentiful, and the variety amazing. It was hot and fresh. All kinds of Jamaican specialties and fruits at each meal. My favourite was the Jerk Chicken shack on the beach at lunch time. The coffee was superb.

The beach is lovely. All white sand, CLEAN, and only a couple of occasional vendors who had to stay in the water past the rope barrier. They didn’t pester you. Lots of shade on chaises nder palm trees if you wanted it, or take advantage of the sun. The water is bathtub-warm. Plenty of paddle-boats and other water craft. We were able to arrange a lesson on a catamaran because we are novices. The only disappointment with the beach is that the nearby reef is dead and therefore snorkeling right at the resort isn’t good.

I have to make special mention of two wonderful excursions off the resort. We went on the Blue Mountain Bicycle Tour. We in fact planned to go to this part of Jamaica specifically because of this tour. This is an all-day excursion - they take you by bus high into the Blue Mountains. The scenery is breathtaking. Then you bike in a group of about 30 people downhill along a narrow mountain road, with stops along the way for commentary, sampling of mountain coffee, intro to native medicinal plants, and a dip in a natural waterfall pool at the end. The downhill is about 10 miles (16 km) and is NOT TO BE MISSED!
We also went tubing down the White River, a beautiful lazy river with thick bamboo forest on either side. Again, well worth it!

RIU is always a terrific value and this hotel was no exception.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"as i seee it"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  ernie  on Jan 24, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
423 people found this review helpful

staff were very friendly housekeeping great ocean view and service were excellent entertainment was exciting and colorful the disco was to loud and hard rock music the buffet was good and plentiful i sat down and within i-2 minutes was approached to see if i needed anything else the swim-up bar and pool had lots of room the beach was clean and big lots of chairs to relax on with a small cafe on the beach cabs or buses were available to travel on to shop or sight see-the market was pushy and cramped you had to haggle for everything there are private malls for tourists to shop at also the things i didn't like don't use Jamaican money for purchases everyone's has their own exchange rate i.e. us or Canadian no coffee machine in your room although there is a complete bar 4 40 oz bottles and beer tonic water cola and the safe is a keyed model instead of combination lock my brother lost his key i believe it cost 75.00 to replace the lock the thing most annoying was booking a table for dinner you couldn't always full by 8:00 a.m.

Room Number:
3515

Restaurants and Bars:
always full by 8:30 a.m. to bookings 7-9 you should be giving a better system than having to get up every day in the early morns while on vacation to book your dinner in Cuba we were allowed only three separate dinners in our weeks stay and everyone got to appreciate the fine dining experience

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
sky gliding snorkeling scuba diving bike riding

Other Comments:
i was there as an invited guest to a wedding we had at the mumbreey falls it was close to dundas falls also a nice place to visit

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A wonderful resort and holiday"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jacqueline  on Mar 20, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
433 people found this review helpful

I would not hesitate to recommend the Riu Ocho Rios. I am somewhat surprised by some of the negative reviews...but then again, some people expect perfection in everything and that to me is not what makes a wonderful holiday.

The RIU resort itself was beautiful and very clean. The staff were very personable and accommodating (and for those who felt otherwise, maybe think about how you related to them; a poor attitude anywhere will usually not be met with a warm reception). The St. Anne's restaurant (buffet) was incredible. We had no problem finding a variety of foods that we enjoyed - both for breakfast and dinner. We never went hungry and never felt worried about getting sick. Again, everything was very clean and all the food was well prepared.

As far as the resort itself, it was wonderful. The open air lobby with its warm sea breezes and rattan furniture was so inviting. The beach was wonderful. The sand was soft, the palm trees were plentiful (which was great for when we wanted to lie in the shade), and the staff were continously picking up any empty cups, etc left by guests.

I could go on and on about the great time we had, but I believe that anyone who has travelled to various islands, and therefore understands that things may not always be as they are at home, will truly appreciate this resort in Ocho Rios.

A highlight not to miss is the experience of climbing Dunn River Falls.

Jacqueline and Steve (Toronto)

Your Arrival:
Warm reception, with a rum punch beverage offered as soon as we disembarked the bus.

Rooms:
Very clean and plenty of in-room beverages in the complmentary mini-fridge and liquor dispenser (both alcoholic and non-alcoholic). The pillows were not the greatest (very lumpy) and the bed a bit hard, but this did not spoil our holiday in the least.

Restaurants and Bars:
Excellent. St. Anne's for breakfast, Mammee Bay and the Jerk Chicken Hut for lunch, and St. Anne's again for dinner. We never went hungry.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Wonderful and well kept!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Climginb the Dunn River Falls is a must! An incredible experience.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic Time at Ocho Rios"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Russell  on Mar 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Wedding | With Group
489 people found this review helpful

I had an absolutely unbelievable time at Riu Ocho Rios. The staff are warm, welcoming and very professional. The rooms are great! Comfortable beds, modern and spacious bathrooms, immaculately clean. The food was beyond excellent - from the buffet to the various other restaurants, you will want for nothing!! The entertainment was great every night.

The only part of my stay there that I had to frown at was the small amounts of litter on the beach, but this is NOT a knock against the staff. Some inconsiderate guests would bring their drinks and food down to the beach and leave their glasses and food remnants. The staff, to their credit, were fantastic at keeping things tidy.

If you're considering spending your vacation at this resort, do it. You'll love it. I didn't want to leave!

Arrival:
Our arrival was handled quickly and the staff made us feel like we were the most important and welcome people in the world.

Rooms:
Incredible rooms!! Clean, modern, comfortable. I wish all resort rooms were as nice as the ones at Ocho Rios.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food here is unbelievably good. So much variety! I was often full before I could sample everything I wanted to try. The restaurant and bar staff are amazing and so accommodating.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Definitely go to Mystic Mountain. Zip-lining and bobsledding through the jungle - the best time I ever had!

Other Comments:
I will definitely be going back. I don't travel as much as some, but staying at this resort was one of the best travel experiences of my life!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  sandy  on Mar 9, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
454 people found this review helpful

Read alot of negative reviews but went anyway and I'm glad we did. It is a great resort we did not have any problems that other people complained about. There was always lots of towels, face cloths etc. the mini bar restocked daily always full. Our room was geat had a nice oceanview. Staff were always friendly. Food was good always had lots of variety. We did 3 resturants,steak house, Japanese and Asian all were good. Though service at the steak house was pretty slow but food was still good. The Jerk hut is great had chicken there every day. the beach was fantastic,the water was crystal clear. Overall had a great time and we go back in a heartbeat. I think people complain about the tiniest things, remember its not your home

Room Number:
1349

Room Block:
deluxe wing

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube