Riu Ocho Rios Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Ocho Rios > Ocho Rios Hotel Index > Riu Ocho Rios reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Ocho Rios Hotels with Similar Ranking

Couples Sans Souci

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 23, 2010

Beaches Boscobel Ocho Rios

3.6 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed May 2, 2013

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios

3.3 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 13, 2013

Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort & Spa

1.6 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 16, 2012

Riu Ocho Rios  

Mammee Bay, St Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica

"Nice vacation"
Posted by: Dan  on Jun 21, 2017
see all reviews

Riu Ocho Rios Reviews
Riu Ocho Rios Pictures and Information
Riu Ocho Rios Ocho Rios Jamaica

#1
of 16 Hotels in Ocho Rios

User rating 3.2

Based on 33 reviews

Riu Ocho Rios Information


Enjoy the finest amenities and personalized service available on Jamaica. Our exceptional Ocho Rios Jamaica resort features five-star accommodations, fabulous amenities, and superb service.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Riu Ocho Rios Reviews

Riu Ocho Rios Review: 3.2 of 5 33 reviews
Excellent
  10
Very good
  5
Average
  7
Poor
  4
Terrible
  7
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (22)
Party (1)
Wedding (8)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (8)
With friend (2)
With Group (11)
With Spouse/Partner (11)
Solo
31 - 33 of 33

"Great Beach"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sharol  on Jan 12, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
220 people found this review helpful

Lovely big resort. Internet connection with your own laptop in Lobby area with only 1-2 laptops available at Riu. The beds were most unconfortable & fresh fruit was hard to find most days. The beach area was the best with reef area for protection from huge waves. Entertainment was poor quality in the evenings. The staff were friendly & all English speaking which was nice.

Your Arrival:
Jan 3, 2010

Rooms:
Requested the king bedroom & had 2 doubles put together, but made individually.

Restaurants and Bars:
You could only book 1 restaurant per day & had to be in line 45 min before 8am when they opened the booking desk. Sir John's was good; but Steakhouse was poor.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds were well kept & lovely. The beach area was large & protected from ocean with a reef which was nice as you could snorkel there. Sailboats, kayaks & paddle boats available also.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Hired a taxi from resort for $35 USD for 2 couples to go into Ocho Rios 10 min away from resort.

Other Comments:
Relatively good value for resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"RIU OCHO RIOS ~ THE WORST VACATION EVER ; COMPLETE NIGHTMARE "

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  true-critic  on Jan 11, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
279 people found this review helpful

RIU OCHO RIOS ~ The worst Vacation EVER ! My vacation was the worst and most horrible experience anyone could EVER have. I have already notified ALL or my friends, family, neighbors, acquaintances, co workers, distant relatives, EVERYONE that I know that Jamaica IS NOT a good place to go, that the people were RUDE, Condescending, Unhelpful, Not Courteous, and overall VERY Unpleasant. When I arrived I was directed to a travel booth upon which I was told to stand in a spot in the airport for 2 hours until the shuttle picked me up and took another one and a half hours to get me to the resort. When I was greeted by the staff at the resort upon arrival was the 1st and last time I ever was shown any type of "customer service" or "hospitality" I was sexually harassed by a guy that claimed to be "head of security" and he even forced his way into my room and exposed himself to me, I was also constantly followed and haggled by other male staff members who were trying to flirt and make sexual advances. I was very VERY displeased with the "customer service" at the reception desk of the hotel, the women working would act like they didn't see you, and would just stand around and chat with each other, AND then act put off if you spoke up to get their attention! Also one male staff member called my room one day 6 times, saying that he couldn't stop thinking about me and that he wanted to see me after work, and that did I need him to come massage me, etc. etc. This is disgusting that I cannot go on a Christmas Vacation and just relax and enjoy myself ! The food was AWFUL. Even fast food is better than what was being served in the restaurants there, and I also got sick from the food. I think the theory is to serve enough liquor and keep everyone drunk so they don't care about the bad food, bad service, and overall bad feel of the place. The food was buffet style for the majority unless you made reservations to eat at the two fancier places. It did not matter though, because all the food was horrible. I tried to go scuba diving and started having ear and chest pains in the pool before the dive, I opted to quit the pool lesson and not do the dive because I was worried about my health. I was offered NO REFUND, even though I had not even completed the pool portion of the lesson. In fact I was still owed $1 because the girl taking payment said she did not have change. I was instructed to come back at the end of the day to collect my change! This is just BAD customer service and BAD business ethics. I ended up leaving my vacation two days early to return home, because it was that HORRIBLE. I was notified that I would not get a refund and would have to buy a new ticket home, as if this fact would change my mind about leaving. I paid $600 just to get home because anything was better than being stuck in Jamaica. It amazes me that a place that is stimulated largely on tourism could be so rude and have an overall lack of any customer service or hospitality. Even now I get si

Your Arrival:
My vacation was the worst and most horrible experience anyone could EVER have. I have already notified ALL or my friends, family, neighbors, acquaintances, co workers, distant relatives, EVERYONE that I know that Jamaica IS NOT a good place to go, that the people were RUDE, Condescending, Unhelpful, Not Courteous, and overall VERY Unpleasant. When I arrived I was directed to a travel booth upon which I was told to stand in a spot in the airport for 2 hours until the shuttle picked me up and took another one and a half hours to get me to the resort. When I was greeted by the staff at the resort upon arrival was the 1st and last time I ever was shown any type of "customer service" or "hospitality"

Rooms:
The rooms were average but nice. Except for the fact that the heat did not work and it did get very cold at night and early evening. The T.V. channels were limited. And the room smelt moldy and more like very unpleasant like sewer as the days went on

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was AWFUL. Even fast food is better than what was being served in the restaurants there, and I also got sick from the food. I think the theory is to serve enough liquor and keep everyone drunk so they don't care about the bad food, bad service, and overall bad feel of the place. The food was buffet style for the majority unless you made reservations to eat at the two fancier places. It did not matter though, because all the food was horrible.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was so cold I couldn't even swim in it, think Hypothermia ! The grounds smelt like bad food and old garbage. The beach was usually a mess with debris and other things that washed up on shore from the nightly storm/showers.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I tried to go scuba diving and started having ear and chest pains in the pool before the dive, I opted to quit the pool lesson and not do the dive because I was worried about my health. I was offered NO REFUND, even though I had not even completed the pool portion of the lesson. In fact I was still owed $1 because the girl taking payment said she did not have change. I was instructed to come back at the end of the day to collect my change! This is just BAD customer service and BAD business ethics.

Other Comments:
A complete Nightmare, AND the Worst Christmas EVER ! I was met with rudeness and aloofness from the moment I landed until the moment I re-boarded the plane to home.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"we had a great vacation"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Dawn  on Feb 1, 2009  >  6 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
200 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"we had a great vacation"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Dawn  on Feb 1, 2009  >  6 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
200 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube