Riu Ocho Rios Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Ocho Rios > Ocho Rios Hotel Index > Riu Ocho Rios reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Ocho Rios Hotels with Similar Ranking

Couples Sans Souci

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 23, 2010

Beaches Boscobel Ocho Rios

3.6 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed May 2, 2013

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios

3.3 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 13, 2013

Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort & Spa

1.6 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 16, 2012

Riu Ocho Rios  

Mammee Bay, St Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica

"Nice vacation"
Posted by: Dan  on Jun 21, 2017
see all reviews

Riu Ocho Rios Reviews
Riu Ocho Rios Pictures and Information
Riu Ocho Rios Ocho Rios Jamaica

#1
of 16 Hotels in Ocho Rios

User rating 3.2

Based on 33 reviews

Riu Ocho Rios Information


Enjoy the finest amenities and personalized service available on Jamaica. Our exceptional Ocho Rios Jamaica resort features five-star accommodations, fabulous amenities, and superb service.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Riu Ocho Rios Reviews

Riu Ocho Rios Review: 3.2 of 5 33 reviews
Excellent
  10
Very good
  5
Average
  7
Poor
  4
Terrible
  7
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (22)
Party (1)
Wedding (8)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (8)
With friend (2)
With Group (11)
With Spouse/Partner (11)
Solo
31 - 33 of 33

"Quality of rooms was not what we expected, the rest was amazing.."

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lucian  on Aug 13, 2016  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2016 | Leisure | Family and Kids
560 people found this review helpful

Our 2-week stay at RIU would have been a 5-star experience had it not be for the mold in the rooms. The whole section on the right of the reception (the old area) is full of mold. You can see it on the walls around the doors, on the paintings... Even after we washed all our clothes upon our return home, they kept the smell. I suggest trying to upgrade your room to the newer section on the left of the reception (facing the beach; behind the show stage).. The swimming pool water needed treatment, it was always blurry. Try the beach, it's amazing! There's plenty of chairs and shade for everybody.. There you'll be doing gym with Pim, dance classes with Orlando, PIM, Bruno and the rest of the entertainment team. There's also volleyball &. Other fun activities on the beach for the rest of the day.

The food was really tasty and well diversified from breakfast to supper, they even have a small restaurant opened all night. The entertainment group is really friendly and funny! We loved the shows, both ourselves and our kids. The service at the pool bar is very good and fast. My favourite bar was the one between the reception and the show stage. They have more variety..

I hope you enjoy your stay and have a safe return back home!

Room Number:
2227

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice vacation"

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Dan  on Jun 21, 2017  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2017 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
510 people found this review helpful

We spent a week at the riu Ocho rios (in Ocho rios). First this is an 1:45 minute drive from the airport make sure to have an afternoon flight home. Our departure was at 1 pm and had to catch a ride at 9:30 am. On the upside staying at this hotel is only a 10 minute ride from Dolphins cove, zip line and Dunn's river falls. If staying in Montego Bay you will have a hike to get to these excursions but on the other hand closer to the airport, the choice is yours. So let's talk about the hotel. I gave it a 4 star because we stayed in the newer building by the adults only pool. The adults only pool still had kids there , which no big deal to us but there is no activities at this pool . Your entertainment is at the main pool. We spent out time there . We have traveled allinclusive to May places and always stayed in the riu chain but never Jamaica. Pool side entertainment lacked only from 3 -4:00 pm . Staff was plentiful but no wait service . Again not a huge deal but never experienced this before. We made our own fun and gathered people for water volleyball . The exterior of the hotel could use some painting not very appealing from the outside. If you are in to exercise and like to work out I recommend getting to the gym (not much and equipment is very outdated)early since there in not ventilation!!! Food is plentiful and good ,no complaints,something for everyone. Nighttime entertainment is amazing ! Staff are friendly , no language barrier which was a huge plus. Drinks are very strong, no holding back on the liquor that's for sure. There is no room survive because they don't want bugs hanging around which I can understand however if you need a late night snack you can go to the pub/casino (open all night) and grab nachos and popcorn. Finally if your a morning coffee drinker you have to go to the pub to get that every morning , no coffee in the rooms. Bring a bubba cup , a must as cups ar small for anything you drink. All in all our stay was good just minor things that they could improve on. Ran in to vacationers that were staying at the new rio in Montego Bay that said it was an awesome place. If we ever go back we would try there and wouldn't return to this one! Happy vacation to anyone booking this hotel , make your own fun as we did ! Oh and if you plan on dinner at the resort restaurants make sure ladies have dresses and men wear dress pants ,dress shirts and close toed shoes or you won't get in.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Extremely sleazy business practices "

Riu Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Riu Ocho Rios Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Katherine  on May 14, 2017  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2017 | Business | With Group
472 people found this review helpful

My husband and three of his coworkers come here about one week a month to help the Jamaican military on a project. My husband asked a woman who works at the front desk on April 23, 2017, which she as the day he and his coworkers were leaving how much extra it would be if he brought his wife next time. He was told $75 US a night.

However, once I arrived, and the hotel knows I'm essentially stuck here, they charged me $125 US/night. When my husband and I complained, Richard the Supervisor keeps saying "prices vary".

My husband has a screen capture showing he was charged the online price, and the online price for an additional person is $66US/night. But Richard keeps repeating "prices vary.

Why were we told $75 then? Why not just be honest? I really dislike dishonest business practices such as this.

Clearly this hotel is taking advantage of me already being here, after my husband specifically asked how much it would be three weeks ago, when he was here helping the Jamaican military.

Do not stay at this sleazy resort. I hold people to a high ethical standard and clearly staff know they can screw me, so that's exactly what they are doing.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube