Royal Decameron Montego Beach Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Montego Bay > Montego Bay Hotel Index > Royal Decameron Montego Beach reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Montego Bay Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sandals Montego Bay

4.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 10, 2011

Breezes Montego Bay

4.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 1, 2009

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa

3.6 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 10, 2012

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort

3.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 16, 2012

Holiday Inn Sunspree

3.1 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 2, 2014

Royal Decameron Montego Beach  

2 Gloucester Road | St.James, Montego Bay 00000, Jamaica

"Overview of my stay at Royal DeCamerron Montego Beach"
Posted by: Shearron on Aug 26, 2012
see all reviews

Royal Decameron Montego Beach Reviews
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Pictures and Information
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Montego Bay Jamaica

#7
of 35 Hotels in Montego Bay

User rating 4.2

Based on 9 reviews

Royal Decameron Montego Beach Information


Royal Decameron Montego Beach is located in the city of Montego Bay, near popular commercial areas and nighttime hot spots.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Royal Decameron Montego Beach Reviews

Royal Decameron Montego Beach Review: 4.2 of 5 9 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  3
Average
  2
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (7)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
Solo Traveller (1)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 9 of 9

"Overview of my stay at Royal DeCamerron Montego Beach"

Royal Decameron Montego Beach
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Montego Beach Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Shearron  on Aug 26, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
452 people found this review helpful

I stayed at this hotel from August 12,2012 for seven days. I had a very relaxing time - although it was a bit awkward travelling solo. By far, the staff in the dining room were very cheerful, helpful and attentive. The same cannot be said for the from desk staffing as I felt some to be rather arrogant and rude. The room was beautiful and very clean and the cleanliness of the dining room was exceptional- - 5 star for cleanliness, and hygiene. Being a vegan, I was surprized at the variety of food to accomodate my lifestyle.
Although not a drinker, the non-alcoholic choices were great The only suggestion that I would give is to engage each guest equally.........I will certainly be visiting this hotel in the future!!!and I would recommend this establishment for a 'first time experience of Jamaica!!!

Other Comments:
The hotel is absolutely beautiul and the grounds and beaches are great!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Ok Hotel, Great for Golf"

Royal Decameron Montego Beach
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Montego Beach Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Dave  on Jan 9, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
494 people found this review helpful

Im a avid traveller go to 2 or 3 all Inclusives per year, The flight from Toronto to Montego Bay was on-time and uneventful, Transfer from airport to hotel was less than 5mins, We arrived at the hotel at approximately 11:00 pm on the 2nd. Check-in was extremely quick, but had to wait 3hrs for a room, had shorts & sandles in our carry on so changed and drank @ the bar till our room was ready, no big deal. The food was pretty good & tasty..about 1000 times better than the food in Cuba! They have 2 pools one with swim up bar..The beach is little patches of sand between 3 piers kinda sucks..But it was cheap so can't complain, Drinks & Weather and ppl were great so had a good time.

The best part of the trip was Golfing, I found this cheap golf course owned & operated by local rich Jamaicans,less than 10min drive, A round of golf in Jamaica usually cost From $100 to $250 per round, Ironshore Golf & Country Club Cost $50 that Included Cart,caddy Pickup & return to hotel , I golfed 5 out of 7 days The last round the owner gave me for free, good people great times..Get the tour lady to call for a pickup for you 876 953 3681, 876 953 8628

Room Number:
4218

Room Block:
Ocean View

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice place but very loud"

Royal Decameron Montego Beach
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Montego Beach Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  john  on Mar 13, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
618 people found this review helpful

Nice place, great staff, food is okay, well kept facility. Would have been just about perfect except for the large group of co-ed (soft in the head) baseball players from western Canada. They seemed to think the hotel was their personal retreat. Bullied the hotel into opening the pool bar late at night (closing time was 5:00 pm), then proceeded to yell and scream like a bunch of total idiots ( these were not college kids but supposed adults in their late 20's to 40's). They had the hotel's sound system cranked way up. It was shaking the glass in our patio doors. This happened for two nights I was there, each night there were numerous complaints filed with management. Thank god I'm home now (the idiot noise makers are still there). I am not some old fuddy-duddy, I can party with anyone, but I would have been embarassed to be part of that group. Say what you want about loud Quebecers or ugly Americans, they are nothing compared to the a-holes from B.C.

Room Number:
112

Room Block:
main building

Arrival:
room wasn't ready, had to wait 2 1/2 hours

Rooms:
nice and clean

Restaurants and Bars:
okay

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
very nice

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
good

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not what i had expected"

Royal Decameron Montego Beach
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Montego Beach Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  william  on Feb 11, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
618 people found this review helpful

My wife and i stayed here end of january for one week. the place was exceptionally clean every day, even our rooms. but i found it too be a retired couples resort. entertainment was alright if you like drinking games but not much after that. nightly entertainment was olright if you had nothing else too do. food was good but limited selection. your choice of chicken, fish, pork, or beef almost every night. one night a week you might get turkey, lamb, or goat. after that. the usual. the beach was the most dissapointing. very small and you couldn't go out too far before hittiing rocks. no chance for going for a walk along the beach as they hav either end blocked off so you can't cross too another resorts beach. weather was good all week. staff, half of the will speak too you, other half you might get a hello if your lucky. no bar fridges in the rooms so you can't even keep a cold jug of water anywhere and they do not provide a cleenex box. you must buy one if you want any. 3 star maximum for me. if you are retired and want a quiet resort. this one might work for you.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great hoilday"

Royal Decameron Montego Beach
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Montego Beach Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  debbie oastler  on Jan 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
630 people found this review helpful

just got back from the royal decamron montego beach, The weather was great hotel was in a great position on the beach, sea was as clear as you could only dream off. talking to people who has taken up 0ffers to move to a five star free of charge and then returning back to decamron because the decamron was so much better. the only comments i have are take American dollars as this is the only currency wanted, maybe the one mistake we made was not tipping when we got there and so are service was not great. if/when you are offered drugs just say no thanks and that s the end of it.

Room Number:
217

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Best vacation"

Royal Decameron Montego Beach
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Montego Beach Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Stacy  on Jul 19, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
691 people found this review helpful

This hotel was wonderful. It is rated 3 1/2 stars but deserves better. The resort is beautiful in appearance, it has a lovely span of beach, its 3 minutes away from the airport and has good shopping within walking distance. Other 5 stars are rated only for the beauty of the building. I looked at them and they were in bad locations or did not have a nice beach. The staff at Decameron were amazing. They are full of warmth and are so helpful. They try their best to make your stay perfect. The food and drink are endless and taste great, there is always some fun activity to partake in, the resort is well cleaned and properly maintained. My only complaint is that the check out system needs to be revised. Check out is at noon, but if your flight is late afternoon and onwards they have courtesy rooms that to be booked and provided on the departure day, however they were prebooked for incoming guests who did not have rooms as yet. If you want to stay in your hotel room , there is an additional charge of $25 US per person. Other than that everything was perfect!! I will definitely return soon!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"At Royal Decameron royalty is served"

Royal Decameron Montego Beach
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Montego Beach Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  MAURICE MARIO  on Jan 11, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Jamaica
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
663 people found this review helpful

Where else can u stay?
At the royal Decamron montego royalty is served,
There was never a dull or unpleasant moment at the Royal decamron the property and its workers were grounded in excellence they kept and d it well.

Form the front desk area to aroma linked with the kitchen; this is almost island natured resort. Everyone was warm, helpful and charming.

It was captivating the entertainment on par thanks to well -coordinated entertainment crew “shout out to happy sunshine and the gang”

Dorrel did well in the food service department and so did the gym instructor at the gym

In short it’s a Paradise on Paradise Island and its goes to show the originals area still te best
Thanks Royal Decamron

Your Arrival:
Smooth

Rooms:
Excellent

Restaurants and Bars:
Wow food on time and service like no other

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Neat clean like tucked away island

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Well corodinated

Other Comments:
Well send all my friends there

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"For the value you receive, why would you go anywhere else?"

Royal Decameron Montego Beach
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Montego Beach Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Dave  on Oct 1, 2009  >  10 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2009
653 people found this review helpful

Arrival: October, 2009
We flew Air Transat from Toronto on September 26, 2009. The flight was on time and uneventful and arrived 1/2 hour early. The attendants were polite and friendly and served complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and a light hot meal during the flight, i.e. a small box of Chinese food. Be prepared for a delay clearing customs in Jamaica. The flight home on October 3, 2009 was similar. Movies were shown on both flights. The planes were Air Bus 310. Jamaica is in the Central Time Zone, 1 hour earlier than Toronto.

Check in around 4p.m. was quick and easy. On checking in, you are given a wristband, which you surrender when checking out, and a towel card to get beach towels from the dive shop. Don't lose your wristband or towel card or you pay to replace them. The same with keys, which are $50.00 if lost. The room was ready and a bell boy took our luggage for us.

Rooms:
We stayed in room 414 in the 4 storey main building. The building has one small elevator and two sets of stairs. Our room was on the fourth floor and had a large balcony, king bed, bedside tables, radio, 4 piece bathroom, large closet, TV, table and 2 chairs. The wall facing the Caribbean is wall-to-wall and floor-to-ceiling windows and balcony doors. There was a plastic table and 2 chairs on the balcony. Use of the safe is $2 per night. The floors are ceramic tiles and the room condition was clean and in good repair. The water pressure in the shower was adequate and there was no problem with water temperature. The housekeeping staff came every day and replaced towels and bedding as required and provided a large bottle of water every day. The resort provides soap and shampoo as required. We had some small ants visiting our bathroom but the cleaning staff sprayed them and that solved the problem, which really wasn't a problem for us.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"For the value you receive, why would you go anywhere else?"

Royal Decameron Montego Beach
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Montego Beach Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Dave  on Oct 1, 2009  >  10 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2009
653 people found this review helpful

Arrival: October, 2009
We flew Air Transat from Toronto on September 26, 2009. The flight was on time and uneventful and arrived 1/2 hour early. The attendants were polite and friendly and served complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and a light hot meal during the flight, i.e. a small box of Chinese food. Be prepared for a delay clearing customs in Jamaica. The flight home on October 3, 2009 was similar. Movies were shown on both flights. The planes were Air Bus 310. Jamaica is in the Central Time Zone, 1 hour earlier than Toronto.

Check in around 4p.m. was quick and easy. On checking in, you are given a wristband, which you surrender when checking out, and a towel card to get beach towels from the dive shop. Don't lose your wristband or towel card or you pay to replace them. The same with keys, which are $50.00 if lost. The room was ready and a bell boy took our luggage for us.

Rooms:
We stayed in room 414 in the 4 storey main building. The building has one small elevator and two sets of stairs. Our room was on the fourth floor and had a large balcony, king bed, bedside tables, radio, 4 piece bathroom, large closet, TV, table and 2 chairs. The wall facing the Caribbean is wall-to-wall and floor-to-ceiling windows and balcony doors. There was a plastic table and 2 chairs on the balcony. Use of the safe is $2 per night. The floors are ceramic tiles and the room condition was clean and in good repair. The water pressure in the shower was adequate and there was no problem with water temperature. The housekeeping staff came every day and replaced towels and bedding as required and provided a large bottle of water every day. The resort provides soap and shampoo as required. We had some small ants visiting our bathroom but the cleaning staff sprayed them and that solved the problem, which really wasn't a problem for us.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"For the value you receive, why would you go anywhere else?"

Royal Decameron Montego Beach
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Montego Beach Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Dave  on Oct 1, 2009  >  10 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2009
653 people found this review helpful

Arrival: October, 2009
We flew Air Transat from Toronto on September 26, 2009. The flight was on time and uneventful and arrived 1/2 hour early. The attendants were polite and friendly and served complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and a light hot meal during the flight, i.e. a small box of Chinese food. Be prepared for a delay clearing customs in Jamaica. The flight home on October 3, 2009 was similar. Movies were shown on both flights. The planes were Air Bus 310. Jamaica is in the Central Time Zone, 1 hour earlier than Toronto.

Check in around 4p.m. was quick and easy. On checking in, you are given a wristband, which you surrender when checking out, and a towel card to get beach towels from the dive shop. Don't lose your wristband or towel card or you pay to replace them. The same with keys, which are $50.00 if lost. The room was ready and a bell boy took our luggage for us.

Rooms:
We stayed in room 414 in the 4 storey main building. The building has one small elevator and two sets of stairs. Our room was on the fourth floor and had a large balcony, king bed, bedside tables, radio, 4 piece bathroom, large closet, TV, table and 2 chairs. The wall facing the Caribbean is wall-to-wall and floor-to-ceiling windows and balcony doors. There was a plastic table and 2 chairs on the balcony. Use of the safe is $2 per night. The floors are ceramic tiles and the room condition was clean and in good repair. The water pressure in the shower was adequate and there was no problem with water temperature. The housekeeping staff came every day and replaced towels and bedding as required and provided a large bottle of water every day. The resort provides soap and shampoo as required. We had some small ants visiting our bathroom but the cleaning staff sprayed them and that solved the problem, which really wasn't a problem for us.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I absolutely LOVED the Royal Decameron"

Royal Decameron Montego Beach
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Montego Beach Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Shaula  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
636 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 7 - 14
The flight from Halifax to Montego Bay was on-time and uneventful. If I have one complaint about the entire vacation, it would be the partially cooked chinese noodles I received for a meal aboard Air Transat. Gross. LOL. We arrived at the hotel at approximately 11:00 pm on the 7th and were greeted by delicious rum punch and a friendly helpful manager, Leon. Check-in was extremely quick, and within 20 minutes of arrival we were situated in our rooms.

Rooms
The rooms are open, spacious and ALWAYS clean. They may not be as luxurious as some are accustomed to, but for travellers like myself, who spend only enough time in the room to shower and get minimal sleep, it's perfect! All of the rooms face the ocean and offer TERRIFIC views of the sunset/sunrise. A must see!

Restaurants and Bars
I didn't take the time to eat at the a la carte restaurant, as I don't like time restrictions when I'm on vacation, but I heard nothing but good things. I believe Jamaican fusion dishes are served at two sittings, 6:30 and 8:30. The main buffet style restaurant always had something I would eat (and I'm extremely picky). May not be the selection many are used to at larger resorts, but the food was decent and edible (breakfast omelettes are DELICIOUS). The snack bar located near the beach serves dishes such as pizza, fries, hotdogs, hamburgers and jerk wings. I usually ate the pizza or wings, but heard the hotdogs and burgers were delicious.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Grounds are always immaculate. Groundskeepers are CONSTANTLY sweeping, painting etc. Vegetation is lush.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube