Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Montego Bay > Montego Bay Hotel Index > Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Montego Bay Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sandals Montego Bay

4.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 10, 2011

Royal Decameron Montego Beach

4.2 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 26, 2012

Breezes Montego Bay

4.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 1, 2009

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa

3.6 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 10, 2012

Holiday Inn Sunspree

3.1 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 2, 2014

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort  

54 Main Street | PO Box 54, Falmouth, Jamaica

"2nd time there. Last year was much better"
Posted by: Louise  on Apr 16, 2012
see all reviews

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Reviews
Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Pictures and Information
Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Montego Bay Jamaica

#3
of 34 Hotels in Montego Bay

User rating 3.5

Based on 23 reviews

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Information


Situated on a three-mile stretch of powder white sands and sparkling sapphire waters on the magnificent island of Jamaica, Breezes Resort & Spa Trelawny serves up a healthy dose of food, fun & entertainment for everyone.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Reviews

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Review: 3.5 of 5 23 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  10
Average
  7
Poor
  2
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (15)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
Solo Traveller (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 23

"2nd time there. Last year was much better"

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort
User Rating:  Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Louise  on Apr 16, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
191 people found this review helpful

very disappointing there was no nightly entertainment or show like previous year. The moral of the staff was very low. Now I realize why you are closing for renovation at the end of May. I do hope that the new owner will be re hiring the same staff. As you know it is them that make our stay a comfortable one. I do have to compliment our maid Rose Rivington 3rd floor side 1 she is the best She always made sure we had everything we needed. She always went the exta mile to help us. She is a great asset for breezes resort. I am planning on returning next year and hope that I will see her smiling face. We had the pleasure of meeting Curtis the lifeguard what a special young man. Very friendly and always there to lend a helping hand. The room we stayed in was clean but did smell molds. The air conditioning was loud and always seemed to loose power overnight. I did however see some cockroaches did not see anyone spraying around the resort like last year. I guess cut back where done that was very disappointing. Would be nice if new owner makes us a special deal for next year lol We did enjoy the beach very much the vendors did not bug us at all. Overall we did enjoy our stay to all the staff thank you

Room Number:
305

Room Block:
side 1

Arrival:
April 7th 2012 Room was not ready we had to wait till 3.30 We could not change had to stay in our winter clothes it was too hot.

Rooms:
very clean but television never worked did report it to front desk all week but no one ever came I almost when to knock at the owner door at there cottage to see if he would mind us watching is tv at night

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants where excellent There should be a limit on bars I feel the bartender should be allowed to refuse a customer when they are drunk.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
clean. But the hot tubs where never cleaned also either they were too hot or too cold they could not keep it at a right temperature Hopefully with the renovation this will be resolve

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
ok.

Other Comments:
Can Hardly wait to see he renovation next year. It does need it

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great people great place"

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort
User Rating:  Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rob  on Apr 11, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
250 people found this review helpful

i went by myself the people were awesome even the the questionable people walking the beach ,they would leave you alone if you said no to their products that was nice (not like mexico where they hassel you endlessly) great holliday for the value It is deffinatly a 3 star nothin fancy but lots to do for a blue collar guy to do

Room Number:
310

Arrival:
feb 9/12 to Feb 16 /12

Rooms:
were alright some issues but very clean and well kept up by the staff

Restaurants and Bars:
were great they make sure the booze flows freely witch is nice ....Bring a big cup the little ones they provide are a bit small LOL

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the beach was clean and very very nice ....LOVED THAT ISLAND best place to relax

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
lots of stuff to do and many things were included that aren't at other more expensive all inclusive hotels

Other Comments:
I really think i'll go back worth every penny

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Complete relaxing vacation"

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort
User Rating:  Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Claudette  on Jan 18, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
227 people found this review helpful

We had a very relaxing holiday. The food was excellant and abundant,with varriable choices.The hotel was comfortable clean and well equiped.Lots to do for the kids and those who want to be kids.The staff went above and beyound their duty to amuse use.We made friends with them and they treated us like family.Thanks for our week there.

Room Number:
208

Room Block:
?

Arrival:
Jan.2/2012

Rooms:
lots

Restaurants and Bars:
many

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
water in pools not heated as they were refreshing on the hot days

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
plenty,water slides,pools,wind surfing,volleyball/beach and water,basketball court,hottubs,trampolene,trapeze,rockclimbing,lots of lifeguards so the water sports were very safe,good spa and excersize,casino and arcade at no charge for kids and adults

Other Comments:
some of the staff were outstanding ,like Arron Carl and ike

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing vaction spot"

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort
User Rating:  Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jovace Nelson  on May 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
336 people found this review helpful

From the moment that I arrived the customer service was very polite, informative, and just made you feel like as though you were royalty. The lobby area is busy (in a good way) with pool tables, family movie area, gym, jewelry shop, gift shop, slot machines, arcades, local destination signup table, and photo room. The elevators were experiencing difficulties from time to time, but there were 3 of them in the evenly spaced lobby. There was plenty of food, all of which was to die for. Make reservations for the very romantic Italian restaurant, as well as the very entertaining Japanese one. Everyday minute of everyday seems like there is something happening from nightly beach entertainment to concerts to parties off sight with shuttle bus provided. The Secluded Island is amazing and very relaxing. Plenty of kid activities from their own water slide, playroom and restrooms (very child friendly, but hardly notice they're there if your there to relax). There are plenty of inclusive water actives, buffet food, and drinks. NEGETIVES- Elevators, misquotes at night (they spray often, but it's the region so pack OFF spray), aggressive salesmen by the sea (they are not with Breezes, however they're right there) (once you see they're "stores" you understand why, and cannot tip the employees that work so hard. Overall- Great place to relax, get away, party, and spend with the family.

Room Number:
624

Arrival:
Pretty well organized, new management new systems you can tell that some employees are still adjusting. Pay attention to the sights during the shuttle ride in from the airport and you will see that the people are either rich or poor there is no middle class.

Rooms:
The rooms are like a cheap motel; however the suites are much nicer and suitable for families or people looking to spend time inside. The rooms with balconies facing the tennis court are annoying because the A/C fans are pretty loud; however, the mountainside view is amazing with the quiet view of the mountains, houses, trees, blue water ocean, and the sun bring in the new day very nice. With so much going on outside who cares.

Restaurants and Bars:
From time to time the bar will run out of ice, but they fill it up very quickly. The drinks are made very well and taste very consistent throughout the resort. You must make reservations at 9am at the guest services desk to attend either the Italian or Japanese restaurant. The Italian restaurant is very romantic, the food is outstanding, and very laidback. The Japanese restaurant is an amazing experience for anyone as the chiefs prepares the food right in front of you, they are very animated as they cook and sing it's an amazing show; by the way the food is amazing as well. The buffet is always stocked and everything taste amazing and made with love, you can taste it. Don't be afraid to try anything new or that you have tried before these chiefs are good, the food is fresh, and very well seasoned.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is full of actives, and all you have to do is signup. The beach looks brand new each morning before 7am all of the chairs are straight, cups, plates, and seaweed have been removed. The pools are clean and you see them constantly testing. There are 3 hot tubes located outside to relax in, and they surrounded by grape, almond, and banana tree with lights at night. There are tables to drink and pool tables (not the best playing surface, but cool idea)inside of the pools; as well as, a swim up bar with seats. The grounds are very clean, and often very busy with people but not chaotic.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
On the resort they have a people perform at night as you dine outside, karaoke in the center of the lobby at night, beach party entertainment, a club called Bubbles for the nightlife crowd, and much more. Off the resort they have a club across the street, and the resort provides a shuttle bus to a club a little further away.

Other Comments:
The people who work there work very hard in providing you the best experience possible, and they do so with positive attitude that is very contiguous and will make you leave with the resort with a greater appreciation for what you have once you see how most of them are forced to live. They do not complain but rather come off as if they enjoy and value your company. I do not write reviews but I felt as though it was only right if I did something for this company that provide many employees a chance to work that want to work, and again they have sent me home with greater appreciation for life.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great value for the money"

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort
User Rating:  Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Barry  on Apr 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
343 people found this review helpful

The resort staff was very friendly and worked hard to make sure all of the guests were taken care of. Our favorite restraunt was the Japanese. Food was great and the cheffs were entertaining. The room was average but you don't expect to spend much time in the room when you are in Jamica.
The entertainment staff was excelent. Nightly shows were great and they tried to get everyone involved. we were impressed that some of the staff remembered our names, we weren't just numbers to them. Would stay there again.

Room Number:
305

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great resort for the money"

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort
User Rating:  Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  RICK  on Feb 7, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
370 people found this review helpful

We arrived on time. we were met with pleasant welcoming staff. Our room was basic but good. This resort is a good one to stay. I definitely would reccommend this one. The only complaint I have is the elevators broke down often. The food was exceptional. Shawn at the sea shell bar and grill went out of her way to help and serve you. In the lobby bar, Yvonne was also great.

Room Number:
426

Room Block:
hotel

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"the time of our lives"

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort
User Rating:  Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  chris  on Nov 9, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
359 people found this review helpful

we had the time of our lives here ...everything was amazing the kids club and the gals that work there were amazing. My son wanted to go daily he had a great time. If you use kids club ask for Candy and yvonne wonderful ladies. The games people always had fun with them Kevan Keneisha and everyone else went above and beyond their jobs.
The rooms are very simple but clean. the grounds were kept immaculate the pools were good. The front desk was nice Lisa marie was amazing. the circus crew as well amazing... I could go on and on but I love this resort and looking back to our 2 week holiday there over the holidays.
Check out the japaneese restauraunt excellent the Italian not great but Im italian so given that it was good.
We love this hotel ... If your lloking for fancy rooms then this isnt for you but if you want good food,good entertainment, family time and time away from the kids this is the place....If you go make freinds with the entertainment crew they are good people
enjoy

Arrival:
Arrived Jan 1 2010

Rooms:
room 312

Restaurants and Bars:
munsaun japaneese casablanca Italian seashell bar and sncks and the buffett

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
excellent waterslides and splash pad for kids hot tubs,waterslides games room mini golf basketball nets

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
on resort everything imagineable
off lots use reggae tours amazing

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"ANOTHER WONDERFUL STAY!"

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort
User Rating:  Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Darlene  on Oct 24, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
399 people found this review helpful

I cannot even count how many times we have stayed at this resort. All I can say is it was another wonderful vacation!

The staff is fantastic and so is the service. We have been to 14 Carribean islands. When we want an oppulent resort we have stayed at many Sandals (top of their line) resorts. If you want fun, sun and full value for your money this is the place to go.

Complaints about uncomfortable beds is so silly. No one bed suits everyone. I find their beds very comfy. The pictures of the rooms are exactly as shown on their website. We usually stay in a poolside cottage but as this was a last minute trip we stayed mountain view.

Entertainment staff is terrific and the food is wonderful. If you want ice sculptures in the buffet you won't find them here. What you will find is a tremendous selection of items to choose from. Usually a fish or chicken item every night as well as a rotating schedule of turkey, goat, ham, pork, beef. Many, many salad and side dishes in the buffet each day. Casablanca restaurtant is more upscale and quiet and the Japanese is very tasty.

Would I come back again. ABSOLUTELY! Would I suggest this resort to others. ABSOLUTELY!

If you want a fancy resort this is maybe not for you. If yoy want a 3-4 star experience and fabulous vacation memories then this IS the place for you.

Arrival:
same as at any Carribean resort. A bit of a line up but went to the lobby bar, got a drink, took it easy. Nothing to complain about

Rooms:
exactly as shown in the pictures. Not fancy but more than adequate for the amount of time spent in them.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food is wonderful. Good selection and tasty. Our daughter-in-law is usually a very fussy eater but never heard a complaint from her in the enitre 14 days.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds are beautifully kept and the gardeners are out every day tending to them.

Pools are well kept and cleaned each morning.

Beach is raked and cleaned each morning.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Too many daily activities to mention. Something for people of all ages to enjoy.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A NIGHTMARE YOU WANT TO WAKE UP FROM"

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort
User Rating:  Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  ELAINE  on Oct 21, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
346 people found this review helpful

MY HUSBAND AND I WERE VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH THIS NEVER ANY CLEAN TOWERS IN OUR ROOM. NEVER TOWELS AT THE BEACH. THERE REASON WAS MACHINE BROKE DOWN. . NEVER HOT WATER. BED WAS MOST UNCOMFORTABLE. THE ONLY GOOD THING WAS THE FOOD BUT IF ANYONE WANTS TO ENJOY A VACATION GO ELSEWHERE PLEASE. WHAT A WASTE OF MONEY AT THIS PLACE. DISGUSTING.IT WAS THE WORST VACATION WE HAVE EVER EXPEIENCED.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great time-but check-in is a mess but rooms are clean"

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort
User Rating:  Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  geo  on Aug 21, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
407 people found this review helpful

We had a great time. There are several free activities such as snorkeling and sailing, however, like most all-inclusive resorts, tours outside the resort are pretty expensive such as Dunn's River Falls 70- bucks per person. Jet skiing was fun but 30.00 for 15 minutes. Word of wisdom-everybody goes for the free activities right after breakfast- If you want only a little wait-time, go after 1:00 pm. Then you can ride as many times as you want. They can cancel at any moment. Once you sign the waiver you MUST give it to the lifeguard to ensure your spot. They don't tell you this so you will be waiting otherwise (only one per day). You can take the next available activity spot. They require you to sign up for a time, but that does not mean much in the land of "no problem"-the time the lifegaurd recieves the waiver is your "real time". The arcade was fun for the kids and my son actually liked baby sitting/ daycare service that is free from 9-5. They have nightly shows on their stage area that are sometimes great and other times so-so. This is usually followed by the adult dance club opening. Beware that everything is on "Jamaican time" so nothing starts on time (except tours and taxi trips). If they say it will be 5 minutes, expect it to take 30 minutes. Nobody wears a watch here, "yeah mon". The club plays reggae music, however it is usally empty because nothing starts on time. The beach is gorgeous and the discourage any "locals" from joining you on the beach. Occassionally, there is a local who is removed that is trying to sell wooden carvings, star fish, or hair braiding. The food is Jamaican, fish every night and chicken. The also have lamb, beef and turkey. The fruit is delicious and it is all you can drink. They serve you your drinks at the buffet and they have silverware to make it look fancy.I liked the food but it depends on what your used to. The only thing is, I feel, they struggle with their ability to cook rice- at the buffet and in the restaurants. I was told that I am wrong, you be the judge. Make reservations for the restaurants in advance. I only liked the Munasan, however others raved about the Casablanca. Also, if you get a headache go to the nurses station which is free,otherwise you will pay 2.00 for 2 Panedol tablets(Tylenol). The taxi drivers try to insist that you do not book through the hotel. Word to the wise book through the hotel unless they cut you a deal. We were supposed to get 2 hours for the market at Falmouth but was only given 1 hour for the 20.00 round trip (up to 4 people). The taxi driver stays with you and acts as your personal guide. He rushed us and told us that we would have more time when in fact we ended up with less. You have to know how to bargain outside the hotel because when they see foreign dollars everything is now 3 times more, negotiate.

Rooms:
Breezes Trelawny is a middle of the road resort, we had a great time. They will mess up your room, be prepared. We ordered a cottage but it was overbooked so we got the night free and had to stay in a regular room. There are no real ocean view rooms. I thought they wer nice enough for the price. We got the cottage the next night and it just got better from that moment. The cottages are close to the beach and the pools. I loved it!

Restaurants and Bars:
All you can drink with nice slushy machines for the kids. You can order any drink even if it is not on the suggested list of mixed drinks.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is gorgeous and so are the pools.

Other Comments:
Would go back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube