Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Montego Bay > Montego Bay Hotel Index > Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Montego Bay Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sandals Montego Bay

4.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 10, 2011

Royal Decameron Montego Beach

4.2 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 26, 2012

Breezes Montego Bay

4.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 1, 2009

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa

3.6 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 10, 2012

Holiday Inn Sunspree

3.1 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 2, 2014

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort  

54 Main Street | PO Box 54, Falmouth, Jamaica

"2nd time there. Last year was much better"
Posted by: Louise  on Apr 16, 2012
see all reviews

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Reviews
Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Pictures and Information
Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Montego Bay Jamaica

#3
of 34 Hotels in Montego Bay

User rating 3.5

Based on 23 reviews

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Information


Situated on a three-mile stretch of powder white sands and sparkling sapphire waters on the magnificent island of Jamaica, Breezes Resort & Spa – Trelawny serves up a healthy dose of food, fun & entertainment for everyone.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Reviews

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Review: 3.5 of 5 23 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  10
Average
  7
Poor
  2
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (15)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
Solo Traveller (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
With friend
11 - 20 of 23

"Perfectly Pleasurable "

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort
User Rating:  Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Donya  on Aug 13, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
223 people found this review helpful

This place introduces you to an amazing, unspoiled view of the countryside, while allowing you to experience an amazing experience for an amazing price. When they said everything was included, they meant it. The only extras are the jet skis and the scuba diving.

We snorkeled, toured on a glass bottom boat, played on float rings, rode the banana boat, etc. Also, my daughter LOVED the FREE games in the arcade!

If you are looking for a relaxing atmosphere, that offers a big bang for the buck, check out this hotel!

Arrival:
From the moment we arrived at Breezes Trelawny, we felt welcomed by those who took our bags and offered us drinks. Check in was literally a breeze, and we were quickly in our rooms. The rooms were fine; they had all the amenities needed and were very clean.
After we settled, we descended down the stairs and were treated like royalty by all the employees. The people were the difference between an okay hotel and an amazing one.

Rooms:
We had two rooms on opposite sides, as we requested. And were given ocean view rooms, even though we paid for mountain view. The rooms were a good size, especially considering you don't go to Jamaica to hang out in the room.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was great. The buffet offered a large variety of food, with a tasty sampling of authentic cuisine. We like Jamaican food and thought they did a great job providing such a vast spread that also tasted really good. The staff was on point, even remembering all the members of our party as soon as we walked in. We loved Sasha Gay, Tamara, Stephny. Sophia made an awesome omelette every morning.

The two specialty restaurants, Casablanca and Munasan, were good. Casablanca, the Italian/French restaurant provided a nice, comfortable atmosphere, with excellent cuisine. The maître d’ and the wait staff were wonderful! The snapper was the most delicious of all the items we ordered. Munasan, the Japanese steakhouse, was pretty good, but really hot. My daughter did not enjoy it, and I ended up taking her to the buffet to eat afterwards.

The bar drinks were good. We did not find that the alcohol was watered down. And if it was, its ALL YOU CAN DRINK! How can you complain about that? The bartenders, Alister, Yvonne, Germaine, Wilfred and all the others always took care of us and remembered from our first drink, what we liked to order.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The lifeguards were awesome and even rescued a little boy while we were there. Ricardo was the absolute BEST!!

The beach is BEAUTIFUL! And they even have a small island right off shore. The pools were large and accommodated a vast array of guests. There were two waterslides, pool tables, a swim up bar, a volleyball net, tables and chairs and lounge chairs in the water.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There was quality entertainment offered EVERY night. There were extraordinary and well known groups that performed. Throughout the day, the entertainment department filled the time with fun games and competitions, all with an age appropriate prize. Kenisha was our absolute favorite with her bubbly personality and crazy dance moves! They even offer a club for those who want to dance and continue hanging out, after the shows are over.

We toured the countryside, with our FABULOUS driver, Harry. If you want someone you can trust to take you around for a reasonable price, look for Harry. He's usually sitting out in front of the hotel in his White Toyota Corolla. He's the BEST!!! He stayed with us the whole time, even when we went to an Independence Day celebration and then a club.

Other Comments:
People who have complained about the staff, where probably like the ones we saw yelling and demanding the DJ to change the music or pitching fits in the lobby because they didn't like something minor. Or those who murmured words of complaint because the room hair dryer took forever to dry their hair, and they had to get to dinner. People can be ridiculous with their expectations and for the value, we don't see how people can find things to gripe about. For our family, anything that arose, the staff immediately responded and took care of the situation. Of course, our family treated them with respect and gratitude.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"TRIP TO REMEMBER!"

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort
User Rating:  Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  K  on Jun 18, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
200 people found this review helpful

I was VERY dissapointed to see that the beds were not very comfy, the room looked NOTHING like the pictures. It was very run down and the tiolet leaked. The front desk was not helpful on several occasions, but the rest of the staff was nice. The food was great. The beaches were cool the water was warm too. If you are on a budget like we were, it is ok but if you could spend the extra $, I would suggest a different hotel in Montego Bay.

P.S. Make sure you bring bug spray!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good for the $$$$$$$"

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort
User Rating:  Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  TERI  on May 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
197 people found this review helpful

BEAUTIFUL BEACH/OCEAN!!! EXTREMELY CLEAN!!!! WISH IT WAS CLOSER TO SHOPPING, ETC. IF YOU LIKE TO WALK-THERE IS NOTHING AROUND UNLESS YOU TAKE A CAB. THE RESORT IS OLDER BUT CLEAN-MOTEL STYLE -VS- HOTEL STYLE. FRIENDLY PEOPLE...FOOD WAS SIMILAR TO TRAVELING ON CRUISES...THEY NEED TO BE SURE FOOD IS AVAILABLE AT ALL HOURS POSTED....ELEVATOR WAS BROKEN, SLOT MACHINES WERE EATING $$$$, WE WILL PROBABLY RETURN TO NEARBY ISLANDS BUT BY CRUISE BOAT!!!!
IF WE WERE TO RETURN TO JAMAICA WE WOULD NOT STAY AT BREEZES TRELAWNY-MAYBE SOMEWHERE ELSE THOUGH!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful time at the Starfish Trelawny"

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort
User Rating:  Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Julia  on Mar 23, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
173 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
We were initially disappointed upon our arrival, because the lobby area seemed shabby and old-fashioned, especially at 2 am in the morning! This impression was reinforced when we were given what was probably the worst room in the hotel - number 345 - right next to the air-conditioning units for the entire hotel. We were so tired, we just fell into bed, and the next morning we requested another room. We were offered a choice of two, and chose one on the ground floor, which overlooked the pool and the crazy golf course. From that point on, our holiday was amazing.

Rooms:
Adequate. Somewhat shabby - the bathroom was in great need of renovation, but the bed was reasonably comfortable, there was a mini fridge and a coffee maker. As we didn't intend spending much time in the room other than for sleeping, we were not worried by the poor decorative state. The maid service was good, and we were satisfied with the level of cleanliness in the room.

Restaurants and Bars:
Very good. We used the buffet almost every day and the food was excellent. Wide variety and good quality. We went to the a la carte restaurant once - the Casablanca - which was superb. Beach grill had great jerk chicken and fries, and all the bar staff were great.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was small, but we spent most of our days there. There is a small island just off the beach, but we didn't use that. The locals will try and sell you stuff but a polite 'no thank you' is all that is needed. We actually enjoyed chatting to them, and getting to know some of them - Tony, Super Dave, Charlie, Moses - they are great characters if you take the time to talk to them. Of course, they all want to sell you something, though - so buy a few things, then say "no more!"

The flowers and trees on the grounds are beautiful. We went up to the 7th floor and took pictures of the sea and the surrounding countryside. We got some lovely sunset shots from up there.

We didn't go in the pools at all, but they looked very nice.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We got Moses to take us to Dunn's River Falls. The falls are beautiful, but it was just too commercialized for our taste. We stopped off at Runaway Bay on the way home, and visited Discovery Bay. Great outing.

We went to the Luminous Lagoon one evening, which was fun. Not what I was expecting - I had imagined a palm tree fringed lagoon away from everything, but in fact it was rather industrialized, but still fun. The fish showed as luminous streaks under the water, and we swam in the lagoon. The bottom of the lagoon is very soft mud so don't put your feet down!

We went on the snorkelling trip a couple of times from the resort. This is included in the holiday price. They take you out to the reef. It was okay, but really not that much to see on the days we went.

Other Comments:
We loved this place. The staff were friendly, and we met some great folks from the US and Canada.

The only downside to this trip was the travel there and back. On the way there, we had to stop at Punta Cana and there was a 2-hour delay. What should have been a 4 hour journey ended up being almost 12 hours from start to arrival at the resort. The same on the way back, but without the 2 hour delay. This was all due to a hotel overbooking problem, and it was our first (and probably last) experience of travelling with Sunwing. We never had this kind of nightmare with Skyservice or Transat!

Other than that, we had a great time, and apart from the fact that we want to try other places, would recommend this resort, and would probably go back again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful trip with family"

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort
User Rating:  Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lori Smith  on Jan 11, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
175 people found this review helpful

Rooms in tower in definite need of renovation, but otherwise we enjoyed our stay very much. Enjoyed the food, people were wonderful, pools and beach excellent.

Your Arrival:
Our flight arrived very late d/t snow problems in Edmonton, had to wait at Montego Bay airport for a while for bus to pickup. Checkin was handled fairly quickly and our needs met once in room (crib was brought when requested at 11pm)

Rooms:
Hugely in need of maintenance - closet door hanging off, toilet leaked, no plug for tub, but our view was great (mountain view, but definitely still had an ocean view) and was very quiet. Found our bed quite comfortable. Water issues are a concern but we learned to shower in the morning or late at night (no hot water or pressure from 5 to 7 pm).

Restaurants and Bars:
We only used the buffet and the pool grill. Were not able to make a reservation for the other restaurants. Never had a problem getting a table even with our large group of 10 and the kids always found something to eat. Selection wasn't spectacular but everything I had was good. We ate our lunches at the pool grill - loved the nachos and cheese and burgers. Only thing we had that couldn't eat was the meat pattie things. Kids loved the self serve slushies.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful sand and swimming beach. Local vendors have access to beach but if you say no thank you they don't bother you. Pools were very nice and actually usable - have been places where the water was so cold you couldn't go in it. My kids loved the variety of pools here.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Went on best of Ochos Rios tour. long day but pleasant. Plantation tour is great - guide was awesome. Dunn's River falls is definitely worthwhile, BUT do not do it on a national holiday - was way too crowded. Also be prepared for a very aggressive crowd at the market there. Dolphin Cove was nice - fish & chips EXCELLENT. Good price for dolphin swim compared to many other places.

Other Comments:
We enjoyed our stay very much. Rooms aren't the best, but we spent very little time in them. Would return

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had a great time"

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort
User Rating:  Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Maryanne  on Dec 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009
98 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Oct 2009
Arrival through Westjet Vacations was on time. Large bus to resort (with other drops-offs beyong our resort) and one stop for jerk-chicken/beer on the way. WARNING:We had a beer, my son had a pattie and on way out of the restaurant/bar we saw a DEAD RAT. My kids were traumatized.(Don't worry-the review gets better)

Rooms:
Our room was clean, basic and not beautiful. Everything was functional and we were on the 6th floor in mountainview. Crappy view but really quiet at night to sleep. The up/down side of mountainview vs ocean at this resort is the noise. Oceanview faces the entertainment which goes on quiet late. Cottages are a little more secluded. Anyway, the rooms were fine, no hot water/water pressure/ant issues.If I went again, I'd bring an old duvet and leave it there. My biggest complaint was the bedding.

Restaurants and Bars:
When we went, it was the week before Breezes took over so I believe there have been changes re:restaurants. One typical buffet (decent food, lacking in ambience) great japanese, italian, jamaican and beach grill. I liked all the food and we ate well. I don't understand the complaints over food.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Lots of pools and they are clean and well maintained. A couple of water slides, a kiddie pool, 3 hot tubs surrounded by bamboo. The hot tubs were drained each night, so they too were clean. The grounds were very well maintained. Not a huge beach but beautiful, nice little man-made island. We spent most of our time here..Wonderful.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did the Nine Mile tour and Dunn's River falls. Booked Nine Mile before we left home and paid way too much. Beyond the gate are some really nice drivers with clean vehicles...book your tours through them. Nine Mile is awesome, we loved it but it's far (almost 2 hours through terrbily windy roads). Worthwhile if y ou are a Marley fan only. Dunn's River Falls was a blast...so much fun.

Other Comments:
We had a great time at this resort.It's an older resort and I'd read enough reviews to know what to expect. Rooms are ugly, but beyond that, it's a great value. Wonderful, friendly staff, cold beer, good food...just what we wanted for a holiday.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Call your travel agent and change it , your trip"

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort
User Rating:  Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Coleen  on Jun 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) UNITED STATES MINOR OUTLYING ISLANDS
Visited on: Jun, 2009
92 people found this review helpful

Arrival: May 22 - May 30:
Check in was easy, no wait, and they gave you a nice rum drink to enjoy while going through the process.

Rooms::
We were on the 7th floor and had a great view of the grounds and the ocean, but there were red ants all over the room. How do you get red ants in a room on the 7th floor? There were a couple of days that we had NO hot water at all! When we did have hot water the water pressure was lacking.

Restaurants and Bars::
The alcohol was good and free flowing. The food was not great...to say the least. Breakfast was ok, plenty of a selection, but that was the only meal that was worthwhile. There was little selection for lunch and dinner. In the 8 nights we were there we only had a carving station 2 nights. Other all-inclusives (again, only 3 stars) had carving stations each evening. Their pasta stations (when they had them) consisted of 2 tubs of macaroni and cheese and spaghetti and meatballs. Other places we've stayed at have had the stations where you pick your sauce and your ingredients. The evening selection improved slightly 2 nights, because there was a convention of the Federal Police of Jamaica. Other than that, it was horrible. The last day we were there I bit into a chicken leg, only to find it seriously undercooked. I don't know if this was a coincidence, but the next day I was sick! There were several times that we had to get our own water and silverware, even after they sat us! We paid to go to Giuseppe's and it was really good. Also went to the Japanese and it was fun, but food was extremely salty.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
We are easy travelers, we go to St. Martin every year (this will be year #11). We have also gone to Antigua and the Dominican Republic several times to different all-inclusives. These were not 5 stars, mostly 3, or 3 1/2 star. These all far surpassed the Starfish. Suffice to say there were drug dealers offering drugs to my daughter and son-in-law on the beach, as well to others at the resort. They seem to target 20 and 30 something's. Some of these people actually worked for Superclubs! We had people on the beach asking us to get them food and others yelling at us when we elected not to buy what they were selling. At one point we watched the security guards hitting a man with a club...not my idea of a fun vacation! I wanted a long beach to walk but we never felt really safe enough to walk or even stay on the beach! After that happened the security guards came up and said no problem Mon. Yeah, right. The security guards and lifeguards hang around in one spot, and one day they were smoking marijuan.hello. No one says anything about this! The beach was also not nearly as pretty as those in St. Martin and the Dominican Republic.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
Chukka Canopy tour was wonderful, the workers did their best to make sure you had a great experience.

Other Comments::
The entertainment was vastly lacking. There were several instances where they used male staff members as female impersonators. This was funny the first time, not the 5th, 6th, etc. One night they had a beach party and that was fun, but as soon as they ended the music the locals were begging for food and asking if you wanted marijuana, again! I wish we had read a review like this before we went to the Starfish. If you have reservations, call your travel agent and change them you won't be sorry.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It exceeded our expectations"

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort
User Rating:  Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jan  on Feb 1, 2009  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
91 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 10 - 17
Flight was on time, the bus for transfer to the hotel was not at the airport when we arrived, but it did arrive within half an hour....it took approx. 35 minutes to arrive at hotel....smooth check in....as I was first in line!!

Rooms
Rooms are in a need of an upgrade, rather disappointing on initial arrival, but after a few days, the room grew on us......bathroom sadly needs major makeover, but we had lots of hot water most days and lots of pressure for showers etc...the tv had tons of channels, could even watch our local city tv station from Toronto........only problem is, the volume was quite loud and could not be turned down...had a nice balcony and they supplied a bar for your wet clothes.

Restaurants and Bars
main dinner restaurant left alot to be desired, lunch and breakfast were fine...we upgraded and ate at the speciality restaurants..Casablanca, and Guiseppes....wonderful....men need long pants for Casablanca and no open toed shoes were allowed either.......some menu items were not extra....i.e. the lasagna was wonderful and it was included....at Guiseppes....wonderful staff especially Adrian at the Casablanca and Caroldean at Guiseppes....most bar staff very friendly...especially at the pool bar and boy, are they over worked...needed another bar by the pool....too many line ups most of the day...would recommend a Hummingbird drink..........wonderful and healthy with a fresh banana in it!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds
grounds were lovely, well kept and clean...pools by the beach were amazing...the private beach located to the right of the resort, is absolutely stunning, the water was so warm and you could walk out quite far...

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
lots of poolside activities, entertainment at night was mostly bands, but not every night.......good music...did not go on any tours....

Other Comments
this was definately a three star resort in many ways, and in some it exceeded our expectations....lots of families with children, so if that is a problem, you may want to stay somewhere else...heard that they are changing ownership in October and becoming a Breezes, so the price will definately go up, but hopefully there will be some renos done at the same time........all in all...considering everything, I would say it was definately rated a 7 out of 10 most days...

Arrival: Feb 10 - 17
:

Flight was on time, the bus for transfer to the hotel was not at the airport when we arrived, but it did arrive within half an hour....it took approx. 35 minutes to arrive at hotel....smooth check in....as I was first in line!!

Rooms:

Rooms are in a need of an upgrade, rather disappointing on initial arrival, but after a few days, the room grew on us......bathroom sadly needs major makeover, but we had lots of hot water most days and lots of pressure for showers etc...the tv had tons of channels, could even watch our local city tv station from Toronto........only problem is, the volume was quite loud and could not be turned down...had a nice balcony and they supplied a bar for your wet clothes

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This hotel is rated as 3 to 3.5 stars in all listings"

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort
User Rating:  Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  karen  on Feb 1, 2009  >  22 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
96 people found this review helpful

Arrival: First I must say this is our 12th visit to this resort. We met one Canadian couple who were on their 18th visit and another couple on their 31st visit. Both couples spoke of many others they had met through the years who had been there anywhere from 10 to 30 times. Most of the returning guests were either from Canada or England. Our Air Canada flight was on time and the lineups at immigration were not too long. Things moved along fairly smoothly. One other flight arriving at same time. Lots of staff but tourists get tired after travelling and get cranky very easily and there is just no pleasing some of them. Our flight attendants were only handing out one immigration card per family but it should have been one per person. We told them we had been to the island many times and that one card per person is required. There was no convincing them that they were wrong and we all had to fill out the additional cards in the airport. This is an error the airlines make....it has nothing to do with the immigration staff so don't take it out on them.

Rooms: Our room was very clean and everthing in working order. Furniture is older but serviceable. Our room on each and every visit has been clean.

The fridges are stocked at the beginning of your visit with Jamaican softdrinks and water. This is not Canada or the U.S. so don't expect the same brands of pop as at home! If you want what is at home...stay at home!! There are 26oz. bottles of gin, rum, vodka and brandy in your room on your arrival. Additional bottles are charged at $7.00 U.S. Drinks are all free at the bar until they close at 1A.M. so there is likely no need of restocking anyway. Water througout the island is safe to drink which is wonderful compared to most other islands in the Caribbean or in Mexico. Bottled water is not necessary and the tap water tastes wonderful.

Food: The food is excellent. We are very picky eaters and have never had a problem finding something to eat. There is a good variety at the buffet every each day. At all meal times the buffet offers traditional Jamaican foods as well as what we are used to at home. Breakfast smoothies, waffles, pancakes, french toast, bacon, sausage, fried eggs or omlettes, potatos or hash brown patties plus Jamaican breakfast items such as bammies or festivals (kind of like a doughnut item), calaloo, Jamaican one pot as well as yogurt, cheeses, danishes, english muffins, toast etc. Of course there is also cereal and even oatmeal. There is always lots of fruit and unlike some reviewers we have never seen them run out of anything. Continental breakfast begins at 6:30am and full breakfast is served from 7:30am to 10a.m. Perhaps the people that have seen a shortage of fruit have shown up right as the buffet is closing. We have been down at the pool having coffee in the morning or out on tours and arrived just before closing for our meals and never had any problems finding something to eat. There is always at least 3 items served to accomodate the favorites of children such as spagetti, mac and cheese, chicken nuggets, fries, burgers, hotdogs etc.

There is really no need for any more as these tykes can certainly eat from the regular buffet. Fresh fruit is always available and the salad bar has a wonderful selection. Lots of dessert selections for lunch and dinner. Chocolate items are a little light on the chocolate flavor compared to our style of baking but still very tasty. There are four alacarte restaurants at the resort. The Casablanca offers a more classy dining experience for adults and children over 10 years of age. The Japanese is quite entertaining with the food being prepared in front of you. The Guiseppe offers outdoor dining as does the Reggae cafe outdoor evening dining at the pool. All these restaurants require reservations and a few of the menu items have a surcharge attached to them. The surcharges are very reasonable and a good idea. This is a family resort and many of the families choose to dine at the buffet with their children. Kind of a user pay idea. The grill at the pool bar offers hotdogs, burgers - beef and chicken, jerk chicken, fries, nachos, pizza, popcorn, and Jamaican patties (kind of like a pizza pop) with chicken or veggie style filling. Service is quick and it gives you a few momments of shade from an otherwise very sunny and hot pool area.

Bars: They are well stocked and a drink menu is displayed at each bar. The bartenders are happy and tend to dance along to the music being played. What does seem strange is in the last couple of visits guests are lining up at the bar. This is not necessary and the bartenders prefer you do not line up. While they are waiting for a blender style drink to finish mixing they are more than willing and capable of serving the next guest. It also makes the waitiing time shorter when they are serving more than one guest at a time.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
Beach: The beach has been taking a real beating from the weather. The sea level is very high and the undertow has been stripping the sand off the beach. Debris is constantly being brought on shore by the sea but the hotel staff works at cleaning the beach each morning.The resort is trucking in sand on a continuing basis to replenish the beach. By afternoon the beach will likely have some weeds or washed up coconuts on it but I would rather see that than have to walk around the maintenance staff out there with rakes all day! All beaches are public beaches in Jamaica and the locals are thus allowed to pass though the resort beach. They are not allowed to loiter and the security staff quickly sends them on their way if the try to stop and bother the guests. Sure they may ask you more than once to buy something but just be friendly, say no and they leave you alone. The locals are not nearly as aggressive as in Mexico. On either side of the beach there are security guards who will take your name and room number if you are leaving to wander the 'off property' beach. I like having security do this because it shows the resort is being responsible for its guests safety and offers you a peace of mind they want you to feel safe while on the island. We know of one guest who left on the beach and came back through the water. At the end of the afternoon when security checked their list and he was not checked off on the list as having returned to the resort his room was called and he was located to make sure he was back safe and sound.

Pools: There are four pools on the premises and all are kept extremely clean. Staff are out each morning cleaing and adjusting chemical levels. We have never seen the pools dirty or neglected on any of our visits. The most used pools are the sports pool and childrens pool nearest the beach.

Grounds: Each day there are grounds keepers out trimming and tending to the flowers, grass and trees. They are all very knowledgeable about the plants and if you have any questions about a particular type of flower or plant they are more than willing to take the time to tell you about them. We have overheard some guests stating that the leaves are falling off the trees etc but Jamaica has their own seasons and the leaves will fall and flowers will wilt....thats nature!

Activities: There is always something going on around the sports pool. Music starts playing about 9:30 each day and is wonderful to listen to. The have to adjust the volume so that it is heard both close to the acitivies stage as well as on the far side of the pool. So if it is either too loud or too soft move to a spot more to your liking. Aquasize is offered everyday except Sunday. There are games played each day. Something for every age....trivia for adults or children, typical best tan or burn contests, bingo, pool olympics, pool or beach volleyball, pingpong or beer games. T The rock climbing wall is used by people from 5 years of age to people that are 40 or 50 years old. A circus clinic is available for guests to experience the flying trapeze. Each morning a member of the entertainment staff announces the days activities and the are listed on a board on the pool stage as well as near the elevators near the lobby and the buffet so there is no reason for anyone to say the didn't what the acitives of the day were going to be. The acitvies staff are working tremendously long hours. They start their day at 9am and stay until the disco closes in the wee hours of the morning, sometimes working two or three split shifts a day on one day off per week. They are always friendly, outgoing, smiling and more than willing to please you. Huie, Chris, Kevon and Anton are always dancing, singing or mingling with guests around the pool when activies are not going on. Non-motorized watersports are included and you don't have to wait very long to have a chance to go out in the kayaks or sail boats. You do not have to reserve them or book a time. Just advise the water sports staff that you want to use them and they will let you know how long of a wait you have if they are all being used.

Entertainment: There is nightly entertainment. Sometimes it is a singer, steel band, Jamaicain cultural show, the staff circus show is wonderful. There is crab races on Sat nights and Charity casino/pool tournaments on Sunday nights. The best part of the entertainment at this resort is that it is not North American singers and dancers brought to the island to perform in a Vegas style show. Vegas type shows are performed at resorts in Mexico and far too many Caribbean islands....after a few they all look the same. Enjoy what the Jamaican talent has to offer.

Tours: These can be booked either through the resort or the taxi drivers that are at the hotel. When a taxi driver or tour operator takes you from the resort they are required to advise the hotel who they are taking and where they are taking them to. All registered taxi drivers in Jamaica will have a taxi decal displayed on their windshields. Other vehicle owners will offer you trips anywhere you want to go but remember most of them have only minimum insurance and the are not insured to be used as taxis so you are on your own should an accident occur. Throughout our visits to the island we have taken many tours.

Dunns River Falls is wonderful and anyone from 5 years old on up can climb the falls. We have gone on this excursion many times. We always take our camera and have never had it get wet. The guides at the falls always know whose cameras are whose and will take you pictures of you in the water. Our sons climbed with us when they were 5 and 7 and their were no problems at all. It is climbing and it is slippery so if you are not steady on your feet maybe give it a second thought. If it is raining heavily or they have had fairly steady rain they will not let you climb...this is because the rain from the mountains drains into the falls and the water level is too high in some places. If you are unfortunately in this situation please remember it is for your own safety that they will not let you climb.

The luminous lagoon is another great tour. If the sea is calm enough they will take you by boat if not you will be transported by bus. Free rum punch, beer and non alcoholic beverages are included. The reggae music is playing and the the atmosphere is great. As always this resort is looking guests safety and on one of our trips to the lagoon the seas kicked up a bit of a squall on our way to the lagoon so we were returned to the resort by bus rather than back on the boat.

The "Original Canopy Tour" is a lot of fun. Some tours do require a minimum of four people to go so do some inquiring early on in your vacation and do some visiting around the pool with other guests and it usually not a problem to get enough people or you can hire one of the hotel taxi drivers instead. We did the trip to Margaritaville in Montego Bay vacation and it is definately 'memorable'. What happens at Margaritaville stays at Margaritville!

Overall experience: This hotel is rated as 3 to 3.5 stars in all listings. We are in our fourties and have have been to many islands and to many resorts. We have stayed at everything from 2 star to 5+ star resorts including Sandals, Rius and Barcelos. This resort offers so much to their guests and all staff are so warm and friendly. Some reviewers have complaints about service, food, accomodations etc. but some people can't be pleased at any resort. This is the tropics, they have sand flies (not earwigs), they have some ants, they have mosquitos but so do most of the islands. The best way to ensure that bugs are not in you room is to ensure that you do not leave food items or empty unrinsed drink glasses lying around. Bugs are attracted to these type of items no matter where you are. One reviewer at one time stated they saw rats at the resorts....there are no rats in Jamaica!! They do have mongoose but they are not found on the resort. Would I recommend this resort? Absolutely, but not to everyone. You do not find repeat guests that have been to a resort, 10, 15 up to 30 vists at many resorts so that definately speaks for itself. If you are looking for a posh, very exlcusive resort this is not the place for you. This resort is good value for the money compared to other Jamaican resorts. If you want fun, laughter and wonderful vacation memories I would choose this place hands down.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It's a 3 star resort"

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort
User Rating:  Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ryan  on Feb 1, 2009  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
78 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Flight - We flew Sunwing out of Toronto. Flight was delayed an hour, everything else was great.

Check-in - There were alot of us so checking in took quite some time.

Rooms: I'm not a picky person when it comes to things like this, but our room was filthy. Earwigs on the door and in the bathtub. Ants in the sink, on the desk, and on the toilet. The room was very damp when we arrived and there was no water in the mini fridge. We arrived late, so we couldn't buy bottled water from the gift shop because it closes at 9pm. We drank from the tap (which is OK to drink in Jamaica) however would have been nice to have bottled water. My girlfriend stole cleaning supplies from the cleaning staff and cleaned our room inside out for 2 hours on the first night there. We turned on the AC to get rid of the dampness. Once we cleaned our room, had a nice cool,dry room, and bottled water the next day from the gift shop, the rest of our stay in our room was awesome. We only went to our room to sleep anyway. The view from the balcony was awesome and having so many friends there, it was nice to wave to people you knew across the hotel on the other balconies in the morning. Our room was 410 and we had an OK view of the ocean. At night, if the temperature in the room was above 20 degrees celsius, bugs got in through the vents. We also put a towel at the bottom of the door so ants couldn't get in at night. I found myself having to kill them at night while watching TV - the remote didn't work - even after programming it for that TV, it still didn't work - batteries weren't the problem. You will most likely not be impressed with the rooms here, so be ready to clean them yourself on the first night and if you are arriving late, make sure to buy bottled water at the airport beforehand so you can have bottled water. This is a 3 star after all, so expect a 3 star room. If you are prepared for a 3 star room, you'll be fine.

Restaurants and Bars:

The food is awesome! The buffet was great. There is a breakfast, lunch, dinner, and a midnight snack buffet that offers a variety of great food. When the buffet isn't open, there is a snack bar by the pool where you can get hamburgers, hotdogs, fries, nachos, and patties (we were obsessed with the chicken patties). We ate at two of the restaurants there - Giuseppe's and Casablanca. The food was some of the best food I've ever had. The steak at both restaurants is amazing! The pork at Casablanca was great! The bars close at 1am so if you plan on drinking after that, you'll have to mix your own from the bottles in your room. Drinks of choice - Hummingbird, Mai Tai, Yellow Bird, and Banana Daquiri. It seems like the closer you get to the lobby, the bars make the drinks stronger. The bartenders at the bar near the snackbar didn't put nearly as much liquor in the drinks as the ones at the lobby. The staff are all fun people. Good sense of humour!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:

Beach - The beach was very nice...not as big as I was hoping, but most of the time it wasn't hard to get a good spot. The locals aren't allowed on the beach, but are allowed in the water, so they will try to sell you things. Although it can get pretty annoying sometimes, most of them respect you if you don't want to buy anything. Be nice to them, because they are nice to you - they are only trying to feed their children and themselves. Don't be rude to them, they are very nice people. "Everytinz Irie, Mon!" The watersports people should really use some common sense when using the jet skis. As someone else pointed out here, they drive very close to the beach, and do tricks very close to people swimming. This isn't all the time, but on the occasions that they do ride the jet skis, it's dangerous.

Pool - The pools are very well kept, they are clean and cool. The sun is very intense near the pool area so find shade!

Grounds - The grounds are nice...beautiful trees, and gardens, not immaculate, but beautiful. The basketball court could use some work...the tennis courts were nice.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel: This resort is geared towards kids during the day. Rock climbing and trivia games are everyday at the pool area. At night, there is usually a band at the stage near the buffet. There is a beach party on Tuesday nights, a circus Friday nights (I think) and a few other activities. But nothing spectacular.

Tours - we did Dunn's River Falls...this was really neat. Great scenery. The first leg of the climb is actually a little more difficult than I expected. The girls we were with were actually pretty scared during the first little bit. After that it gets better. We were worried because we didn't get our DVD of the tour until the day before we left. Our camera man was named "Sugar Daddy" - we had to point out to him that his lense was still on while he was taping at the start of the climb. It's all good fun on this trip. You can't bring your cameras because they WILL get wet. Bring an underwater camera. Anything you have on you WILL get wet. So keep that in mind. Ziplock your money. If you can, buy your own water shoes before coming to Jamaica and make sure they fit. The water shoes we rented at the falls were OK but lots of rocks got in and were a pain in the butt while climbing. Each time we reached a new pool we had to empty our shoes. $7 to rent, $17 to buy at the falls.

We also did snorkeling at the resort. I think we were ripped off a little bit because we only snorkeled for approx. 25 minutes. When others said they were out for an hour and a half. Snorkeling was neat. You are taken to a reef and you get to see a variety of fish.

All non-motorized water sports are free at the resort, you just have to book. Kayaking is great, the big catamarans are fun, and wind surfing is not easy!

Other Comments: There are several locals that we met at the beach who we became friends with during our trip.

Dan was the nicest man on the beach. He didn't harass people like some of the others would, after we said no the first time, he stopped. He is usually found with a white, golf-style hat on, has a goatee, and usually wears a "wife-beater" with long jean shorts on. Very nice man. Treat him good! He has a son named David who we met. On our last day there, we visited his shop, bought all kinds of stuff, and gave him all kinds of gifts and food. His nephew might be seen wearing a corona cowboy hat...Dan himself might be wearing it. We gave this to him.

G-Unit, as we came to call him because of his G-Unit hat, was the coolest guy on the beach. He is not a big man, but totally ripped. He can be found kite-boarding sometimes. After visiting his shop, he walked us out past all the other shops so no one else would bug us. Tony, Dale, and Leon the Lobster man were all very nice! One of the bell hops working in the lobby was also a very cool guy - his name is Winchester. We called him "trouble maker". Good sense of humour and just an all around cool guy. Whenever we saw him in the lobby, he would come over and joke around with us. He will most likely be one of the guys loading and unloading your luggage from the bus. Treat him good too!

We also met a few local kids. We were playing tennis in the far court and they were playing soccer in the field next to the resort. We talked with them for awhile and learned a lot about Jamaica. We learned that in Trelawny, a foreigner can walk anywhere and be "free" - meaning no one will give you any trouble. However, if you are in Montego Bay, you have to walk around with a black person, otherwise you might be robbed. And in Kingston, it doesn't matter who you are with, you will wind up in trouble with the locals. All this according to these kids...they live here so I'll take their word for it. The kids names were Hakim White(or akeem...I'm not sure), Anthony Johnson, and Kevin Noble. Good kids.

The kids were right - Trelawny is a very safe area in Jamaica. Four of us guys walked out of the resort and down the street to find "Jerry's Bar" because we were hoping that we could see a big UFC fight on Pay Per View there. Jamaica doesn't have pay per view so there was no luck there. But we walked down the street and there were groups of people hanging out on the corners and we were pretty nervous because at first glance they seem sketchy. But what a shocker to find out just how friendly and helpful every single one of them were. We walked past a group a people and two of them came out to talk with us and walked with us to show us where Jerry's Bar was. We met Jerry and he was a cool guy. On our way back, one guy got out of his car as we were walking by...only because he wanted us to follow him so he could show us what Hockey really was...I don't know if it's Ackey or hockey, but apparently it's some kind of fruit. "You don't play with the food, mon!"

Great people in Jamaica. At least the people we met.

Conclusion - We went with a group of 30 people so we could have stayed at a garbage dump and probably still had fun! If you go as just one couple...this resort might be a little boring. Room aren't great, but deal with it...it's a 3 star resort and you aren't there for the room anyway. Food is awesome. Beach is great, and the locals are some of the nicest people I have ever met!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube