Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Montego Bay > Montego Bay Hotel Index > Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Montego Bay Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sandals Montego Bay

4.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 10, 2011

Royal Decameron Montego Beach

4.2 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 26, 2012

Breezes Montego Bay

4.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 1, 2009

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa

3.6 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 10, 2012

Holiday Inn Sunspree

3.1 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 2, 2014

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort  

54 Main Street | PO Box 54, Falmouth, Jamaica

"2nd time there. Last year was much better"
Posted by: Louise  on Apr 16, 2012
see all reviews

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Reviews
Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Pictures and Information
Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Montego Bay Jamaica

#3
of 35 Hotels in Montego Bay

User rating 3.5

Based on 23 reviews

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Information


Situated on a three-mile stretch of powder white sands and sparkling sapphire waters on the magnificent island of Jamaica, Breezes Resort & Spa – Trelawny serves up a healthy dose of food, fun & entertainment for everyone.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Reviews

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Review: 3.5 of 5 23 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  10
Average
  7
Poor
  2
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (15)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
Solo Traveller (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
With friend
11 - 20 of 23

"Wonderful time at the Starfish Trelawny"

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort
User Rating:  Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Julia  on Mar 23, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
350 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
We were initially disappointed upon our arrival, because the lobby area seemed shabby and old-fashioned, especially at 2 am in the morning! This impression was reinforced when we were given what was probably the worst room in the hotel - number 345 - right next to the air-conditioning units for the entire hotel. We were so tired, we just fell into bed, and the next morning we requested another room. We were offered a choice of two, and chose one on the ground floor, which overlooked the pool and the crazy golf course. From that point on, our holiday was amazing.

Rooms:
Adequate. Somewhat shabby - the bathroom was in great need of renovation, but the bed was reasonably comfortable, there was a mini fridge and a coffee maker. As we didn't intend spending much time in the room other than for sleeping, we were not worried by the poor decorative state. The maid service was good, and we were satisfied with the level of cleanliness in the room.

Restaurants and Bars:
Very good. We used the buffet almost every day and the food was excellent. Wide variety and good quality. We went to the a la carte restaurant once - the Casablanca - which was superb. Beach grill had great jerk chicken and fries, and all the bar staff were great.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was small, but we spent most of our days there. There is a small island just off the beach, but we didn't use that. The locals will try and sell you stuff but a polite 'no thank you' is all that is needed. We actually enjoyed chatting to them, and getting to know some of them - Tony, Super Dave, Charlie, Moses - they are great characters if you take the time to talk to them. Of course, they all want to sell you something, though - so buy a few things, then say "no more!"

The flowers and trees on the grounds are beautiful. We went up to the 7th floor and took pictures of the sea and the surrounding countryside. We got some lovely sunset shots from up there.

We didn't go in the pools at all, but they looked very nice.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We got Moses to take us to Dunn's River Falls. The falls are beautiful, but it was just too commercialized for our taste. We stopped off at Runaway Bay on the way home, and visited Discovery Bay. Great outing.

We went to the Luminous Lagoon one evening, which was fun. Not what I was expecting - I had imagined a palm tree fringed lagoon away from everything, but in fact it was rather industrialized, but still fun. The fish showed as luminous streaks under the water, and we swam in the lagoon. The bottom of the lagoon is very soft mud so don't put your feet down!

We went on the snorkelling trip a couple of times from the resort. This is included in the holiday price. They take you out to the reef. It was okay, but really not that much to see on the days we went.

Other Comments:
We loved this place. The staff were friendly, and we met some great folks from the US and Canada.

The only downside to this trip was the travel there and back. On the way there, we had to stop at Punta Cana and there was a 2-hour delay. What should have been a 4 hour journey ended up being almost 12 hours from start to arrival at the resort. The same on the way back, but without the 2 hour delay. This was all due to a hotel overbooking problem, and it was our first (and probably last) experience of travelling with Sunwing. We never had this kind of nightmare with Skyservice or Transat!

Other than that, we had a great time, and apart from the fact that we want to try other places, would recommend this resort, and would probably go back again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good for the $$$$$$$"

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort
User Rating:  Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  TERI  on May 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
382 people found this review helpful

BEAUTIFUL BEACH/OCEAN!!! EXTREMELY CLEAN!!!! WISH IT WAS CLOSER TO SHOPPING, ETC. IF YOU LIKE TO WALK-THERE IS NOTHING AROUND UNLESS YOU TAKE A CAB. THE RESORT IS OLDER BUT CLEAN-MOTEL STYLE -VS- HOTEL STYLE. FRIENDLY PEOPLE...FOOD WAS SIMILAR TO TRAVELING ON CRUISES...THEY NEED TO BE SURE FOOD IS AVAILABLE AT ALL HOURS POSTED....ELEVATOR WAS BROKEN, SLOT MACHINES WERE EATING $$$$, WE WILL PROBABLY RETURN TO NEARBY ISLANDS BUT BY CRUISE BOAT!!!!
IF WE WERE TO RETURN TO JAMAICA WE WOULD NOT STAY AT BREEZES TRELAWNY-MAYBE SOMEWHERE ELSE THOUGH!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"TRIP TO REMEMBER!"

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort
User Rating:  Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  K  on Jun 18, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
383 people found this review helpful

I was VERY dissapointed to see that the beds were not very comfy, the room looked NOTHING like the pictures. It was very run down and the tiolet leaked. The front desk was not helpful on several occasions, but the rest of the staff was nice. The food was great. The beaches were cool the water was warm too. If you are on a budget like we were, it is ok but if you could spend the extra $, I would suggest a different hotel in Montego Bay.

P.S. Make sure you bring bug spray!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Perfectly Pleasurable "

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort
User Rating:  Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Donya  on Aug 13, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
399 people found this review helpful

This place introduces you to an amazing, unspoiled view of the countryside, while allowing you to experience an amazing experience for an amazing price. When they said everything was included, they meant it. The only extras are the jet skis and the scuba diving.

We snorkeled, toured on a glass bottom boat, played on float rings, rode the banana boat, etc. Also, my daughter LOVED the FREE games in the arcade!

If you are looking for a relaxing atmosphere, that offers a big bang for the buck, check out this hotel!

Arrival:
From the moment we arrived at Breezes Trelawny, we felt welcomed by those who took our bags and offered us drinks. Check in was literally a breeze, and we were quickly in our rooms. The rooms were fine; they had all the amenities needed and were very clean.
After we settled, we descended down the stairs and were treated like royalty by all the employees. The people were the difference between an okay hotel and an amazing one.

Rooms:
We had two rooms on opposite sides, as we requested. And were given ocean view rooms, even though we paid for mountain view. The rooms were a good size, especially considering you don't go to Jamaica to hang out in the room.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was great. The buffet offered a large variety of food, with a tasty sampling of authentic cuisine. We like Jamaican food and thought they did a great job providing such a vast spread that also tasted really good. The staff was on point, even remembering all the members of our party as soon as we walked in. We loved Sasha Gay, Tamara, Stephny. Sophia made an awesome omelette every morning.

The two specialty restaurants, Casablanca and Munasan, were good. Casablanca, the Italian/French restaurant provided a nice, comfortable atmosphere, with excellent cuisine. The maître d’ and the wait staff were wonderful! The snapper was the most delicious of all the items we ordered. Munasan, the Japanese steakhouse, was pretty good, but really hot. My daughter did not enjoy it, and I ended up taking her to the buffet to eat afterwards.

The bar drinks were good. We did not find that the alcohol was watered down. And if it was, its ALL YOU CAN DRINK! How can you complain about that? The bartenders, Alister, Yvonne, Germaine, Wilfred and all the others always took care of us and remembered from our first drink, what we liked to order.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The lifeguards were awesome and even rescued a little boy while we were there. Ricardo was the absolute BEST!!

The beach is BEAUTIFUL! And they even have a small island right off shore. The pools were large and accommodated a vast array of guests. There were two waterslides, pool tables, a swim up bar, a volleyball net, tables and chairs and lounge chairs in the water.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There was quality entertainment offered EVERY night. There were extraordinary and well known groups that performed. Throughout the day, the entertainment department filled the time with fun games and competitions, all with an age appropriate prize. Kenisha was our absolute favorite with her bubbly personality and crazy dance moves! They even offer a club for those who want to dance and continue hanging out, after the shows are over.

We toured the countryside, with our FABULOUS driver, Harry. If you want someone you can trust to take you around for a reasonable price, look for Harry. He's usually sitting out in front of the hotel in his White Toyota Corolla. He's the BEST!!! He stayed with us the whole time, even when we went to an Independence Day celebration and then a club.

Other Comments:
People who have complained about the staff, where probably like the ones we saw yelling and demanding the DJ to change the music or pitching fits in the lobby because they didn't like something minor. Or those who murmured words of complaint because the room hair dryer took forever to dry their hair, and they had to get to dinner. People can be ridiculous with their expectations and for the value, we don't see how people can find things to gripe about. For our family, anything that arose, the staff immediately responded and took care of the situation. Of course, our family treated them with respect and gratitude.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great time-but check-in is a mess but rooms are clean"

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort
User Rating:  Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  geo  on Aug 21, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
925 people found this review helpful

We had a great time. There are several free activities such as snorkeling and sailing, however, like most all-inclusive resorts, tours outside the resort are pretty expensive such as Dunn's River Falls 70- bucks per person. Jet skiing was fun but 30.00 for 15 minutes. Word of wisdom-everybody goes for the free activities right after breakfast- If you want only a little wait-time, go after 1:00 pm. Then you can ride as many times as you want. They can cancel at any moment. Once you sign the waiver you MUST give it to the lifeguard to ensure your spot. They don't tell you this so you will be waiting otherwise (only one per day). You can take the next available activity spot. They require you to sign up for a time, but that does not mean much in the land of "no problem"-the time the lifegaurd recieves the waiver is your "real time". The arcade was fun for the kids and my son actually liked baby sitting/ daycare service that is free from 9-5. They have nightly shows on their stage area that are sometimes great and other times so-so. This is usually followed by the adult dance club opening. Beware that everything is on "Jamaican time" so nothing starts on time (except tours and taxi trips). If they say it will be 5 minutes, expect it to take 30 minutes. Nobody wears a watch here, "yeah mon". The club plays reggae music, however it is usally empty because nothing starts on time. The beach is gorgeous and the discourage any "locals" from joining you on the beach. Occassionally, there is a local who is removed that is trying to sell wooden carvings, star fish, or hair braiding. The food is Jamaican, fish every night and chicken. The also have lamb, beef and turkey. The fruit is delicious and it is all you can drink. They serve you your drinks at the buffet and they have silverware to make it look fancy.I liked the food but it depends on what your used to. The only thing is, I feel, they struggle with their ability to cook rice- at the buffet and in the restaurants. I was told that I am wrong, you be the judge. Make reservations for the restaurants in advance. I only liked the Munasan, however others raved about the Casablanca. Also, if you get a headache go to the nurses station which is free,otherwise you will pay 2.00 for 2 Panedol tablets(Tylenol). The taxi drivers try to insist that you do not book through the hotel. Word to the wise book through the hotel unless they cut you a deal. We were supposed to get 2 hours for the market at Falmouth but was only given 1 hour for the 20.00 round trip (up to 4 people). The taxi driver stays with you and acts as your personal guide. He rushed us and told us that we would have more time when in fact we ended up with less. You have to know how to bargain outside the hotel because when they see foreign dollars everything is now 3 times more, negotiate.

Rooms:
Breezes Trelawny is a middle of the road resort, we had a great time. They will mess up your room, be prepared. We ordered a cottage but it was overbooked so we got the night free and had to stay in a regular room. There are no real ocean view rooms. I thought they wer nice enough for the price. We got the cottage the next night and it just got better from that moment. The cottages are close to the beach and the pools. I loved it!

Restaurants and Bars:
All you can drink with nice slushy machines for the kids. You can order any drink even if it is not on the suggested list of mixed drinks.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is gorgeous and so are the pools.

Other Comments:
Would go back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"ANOTHER WONDERFUL STAY!"

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort
User Rating:  Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Darlene  on Oct 24, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
922 people found this review helpful

I cannot even count how many times we have stayed at this resort. All I can say is it was another wonderful vacation!

The staff is fantastic and so is the service. We have been to 14 Carribean islands. When we want an oppulent resort we have stayed at many Sandals (top of their line) resorts. If you want fun, sun and full value for your money this is the place to go.

Complaints about uncomfortable beds is so silly. No one bed suits everyone. I find their beds very comfy. The pictures of the rooms are exactly as shown on their website. We usually stay in a poolside cottage but as this was a last minute trip we stayed mountain view.

Entertainment staff is terrific and the food is wonderful. If you want ice sculptures in the buffet you won't find them here. What you will find is a tremendous selection of items to choose from. Usually a fish or chicken item every night as well as a rotating schedule of turkey, goat, ham, pork, beef. Many, many salad and side dishes in the buffet each day. Casablanca restaurtant is more upscale and quiet and the Japanese is very tasty.

Would I come back again. ABSOLUTELY! Would I suggest this resort to others. ABSOLUTELY!

If you want a fancy resort this is maybe not for you. If yoy want a 3-4 star experience and fabulous vacation memories then this IS the place for you.

Arrival:
same as at any Carribean resort. A bit of a line up but went to the lobby bar, got a drink, took it easy. Nothing to complain about

Rooms:
exactly as shown in the pictures. Not fancy but more than adequate for the amount of time spent in them.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food is wonderful. Good selection and tasty. Our daughter-in-law is usually a very fussy eater but never heard a complaint from her in the enitre 14 days.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds are beautifully kept and the gardeners are out every day tending to them.

Pools are well kept and cleaned each morning.

Beach is raked and cleaned each morning.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Too many daily activities to mention. Something for people of all ages to enjoy.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A NIGHTMARE YOU WANT TO WAKE UP FROM"

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort
User Rating:  Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  ELAINE  on Oct 21, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
858 people found this review helpful

MY HUSBAND AND I WERE VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH THIS NEVER ANY CLEAN TOWERS IN OUR ROOM. NEVER TOWELS AT THE BEACH. THERE REASON WAS MACHINE BROKE DOWN. . NEVER HOT WATER. BED WAS MOST UNCOMFORTABLE. THE ONLY GOOD THING WAS THE FOOD BUT IF ANYONE WANTS TO ENJOY A VACATION GO ELSEWHERE PLEASE. WHAT A WASTE OF MONEY AT THIS PLACE. DISGUSTING.IT WAS THE WORST VACATION WE HAVE EVER EXPEIENCED.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great resort for the money"

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort
User Rating:  Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  RICK  on Feb 7, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
904 people found this review helpful

We arrived on time. we were met with pleasant welcoming staff. Our room was basic but good. This resort is a good one to stay. I definitely would reccommend this one. The only complaint I have is the elevators broke down often. The food was exceptional. Shawn at the sea shell bar and grill went out of her way to help and serve you. In the lobby bar, Yvonne was also great.

Room Number:
426

Room Block:
hotel

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great value for the money"

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort
User Rating:  Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Barry  on Apr 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
867 people found this review helpful

The resort staff was very friendly and worked hard to make sure all of the guests were taken care of. Our favorite restraunt was the Japanese. Food was great and the cheffs were entertaining. The room was average but you don't expect to spend much time in the room when you are in Jamica.
The entertainment staff was excelent. Nightly shows were great and they tried to get everyone involved. we were impressed that some of the staff remembered our names, we weren't just numbers to them. Would stay there again.

Room Number:
305

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing vaction spot"

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort
User Rating:  Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jovace Nelson  on May 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
912 people found this review helpful

From the moment that I arrived the customer service was very polite, informative, and just made you feel like as though you were royalty. The lobby area is busy (in a good way) with pool tables, family movie area, gym, jewelry shop, gift shop, slot machines, arcades, local destination signup table, and photo room. The elevators were experiencing difficulties from time to time, but there were 3 of them in the evenly spaced lobby. There was plenty of food, all of which was to die for. Make reservations for the very romantic Italian restaurant, as well as the very entertaining Japanese one. Everyday minute of everyday seems like there is something happening from nightly beach entertainment to concerts to parties off sight with shuttle bus provided. The Secluded Island is amazing and very relaxing. Plenty of kid activities from their own water slide, playroom and restrooms (very child friendly, but hardly notice they're there if your there to relax). There are plenty of inclusive water actives, buffet food, and drinks. NEGETIVES- Elevators, misquotes at night (they spray often, but it's the region so pack OFF spray), aggressive salesmen by the sea (they are not with Breezes, however they're right there) (once you see they're "stores" you understand why, and cannot tip the employees that work so hard. Overall- Great place to relax, get away, party, and spend with the family.

Room Number:
624

Arrival:
Pretty well organized, new management new systems you can tell that some employees are still adjusting. Pay attention to the sights during the shuttle ride in from the airport and you will see that the people are either rich or poor there is no middle class.

Rooms:
The rooms are like a cheap motel; however the suites are much nicer and suitable for families or people looking to spend time inside. The rooms with balconies facing the tennis court are annoying because the A/C fans are pretty loud; however, the mountainside view is amazing with the quiet view of the mountains, houses, trees, blue water ocean, and the sun bring in the new day very nice. With so much going on outside who cares.

Restaurants and Bars:
From time to time the bar will run out of ice, but they fill it up very quickly. The drinks are made very well and taste very consistent throughout the resort. You must make reservations at 9am at the guest services desk to attend either the Italian or Japanese restaurant. The Italian restaurant is very romantic, the food is outstanding, and very laidback. The Japanese restaurant is an amazing experience for anyone as the chiefs prepares the food right in front of you, they are very animated as they cook and sing it's an amazing show; by the way the food is amazing as well. The buffet is always stocked and everything taste amazing and made with love, you can taste it. Don't be afraid to try anything new or that you have tried before these chiefs are good, the food is fresh, and very well seasoned.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is full of actives, and all you have to do is signup. The beach looks brand new each morning before 7am all of the chairs are straight, cups, plates, and seaweed have been removed. The pools are clean and you see them constantly testing. There are 3 hot tubes located outside to relax in, and they surrounded by grape, almond, and banana tree with lights at night. There are tables to drink and pool tables (not the best playing surface, but cool idea)inside of the pools; as well as, a swim up bar with seats. The grounds are very clean, and often very busy with people but not chaotic.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
On the resort they have a people perform at night as you dine outside, karaoke in the center of the lobby at night, beach party entertainment, a club called Bubbles for the nightlife crowd, and much more. Off the resort they have a club across the street, and the resort provides a shuttle bus to a club a little further away.

Other Comments:
The people who work there work very hard in providing you the best experience possible, and they do so with positive attitude that is very contiguous and will make you leave with the resort with a greater appreciation for what you have once you see how most of them are forced to live. They do not complain but rather come off as if they enjoy and value your company. I do not write reviews but I felt as though it was only right if I did something for this company that provide many employees a chance to work that want to work, and again they have sent me home with greater appreciation for life.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube