Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Montego Bay > Montego Bay Hotel Index > Sunset Beach Resort & Spa reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Montego Bay Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sandals Montego Bay

4.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 10, 2011

Royal Decameron Montego Beach

4.2 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 26, 2012

Breezes Montego Bay

4.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 1, 2009

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort

3.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 16, 2012

Holiday Inn Sunspree

3.1 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 2, 2014

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa  

Montego Freeport Peninsula | PO Box 1168, Montego Bay, Jamaica

"Horrible"
Posted by: Shantel  on Oct 10, 2012
see all reviews

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Reviews
Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Pictures and Information
Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Montego Bay Jamaica

#5
of 35 Hotels in Montego Bay

User rating 3.6

Based on 14 reviews

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Information


Amidst swaying palms, shimmering water and beautiful beaches, the casual, all-inclusive. Sunset Beach Resort & Spa in Montego Bay, Jamaica offers something for everyone.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Reviews

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Review: 3.6 of 5 14 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  6
Average
  3
Poor
  0
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (13)
Wedding (1)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 14

"We can't wait to go back!!"

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lorraine from North Bay  on Jan 6, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Leisure
392 people found this review helpful

We just returned from a 2 week stay at the Sunset beach Resort and it was wonderful.We would recommend it to anyone!Everyone of the staff were so nice and nothing was ever too much trouble for them.I did complain about their supper buffet to the manager one night that there was no variety and was almost always the same as the lunch buffet. I had suggested a few things they could have served like ham and scalloped potatoes or maybe a potatoe salad instead of their pasta ones all the time. The very next day guess what we had? Ham and scalloped potatoes and potatoe salad was then served at lunches. It was wonderful and I did hear other tourist commenting on how good it was also. Before we left we had checked on the internet for comments and that was the majority of the complaints. However, why complain after the fact? Did any of you that complained talk to anyone there with authority? You can't blame the hotel if no one complains to them, why would they not think that everything was great when no one had complained to them? I didn't feel it was fair to the hotel to do that,instead I chose to speak to the manager and he couldn't have been any nicer. After that the meals were terrific!!!

Rooms:
The room was spotless, nothing fancy but who needs that? THe first day we arrived our a/c didn't work, we called the desk and someone was up within 15 min.Obviously that fellow thought he had fixed it but it still wasn't working, so we went to the desk again. They offered to give us another room but we felt it had to be fixed for the next people anyway so we were willing to have them send someone else. That day we came back from the pool and walked into a nice cool room!

Restaurants and Bars:
ALl the waiters,and waitresses were unbelievable. So friendly. I think some of us Canadians should go watch them just to take notes!! They were always smiling and took the time to talk with everyone.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
All of this was spotless!! Smoking was allowed everywhere ( except right in the restaurant itself) and yet you never saw a cigarette butt on the floor or grounds and ashtrays were always kept emptied.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Yes, we did a couple of tours and again, it was the staff of the tours that made it so much fun.

Other Comments:
Our sun-wing tour guide was also so much help and was at the hotel every day in case anyone needed her. Her name was Catherine and she gave us great suggestions and made all our arrangements for us and always with a huge smile.We will definetly go back and stay at the same resort. It was also great for families and there were lots there with small children which we had wondered if we would want that, BUT,it is so spread out and lots of pools that kids were never a problem and they sure enjoyed their stay as well, lots for everyone to do all day long if you wanted to participate. Also, don't let people tell you that you are not safe off the resort!! The people were wonderful, we were safe at all times. We can't wait to go back!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The room was spotless, nothing fancy but who needs that?"

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lorraine from North Bay  on Jan 7, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Leisure
446 people found this review helpful

We just returned from a 2 week stay at the Sunset beach Resort and it was wonderful.We would recommend it to anyone!Everyone of the staff were so nice and nothing was ever too much trouble for them.I did complain about their supper buffet to the manager one night that there was no variety and was almost always the same as the lunch buffet. I had suggested a few things they could have served like ham and scalloped potatoes or maybe a potatoe salad instead of their pasta ones all the time. The very next day guess what we had? Ham and scalloped potatoes and potatoe salad was then served at lunches. It was wonderful and I did hear other tourist commenting on how good it was also. Before we left we had checked on the internet for comments and that was the majority of the complaints. However, why complain after the fact? Did any of you that complained talk to anyone there with authority? You can't blame the hotel if no one complains to them, why would they not think that everyth!
ing was great when no one had complained to them? I didn't feel it was fair to the hotel to do that,instead I chose to speak to the manager and he couldn't have been any nicer. After that the meals were terrific!!!

Rooms::
The room was spotless, nothing fancy but who needs that? THe first day we arrived our a/c didn't work, we called the desk and someone was up within 15 min.Obviously that fellow thought he had fixed it but it still wasn't working, so we went to the desk again. They offered to give us another room but we felt it had to be fixed for the next people anyway so we were willing to have them send someone else. That day we came back from the pool and walked into a nice cool room!

Restaurants and Bars::
ALl the waiters,and waitresses were unbelievable. So friendly. I think some of us Canadians should go watch them just to take notes!! They were always smiling and took the time to talk with everyone.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
All of this was spotless!! Smoking was allowed everywhere ( except right in the restaurant itself) and yet you never saw a cigarette butt on the floor or grounds and ashtrays were always kept emptied.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
Yes, we did a couple of tours and again, it was the staff of the tours that made it so much fun.

Other Comments::
Our sun-wing tour guide was also so much help and was at the hotel every day in case anyone needed her. Her name was Catherine and she gave us great suggestions and made all our arrangements for us and always with a huge smile.We will definetly go back and stay at the same resort. It was also great for families and there were lots there with small children which we had wondered if we would want that, BUT,it is so spread out and lots of pools that kids were never a problem and they sure enjoyed their stay as well, lots for everyone to do all day long if you wanted to participate. Also, don't let people tell you that you are not safe off the resort!! The people were wonderful, we were safe at all times. We can't wait to go back!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not bad BUT room for Improvement!!"

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Katie  on Mar 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
424 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
Purpose of trip was to join friends & family for a wedding at the resort on the Saturday Feb 20th/10. My husband and I arrived mid week and had a chance to relax a little before the event.

It was not our wedding, but as a guest and possible future 'mother of the bride' (for an off-shore wedding), there is DEFINATELY room for improvement in the wedding business at this hotel.

The set up for the wedding was very poor. Attention to detail poor. Ribbons, bows & various baubles that were brought from the mainland by the bride and given to the wedding planner/crew were not used in the set up? Why? The bride could not bring herself to raise the topic and create a fuss after the wedding. The cake was lopsided and too sweet and pasty to eat.Generally, it seems like there is a lot of room to improve this service.

Rooms:
The hotel is OLD AND VERY TIRED. The rooms are poorly maintained (hit and miss from what we saw) and housekeeping/cleanliness could be a lot better. Electrical wiring frayed on most cords in the rooms - Plus, outlets don't work. Not just a quick fix. A/C noisy. Turn it off and open the window? No screen on door! Linens frayed. Acrylic blankets overly laundered, full of holes and mis-shapen from dryer heat. Faded/stained bedspread that needed a wash! Soap and shampoo in the dispensers old and gummy! Broken tiles. No hairdryer, although advertised. The hotel eventually supplied a hairdryer but it only worked on low heat - so bring your own! Assurances to have us switched to another room did not happen until Sunday afternoon when we had to meet with the Manager - then- we got changed to a suite on the 5th floor of Bldg B - the only floor of rooms that have been upgraded. The bride and groom also had a hell-hole of a room on the 1st floor of bldg B.Again, too stressed to make a fuss!

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was good. Lots of choice. Nice presently.Great wait staff. Dining room clean. Specialy restaurants not bad...but the Aisian restaurant used spaghetti noodeles in their "Thai" food. In general, ALL jamaican foods were wonderfully prepared!!!! Great stuff!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Great! Clean. No problem.

Other Comments:
Bar staff looked after those folks very well that slipped them $1 bills. These rest of us stood ignored until the tippers left the bar.

We will go elsewhere for our next holiday. We thought this would be a nice change from a spanisg speaking place...Good value for my holiday money? No, looks like we are going back to Mexico. Adious amigos!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disappointed"

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Michelle  on Mar 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
485 people found this review helpful

We arrived to smiles and very helpful staff.

Rooms:
The rooms were in need of alot of TLC. The beds were hard & lumpy, the room was old & in need of repair, however they were clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
Excellent food and the service at the bars were great.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We enjoyed the pools and the grounds were nice.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Our highlight of the stay was the piano man at 3 pm tea time.Strolling on the beach we could hear music and followed it to the "tea". This ended up to be the best hour spent on the resort!

Other Comments:
We would not return to this resort due to the very aged and worn out rooms.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"better than expected"

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  alain  on Apr 20, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
933 people found this review helpful

Second time in Jamaica, first time at Sunset Beach Resort. Will definitely come hear again.

Your Arrival:
Modern Airport.
Arrival to the resort was very fast, only two other couples in the shuttle bus.
Check in and out very simple.

Rooms:
We were to have a lagoon view room in one of the towers, at the check in we were told that we have a guest room suit. I did not know of the two guest room areas(Beach Inn) near the water park and Italian restaurant. Nice surprise. Room was very comfortable. Staff excellent.

Restaurants and Bars:
Main buffet; excellent choice of food and lots of tables(resort was full capacity). Friendly servers, always willing to help and chit-chat.
Italian restaurant; Very good, again the servers went out of there way to see that we were having a good vacation.
Asian restaurant: very good
Sunset Grill; Snacks, Chicken, burgers... Very good

All Bars easy to get yourself served.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Lets start with the Beaches; The beach was very good for snorkelling, lots to see, specially in the morning. The sea was very calm. Make sure to see the sun set and get your pictures taken. If you like long walks on the beach, not the place for it, limited. We walked also off the resort and down the road, past some good shopping near the port for cruise ships.

Now the pools: Lots of room at the different pools. We spent a lot of time at the 'themed water park' that features water slides and lazy river. (be prepared for lots of Sun)

The Grounds; very nice with many plants and different trees, Banana trees and see if you can find the Ackee Tree but do not touch its fruit, could make you sick. Lots of free space on this resort, nice. Grounds are very well keep, and a joy to the eye.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We walked a couple of times off the resort and down the road. About a twenty minutes walk you will see a shopping centre to your left hand side of the road. Souvenir shops with good prices. Cruise ships disembark nearby. Taxis come by steady to see if you need a ride.

We also went into Montego Bay(Hip Strip). With AirCanada we booked a tour into the city for 10$ U.S. each. there was four of us. Our driver was very friendly gentleman. He drove us to three different areas. One was up on the hill overlooking the bay, the other was at the Hip Strip(shops and restaurants also the Margaritaville.) There is a free shuttle from the resort to Margaritaville, but it is in the evening. Good for the Bar seen and late shopping. And the last spot was like a small village of shops. Our drive was in no rush and let us make the schedule.
All four of us just wanted to do a little shopping and then back to the Beach. Our driver was very informative and a Joy to talk with.

Other Comments:
We have traveled much over the years and try to enjoy the differences a Country has to offer. Jamaica has a very calming effect for us. The Sunset Beach Resort is an all around excellent place for a vacation, couples, families, singles, Young and old will all find a special spot to enjoy at this resort. Take the time to talk with the Jamaicans you meet, they will bless you. Oh yes, on your walks near the shops in the city they will ask you to "take a look in my shop", if you have the time take a fast look and say Thanks, they will be blest. And if you don't have the time a simple "not today" works.
If you like a little Jamaican History and information go to tea time. The piano player will bless you.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"very nice resort , staff excellent, sure to go back next year.."

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  sylvain  on Jan 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
863 people found this review helpful

everything was nice except for the weather about 3 days but it seem in the caribean was all the same so we enjoy are stay at sunset love the snorkeling and food was also good try it out you won't be disapointed..

Room Number:
1025

Room Block:
north

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
a little rock to start but okay

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
went to negril very nice but they won't to sell everything when they see you..

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"First Time in Jamaica - Will be Back !!"

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jacqueline  on Jan 25, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
854 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
A405

Arrival:
We arrived at 11 pm. We were in our rooms by 12 am. No problems at check in. It was very smooth. Quite a few guests arriving at this time. 2 friendly staff at desk. We sat back had a drink and waited for others to get registered. No Problem Mon!

Rooms:
We orginally were registered for a mountain view but to our surprise had an ocean view/pool view. The room is basic but very clean. We had a king bed. TV had many channels. Towels/hand towels/faceclothes available as well as shampoo/soap/coffe/tea. There was no clock so bring one. There were lots of hangers. Mattress and pillows were very comfy. No issues with room at all. Housekeeping did up our room each day by 1 pm. I left a tip and a note if I required any extra towels. Again room was clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants are great. Buffet always fresh and delicious. No issues with buffet or snack bar. Jerk Chicken is very HOT !! You can ask for it with no sauce - chicken was very tender. 3 Restaruants: Italian: Excellent Asian: Excellent. Carribean: did not eat there. We were never hungary and it was always good. Breakfast is always my favorite.

We spent most of our time at the beach and used the pool bar. Drinks were excellent and service was always fast. They did run out of banannas late in the afternoon just about everyday but this is supply problem.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds were very clean and we felt very safe. Pools always clean and were cleaned every night and morning. Two large pools adn hot tub with swim up bars. Another pool for sports and a childrens pool with water slides etc. Again all very clean and seemed to be well maintained. Beach was well maintained and raked every morning. 5 sections to beach: 3 for swimming and snorkling. 1 section that is topless; 1 section au natural. Beach is sandy - loved the beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots of activities every afternoon at sports pool (vollyball etc) and pool side entertainment. We did not spend much time here as we are beach people but everyone seemed to be having a good time.

Other Comments:
Get your beach towels at the hut first thing in the morning as they go quick. Brink a clock if you do not like having to check channel 68 for time and calling for wake up calls. Brink water shoes and your own snorkling gear. Snorkling is very good but equimpment goes fast. There are sea urchins in some areas so bring water shoes.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Warm, Sunny Holiday"

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lori  on Feb 28, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
903 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
A602

Room Block:
Tower Room

Arrival:
Airport arrival went without a hitch. Got on the first bus to the resort. Check in was the longest I've experienced at an all inclusive. It was the first time I have ever had to fill out a registration form and provide a credit card for incidentals...not impressed!No safe locks available the first night and had to make several trips back to the front desk the next morning.

Rooms:
Rooms were basic standard, clean and recently renovated. Large, flat panel TV with satellite, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, kettle with coffee, tea and sugar, in room safe, good size closet with lot of hangers.
No mini fridge,but a limited amount are available from the front desk.

Restaurants and Bars:
Main buffet restaurant: breakfast, almost everything you need for a good breakfast. anything from continental to full.Lunch was good but pretty much the same selection everyday. Make sure you try the chicken nuggets for lunch. The Beach Grill offered pizza, burgers, grilled cheese sandwiches, french fries and ice cream. Italian ala carte was awesome. The pizza and lasagna were excellent. Asian a la carte as good as well. Jamaican would not be my first choice because the food is very spicy. But if you like Jamaican Jerk Chicken it's the place for you.
Bars: standard domestic drinks,the wine and Red Stripe Beer are both good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
If you like to walk miles of beach Sunset Beach is not the place to be. It is also quite rocky, but good for snorkeling. Bring water shoes.Not a lot of palapas for shade and they could definitely use more chairs on the beach. Just not enough for the amount of people.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The water park is a blast for all ages. There is a lazy river with some inner tubes provided. There are 2 water slides; one enclosed and one open with a spiral. Fun way to spend an afternoon.

Other Comments:
There are two small elevators in the towers,but they run on Jamaica time. You spend a fair amount of time waiting for them.
After having been to numerous other resorts,I find the customer service really lacking at this resort.You were lucky if you got acknowledged when you said Good Morning.I believe you need to show service before tip ,they seemed to like it the other way around.
They maintain the water is safe to drink,but we still bought drinking water.
There is a gift shop and store for chips,soda,sunscreen etc. We found the gift shop prices quite reasonable but the other could be pricey.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Will return"

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mark  on Mar 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
869 people found this review helpful

We came down with 2 other couples, we had a great time. Very friendly resort

Room Block:
A

Arrival:
A little slow but I think they do that so you get used to Jamaica time. No key for the safe but we got there late. They had one for us in the morning

Rooms:
I found them to be very clean. First night the toilet was leaking, it was repaired the next day. The staff working the rooms were excellent.

Restaurants and Bars:
Best food ever. Ate lots and did not get sick. You have to try the restaurants. No problem with the drinking water so don't waste money on the bottled stuff.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Towels were an issue. Once you get one never turn it in for the towel card. Just exhange it for a fresh towel whenever you can. I'm up early so we never had an issue for chairs on the beach. To me they seemed to have enough.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Snorkelingis is very good, bring your own equipment, they do have some but it goes fast.
Spring break for some American students,it was fun to watch them let off some steam. Hotel management brought extra security to keep a eye on them. We had no issues.

The resident band is very good and the shows are alot better than in Cuba, DR and Mexico

Other Comments:
We brought a little extra for tips. I only tip if the service is good and i spent all of it. Don't bother to change Canadian or US money to Jamacian, our money is good there.

For the money we spend it was well worth it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome food, wonderful staff, beautiful suite, beautiful weather, beach was just fair......"

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  thane  on May 11, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Wedding | With Spouse/Partner
817 people found this review helpful

We got married there and Nathalie was great, Patrick our photographer was awesome as well. Food was great, weather and staff were awesome!! Beach needs work, getting a cabana and a lawnchair in the mornings a tough challenge!! Great family resort, if you are taking your children!!!!

Room Number:
Suite w 232

Room Block:
west 232

Arrival:
April 21/11

Rooms:
Awesome suites, clean, comfortable, and well maintained!

Restaurants and Bars:
Could not get a reservations at the Italian restaurant, but the Asian was awesome, and the Carribean was good to! Alochol and staff was exceptional........

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach, too much crab grass and coral. Short and not a lot of places to walk or enjoy! Pools were nice and well maintained! Grounds were very nice!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Went with Dwight to the market, good but did not get much, I went for the weather!!!

Other Comments:
Resort was great, well maintained but much better if you brought your family with you!! I would recommend it!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube