Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Montego Bay > Montego Bay Hotel Index > Sunset Beach Resort & Spa reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Montego Bay Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sandals Montego Bay

4.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 10, 2011

Royal Decameron Montego Beach

4.2 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 26, 2012

Breezes Montego Bay

4.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 1, 2009

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort

3.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 16, 2012

Holiday Inn Sunspree

3.1 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 2, 2014

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa  

Montego Freeport Peninsula | PO Box 1168, Montego Bay, Jamaica

"Horrible"
Posted by: Shantel  on Oct 10, 2012
see all reviews

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Reviews
Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Pictures and Information
Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Montego Bay Jamaica

#5
of 35 Hotels in Montego Bay

User rating 3.6

Based on 14 reviews

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Information


Amidst swaying palms, shimmering water and beautiful beaches, the casual, all-inclusive. Sunset Beach Resort & Spa in Montego Bay, Jamaica offers something for everyone.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Reviews

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Review: 3.6 of 5 14 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  6
Average
  3
Poor
  0
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (13)
Wedding (1)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
With friend
11 - 14 of 14

"Disappointed"

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Michelle  on Mar 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
469 people found this review helpful

We arrived to smiles and very helpful staff.

Rooms:
The rooms were in need of alot of TLC. The beds were hard & lumpy, the room was old & in need of repair, however they were clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
Excellent food and the service at the bars were great.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We enjoyed the pools and the grounds were nice.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Our highlight of the stay was the piano man at 3 pm tea time.Strolling on the beach we could hear music and followed it to the "tea". This ended up to be the best hour spent on the resort!

Other Comments:
We would not return to this resort due to the very aged and worn out rooms.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not bad BUT room for Improvement!!"

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Katie  on Mar 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
409 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
Purpose of trip was to join friends & family for a wedding at the resort on the Saturday Feb 20th/10. My husband and I arrived mid week and had a chance to relax a little before the event.

It was not our wedding, but as a guest and possible future 'mother of the bride' (for an off-shore wedding), there is DEFINATELY room for improvement in the wedding business at this hotel.

The set up for the wedding was very poor. Attention to detail poor. Ribbons, bows & various baubles that were brought from the mainland by the bride and given to the wedding planner/crew were not used in the set up? Why? The bride could not bring herself to raise the topic and create a fuss after the wedding. The cake was lopsided and too sweet and pasty to eat.Generally, it seems like there is a lot of room to improve this service.

Rooms:
The hotel is OLD AND VERY TIRED. The rooms are poorly maintained (hit and miss from what we saw) and housekeeping/cleanliness could be a lot better. Electrical wiring frayed on most cords in the rooms - Plus, outlets don't work. Not just a quick fix. A/C noisy. Turn it off and open the window? No screen on door! Linens frayed. Acrylic blankets overly laundered, full of holes and mis-shapen from dryer heat. Faded/stained bedspread that needed a wash! Soap and shampoo in the dispensers old and gummy! Broken tiles. No hairdryer, although advertised. The hotel eventually supplied a hairdryer but it only worked on low heat - so bring your own! Assurances to have us switched to another room did not happen until Sunday afternoon when we had to meet with the Manager - then- we got changed to a suite on the 5th floor of Bldg B - the only floor of rooms that have been upgraded. The bride and groom also had a hell-hole of a room on the 1st floor of bldg B.Again, too stressed to make a fuss!

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was good. Lots of choice. Nice presently.Great wait staff. Dining room clean. Specialy restaurants not bad...but the Aisian restaurant used spaghetti noodeles in their "Thai" food. In general, ALL jamaican foods were wonderfully prepared!!!! Great stuff!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Great! Clean. No problem.

Other Comments:
Bar staff looked after those folks very well that slipped them $1 bills. These rest of us stood ignored until the tippers left the bar.

We will go elsewhere for our next holiday. We thought this would be a nice change from a spanisg speaking place...Good value for my holiday money? No, looks like we are going back to Mexico. Adious amigos!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The room was spotless, nothing fancy but who needs that?"

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lorraine from North Bay  on Jan 7, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Leisure
430 people found this review helpful

We just returned from a 2 week stay at the Sunset beach Resort and it was wonderful.We would recommend it to anyone!Everyone of the staff were so nice and nothing was ever too much trouble for them.I did complain about their supper buffet to the manager one night that there was no variety and was almost always the same as the lunch buffet. I had suggested a few things they could have served like ham and scalloped potatoes or maybe a potatoe salad instead of their pasta ones all the time. The very next day guess what we had? Ham and scalloped potatoes and potatoe salad was then served at lunches. It was wonderful and I did hear other tourist commenting on how good it was also. Before we left we had checked on the internet for comments and that was the majority of the complaints. However, why complain after the fact? Did any of you that complained talk to anyone there with authority? You can't blame the hotel if no one complains to them, why would they not think that everyth!
ing was great when no one had complained to them? I didn't feel it was fair to the hotel to do that,instead I chose to speak to the manager and he couldn't have been any nicer. After that the meals were terrific!!!

Rooms::
The room was spotless, nothing fancy but who needs that? THe first day we arrived our a/c didn't work, we called the desk and someone was up within 15 min.Obviously that fellow thought he had fixed it but it still wasn't working, so we went to the desk again. They offered to give us another room but we felt it had to be fixed for the next people anyway so we were willing to have them send someone else. That day we came back from the pool and walked into a nice cool room!

Restaurants and Bars::
ALl the waiters,and waitresses were unbelievable. So friendly. I think some of us Canadians should go watch them just to take notes!! They were always smiling and took the time to talk with everyone.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
All of this was spotless!! Smoking was allowed everywhere ( except right in the restaurant itself) and yet you never saw a cigarette butt on the floor or grounds and ashtrays were always kept emptied.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
Yes, we did a couple of tours and again, it was the staff of the tours that made it so much fun.

Other Comments::
Our sun-wing tour guide was also so much help and was at the hotel every day in case anyone needed her. Her name was Catherine and she gave us great suggestions and made all our arrangements for us and always with a huge smile.We will definetly go back and stay at the same resort. It was also great for families and there were lots there with small children which we had wondered if we would want that, BUT,it is so spread out and lots of pools that kids were never a problem and they sure enjoyed their stay as well, lots for everyone to do all day long if you wanted to participate. Also, don't let people tell you that you are not safe off the resort!! The people were wonderful, we were safe at all times. We can't wait to go back!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We can't wait to go back!!"

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lorraine from North Bay  on Jan 6, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Leisure
380 people found this review helpful

We just returned from a 2 week stay at the Sunset beach Resort and it was wonderful.We would recommend it to anyone!Everyone of the staff were so nice and nothing was ever too much trouble for them.I did complain about their supper buffet to the manager one night that there was no variety and was almost always the same as the lunch buffet. I had suggested a few things they could have served like ham and scalloped potatoes or maybe a potatoe salad instead of their pasta ones all the time. The very next day guess what we had? Ham and scalloped potatoes and potatoe salad was then served at lunches. It was wonderful and I did hear other tourist commenting on how good it was also. Before we left we had checked on the internet for comments and that was the majority of the complaints. However, why complain after the fact? Did any of you that complained talk to anyone there with authority? You can't blame the hotel if no one complains to them, why would they not think that everything was great when no one had complained to them? I didn't feel it was fair to the hotel to do that,instead I chose to speak to the manager and he couldn't have been any nicer. After that the meals were terrific!!!

Rooms:
The room was spotless, nothing fancy but who needs that? THe first day we arrived our a/c didn't work, we called the desk and someone was up within 15 min.Obviously that fellow thought he had fixed it but it still wasn't working, so we went to the desk again. They offered to give us another room but we felt it had to be fixed for the next people anyway so we were willing to have them send someone else. That day we came back from the pool and walked into a nice cool room!

Restaurants and Bars:
ALl the waiters,and waitresses were unbelievable. So friendly. I think some of us Canadians should go watch them just to take notes!! They were always smiling and took the time to talk with everyone.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
All of this was spotless!! Smoking was allowed everywhere ( except right in the restaurant itself) and yet you never saw a cigarette butt on the floor or grounds and ashtrays were always kept emptied.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Yes, we did a couple of tours and again, it was the staff of the tours that made it so much fun.

Other Comments:
Our sun-wing tour guide was also so much help and was at the hotel every day in case anyone needed her. Her name was Catherine and she gave us great suggestions and made all our arrangements for us and always with a huge smile.We will definetly go back and stay at the same resort. It was also great for families and there were lots there with small children which we had wondered if we would want that, BUT,it is so spread out and lots of pools that kids were never a problem and they sure enjoyed their stay as well, lots for everyone to do all day long if you wanted to participate. Also, don't let people tell you that you are not safe off the resort!! The people were wonderful, we were safe at all times. We can't wait to go back!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube