Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Montego Bay > Montego Bay Hotel Index > Sunset Beach Resort & Spa reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Montego Bay Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sandals Montego Bay

4.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 10, 2011

Royal Decameron Montego Beach

4.2 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 26, 2012

Breezes Montego Bay

4.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 1, 2009

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort

3.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 16, 2012

Holiday Inn Sunspree

3.1 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 2, 2014

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa  

Montego Freeport Peninsula | PO Box 1168, Montego Bay, Jamaica

"Horrible"
Posted by: Shantel  on Oct 10, 2012
see all reviews

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Reviews
Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Pictures and Information
Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Montego Bay Jamaica

#5
of 35 Hotels in Montego Bay

User rating 3.6

Based on 14 reviews

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Information


Amidst swaying palms, shimmering water and beautiful beaches, the casual, all-inclusive. Sunset Beach Resort & Spa in Montego Bay, Jamaica offers something for everyone.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Reviews

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Review: 3.6 of 5 14 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  6
Average
  3
Poor
  0
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (13)
Wedding (1)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
With friend
11 - 14 of 14

"Wow!! Totally impressed"

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Michael  on Mar 7, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
999 people found this review helpful

Inspite of the 2 ladies at the front counter who I think were just over worked we had a great time at Sunset Beach. Food at the buffet was very good, the restaurants were outstanding. Our room was great, 6th floor North, had an excellent view. Had to ask for a fridge, came within the hour, but they don't stock it. Air conditioning broke on the second day and a repair guy came and fixed it within the hour and the front desk called us to follow up to make sure....that was impressive. Beach was great and some swimming/snorkeling can be done. The waiters run on Jamaican time but were friendly and helpful. Snorkelling off the boat was a bit pricey but good. Bob Marley tour is a long way a way, the tour was interesting and funny as it is done by Rasta's. There is some night life. Didn't use the water park but it was easy to see the kids seemd to love it. We established a realtionship with a driver who we used, not sure I would go too far without himIt was so hot and wonderful. I'd would go back and probably will

Room Number:
A611

Room Block:
A

Arrival:
February 25/12

Rooms:
We had a nice room with a great view from our balcony

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet was good and restaurants were outstanding

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is nice, water was weedy. Pools were all great with entertainment or swim up bar.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Bob Marley was a long trip, 2 hours each way. Only 20-30 minute tour.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We can't wait to go back!!"

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lorraine from North Bay  on Jan 6, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Leisure
540 people found this review helpful

We just returned from a 2 week stay at the Sunset beach Resort and it was wonderful.We would recommend it to anyone!Everyone of the staff were so nice and nothing was ever too much trouble for them.I did complain about their supper buffet to the manager one night that there was no variety and was almost always the same as the lunch buffet. I had suggested a few things they could have served like ham and scalloped potatoes or maybe a potatoe salad instead of their pasta ones all the time. The very next day guess what we had? Ham and scalloped potatoes and potatoe salad was then served at lunches. It was wonderful and I did hear other tourist commenting on how good it was also. Before we left we had checked on the internet for comments and that was the majority of the complaints. However, why complain after the fact? Did any of you that complained talk to anyone there with authority? You can't blame the hotel if no one complains to them, why would they not think that everything was great when no one had complained to them? I didn't feel it was fair to the hotel to do that,instead I chose to speak to the manager and he couldn't have been any nicer. After that the meals were terrific!!!

Rooms:
The room was spotless, nothing fancy but who needs that? THe first day we arrived our a/c didn't work, we called the desk and someone was up within 15 min.Obviously that fellow thought he had fixed it but it still wasn't working, so we went to the desk again. They offered to give us another room but we felt it had to be fixed for the next people anyway so we were willing to have them send someone else. That day we came back from the pool and walked into a nice cool room!

Restaurants and Bars:
ALl the waiters,and waitresses were unbelievable. So friendly. I think some of us Canadians should go watch them just to take notes!! They were always smiling and took the time to talk with everyone.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
All of this was spotless!! Smoking was allowed everywhere ( except right in the restaurant itself) and yet you never saw a cigarette butt on the floor or grounds and ashtrays were always kept emptied.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Yes, we did a couple of tours and again, it was the staff of the tours that made it so much fun.

Other Comments:
Our sun-wing tour guide was also so much help and was at the hotel every day in case anyone needed her. Her name was Catherine and she gave us great suggestions and made all our arrangements for us and always with a huge smile.We will definetly go back and stay at the same resort. It was also great for families and there were lots there with small children which we had wondered if we would want that, BUT,it is so spread out and lots of pools that kids were never a problem and they sure enjoyed their stay as well, lots for everyone to do all day long if you wanted to participate. Also, don't let people tell you that you are not safe off the resort!! The people were wonderful, we were safe at all times. We can't wait to go back!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The room was spotless, nothing fancy but who needs that?"

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lorraine from North Bay  on Jan 7, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Leisure
597 people found this review helpful

We just returned from a 2 week stay at the Sunset beach Resort and it was wonderful.We would recommend it to anyone!Everyone of the staff were so nice and nothing was ever too much trouble for them.I did complain about their supper buffet to the manager one night that there was no variety and was almost always the same as the lunch buffet. I had suggested a few things they could have served like ham and scalloped potatoes or maybe a potatoe salad instead of their pasta ones all the time. The very next day guess what we had? Ham and scalloped potatoes and potatoe salad was then served at lunches. It was wonderful and I did hear other tourist commenting on how good it was also. Before we left we had checked on the internet for comments and that was the majority of the complaints. However, why complain after the fact? Did any of you that complained talk to anyone there with authority? You can't blame the hotel if no one complains to them, why would they not think that everyth!
ing was great when no one had complained to them? I didn't feel it was fair to the hotel to do that,instead I chose to speak to the manager and he couldn't have been any nicer. After that the meals were terrific!!!

Rooms::
The room was spotless, nothing fancy but who needs that? THe first day we arrived our a/c didn't work, we called the desk and someone was up within 15 min.Obviously that fellow thought he had fixed it but it still wasn't working, so we went to the desk again. They offered to give us another room but we felt it had to be fixed for the next people anyway so we were willing to have them send someone else. That day we came back from the pool and walked into a nice cool room!

Restaurants and Bars::
ALl the waiters,and waitresses were unbelievable. So friendly. I think some of us Canadians should go watch them just to take notes!! They were always smiling and took the time to talk with everyone.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
All of this was spotless!! Smoking was allowed everywhere ( except right in the restaurant itself) and yet you never saw a cigarette butt on the floor or grounds and ashtrays were always kept emptied.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
Yes, we did a couple of tours and again, it was the staff of the tours that made it so much fun.

Other Comments::
Our sun-wing tour guide was also so much help and was at the hotel every day in case anyone needed her. Her name was Catherine and she gave us great suggestions and made all our arrangements for us and always with a huge smile.We will definetly go back and stay at the same resort. It was also great for families and there were lots there with small children which we had wondered if we would want that, BUT,it is so spread out and lots of pools that kids were never a problem and they sure enjoyed their stay as well, lots for everyone to do all day long if you wanted to participate. Also, don't let people tell you that you are not safe off the resort!! The people were wonderful, we were safe at all times. We can't wait to go back!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Will return"

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mark  on Mar 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
1151 people found this review helpful

We came down with 2 other couples, we had a great time. Very friendly resort

Room Block:
A

Arrival:
A little slow but I think they do that so you get used to Jamaica time. No key for the safe but we got there late. They had one for us in the morning

Rooms:
I found them to be very clean. First night the toilet was leaking, it was repaired the next day. The staff working the rooms were excellent.

Restaurants and Bars:
Best food ever. Ate lots and did not get sick. You have to try the restaurants. No problem with the drinking water so don't waste money on the bottled stuff.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Towels were an issue. Once you get one never turn it in for the towel card. Just exhange it for a fresh towel whenever you can. I'm up early so we never had an issue for chairs on the beach. To me they seemed to have enough.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Snorkelingis is very good, bring your own equipment, they do have some but it goes fast.
Spring break for some American students,it was fun to watch them let off some steam. Hotel management brought extra security to keep a eye on them. We had no issues.

The resident band is very good and the shows are alot better than in Cuba, DR and Mexico

Other Comments:
We brought a little extra for tips. I only tip if the service is good and i spent all of it. Don't bother to change Canadian or US money to Jamacian, our money is good there.

For the money we spend it was well worth it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube