Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Montego Bay > Montego Bay Hotel Index > Sunset Beach Resort & Spa reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Montego Bay Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sandals Montego Bay

4.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 10, 2011

Royal Decameron Montego Beach

4.2 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 26, 2012

Breezes Montego Bay

4.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 1, 2009

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort

3.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 16, 2012

Holiday Inn Sunspree

3.1 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 2, 2014

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa  

Montego Freeport Peninsula | PO Box 1168, Montego Bay, Jamaica

"Horrible"
Posted by: Shantel  on Oct 10, 2012
see all reviews

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Reviews
Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Pictures and Information
Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Montego Bay Jamaica

#5
of 35 Hotels in Montego Bay

User rating 3.6

Based on 14 reviews

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Information


Amidst swaying palms, shimmering water and beautiful beaches, the casual, all-inclusive. Sunset Beach Resort & Spa in Montego Bay, Jamaica offers something for everyone.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Reviews

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Review: 3.6 of 5 14 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  6
Average
  3
Poor
  0
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (13)
Wedding (1)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
With friend
11 - 14 of 14

"Not bad BUT room for Improvement!!"

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Katie  on Mar 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
584 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
Purpose of trip was to join friends & family for a wedding at the resort on the Saturday Feb 20th/10. My husband and I arrived mid week and had a chance to relax a little before the event.

It was not our wedding, but as a guest and possible future 'mother of the bride' (for an off-shore wedding), there is DEFINATELY room for improvement in the wedding business at this hotel.

The set up for the wedding was very poor. Attention to detail poor. Ribbons, bows & various baubles that were brought from the mainland by the bride and given to the wedding planner/crew were not used in the set up? Why? The bride could not bring herself to raise the topic and create a fuss after the wedding. The cake was lopsided and too sweet and pasty to eat.Generally, it seems like there is a lot of room to improve this service.

Rooms:
The hotel is OLD AND VERY TIRED. The rooms are poorly maintained (hit and miss from what we saw) and housekeeping/cleanliness could be a lot better. Electrical wiring frayed on most cords in the rooms - Plus, outlets don't work. Not just a quick fix. A/C noisy. Turn it off and open the window? No screen on door! Linens frayed. Acrylic blankets overly laundered, full of holes and mis-shapen from dryer heat. Faded/stained bedspread that needed a wash! Soap and shampoo in the dispensers old and gummy! Broken tiles. No hairdryer, although advertised. The hotel eventually supplied a hairdryer but it only worked on low heat - so bring your own! Assurances to have us switched to another room did not happen until Sunday afternoon when we had to meet with the Manager - then- we got changed to a suite on the 5th floor of Bldg B - the only floor of rooms that have been upgraded. The bride and groom also had a hell-hole of a room on the 1st floor of bldg B.Again, too stressed to make a fuss!

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was good. Lots of choice. Nice presently.Great wait staff. Dining room clean. Specialy restaurants not bad...but the Aisian restaurant used spaghetti noodeles in their "Thai" food. In general, ALL jamaican foods were wonderfully prepared!!!! Great stuff!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Great! Clean. No problem.

Other Comments:
Bar staff looked after those folks very well that slipped them $1 bills. These rest of us stood ignored until the tippers left the bar.

We will go elsewhere for our next holiday. We thought this would be a nice change from a spanisg speaking place...Good value for my holiday money? No, looks like we are going back to Mexico. Adious amigos!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disappointed"

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Michelle  on Mar 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
643 people found this review helpful

We arrived to smiles and very helpful staff.

Rooms:
The rooms were in need of alot of TLC. The beds were hard & lumpy, the room was old & in need of repair, however they were clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
Excellent food and the service at the bars were great.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We enjoyed the pools and the grounds were nice.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Our highlight of the stay was the piano man at 3 pm tea time.Strolling on the beach we could hear music and followed it to the "tea". This ended up to be the best hour spent on the resort!

Other Comments:
We would not return to this resort due to the very aged and worn out rooms.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Book this resort if you want a bad experience!!"

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sandra  on Jun 8, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
1140 people found this review helpful

This was the worst trip I have ever been on in my life. The staff was nice but the pool was nasty, my bedspread was filthy, no ice machines (except at bar) beach chairs were torn and always sandy! If I had never been to other all inclusive reorts I probably would have thought it was fine. However, this place is the pitts. Don't spend your money on this resort. Food was same over and over. The only good food I had was my morning fried eggs. All of the hotel ran out of wash cloths for 2 days and the only response I got when I asked for some was
"No Problem"! Yuck-Yuck-Yuck describes my stay!

Arrival:
May 29,2011

Restaurants and Bars:
nice staff

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
butts in pool, sand covered the steps of pool,tattered beach chairs

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Horrible"

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Shantel  on Oct 10, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
909 people found this review helpful

The worst resort ever. We booked for 5 people 3 adults and 2 kids. We were placed in the room with all five of us. They gave us a pull out bed, which it was not worth it for the money we paid. The food was the same every day. We barely eat the food. The kids enjoyed the pool so thats a plus but the experience was shitty.

Arrival:
April 20, 2012

Rooms:
1

Restaurants and Bars:
5

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
3

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
4

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube