Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort & Spa Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Ocho Rios > Ocho Rios Hotel Index > Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort & Spa reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Ocho Rios Hotels with Similar Ranking

Couples Sans Souci

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 23, 2010

Beaches Boscobel Ocho Rios

3.6 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed May 2, 2013

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios

3.3 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 13, 2013

Riu Ocho Rios

3.3 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed May 24, 2014

Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort & Spa  

P.O. Box 100, Ocho Rios, Jamaica

"Absolutely Awful"
Posted by: Suzie on Jun 16, 2012
see all reviews

Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort & Spa Reviews
Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort & Spa Pictures and Information
Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort & Spa Ocho Rios Jamaica

#4
of 16 Hotels in Ocho Rios

User rating 1.6

Based on 7 reviews

Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort & Spa Information


Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort & Spa Reviews

Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort & Spa Review: 1.6 of 5 7 reviews
Excellent
  0
Very good
  1
Average
  0
Poor
  1
Terrible
  5
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (5)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (2)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (1)
Solo
1 - 7 of 7

"Absolutely Awful"

Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort & Spa Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Suzie  on Jun 16, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
159 people found this review helpful

Bathroom was bad mold on ceiling tiles rust in bathtub shower head so badly lined up u could barely have a decent shower. Beach area was very small sand was full of rocks and cigarette butts. Balcony view was of concrete n 2 huge fams that hummed all night . Was asked for a credit card or cash deposit on my room What happened 2 All Inclusive they charged $3 for bottled water No fridge in room no hangers in closets I could go on I was there 4one week n al I can say is Never Again!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The absolute worst"

Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort & Spa Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jacquelyn  on May 29, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Business | Family and Kids
179 people found this review helpful

This is in NO WAY a 4-star hotel....it is a 2 at the most!!! I have stayed in 3-star hotels which were much, much better than this. This vacation was a complete waste of 8 days of my life!!! Service was terrible, building was old and run down. The hotel was always out of basic things like food and alcohol, towels and beach chairs. (The things one would expect when going to a tropical island)!!! This was by far the worst vacation experience I have ever encountered. After checking into the hotel, we were taken to a room on the "crappy Tower. Which was the older unit. When the bell boy opened our room, the beds were not made, and the room was obviously not cleaned. This was at 5:00 p.m. While our room was not ready, there were 4 cleaning ladies standing right outside the room, just hanging out and talking. Not a one took the initiative to start cleaning the room, but rather they were not concerned. We had been traveling since 4:00 a.m. in the morning, and just wanted to relax and get something to eat. The "snack bar" was only serving until 5:30 p.m., and then dinner was not available until 6:30 p.m. We spent a couple hours each day trying to talk to managers and representatives in the late morning/early afternoon, who were never available. If you want to spend your vacation feeling like you are in hell, stay at this resorts; otherwise STAY AWAY!!!!

Rooms:
Outdated, No toilet paper holders, smelled like mold.

Restaurants and Bars:
Out of food and standard alcohol daily, early on in the afternoon. (Rum, beer, vodka), things that are non perishable, and can easily be overstocked.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach towels and chairs were frequently unavailable, unacceptable for a "Tropical Vacation."

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Limited. Often manual paddle boats were "not working." Yoga was listed on activity board daily at 8:00 a.m. When we inquired where the activity was taking place, we were told by an employee that they were not having it that week because they had no instructor. However, it remained posted all week!!!

Other Comments:
Worst vacation I have ever experienced!!!! You couldn't pay me enought to go through that aggrevation and poor amenities again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Horrible Rooms and Horrible Service!!"

Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort & Spa Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lacey  on Apr 2, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Wedding | With Group
187 people found this review helpful

We came for a wedding which was beautiful, but the rooms we stayed it were the worst rooms i've ever stayed in. Not even close to worth the money we spent. It's more like motel quality. The resort itself was nice and the pools were great. But for the rooms, the bathroom tap moves side to side, dirty bathroom, horrible paint, no room decor! Doesn't feel like your at a tropical get-a-way when your in your room. Almost everyone we came with switched rooms because they were so bad. Our friend in another room had $200+ cash stolen that was hidden in his suitcase well, they searched until they found it. Another person had a watch stolen. A friends bathroom door wouldn't shut. HORRIBLE service, the employees DO NOT SMILE, EVER! They have no problem saying NO. Would never ever recommend this resort to anyone. Made me not want to go back to Jamaica, but may try another resort next time.

Room Number:
328

Rooms:
HORRIBLE, worst things ever.

Restaurants and Bars:
Good food, HORRIBLE service at the bars. Not even a smile.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools and beaches were nice but the loungers were uncomfortable and old and most of them were broken.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Worst service ever"

Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort & Spa Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cimon  on Jan 2, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
188 people found this review helpful

wait for 3 hours to get the room. We paid for ocean front room and we got partial ocean view.
We arrived at the buffet for the christmas dinner at 8pm and there was nothing left and they didn't fill it up. Drinks are made with the cheapest alcool that you could find. There is no casino, it's only 10 slot machines in the lobby. We had to wait for an hour every day to get a 'a la carte' reservation. The hotel employes didn't bother picking up empty glass, so there is empty glass everywhere. They write that they have 8 bars, but there is 2 that are always closed.

Room Number:
1049

Arrival:
Wait for 3 hours to get a room

Rooms:
We paid the upgrade for ocean front room, but we got an partial ocean front view. but a great view of the rooftop of the buffet, disco, and main building

Restaurants and Bars:
they say they have 8 bars, but there is 2 that are always closed

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
they say they have a casino but it is more like 10 slut machines in the main lobby

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"So Bad!!!!!"

Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort & Spa Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ryan  on Jul 6, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
272 people found this review helpful


By far,the worst place I have ever stayed at!!! Got sick from the food and it took me 9 week to recover when I got home. Plus.....
If you like be hustled on the beach when your trying to relax or being handed drugs every step you take, this resorts for you.
Not to mention the resort is very out dated and needs allot of work.
Trust me,spend your money elsewhere!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Don't be fooled!~"

Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort & Spa Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  deb  on Jan 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
312 people found this review helpful

this hotel is way too over rated it is far from a 4 star....I would say 2 1/2 -3 at most!`The food was amazing, the only part that wasn't disappointing of the whole trip!~We were taken to our rooms, arrived very late at night and after a long.. long ride from the airport, I flipped out, refused to stay in the room they gave us.....smelt like mildew and paint!` The next day we were given a different room and it was unaceptable as well. I went to the manager and demanded a decent room. Finally after the 3rd room it was ok, the view wasn't the nicest but I could atleast breath!!The beach was the worst I have ever seen, man made and not enuff room to even have a nice walk!!Sure got good views of the cruise ships coming in almost every day!`I loved jamacia but not the Sunset Inn!~The north tower looked to be the nicest of the two, but of course that wasn't available. Make sure if you book this resort ask for the North tower, atleast you might have a chance at getting a decent room!

Restaurants and Bars:
The food at the buffet was really good, always had lots of variety and it was good!`The staff in the restaurants are very nice and make you feel welcomed and help you if you have any concerns!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was horrible.....wouldn't go back.Always someone bugging you to buy something or braid your hair!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The location of this hotel is one of the best features."

Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort & Spa Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Karen Toronto  on Jan 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With friend
452 people found this review helpful

We flew Westjet from Toronto, Canada. The flight crew were fantastic. Westjet, along with most airlines these days, does not serve any free food, and the food for purchase is all cold - so keep that in mind. Check-in at the Montego Bay airport took about 30 minutes. By the time we cleared immigration, our bags were ready. Our e-tickets from Westjet had stated that someone would be waiting with a Westjet Vacations sign to guide us to the bus. There was no such person. A guide from the airport directed us to the Jamaica Tours desk who did take care of us and directed us to the proper bus for the transfer to the hotel.

Rooms::
I can not say this strongly enough - this is not a luxury hotel! The rooms do not have jacuzzis, mini-bars, refrigerators, free water, etc. There is a condensation problem at this hotel - if you wash clothes, they will take days to dry inside. The rooms are a little musty. Once you get past this, the rest of the hotel experience is incredible. The pool, the beach, the hotel location, the amenities made up for the rooms in my opinion. I absolutely loved this hotel. I also loved the location of my room. I stayed in a cabana room directly on the beach. These rooms are little pricier, but well worth it. If you do book one, try to get one on the lower level. The lower level rooms have a large patio. They are less private than the 2nd level rooms with a balcony, but you are right on the beach. Literally, you open your patio door and walk 40 feet right into the ocean. Incredible! I normally love the 5 star hotels & I usually need luxury. Last year I stayed at the Grand Bahia with jacuzzis in every room. I would give up that luxury to stay at the Sunset Jamaica Grand again.

Restaurants and Bars::
The buffet was OK as far as all-inclusives go. A little smaller selection than other all-inclusives I've stayed in. For me, the breakfast was wonderful. I am Jamaican, so I was impressed by the Jamaican foods served at breakfast (ackee & saltfish, liver, fried dumpling, calalloo, escovitch fish, bully beef, cornmeal porridge, etc.) There are lots of typical 'North American breakfast' foods for those who don't want to try the Jamaican foods. Lunch & dinner were just OK. The snack bar on the beach, Jamalicious was typical fast food - chicken, fries, burgers. We went to 2 a la carte restaurants: Ginger Lily, the Chinese restaurant was OK. Not spectacular, but fairly tasty. Food was on the salty side. La Diva, the Italian restaurant, was very good. I'd highly recommend this restaurant.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
The beach was fantastic. It's not nearly as spectacular as Negril, but it was not too bad. I loved it because it was not crowded. There were at least 3 times as many beach chairs as people. At other hotels I've stayed at, people would have to go to the beach early to save chairs. None of that happened here - you could go to the beach any time of day and be assured that you'd get a chair. The pools were spectacular - lots of pools and again, lots of chair availability.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
I stayed at the hotel for a week with a friend. My parents were also at the same hotel, but for 2 weeks. They went on 2 tours booked through the hotel. They are in their 70's (and are extremely active)and loved their tours. They did the 9-Mile Bob Marley tour as well as the Dunns River /Fern Gully tour.
My friend and I did a tour with the Blue Mountain Bicycle Tour company which we pre-booked from Canada. It was wonderful. They picked us up at the hotel and took us to the Blue Mountains where we all got bicycles and rode downhill for about 2 hours. We got a history lesson as well as information on coffee making. Great experience! My friend and I and my parents booked a driver for a day to take us around. I'd highly recommend this, especially if you're not a fan of hotel tours &/or have specific places that you want to go to. Booking a driver is about $80 - $150 US per day for the whole group depending on where you're going. Our driver had a van that seated 20, so this is a very economical deal. We got him to take us to Shaw Park Botanical Gardens, Wassi Art pottery studio, shopping, out for jerk chicken and then to Dunns River. With your own driver you can stay at places for as long or short as you want and the drivers know places to go that the hotel/tour staff may not recommend. I enjoyed this far better than a pre-organized tour. The hotel can recommend drivers. You can take your chances on the street - but if you do, make sure you get one with a red license plate that signifies they are a licensed taxi.

Other Comments::
The location of this hotel is one of the best features. It is right in town, but while you're in the hotel or on the grounds, you don't feel like you're downtown. It's quiet. You'd never know there's a bustling city right outside the gates. Unlike many other hotels in other locations I've stayed in, you don't need to take a taxi to leave the hotel. You walk 5 minutes right into town. The craft markets are right there as well as many souvenir shops, pharmacy, supermarkets, etc. If you're adventurous, the market is close by as well. The entertainment at this hotel was also very good. Every night there was a show with great music & professional entertainers.
Yes, there are some annoyances with this hotel - as I've mentioned, the rooms are not 4 or 5 star quality. However, this was by far the best hotel that I've stayed in in Jamaica because of the location, the beach & the pools as well as the location of our room on the beach. I'd highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube