Holiday Inn Sunspree Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Montego Bay > Montego Bay Hotel Index > Holiday Inn Sunspree reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Montego Bay Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sandals Montego Bay

4.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 10, 2011

Royal Decameron Montego Beach

4.2 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 26, 2012

Breezes Montego Bay

4.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 1, 2009

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa

3.6 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 10, 2012

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort

3.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 16, 2012

Holiday Inn Sunspree  

PO Box 480, Montego Bay, Jamaica

"A fun return to the Holiday Inn Sunspree!"
Posted by: Bryan  on Mar 2, 2014
see all reviews

Holiday Inn Sunspree Reviews
Holiday Inn Sunspree Pictures and Information
Holiday Inn Sunspree Montego Bay Jamaica

#1
of 34 Hotels in Montego Bay

User rating 3.1

Based on 28 reviews

Holiday Inn Sunspree Information


When comparing Jamaica hotels, consider the All-Inclusive Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Hotel-Montego Bay Jamaica.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Holiday Inn Sunspree Reviews

Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 3.1 of 5 28 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  12
Average
  4
Poor
  3
Terrible
  6
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (23)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (8)
With friend (2)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (12)
Solo
1 - 9 of 28

"A fun return to the Holiday Inn Sunspree!"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bryan  on Mar 2, 2014  >  7 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2014 | Leisure | With Group
30 people found this review helpful

Our group of 9 was comprised of 5 people going for 2 weeks and 4 others for 1 week. 2 of us had been at the Holiday Inn Sunspree back in 2003. Since that time they’ve done a lot of reno’s around the resort (i.e. added a man-made island, added a couple stores, and added real nightly entertainment). The hotel is still undergoing room make overs (changing the furniture and painting).

Flights
Nolitours offer a weekly flight from Ottawa to Jamaica so that’s the only option you have for this resort. The flight leaving Ottawa was about 25 minutes late leaving do to share a boarding gate with a delayed flight. We made the time up in the air and landed on time. The return flight was nearly 2 hours delayed due to a late incoming flight and an unfortunate medical emergency with one of the passengers at the gate. The flights were operated by Canjet and we had upgraded to the Select service so we had seat selection and a few free drinks and snacks as well.

Room Number:
5407

Room Block:
5

Arrival:
After the 15 minute bus ride we arrived at the resort. As there was a full bus checking in, it went fairly quickly given the number of people in line ahead of me. We filled out a registration form, handed over our hotel voucher and were given our room key and towel cards. Given it was 11:30 at night we dropped our stuff in our rooms and went out for snacks and drinks.

Rooms:
We were booked into Building 5. After switching rooms with one of our friends due to bed arrangements, we got room 5407. The room had been updated with new furniture and a paint job. We also had a mini fridge in the room. The safe is a digital one so no key is needed.

There were 2 double beds in our room and the others in the group had King size beds as they had requested. Water pressure was good for the shower (yes, there are no tubs in the rooms – at lease the ones our group were assigned)

Our housekeeping person was excellent. The room was clean every day and that’s what matters the most. One of our friends thought they had locked the room safe but didn’t, when housekeeping saw it when they went in, they left a note advising they did not clean the room as the safe was open.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food
This hotel has a smaller offering at the buffet but at no time did I go hungry. Some of the heat lights were not working (or not turned on). My biggest complaint on food would be lack of selection to make a salad with – they have some items but not a lot. Every soup I had was good, there were nightly featured items at a carving station plus all the regular stuff.

The biggest disappointment for me was that we had hoped to get Jamaican Beef Patty’s either at the buffet or beach grill. This wasn’t to be. Apparently they sell them in the gift shop but only get a few each day so you need to get there by 10:30 in the morning to get one. Cost was $1.80 US each.

Supper was always a different theme each night at the buffet so that was good. We managed to get reservations for the Italian, Japanese, Jamaican, and Seafood while we were there. You can book these a day in advance, just stop by the Guest Services desk in the lobby. I made it to all but the Italian restaurant due to the time of the reservation. Some people don’t think the Japanese one is worth the extra $20 but we all enjoyed it and went back our second week as well.

Snacks – The grill is the place to go. Burgers, Grilled Cheese and Fish. There is also a Jerk Hut which is open during the day and it serves up some great Jerk Chicken and Pork.

NOTE: Supper at the Buffet: Men can wear shorts but must have a shirt with sleeves but we did see a few men in tank tops. For the a-la cartes men can wear shorts – with the exception of the Italian which requires Pants.

Bars
There are several bars to visit. There is the Adult Pool swim-up Bar, the Jerk Hut, the Barefoot bar, Lobby Bar, and the Port Royal Bar. Each bar we went to made good drinks. By default they serve the cheap brands, just ask for Appleton’s if you want the good rum.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We made use of the beach a few days and also the manmade island a few days. The rest were at the Adult Pool – probably an even split between the 3 locations. The beach is mainly no smoking with the exception of a couple areas at either end of the resort. The manmade island was fully booked by 7AM but we were able to get chairs around noon as people started to leave. The Adult pool just had an extended deck opened up while we were there which doubles the deck space – they just need more loungers.

The biggest issue is the apparent lack of enough sun loungers. One day we checked the Adult pool, the beach all along to the main pool and the island and not a single chair was available.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Entertainment
This is where the resort really has improved. Our last visit to the resort had the “Embarrass the guest” type entertainment at night. This year there were real shows each night. We saw a few Steel Drum Bands play along with some singing shows, etc.

Activities
The Animation team posted a schedule of activities going on throughout the day by the main pool. Other than nightly shows I mentioned above, we didn’t partake in.

Trips
We taxied it into downtown Montego Bay twice and some made a day trip to Negril. We made use of the same Taxi driver as we found 2 years ago, Alton, who brought us into the shopping area, waited for us and brought us back safely.

Other Comments:
Nolitours advertises this resort as a 4 Star resort. I’d say it’s about a 3.5 Star. The resort could do a couple things to get up to the 4 star rating.
1) Loungers – There wasn’t always enough, and some are in need of repair.
2) 4 Star resorts tend to offer a minibar in the room, not the case here. If you get a fridge, it’s empty and it’s not filled.
3) Some of the bars needed more staff to handle the guests.
4) There wasn’t always enough Beach Towels for everyone.


There is a fitness area at the resort that is available. The gym area looks good and it’s air conditioned. The hotel website shows an outdoor fitness area, but that’s not the case.

Oh, and smokers take note. This resort is not smoker friendly (sorry to say but it’s nice for us non-smokers though). There is no smoking in your room. There is no smoking in the main lobby, restaurants, buffet either. You can smoke in a 3 spots on the resort – either end of the beach and a designated spot just off the lobby. Everywhere else is smoke free.

On our last day we gave our Bubba mugs to one of the gardeners that we’d chat with. We had to sign a release form for him to be able to take them without being fired for theft. To me that means they take this seriously at the hotel.

We had a great time and would seriously consider going back if the price stays. One thing to note is that it is extremely hard to cash Travellers Cheques in Jamaica now. Even the bank wouldn’t take them, so bring cash with you instead and keep it in the safe.

If you have any questions, please feel free to email me.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great time, great weather, wonderful experience"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Keith & Sherry  on Mar 15, 2013  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
91 people found this review helpful

This was our third time to Jamiaca and we always stay at the Holiday Inn Sunspree. We came this time for our 13th wedding anniversary. Upon arrival we were given a rum punch and our room was waiting for us.

Room Number:
5308

Room Block:
Building #5

Rooms:
Our room was very nice. It was updated with tile floors and a walkin shower. The air conditioner was noisy but it didn't bother us.

Restaurants and Bars:
We mostly ate at the buffets for breakfast and lunch, which had an excellent and large selection of foods. We ate at the Sea Breeze one night which was very good and the service and atmosphere was wonderful.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach, pool area, and grounds were very well kept. There raked the beach every day and would come though during the day to rake if seaweed would wash up. They have such wonderful blooming plants with lots color

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
They have some activities going on all the time from games to fitness training to music. During the dinner period they had relaxing bands or choirs or violinest playing music. After dinner there different high intensity bands and group with dancers.
We did the zipline experience which was very exciting but wouldn't do it again, not that it wasn't fun, but we did it and don't have to again. We also did the bamboo raftride down the river for our anniversary which was romantic and relaxing. Our raft capt. Anderson was very entertaining and informative which made the experience very nice.

Other Comments:
The staff and workers are very friendly and helpful. We will probably go back again sometime. There will probably things that won't be exactly right or will happen while at the resort but you can't let it ruin your vacation because if they can fix or make it right they will.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great time, great weather, wonderful experience"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Keith & Sherry  on Mar 15, 2013  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
90 people found this review helpful

This was our third time to Jamiaca and we always stay at the Holiday Inn Sunspree. We came this time for our 13th wedding anniversary. Upon arrival we were given a rum punch and our room was waiting for us.

Room Number:
5308

Room Block:
Building #5

Rooms:
Our room was very nice. It was updated with tile floors and a walkin shower. The air conditioner was noisy but it didn't bother us.

Restaurants and Bars:
We mostly ate at the buffets for breakfast and lunch, which had an excellent and large selection of foods. We ate at the Sea Breeze one night which was very good and the service and atmosphere was wonderful.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach, pool area, and grounds were very well kept. There raked the beach every day and would come though during the day to rake if seaweed would wash up. They have such wonderful blooming plants with lots color

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
They have some activities going on all the time from games to fitness training to music. During the dinner period they had relaxing bands or choirs or violinest playing music. After dinner there different high intensity bands and group with dancers.
We did the zipline experience which was very exciting but wouldn't do it again, not that it wasn't fun, but we did it and don't have to again. We also did the bamboo raftride down the river for our anniversary which was romantic and relaxing. Our raft capt. Anderson was very entertaining and informative which made the experience very nice.

Other Comments:
The staff and workers are very friendly and helpful. We will probably go back again sometime. There will probably things that won't be exactly right or will happen while at the resort but you can't let it ruin your vacation because if they can fix or make it right they will.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fabulous in entirety"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  marilyn  on Mar 18, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
153 people found this review helpful

We arrived on a saturday at 1:00pm and were immediately given our room in building 7.. room 7119. great room next to adult bar pool & adult beach. got up at 6:30 every morning & put our towels on beach chair to save our spot.. every day day a different beach spot.. absolutely love the beach it is gorgeous. All the employees were absolutely wonderful! I LOVE the natives! go to the end of the adult beach where the natives sell their crafts.. u will find very beautiful things & you can get a girl to braid your hair.All the bartenders are very professional & the drinks are to die for! The Hotel itself is sooo beautiful. I admired the craftmanship in the building.. It reminded meof an old Southern plantation.. the lobby is all open and breezy. there are two shops that are very nice.do get up early to reserve your restaurant.. by 7:00am.. Sorrentos is good and the seafood restaurant is GREAT!. The entertainment by the pool every nite in really good.. especially the Michael Jackson show! I cant say enough for this resort .. its a great value! the only excursion we did was the $15.00 one to the mall & craft shopping.. very nice..Pierson good guide.. We wanted to do the horse riding & Dunns river excursion but didnt want to travel each way 2 hours. I definately WILL return next year! I LOVE JAMAICA! the natives are sweet, kind, friendly. I miss Jamaica wish i was still there

Room Number:
71197

Room Block:
7

Arrival:
march 10-16

Rooms:
the room was very clean & maids were good

Restaurants and Bars:
restaurants are good bars are great

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach is gorgeous & clean . pools are very clean.. grounds are beautiful. love all the flowersacti

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
alot of activities for children & adults. thy are entertaining

Other Comments:
the whole hotel is very organized and the buffet is great. never had a better vacation! cant wait to return

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Holiday Inn sucks in Canada what made me think it wouldn't suck in Jamaica?"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Joan  on Mar 15, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
175 people found this review helpful

We travel all over Jamaica and always stay at different resorts, we picked the Holiday Inn this year and spent $1300.00 each. It states that it is a 4 star and if they are lucky it might be a 3 star. I am not one of those people who expect perfection but this was not a place we will return. It was almost the same food nightly, and it wasn't the best, never hot and barely warm. The work out facilities leave lots to be desired, although we managed to get some type of work out done. I am use to hotel staff being very pleasant, this was not the case at this resort, although again we just ignored it and found things on our own instead of bothering anyone, the nicest person we met was the cleaning lady. The resort was packed to say the least, people had towels on the loungers by 4 AM!! You couldn't find a place to sit if you didn't get up before 6, and even then it was limited space, you had to line up every morning to reserve a restaurant and usually by the time you got to the front of the line the only sittings avaialbe were 9 or 9:30 pm! Each restaurant is owned privately and not by the resort, so take money to leave on the table if you choose to go. The room it self, was again less than a 3 star, the bathroom was so small you could barely move in it, the water pressure was good though. They have tons of security all over the resort, and they have no problem telling you to be quiet. The dinners at the Restaurants were by far the best meals to eat, and it was no wonder people lined up for reservations as who wants to eat at the buffet that serves mostly crap. I could complain about check ins but the reality is that is part of the process of going on holidays, so I won't bother. We spent a week relaxing, and hanging on the beach, and all in all we had a great time, because we choose to make it so. I would not recommend this place at all, unless the price was less than $800.00 it might then be worth someones time to go. I have spent time at 5 stars for $1034.00 and everything was wonderful, and in case you are wondering where that was, it was the Grand Paladium Lady Hamilton Resort and it was wonderful from beginning to end.

Room Number:
1722

Room Block:
7

Arrival:
February 27 to March 6

Rooms:
Clean, nice enough as the cleaning lady was great.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet not so great, restaurants were great, huts were excellent.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Great, excellent.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Did go off the resort, but played tennis and basketball. Other guests did water sports.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great for the price"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  rebecca  on Feb 28, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
167 people found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I stayed here from the 19 to the 26th and it was the first time either of us had been to the Caribbean. We payed 1200 each for the week which was an amazing deal for that time and I would recommend the hotel to anyone who was getting a great deal however if you are shelling out more cash I would definitely suggest staying elsewhere. The room was lovely and the buffet was mostly really good as were the restaurants. Lots of families not so many people our age (21 and 26). We found that the guests were almost all Canadians.

Our biggest complaint was the beach. The sand was not the greatest and the reef or seaweed took up 90% of the swimming area. There were two areas that were actually deep enough to swim in and one spot was where the boats parked. There were sea urchans everywhere (my boyfriend put his hand on one and they wanted 180 dollars just to see the doctor, he refused and his had healed alright on its own but I am assuming at least one person got injured by them a day as we saw lots of people walking around with crutches). The sand bar/little island was pretty nice but again the water was very shallow all around it.
Second complaint would be that the bars ran out of vodka most nights around nine or ten pm. and the nightlife was practically non-existent. Definitely bring something to drink out of as their cups are tiny, they wanted alot of money for their thermoses and their was usually a line up at the bars. There was no discotheque however there was a lounge upstairs and we went one night while there was a piano sing-along it was fun however there were only about eleven people there.
Just so you know: I would definitely recommend renting a car and doing your own excursions as you will save 100's of dollars and the driving was not as bad as would seem. We heard Nigril was beautiful and you could visit Dunn's falls on your own. The locals are quite pushy and we were asked if we wanted to buy drugs at least 20 times (mostly when you left the resort). You are allowed to bring wood products back, they will just check them for insect holes. You have to get up around six or seven to save your chairs with a towel.
So overall we would not stay here again, we would try to find a place with a nice beach and somewhere within walking distance of a city.

Room Number:
5413

Room Block:
5

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Perfect trip for the price!"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Megan  on Jan 16, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
170 people found this review helpful

My husband and I had an absolute blast at our stay at this hotel. Going in, we knew not to expect a 5-star resort (I mean, it's a Holiday Inn)! Check-in was a breeze. Our check-in time wasn't until 3 p.m. but we arrived around noon and were shown to our room immediately. The food was good - not great - and we never went hungry. The jerk hut is the BEST! Definitely bring your own mug or cup. Like others have said, the cups they give you are super tiny and it's annoying to have to go to the bar every five minutes or less. The night time entertainment was great at times and kind of cheesy at others. All in all, though, it was a great relaxing vacation. We are going back to the Sunspree in a few weeks and can't wait!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This Hotel should be rated as a 3,low cost of trip means low expectations. "

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Linda  on Jan 13, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
179 people found this review helpful

My husband and I just returned from the Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort yesterday and my reviews are very close to most of the comments made about the customer service,re:Front Reception,Staffing is limited to 2 people at the most,they don't have a clue when rooms are ready,we were told a lot of lies as to when we would be able to check-into our room.We waited from 11:00am to 5:pm and that was with the help of our Nolitours Agent.Food was basic,beach was cleaned every day,staff for the kids was incredible from what I saw,and the island off the beach was great.I wish that the management of resort had a better handle on the daily running of priorities.Would we go back? No.You get what you pay for. This review is from 2 Canadians who have travelled alot.

Room Number:
7323

Room Block:
seven

Arrival:
Jan5th 2012

Rooms:
Very clean

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was ok and bars were good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
All very clean

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Great entertainment for kids and adults

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I hated it"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sasha  on Dec 25, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
201 people found this review helpful

I went to this hotel with my husband, 6 month old and younger sister. It was horrible. First of all I had an infant with me. I called reception to ask about getting a jug of hot water in order to make her food. After getting the run around for a few times they eventually told me that they cannot bring it up to my room, that I will have to get it myself downstairs. So am I to walk across the hotel at midnight when she wakes? Ok fine. I asked them then if it is possible to get a kettle for my room so that I would not have to make a thousand trips to get hot water. To my surprise they said no! They suggested that I use the coffee maker in my room to prepare hot water for the baby. So I have up. I asked for a small jug of hot water then. I was given a jug that was not properly cleaned, was filthy with coffee stains and had left over coffee floating in my child's hot water. I was livid! What kind of family resort will be this inconsiderate to a baby??? I've never had this happen at any other hotel b4, they either bring me hot water or atleast give me a small kettle for my room. Then it doesn't seem like they clean the rooms regularly because they cleaning lady came into my room, dropped extra towels and left, and didn't even empty the garbage bins. The food was ok, but I hate the little plastic cups they give is to drink from. The grounds were fairly clean. They are lacking in customer service in many departments. A lot of employees seem as if they cannot be bothered to do their job. The kids activities were ok. My sister didn't participate as there was nothing fitting to her age group ( she's a teen). My bathroom was tiny and I found myself struggling to use it. The bathroom cannot comfortably accommodate two persons. Even my room was not as clean as it should be. It was mucky and I was so uncomfortable. I hated it and couldn't wait to get outta there.

Room Number:
1429

Room Block:
1

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great vacation spot!"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Judith  on Nov 20, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
285 people found this review helpful

My husband and I both enjoyed this hotel.It was our first trip tp Jamaica and the staff was very friendly and attentive.The beach area had quiet places but restrooms and activities were close by. The pool area had activities if you were so inclined with music and presentations at night. The food was plentiful and varied. Two of the specialty restaurants were good- Paella needs some work but a relaxing spot. Bevarine at the Barefoot Bar is a fabulous bar tender!A great family resort but couple friendly also.Our tour of Montego Bay was fun with a great bus driver Omar. We would definitely return.

Room Number:
1417

Room Block:
Building 1

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube