Holiday Inn Sunspree Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Montego Bay > Montego Bay Hotel Index > Holiday Inn Sunspree reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Montego Bay Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sandals Montego Bay

4.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 10, 2011

Royal Decameron Montego Beach

4.2 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 26, 2012

Breezes Montego Bay

4.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 1, 2009

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa

3.6 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 10, 2012

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort

3.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 16, 2012

Holiday Inn Sunspree  

PO Box 480, Montego Bay, Jamaica

"A fun return to the Holiday Inn Sunspree!"
Posted by: Bryan  on Mar 2, 2014
see all reviews

Holiday Inn Sunspree Reviews
Holiday Inn Sunspree Pictures and Information
Holiday Inn Sunspree Montego Bay Jamaica

#1
of 34 Hotels in Montego Bay

User rating 3.1

Based on 28 reviews

Holiday Inn Sunspree Information


When comparing Jamaica hotels, consider the All-Inclusive Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Hotel-Montego Bay Jamaica.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Holiday Inn Sunspree Reviews

Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 3.1 of 5 28 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  12
Average
  4
Poor
  3
Terrible
  6
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (23)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (8)
With friend (2)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (12)
Solo
1 - 10 of 28

"The worst resort I Ever Stayed At"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Charlene  on Sep 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
145 people found this review helpful

I had numerous problems beginning with the airport where I had some things stolen. Checkin took 25 mins and I wasn't given a rum punch on arrival. On the the 3d day, the water was turned off for most of that day. The food served was the same every day and it was terrible. I'm a smoker and requested an ashtray to smoke on my patio and it didn't arrive until Thu. even after asking 4 different people. I was told to fill a glass with water and use it. Disgusting! The beach is dirty, lots of bugs everywhere, the pools for adults and children were separated much too far apart, most of the entertainment was amature at best, the shops are expensive and the tour operators were rude and lied to me about exactly was included on excursions. The kids I saw were bored as all they had to do was either swim or play pool. I could go on but there are far too many issues with this resort. The biggest issue was that I was actually shoved by a baggage porter when I asked him why my luggage wasn't tagged with a claim check when I was leaving for home. I'll be taking issue with the holiday inn owners this week. I must say though, that the bartenders at the outside bar were fabulous and very polite and a few of the waitresses in the buffet restaurant. I won't ever go back to this resort.
Bob, who ever you are? You do get what you pay for but this is totally unacceptable behaviour for any service staff, anywhere in the world and they should advertise with a little more honesty than boasting because they don't have anything to boast about. Buyer beware and people, be warned.

Room Number:
1128

Room Block:
1

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrible"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Heather  on Sep 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
158 people found this review helpful

I along with my husband and teenage boys stayed for a vacation and were extremely disappointed. There was little for them to do as there was nowhere they could hang out except with they younger kids. The food was little better than mediocre. Not alot of variety. Some staff were very pleasant but most seemed like they were put out at having to serve you. Although Jerome,Odette,Sinaid (not sure of spelling but bartender in training)were great. Cockroaches at outside barefoot bar where evening snacks were cooked and served, Needless to say we didn;t eat there. Jerk food at hut was very good though. Check in service was very slow. Have been to Jamaica many times and tgis was the worst Had enough after 2 days

Rooms:
Had 2 rooms

Restaurants and Bars:
Adult pool bar was nice but if you have teenagers with you they are not allowed near this area. So if they need to speak with you you are out of luck as not even for 2 minutes can they near this area. Restaurants were not very good. Sea breeze was nice but other too slow and food not worth the wait.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beaches nice

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
On resort boring. Had to go off rersort for any fun

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Falling apart hotel, definetly not a 3 star."

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Linda  on Jun 1, 2009  >  15 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2009
163 people found this review helpful


After recommendations from friends I was very disappointed. The room was mouldy, the pillows were lumpy, the floors had snails walking around. The bathroom was old with cigarette burns, almost slipped in the tub as it was so slimey. The furniture was falling apart. The dining area was full of flies, the assortments of foods were limited, maybe because it was the end of a long holiday weekend. For the price of more than US$200 it was not worth it. I would not go as far up the scale to rate Holiday Inn Sunspree Montego Bay a 3 star.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

" Terrible experience in Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay!"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mett  on Aug 8, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
142 people found this review helpful

Finally got out of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay! It was horrible experience there in my entire life. I am well traveler, have been traveling so many countries. Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay is the worst resort ever! The food options are very limited, repeat the same every day. The beach is dirty, smell bad, walk on the beach is not on the sand, it is on the mud! No way you can swim there. The fly are all over of the places, all day long. No drink water services at hotel room, and toilet flush system is broken, hot water at shower needs 30 minutes at least to be up. It is absolutely nightmare for us to be there!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This place is a rip off!!!"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rebecca  on May 27, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
193 people found this review helpful

Cheap, terrible food, rude staff, no manners, dirty, over-crowded

Your Arrival:
Had to wait 3 hours to check-in. Front desk said we could check in as soon as our room was clean. We checked with them every 30 minutes to see if our room was ready. Magically everyone's rooms were all cleaned at exactly 3pm.

Rooms:
Floors were dirty

Restaurants and Bars:
Only 1 air conditioned restaurant on site. The food in every restaurant was very cheap quality and not good at all.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Adult pool was only 3 1/2 feet deep (ridiculous!).

Other Comments:
Do not go here! Very cheap, you do not get your money's worth. We considered paying $400 to leave early after just 2 days.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I hated it"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sasha  on Dec 25, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
203 people found this review helpful

I went to this hotel with my husband, 6 month old and younger sister. It was horrible. First of all I had an infant with me. I called reception to ask about getting a jug of hot water in order to make her food. After getting the run around for a few times they eventually told me that they cannot bring it up to my room, that I will have to get it myself downstairs. So am I to walk across the hotel at midnight when she wakes? Ok fine. I asked them then if it is possible to get a kettle for my room so that I would not have to make a thousand trips to get hot water. To my surprise they said no! They suggested that I use the coffee maker in my room to prepare hot water for the baby. So I have up. I asked for a small jug of hot water then. I was given a jug that was not properly cleaned, was filthy with coffee stains and had left over coffee floating in my child's hot water. I was livid! What kind of family resort will be this inconsiderate to a baby??? I've never had this happen at any other hotel b4, they either bring me hot water or atleast give me a small kettle for my room. Then it doesn't seem like they clean the rooms regularly because they cleaning lady came into my room, dropped extra towels and left, and didn't even empty the garbage bins. The food was ok, but I hate the little plastic cups they give is to drink from. The grounds were fairly clean. They are lacking in customer service in many departments. A lot of employees seem as if they cannot be bothered to do their job. The kids activities were ok. My sister didn't participate as there was nothing fitting to her age group ( she's a teen). My bathroom was tiny and I found myself struggling to use it. The bathroom cannot comfortably accommodate two persons. Even my room was not as clean as it should be. It was mucky and I was so uncomfortable. I hated it and couldn't wait to get outta there.

Room Number:
1429

Room Block:
1

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not very good"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Becky  on Jun 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
208 people found this review helpful

We asked for a poolview room and we were placed in a room that was overlooking a garbage. The pools looked like they had been cleaned once a week. The pool was only 3 ft deep. The beach was terrible, dirty and shallow. The shuttles were never on time so we had to spend 200 on cab fare the whole trip. The staff was terribly rude, except for the odd worker. The gift store was expensive. Not worth your money, go to a different resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"If you want cheap and unclean rooms with rude staff this is the place to go"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Denise  on Jul 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Business | Family and Kids
128 people found this review helpful

85% of the staff is rude, I have never seen such a high percentage of unfriendly people working in a resort. I blame management for allowing that to happen. I wished I would have read more reviews before I booked my trip. The very first day I used the restroom in the Lobby you could smell urine before you hit the door. After waiting an hour for my room I couldn't believe what I walked into a DUMP the room wasn't clean it smelled like mildew. I brought this to the attention of front desk the young man couldn't figure out why I was complaining, terrible customer service. I needed first aid due to bug mites, I went to information desk & was told they couldn't assist, the following day my husband found a Nurses Station on site the employee was being nasty and lying, I brought this to the attention of Mgmt. By this time I was pissed off, my brush came up missing I had staff assist in helping me fine it I believe the cleaning dept took it from room.

Room Number:
7127

Arrival:
July 07, 2011

Rooms:
Smelled like old mildew, the room looked worse than rooms in the ghetto were they charge $25. a night. There was a whole in the wall I had to stuff toilet paper so that bugs would come in. Bugs from the outside was coming in at nite underneath the front door.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurant food wasn't great, the jerk chicken and fish prepared out doors was better.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools only go up to 3 feet, the only thing you can do in 3 feet of water is sit.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Nite entertainment wasn't bad

Other Comments:
Check other web sites reviews the bad reviews or correct.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very Disappointed"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jan  on Mar 1, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
195 people found this review helpful

I went to the Holiday Inn because of the kids club and they were one of the few hotels that took a child under 2. I would not leave my daughter there as they had nothing for her to due but try and stick her in front of a television and the staff just didn't seem to care they would let them cry. I think I'm not the only one who thought this as there were tons of children in the resort and very few at the kids club and rarely any under 2. Not the vacation I wanted and the staff with a few exceptions were very rude, I couldn't get a coffee at breakfast if my life depended on it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good value for the money"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sandra  on Mar 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
172 people found this review helpful

The Negatives....

-kids' club was very boring.....not much to do. We thought they would take them snorkeling, paddle boating, etc....but they did crafts and watched movies - I don't understand why the show the movies on a small t.v. when they could easily use a large inflatable screen.

-mini-golf course was disgusting. not maintained and it even had a fountain of old, dirty standing water...Gross!

-Our building (5) was obviously missed during the "complete renovation" as there were cracked tiles in the hallway and they looked very old...some even lifted up as you walked.

-they were slow to replace anything they ran out of...diet coke and ice for example were rarely refilled.

-Kiddie pool was gone! a few sprouts of water shooting up was there in it's place

-the burgers and hot dogs were spicy....I still have heartburn.....

The Positives

-the staff - friendly and courteous

-the room was nice - not fancy- but still nice...we even had a view of the water as did most of the other rooms

-good value for the money....

Any longer than a week would have been too much

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube