Holiday Inn Sunspree Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Montego Bay > Montego Bay Hotel Index > Holiday Inn Sunspree reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Montego Bay Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sandals Montego Bay

4.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 10, 2011

Royal Decameron Montego Beach

4.2 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 26, 2012

Breezes Montego Bay

4.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 1, 2009

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa

3.6 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 10, 2012

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort

3.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 16, 2012

Holiday Inn Sunspree  

PO Box 480, Montego Bay, Jamaica

"A fun return to the Holiday Inn Sunspree!"
Posted by: Bryan  on Mar 2, 2014
see all reviews

Holiday Inn Sunspree Reviews
Holiday Inn Sunspree Pictures and Information
Holiday Inn Sunspree Montego Bay Jamaica

#1
of 34 Hotels in Montego Bay

User rating 3.1

Based on 28 reviews

Holiday Inn Sunspree Information


When comparing Jamaica hotels, consider the All-Inclusive Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Hotel-Montego Bay Jamaica.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Holiday Inn Sunspree Reviews

Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 3.1 of 5 28 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  12
Average
  4
Poor
  3
Terrible
  6
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (23)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (8)
With friend (2)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (12)
Solo
1 - 10 of 28

"I would love to go back sometime!"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Betty  on Mar 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2009
128 people found this review helpful

Arrival: February 12 - 19
We got in late from the airport, but our check-in time went great, everyone was very helpful. The weather felt so warm after coming from Northern Minnesota!

Rooms
The rooms were very nice & clean, they cleaned the rooms and restocked towels every day. One nice thing too was we could use the washers & driers free.

Restaurants and Bars
The Food was Fantastic!! A great variety, three Big Buffet Meals every day, plus the Bar for drinks anytime, and the "Jerk Shack" for snacks. We also enjoyed the Seabreeze and Trattoria Specialty Restaraunts.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The Beach was gorgeous and our group really enjoyed going out to the Little Island. I liked the Hot Tub for relaxing. We also enjoyed Kayaking. The grounds were beautiful.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
There was allot of entertainment daily. We attended Church Services Sunday AM. We took several tours, and we appreciated our Tour Manager! she really helped us in lining up our tours. The Tours all were very enjoyable & special & it was fun to see the Country-side. We shopped at the Gift Shops at the resort & we also walked across the street for Jamaican Shopping a few times.

Other Comments
We did learn one thing the hard way, my Grandson made Phone calls with an International Calling Card and found out when leaving he was charged for all the calls as it did not work in the rooms, this was sad. I would love to go back sometime! Thank You to all, Owner, Manager, & Staff!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our vacation was great"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  joanne  on Mar 1, 2009  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
122 people found this review helpful

My daughter and I were here for 5 nights in November 8th ~Nov 13th she is getting married this june so this was our last mother/daughter vacation (so we thought, we just got back from a week in ft. Lauderdale together)

From the time we landed, until check out, our vacation was great. We upgraded to a Deluxe Ocean Front room, we had a spectacular view of the ocean right outside our window. We were on the ground floor, and had a little patio out there.

FOOD: Food was awesome, great variety, and plenty to go around. I especially liked the “made to order” omelets for breakfast. Staff was friendly, and always handy to fill my coffee, or get another napkin if needed. We loved the Italian restaurant so much, we had dinner there TWICE!

ROOM: as I said we had an oceanfront room, in building 1. It was clean, and housekeeping came in everyday and made sure it stayed that way.

NIGHTLIFE: Was not too busy, it was in Nov. and the kids are in school, but they did the best they could, there was a fashion show, there was “movie night” and there was a beach front dinner at the Jamaican restaurant…

GROUNDS: The beach is a little shallow and is NOT by any means as nice as the beaches in Punta Cana or Mexico, but the sunset makes up for it. I am a beach person and LOVE the beach and ocean..but I could deal with the small amount of sand for the beautiful Jamaican sunset!

They have a great little Market, as well as a gift shop.

The one thing I didn’t like was the fact that refrigerators don’t come with the room, u have to request one. We did and got one right away, but most resorts give you that luxury, that we didn’t realize WAS a luxury, until we didn’t have one.

Would I return? YES, IN FACT I HAVE A WEEK PLANNED THERE THIS SEPT. AND MY FIANCE AND I ARE BEING MARRIED ON THE GAZEBO OVERLOOKING THE WATER , NEAR THE JAMACIAN RESTAURANT, IF U ARE GOING TO BE THERE THIS WEEK, COME SHARE IN OUR HAPPINESS!! The actual date of the ceremony is Sept 17th 4pm.

NO PROBLEM!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"My perfect holiday"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Natalie  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Mar, 2009
130 people found this review helpful

Arrival
not far from our complex 15 minutes lovely arrival very helpful indeed

Rooms
loved my room how any one can say bad about this holiday beats me its a very nice an clean we had our rooms cleaned daily always clean towels every day perfect

Restaurants and Bars
well i have to say the food is out of this world i enjoyed every thing abou the food umm

Beach/Pools/Grounds
beautiful grounds lovely pools adult pool great thas where i spent most of my time loved them

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
i went to swim with the dolphines amazing went to dunns river falls twice an also went on cool runnings boat trip all of them was amazing im in love with this holiday.

Other Comments
When i booked this holiday i came home an looked at these reviews and they put me of goin i was goin to cancel the holiday oh my god im just so glad i never it was amazing honest the best holiday ive been on i been mexico didnt think nothin of tha but this holiday this hotel was mind blowing i went in july 2oo8 i have now booked my wedding im goin back to the same hotel holidayinnsunspree so wen u see them sayin on here dont go to this place please take no notice wot so ever it was my perfect holiday and i no its gunna be my perfect wedding the best place i have ever been.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Falling apart hotel, definetly not a 3 star."

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Linda  on Jun 1, 2009  >  15 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2009
163 people found this review helpful


After recommendations from friends I was very disappointed. The room was mouldy, the pillows were lumpy, the floors had snails walking around. The bathroom was old with cigarette burns, almost slipped in the tub as it was so slimey. The furniture was falling apart. The dining area was full of flies, the assortments of foods were limited, maybe because it was the end of a long holiday weekend. For the price of more than US$200 it was not worth it. I would not go as far up the scale to rate Holiday Inn Sunspree Montego Bay a 3 star.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good value for what we paid"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lee and Mike  on Jul 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2009
151 people found this review helpful

Arrival: July 11-18, 2009

This is a good choice for the budget traveler who does not expect a 5 star resort from a 3 star with 3 star pricing. Our criteria are a clean room with clean linens, good food and friendly staff and the Sunspree met all of these. The hotel is older and is under new ownership and renovations are underway. We stayed in Block #6 (5, 6, and 7 have been renovated or are in the process). It was close to the adult only pool and the quieter section of the beach. Blocks 1-4 are closer to the activities pool, restaurants, etc. Our room was nicely redecorated, but the bathroom was worn and in need of some attention. However, the room was cleaned daily and fresh towels were always provided (even washcloths which are sometimes hard to find in the Caribbean). Shampoo, lotion and soap were provided and replaced as necessary. There was also an iron and ironing board, coffee maker, clock radio and flat screen TV; nice touches for a 3 star hotel.

We enjoyed the variety of Jamaican foods offered at the main buffet restaurant, but if you are not the adventurous type, there was always pasta, pizza, etc at the buffet and lots of other choices (hot dogs, burgers, fries, nachos, etc) at the poolside and oceanfront snack bars. We found the food to be very good and had good service from the staff. There was good jerk chicken, pork, fish, etc available at various times in the main buffet and daily at the Just Kiddn hut across from the watersports booth. We ate once at the Jamaican a la carte and enjoyed the food and service there. The only complaints were the blaring Michael Bolton music played there and the dribbling of basketballs on the adjacent court during dinner. If you are eating here, ask for an oceanfront table to avoid the basketball court. We did not have the opportunity to try the two other a la cartes (Italian and International) because they were booked for the nights that we were interested in.

We had a couples massage on the beach at sunset which was very relaxing. We also had a pedicure and reflexology treatment which were both nice, although a little costly compared to North American prices.
We did not do any day trips while we were there, but there is a tour desk at the hotel providing a variety of options.

The only disappointment to us at this resort was the lack of good snorkeling available off shore. There were a few fish, but for the experienced snorkeler, it was not exciting. There is a reef close to shore, but we were advised that we were not to swim there because of the danger of injury. They did have snorkeling trips available for $35 US each for 1 hour, but they went out to the same reef we could have swam to !!!

We felt that we got good value for what we paid and would return to this resort again on a sell-off. If you go with realistic expectations and can overlook the “bumps and bruises” of the resort, this is a good choice, in our opinion, for a budget vacation

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"MARRIED ON THE RESORT!"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Joanne  on Jan 20, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2009 | Leisure | With Group
188 people found this review helpful

This was my 2nd time in a year to visit this resort. I loved it the first when I came with my daughter, then came back a few months later with a group for MY WEDDING! My husband and I were married in the Gazebo overlooking the beautiful Carribbean! Julia, the wedding Coordinator was GREAT! She ensured that we had a beautiful wedding, and reception. The hotel manager was excellent when we had an issue with one minor issure with the air conditioning, he moved up to a Bridal Suite with a Hot tub, Oceanfront! It was a beautiful room!

Your Arrival:
As we arrived onto the property, our luggage was placed in the lobby and we were shown over to the check in desk. We are priorty club members, but the priority window was closed, but we still had a speedy check in. While waiting to be served, a lovely woman from the bar brought us over refreshing drinks.

Rooms:
As I mentioned above, we had an issue with the Air, so we were upgraded to a beautiful OceanFront Bridal Suite!

Restaurants and Bars:
Where to begin? every place is great! Sorrentos was awesome, jamacian restaurant was fab. Sorrentos was closed the day of our wedding, but the chef came in and some staff and cooked us a private dinner/reception for our group. It was beautiful...champagne, the flowers, the wedding, the recpetion...all were FREE if u booked a deluxe room, which we had. The cake...was awesome,....we ordered marble cake, and when we cut it, the inside was the color of the Jamaican flag....awesome!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Loved the beach and the pool!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Plenty of activiites to keep everyone busy. We took a catamaran sunset cruise off the resort, it was beautiful! Snorkeling on the resort around the island was great, take some bread with you from the buffet..the fish swim right up to you!

Other Comments:
Loved this place both times I was here. Made some great friends, and went with some great friends. We are planning on returing this Sept. and meeting up with ppl we met there last Sept and we are coming with friends who joined us last year! I cant say enough great things about this resort!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not very good"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Becky  on Jun 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
208 people found this review helpful

We asked for a poolview room and we were placed in a room that was overlooking a garbage. The pools looked like they had been cleaned once a week. The pool was only 3 ft deep. The beach was terrible, dirty and shallow. The shuttles were never on time so we had to spend 200 on cab fare the whole trip. The staff was terribly rude, except for the odd worker. The gift store was expensive. Not worth your money, go to a different resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This place is a rip off!!!"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rebecca  on May 27, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
193 people found this review helpful

Cheap, terrible food, rude staff, no manners, dirty, over-crowded

Your Arrival:
Had to wait 3 hours to check-in. Front desk said we could check in as soon as our room was clean. We checked with them every 30 minutes to see if our room was ready. Magically everyone's rooms were all cleaned at exactly 3pm.

Rooms:
Floors were dirty

Restaurants and Bars:
Only 1 air conditioned restaurant on site. The food in every restaurant was very cheap quality and not good at all.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Adult pool was only 3 1/2 feet deep (ridiculous!).

Other Comments:
Do not go here! Very cheap, you do not get your money's worth. We considered paying $400 to leave early after just 2 days.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A great time at the Sunspree resort."

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  mrsgambitt  on Jan 28, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
204 people found this review helpful

Got back yesterday, had a great time, weather was fantastic. This is a nice resort, we had no complaints at all. Would say it is a 4, but that is just my opinion. The food was good, as were the drinks. If you drink whiskey, ask for CC otherwise you will get bourbon. I discovered a new fav - rum cream, either straight up, on the rocks, or mixed with milk, all good. There are daily activities at the pool, trivia, bingo, beer drinking etc... We ate at the Italian ala carte twice and it was good. You have 3 a week, which you book a day in advance, but you can eat at the same one all 3 times. We only ate at the italian, because the I don't like seafood and the other choice was paella (spanish), but we heard it was no good. The Bare Foot grill is open daily from 12-5 and nightly from 10-1, offering hotdogs, hamburgers, fish and chips and grilled cheese. You can get nachos, jerk chicken, ice cream at the kiddie corner daily as well.
Our room was clean with 2 3/4 size beds and a 42" flat panel tv. The in room safe worked very well, you program your own code, so no worries there.
Pool was great for kids and the beach, with the manmade island was great. Apparently the snorkling at the island was really good, my young lad saw a lion fish out there!! Paddle boats and hobie cats are included in the all inclusive.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great for Kids!"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  kirsten  on Mar 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
175 people found this review helpful

We went with four kids in total, 5, 4, and two 1 year olds. There were so many activities to keep everyone busy throughout the trip. The two older ones asked daily to go to the kids club where they made tye-dye shirts and painted shorts, did treasure hunts and could just relax out of the sun for a bit. While we did drop the twins off occasionally they weren't quite as happy to go. It's also open until 9pm so you could squeeze a dinner in if you wanted. The buffet selection wasn't huge but there was always something for everyone and although they only had a couple fruit choices daily it was always delicious. We did the Jamaican restaurant which had great food but they worked on Jamaican time...not the best with the kids. The beaches were great for this age group as the water was shallow. The sand was grainy is some areas but perfect in others; the beach area is sort of separated into several sections. You could see fish without snorkeling too. The pool had a gradual incline and doesn't get too deep; again perfect for the young ones. This resort is geared towards the kids so if thats not what you're looking for go somewhere else, if you want you kids to be happy this is a great resort. We found all the staff to be great, if you asked for something you got it!
Across the street are some vendors where you can barter for good deals.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube