Holiday Inn Sunspree Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Montego Bay > Montego Bay Hotel Index > Holiday Inn Sunspree reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Montego Bay Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sandals Montego Bay

4.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 10, 2011

Royal Decameron Montego Beach

4.2 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 26, 2012

Breezes Montego Bay

4.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 1, 2009

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa

3.6 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 10, 2012

Breezes (formerly Starfish) Trelawny Resort

3.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 16, 2012

Holiday Inn Sunspree  

PO Box 480, Montego Bay, Jamaica

"A fun return to the Holiday Inn Sunspree!"
Posted by: Bryan  on Mar 2, 2014
see all reviews

Holiday Inn Sunspree Reviews
Holiday Inn Sunspree Pictures and Information
Holiday Inn Sunspree Montego Bay Jamaica

#1
of 34 Hotels in Montego Bay

User rating 3.1

Based on 28 reviews

Holiday Inn Sunspree Information


When comparing Jamaica hotels, consider the All-Inclusive Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Hotel-Montego Bay Jamaica.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Holiday Inn Sunspree Reviews

Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 3.1 of 5 28 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  12
Average
  4
Poor
  3
Terrible
  6
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (23)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (8)
With friend (2)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (12)
Solo
11 - 20 of 28

"Great vacation spot!"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Judith  on Nov 20, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
176 people found this review helpful

My husband and I both enjoyed this hotel.It was our first trip tp Jamaica and the staff was very friendly and attentive.The beach area had quiet places but restrooms and activities were close by. The pool area had activities if you were so inclined with music and presentations at night. The food was plentiful and varied. Two of the specialty restaurants were good- Paella needs some work but a relaxing spot. Bevarine at the Barefoot Bar is a fabulous bar tender!A great family resort but couple friendly also.Our tour of Montego Bay was fun with a great bus driver Omar. We would definitely return.

Room Number:
1417

Room Block:
Building 1

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The worst resort I Ever Stayed At"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Charlene  on Sep 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
146 people found this review helpful

I had numerous problems beginning with the airport where I had some things stolen. Checkin took 25 mins and I wasn't given a rum punch on arrival. On the the 3d day, the water was turned off for most of that day. The food served was the same every day and it was terrible. I'm a smoker and requested an ashtray to smoke on my patio and it didn't arrive until Thu. even after asking 4 different people. I was told to fill a glass with water and use it. Disgusting! The beach is dirty, lots of bugs everywhere, the pools for adults and children were separated much too far apart, most of the entertainment was amature at best, the shops are expensive and the tour operators were rude and lied to me about exactly was included on excursions. The kids I saw were bored as all they had to do was either swim or play pool. I could go on but there are far too many issues with this resort. The biggest issue was that I was actually shoved by a baggage porter when I asked him why my luggage wasn't tagged with a claim check when I was leaving for home. I'll be taking issue with the holiday inn owners this week. I must say though, that the bartenders at the outside bar were fabulous and very polite and a few of the waitresses in the buffet restaurant. I won't ever go back to this resort.
Bob, who ever you are? You do get what you pay for but this is totally unacceptable behaviour for any service staff, anywhere in the world and they should advertise with a little more honesty than boasting because they don't have anything to boast about. Buyer beware and people, be warned.

Room Number:
1128

Room Block:
1

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrible"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Heather  on Sep 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
159 people found this review helpful

I along with my husband and teenage boys stayed for a vacation and were extremely disappointed. There was little for them to do as there was nowhere they could hang out except with they younger kids. The food was little better than mediocre. Not alot of variety. Some staff were very pleasant but most seemed like they were put out at having to serve you. Although Jerome,Odette,Sinaid (not sure of spelling but bartender in training)were great. Cockroaches at outside barefoot bar where evening snacks were cooked and served, Needless to say we didn;t eat there. Jerk food at hut was very good though. Check in service was very slow. Have been to Jamaica many times and tgis was the worst Had enough after 2 days

Rooms:
Had 2 rooms

Restaurants and Bars:
Adult pool bar was nice but if you have teenagers with you they are not allowed near this area. So if they need to speak with you you are out of luck as not even for 2 minutes can they near this area. Restaurants were not very good. Sea breeze was nice but other too slow and food not worth the wait.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beaches nice

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
On resort boring. Had to go off rersort for any fun

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

" Terrible experience in Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay!"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mett  on Aug 8, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
142 people found this review helpful

Finally got out of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay! It was horrible experience there in my entire life. I am well traveler, have been traveling so many countries. Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay is the worst resort ever! The food options are very limited, repeat the same every day. The beach is dirty, smell bad, walk on the beach is not on the sand, it is on the mud! No way you can swim there. The fly are all over of the places, all day long. No drink water services at hotel room, and toilet flush system is broken, hot water at shower needs 30 minutes at least to be up. It is absolutely nightmare for us to be there!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"If you want cheap and unclean rooms with rude staff this is the place to go"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Denise  on Jul 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Business | Family and Kids
129 people found this review helpful

85% of the staff is rude, I have never seen such a high percentage of unfriendly people working in a resort. I blame management for allowing that to happen. I wished I would have read more reviews before I booked my trip. The very first day I used the restroom in the Lobby you could smell urine before you hit the door. After waiting an hour for my room I couldn't believe what I walked into a DUMP the room wasn't clean it smelled like mildew. I brought this to the attention of front desk the young man couldn't figure out why I was complaining, terrible customer service. I needed first aid due to bug mites, I went to information desk & was told they couldn't assist, the following day my husband found a Nurses Station on site the employee was being nasty and lying, I brought this to the attention of Mgmt. By this time I was pissed off, my brush came up missing I had staff assist in helping me fine it I believe the cleaning dept took it from room.

Room Number:
7127

Arrival:
July 07, 2011

Rooms:
Smelled like old mildew, the room looked worse than rooms in the ghetto were they charge $25. a night. There was a whole in the wall I had to stuff toilet paper so that bugs would come in. Bugs from the outside was coming in at nite underneath the front door.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurant food wasn't great, the jerk chicken and fish prepared out doors was better.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools only go up to 3 feet, the only thing you can do in 3 feet of water is sit.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Nite entertainment wasn't bad

Other Comments:
Check other web sites reviews the bad reviews or correct.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing Jerk Chicken!"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Michelle  on May 30, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
139 people found this review helpful

Surprised my husband and took him to Jamaica to the Holiday Inn Sunspree for his Birthday. We had a wonderful time, spent most of our time at the Jerk Hut and the boys Lenroy & Alkhon were so amazing! The Jerk Chicken was the most fab food on the entire resort. Thank you for a great memory!

Arrival:
Peice of cake, well with the exception of the airport, that was a bit long.

Rooms:
Very nice room, great air quality and clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
Jerk Hut was the absolute BEST.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beautiful, just not a great walking beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Jerk Hut again by far was our best activity ;-)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A Great Time at the sunspree"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bob  on Apr 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
178 people found this review helpful

I have to laugh when I read these reviews because I have figured out that it is all about expectations. It’s funny that people shop for the absolute best deal and then complain that they are not getting the high class product. The fact is that you get a lot for your money at the holiday inn sun spree in Montego Bay. My wife and I flew from Pittsburgh roundtrip and spent Mon-Thur nights at this all-inclusive resort for $1604.00. Since Airfare is roughly $700 of the cost, we paid a little more than $100 per night each for the hotel. The grounds were absolutely beautiful and fairly well kept. The rooms were clean and we had no issues. There were 5 restaurants and 5 bars and we rarely waiting more than a few minutes for any kind of services. The staff was very friendly and helpful but not really in a hurry. We were greeted with a rum punch and checked in – in about 5 minutes.
There were some annoying things but nothing to get overly excited about. We arrived on Monday around 3:00 pm and the policy is that you have to make reservations for the nicer restaurants one day in advance. The restaurants were never very busy and this policy must be a way to reduce the number going to the fancy restaurants but we made reservations and went early a few times and were seated right away. The Sorrento had the best food; the sea breeze and Paella (sp?) were ok. There is also a policy that you can only eat once per week at the fancy restaurants. They don’t advertise this in there “all inclusive” advertising but it’s not really a big deal. There is plenty of food and the daily buffet has something for everyone. There is a Hut Bar that serves only a Jerk Chicken plate which is a great snack or meal. Get there before 6:00 pm also. There is also a Just Kidding Around snack hut that has fountain drink, juice, ice cream (soft serve cones), nachos and hotdogs – Again, closes at 6pm. Right by the main pool is the Barefoot Grill and they have hamburgers and fries and close at 6pm but then reopens at 10:00 pm until 1:00 am. There is nothing available from 1:00 am until 7:00 am when the breakfast buffet opens. On Monday evening they had a beach party buffet on the East beach and it was good food and a fun time. There is a coffee pot in the room but the coffee is different than American coffee. So if your expectation is to have the same coffee you have at home, you should bring some with you. The food theme here is very similar to a cruise ship. The fancy restaurants are a little better food but over all there is plenty of food and the quality is a little better than your average cruise ship and as long as you get your fill between 7:00 am and 1:00 am you should never be hungry.

Room Number:
2321

Room Block:
Building 2

Arrival:
The bars were fine. You can sit in the adult pool on a stool in the water and get served. You can ask the bartenders for a drink list and they have a list of 20 plus drinks that they will make for you. There are frozen drink machines at most of the bars and frozen drinks are plentiful. The cups are plastic and little but you can buy a big cup or bring one with you – the bartenders will fill anything. They also have an “over proof rum” Which is something like 68% alcohol. Ask for that if you are a serious drinker, if not you can drink a long time and not get drunk. They have lots of different alcohol but it seemed to be lower proof but I’m not really a liquor drinker so not a lot of experience here. Which brings me to the beer. ONLY Red Stripe. You can buy Heineken and a few other beers in the gift shop but no Bud-Light or Bud. We would have gladly paid $7.00 a beer for Bud-Light but it was not available. We even went to 7 bars on the hip strip and were able to only find Bud at one but no bud-light and Miller light at one. Not even available at Margaretville. The selection of beer is very poor. The Sun spree did not even offer Red Stripe Light. The poor selection of beer and the fact that you could not even buy cold bud-light by the bottle was the most annoying aspect of this all inclusive. Again, very little waiting to be served but no one was ever in a hurry. If ten people were at the bar or you were the only one in line it usually only took a few minutes to get a drink. The Port Royal bar was very nice – Served drinks in real glasses, not plastic ones and was a nice quiet fancier setting.

Rooms:
They activities on the main stage were of cruise ship quality. We saw a few good shows, nothing spectacular. We did the pool tournament. There was bingo – same old stuff. This is a family resort so we did see kids around. Nothing too bad – but we are grandparents so if you don’t want kids around this is not the resort for you.
I highly recommend the Island Routes Tour Company. Included in our $1604 fee was a free Catamaran Cruise and it was free. We also reserved the horseback riding trip through Island Routes and both trips were great and met all expectations. The bus picked us up right on time and we went to the Sandals Resort to get on a beautiful catamaran. It was a nice calm day and the staff was great. They were working for tips and bringing us drinks. A very nice trip. The horseback riding was also wonderful. For non-horse riders it was plenty long. The driver picked us up and then went to several other hotels before we made the 45 minute ride to the western part of the island. A nice site seeing tour of the island. Rented a locker for $5.00 and paid $3.00 for a bottle of water and only $2.00 for a bottle of pop. The Chick patty thing was only $2.00 and very good. The horseback ride itself was nothing special – very well trained horses and like any other ride in the woods – Did see a marijuana plant, banana tree and some old buildings. The best part of the trip was the horse swim at the end of the trip. Our horses never had their feet off of the ground but were covered with water to their necks. This happened at the end of the trip with different horses and different saddles but we spent about 10 minutes in the water and it was a blast. We also took a trip into town to the hip strip. We went during the day and had an enjoyable afternoon doing some bar hopping. The best deal was happy hour at the Bob Sled Café – Two beers for $3.25 and a chicken jerk pizza $18.00. Happy Hour was 4:00 pm until 10:00 pm.

Restaurants and Bars:
Two warnings – We did not rent a car but might reconsider had I known the price of the taxis. The airport is about 7 miles from the sun spree and the price one way is $30.00. It’s a racket too – because could not really negotiate a lower price. I was able to negotiate a little tour of the hip stripe along with the ride there. Our same driver stopped at a few places with us and then later came back to pick us up.
The second warning is that the Jamaican Vendors are very aggressive. There is a large market right across the street from the Sun spree. You can walk there a shorter distance than places inside the resort depending on where your room is at. They are in your face sales people. They give you a price that is at least double of what they will take and then will negotiate the price. If you want to pay full price you can shop at the sun spree gift shop with no hassle. If you want a bargain – ask for the best price then go to two more place and ask for their best price and then offer one dollar less. Or you can express an interest in something and the vendor will keep lowering the price until you buy or leave. Have fun with it but don’t stress over a few dollars. It’s like buying Girl Scout cookies – How many of us have paid $5.00 for a $1.00 box of cookies. Don’t take anything from the vendors you think is free because they will expect paid – This includes a friendship bracelet or a couple braids in your hair. You think they are putting a few in so you will maybe buy more – They aggressively tell you that you need to pay for these things they are “giving” you.
Anyway, just wanted to return the favor for those looking for information. Feel free to email me at bobpainter73222@gmail.com if you have specific questions. I was in Jamaica in April 2011.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good value for the money"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sandra  on Mar 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
172 people found this review helpful

The Negatives....

-kids' club was very boring.....not much to do. We thought they would take them snorkeling, paddle boating, etc....but they did crafts and watched movies - I don't understand why the show the movies on a small t.v. when they could easily use a large inflatable screen.

-mini-golf course was disgusting. not maintained and it even had a fountain of old, dirty standing water...Gross!

-Our building (5) was obviously missed during the "complete renovation" as there were cracked tiles in the hallway and they looked very old...some even lifted up as you walked.

-they were slow to replace anything they ran out of...diet coke and ice for example were rarely refilled.

-Kiddie pool was gone! a few sprouts of water shooting up was there in it's place

-the burgers and hot dogs were spicy....I still have heartburn.....

The Positives

-the staff - friendly and courteous

-the room was nice - not fancy- but still nice...we even had a view of the water as did most of the other rooms

-good value for the money....

Any longer than a week would have been too much

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great for Kids!"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  kirsten  on Mar 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
175 people found this review helpful

We went with four kids in total, 5, 4, and two 1 year olds. There were so many activities to keep everyone busy throughout the trip. The two older ones asked daily to go to the kids club where they made tye-dye shirts and painted shorts, did treasure hunts and could just relax out of the sun for a bit. While we did drop the twins off occasionally they weren't quite as happy to go. It's also open until 9pm so you could squeeze a dinner in if you wanted. The buffet selection wasn't huge but there was always something for everyone and although they only had a couple fruit choices daily it was always delicious. We did the Jamaican restaurant which had great food but they worked on Jamaican time...not the best with the kids. The beaches were great for this age group as the water was shallow. The sand was grainy is some areas but perfect in others; the beach area is sort of separated into several sections. You could see fish without snorkeling too. The pool had a gradual incline and doesn't get too deep; again perfect for the young ones. This resort is geared towards the kids so if thats not what you're looking for go somewhere else, if you want you kids to be happy this is a great resort. We found all the staff to be great, if you asked for something you got it!
Across the street are some vendors where you can barter for good deals.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very Disappointed"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jan  on Mar 1, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
195 people found this review helpful

I went to the Holiday Inn because of the kids club and they were one of the few hotels that took a child under 2. I would not leave my daughter there as they had nothing for her to due but try and stick her in front of a television and the staff just didn't seem to care they would let them cry. I think I'm not the only one who thought this as there were tons of children in the resort and very few at the kids club and rarely any under 2. Not the vacation I wanted and the staff with a few exceptions were very rude, I couldn't get a coffee at breakfast if my life depended on it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube