Sandals Whitehouse Spa and Beach Resort Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Jamaica Hotel Index > Sandals Whitehouse Spa and Beach Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Sandals Whitehouse Spa and Beach Resort  

Westmoreland | Savanna La Mar, Whitehouse, Jamaica

"The most AMAZING honeymoon/vacation of my dreams"
Posted by: Tari  on Sep 2, 2012
see all reviews

Sandals Whitehouse Spa and Beach Resort Reviews
Sandals Whitehouse Spa and Beach Resort Pictures and Information
Sandals Whitehouse Spa and Beach Resort Whitehouse Jamaica

#1
of 1 Hotels in Whitehouse

User rating 3.9

Based on 8 reviews

Sandals Whitehouse Spa and Beach Resort Information


With seven gourmet restaurants to choose from, you may dine in a different corner of the globe each night without leaving the resort. From spicy West Indian dishes to classic Italian favorites, your taste for the world's best dining is fulfilled at the resort in ways that are sure to delight and surprise you.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Sandals Whitehouse Spa and Beach Resort Reviews

Sandals Whitehouse Spa and Beach Resort Review: 3.9 of 5 8 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  0
Average
  1
Poor
  1
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (6)
Wedding (2)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 8 of 8

"The most AMAZING honeymoon/vacation of my dreams"

Sandals Whitehouse Spa and Beach Resort
User Rating:  Sandals Whitehouse Spa and Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tari  on Sep 2, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
160 people found this review helpful

We were at the Sandals Whitehouse Resort from August 13-20, 2012. Our first room was a concierge room and after we had been in the room for about 40 minutes we got a call from the manager telling us that we needed to come to his office. When we got there Carl talked to us for about 20 minutes and then asked if we would like an upgrade on our room. I had a puzzled look and then said upgrade? Well, we got put in a Butler room and it was AMAZING!!! Our butlers Chris and Ansiley along with Shree(an intern), made our honeymoon an unforgettable trip. They were constantly surprising us with desserts, snack foods, and turning our room into an oasis. The bartenders along with restaurant staff were great. The food was good but they could have had more true european fare. We will definately be going back even if we don't get the butler room upgrade.

Room Number:
2304

Room Block:
Dutch

Arrival:
We arrived on Monday, August 13th and the staff at the Sandals Resort's truly make you feel special.

Rooms:
Our room was awesome.

Restaurants and Bars:
We loved Jasmines and the outside bar area.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The hole complex is breath-taking. The beach area is beautiful and the pools are really clean.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There are a lot of activities for couples to do if you want and then again you can just lounge around if that is what you prefer to do as a couple

Other Comments:
This was the a time for me and my husband to unwind and enjoy our time together and this resort was exactly what the doctor ordered.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not has great as last year"

Sandals Whitehouse Spa and Beach Resort
User Rating:  Sandals Whitehouse Spa and Beach Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gilles  on Apr 27, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Wedding | Family and Kids
187 people found this review helpful

In 2011 my daughter go married.It was the best vacation ever. We stayed for 7 days. My son like it so much that he decided to get married at the resort.
This year (2012) we stayed for 10 days. Both times in the French Village.

Room Number:
3401

Room Block:
French

Arrival:
The people working didn't seem to be as joyful as last year.
Our reservation name was wrong. My spouse was correct, however, it was not my name it was someone else. Had to go back to registration office to get it fix.

Rooms:
I call for my AC to be fix, a dehumidificateur was brought to the room, it help, however, the AC was not better. I was taking my shower at 1600hrs everynight before supper and the water pressure was very poor, one night no water was coming out for a short time.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was excellent as always.
The dress code at Jasmine was not enforced one night.People with short and sandals.
At Elenore it was enforced and appreciated.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The French Village pool was not very clean it was full of debris. The organized sport (volleyball) was not organize half the time. The moderator was not motivated like last year, last year names and room number were taken, this year only at times.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Scuba excellent service.
SPA to get ready for wedding: my spouse had to rush for the ceremony.
Beach BBQ excellent.
Beach party excellent.
Le cabaret excellent.
Appreciation dinner: Our name was not on the list.

Other Comments:
I'm comparing to last year (2011) it was a perfect vacation. Like they say in Jamaica No Problem.(5 stars)
This year (2012) lot more things went wrong. This is the reason I say 3 stars.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent"

Sandals Whitehouse Spa and Beach Resort
User Rating:  Sandals Whitehouse Spa and Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Robert  on Feb 6, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
218 people found this review helpful

Stay was awesome, staff was exceptional--except for one bartender at the neptune's bar---room was great--butler and room service was excellant-food was alright not the greatest--but soaked up all the alcohol--grounds were clean--would recommend staying here---this was my first time at any resort.

Room Number:
1126

Room Block:
italian

Arrival:
arrived in mercedes-with personal driver

Rooms:
excellent--clean and well stocked

Restaurants and Bars:
some had excellent food--some had so-so and some sucked

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach was great and grounds were clean

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
horseback riding was off the grounds---some of the horses were emanciated--felt bad for them---didn't really try any other activity

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This our home away from home"

Sandals Whitehouse Spa and Beach Resort
User Rating:  Sandals Whitehouse Spa and Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Monique  on Jan 29, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
198 people found this review helpful

We were at sandals whitehouse in october for my husbands birthday....this was our 5th time at whitehouse...we are returning there in april for my birthday...the staff is super duper friendly,service is fantastic and the food is out of this world...Jamaicans will bemd over backwords for you.....very loving n very intelligent people....what amazes me is that they never forget a face or a name....our experience has always been the best..the beach is out of this world, the grounds are spotless n so are the rooms....I would recommend whitehouse to anyone..the things is you can't make everyone happy but good attitude n outlook on things gives you an fantastic holiday n memories at sandals whitehouse...

Room Block:
Italian

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disappointing experience"

Sandals Whitehouse Spa and Beach Resort
User Rating:  Sandals Whitehouse Spa and Beach Resort Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  John  on Nov 25, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
230 people found this review helpful

Charming resort. Grounds well kept. Great choice of restaurants and bars. Everything looks wonderful on the surface.
Problems start when you start having a closer look. Untrained staff, long waiting times to the restaurants, orders that never arrive, rooms that need refreshing (water leaking from the ceiling, rugs you are afraid to step on, water barely sprinkling from the shower, etc...)
There were robes missing in our room, and just one towel when we arrived although we opted for penthouse honeymoon suite with butler service. Takes a day to sort everything out, and then the stay is enjoyable, providing you use your butler for all services, instead of trying to venture on your own. When you do, expect frustration and disappointment. I guess they think you being on vacations have time for waiting in lines and slow service is no problem.
Then, there is spa. We prepaid our services, and that was a mistake. No point here to get into details, but we just walked out before our massages started.
The beach looks great, but again, you have to step into sea weed or "slimy" sand before water covers your chest. The best part of the beach is actually to the west beyond resorts' border. Strange, but true.
Overall, you can probably spend your money better somewhere else.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Trip was wonderful till last night when we were accused of breaking the tv"

Sandals Whitehouse Spa and Beach Resort
User Rating:  Sandals Whitehouse Spa and Beach Resort Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  renee  on Aug 11, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2011 | Wedding | With Spouse/Partner
304 people found this review helpful

We went on our dream honeymoon and everything was wonderful. The food, service, etc. Our last evening was ruined after we had reported earlier in the week of our TV being broken. The last night we were told we had 1 hour to collect money and pay $350 or our ride to the airport would be going to the attorities. Both my wife and I were interrogated. we were told to call the states and even have money sent. We were told that we were liable for the tv even though they could not prove we broke it and even stated that it was very unlikely that the maid service could have done it.

Arrival:
may 14, 2011

Other Comments:
We sent letters after getting safely home and paying for the TV that we did not break. If you are a young couple and go out of the states even being a huge company as sandals you need to keep your guard up at all times

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Paradise"

Sandals Whitehouse Spa and Beach Resort
User Rating:  Sandals Whitehouse Spa and Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sue and Dave  on Mar 29, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
434 people found this review helpful

My husband and I had a fantastic stay at Whitehouse..

Your Arrival:
a bit of a mix up, we had to go for lunch because our room wasn't ready in time, and all the other guests were assigned to their room..was a bit frustrated, but what can you do..

Rooms:
rooms were nice, we stayed in the French Village, pool and oceanview, beautiful view..our room was nicer last year when we stayed at Sandals Royal Carribean in Montego Bay..but this one was very nice also..

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was great, my favorite was Elenor's surf and turf, very tasty..also our favorite was the Cafe de Paris..great pasteries, and our nightly Iris Coffee's..very friendly..excellent food all around..

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the grounds were paradise, very clean, and very beautiful, gorgeous property..the pools were also very clean..just absolutely breathtaking..

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
we went on the appleton rum tour, very nice outing, we got to see alot of Jamaica, and the beauty of the mountains..the only thing was the driving that scared me..but glad we went on that venture..

Other Comments:
We had a fantastic stay at Whitehouse, we would definately go back..too bad the only draw back is the 90 minute bus ride to get there..
this is our 2nd Sandals experience and we were not dissappointed..
Thank you for another memorable experience..the people in Jamaica are fantastic, and can't do enough for you..
The Crombie's Burlington, Canada

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The brightest gem in Sandals crown jewels"

Sandals Whitehouse Spa and Beach Resort
User Rating:  Sandals Whitehouse Spa and Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ivan  on Mar 21, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
438 people found this review helpful

My wife (29) and I (33) just spent the most relaxing and romantic week at Sandals Whitehouse from March 5th to 12th. I have been reading reviews here for so many months so I think I knew everything about this resort before we arrived. The positive reviews motivated me to go and the negative ones moderated my expectations but in the end they didnít need to be moderated as Sandals Whitehouse exceeded all of high hopes. Getting a room upgrade at check-in without asking for it probably helped.

We have stayed at other 5 star AI resorts in the Dominican Republic and the Riviera Maya but this was our favourite vacation yet. After 7 days we came home (unwillingly) feeling refreshed physically and reinvigorated romantically.

Everybody else will describe the rooms, food, pools, bars, beach, airport transfer etc so I wonít rehash everything they already have said. For me a great vacation is all about the experience and our experience was fantastic.

A major contributing factor to that experience was the staff who are so friendly, helpful and fun we found this great attitude rubbed off on the guests as well. This was the first resort we have ever visited where all the guests say hello to each other, chat openly and have fun in the bars, restaurants, pools and beach. This incredible atmosphere made us great every day, so much so that after only 3 days we booked our next vacation at Sandals Whitehouse next year.

One other noteworthy point (as Sandals virgins) is the included water sports. We are used to paying for lots of extras but with Sandals we went reef snorkelling and sailing in the Hobiecats almost every day. For medical reasons I was unable to take the opportunity to go scuba diving which was also included and that blew my mind.

For anybody going to Sandals Whitehouse these are my tips:
1. The aim of your vacation is to have fun and relax. Donít get caught up on silly little details as you will be the one that loses out.
2. Have fun with the Jamaican staff. Learn a few words or phrases in Jamaican patois. Just ask them and they will give you a few. You will have fun and the look of surprise on their faces when you use the phrases unexpectedly is priceless.
3. You know the old phrase ďno pain no gainĒ. When it comes to the airport transfer the pain is minor and brief but the gain is so well worth it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube