Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino Resort Reviews

Home page > Sint Maarten > Sint Maarten Hotel Index > Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Sint Maarten Hotels with Similar Ranking

The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 1, 2009

Royal Islander La Plage

1.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 18, 2011

Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino Resort  

1 Rhine Road, Maho Beach, St. Maarten

"Do Not Stay Here"
Posted by: Darlene on Nov 26, 2014
see all reviews

Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino Resort Reviews
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino Resort Pictures and Information
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino Resort Sint Maarten Sint Maarten

#1
of 13 Hotels in Sint Maarten

User rating 2.2

Based on 5 reviews

Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino Resort Information


Set on 10 acres of lush, beachfront property, Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino is a “destination within a destination” offering a variety of accommodations and a dazzling array of activities

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino Resort Reviews

Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino Resort Review: 2.2 of 5 5 reviews
Excellent
  1
Very good
  0
Average
  0
Poor
  3
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (3)
Wedding (1)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
With Spouse/Partner (1)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 6 of 5

"Do Not Stay Here"

Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino Resort
User Rating:  Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino Resort Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Darlene  on Nov 26, 2014  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
6 people found this review helpful

In my opinion this resort should never have been given 4 stars. It is a three at best! I should have known that all those positive reviews were too good to be true. This resort is quite small and quaint but very tired, run down and in need of repairs. This trip we decided on St. Maarten as it was one place that neither my spouse nor I had been and all the positive reviews of this resort we thought we couldn’t go wrong. Well we were. My husband and I have traveled a lot and stayed in very many different accommodations so we are not just judging this place by Canadian standards. I have stayed in some very bad motel rooms that were in better condition but didn’t call themselves 4 stars! The afternoon after check in, around 3pm, walking down the hallway to the elevator, there were poop footprints all along the hallway. I gather a little kid must have pooped himself and had it on their feet. You would expect that the cleaning staff would have cleaned that up right away, right? No that evening it was still there and also the next morning at 9:30 when we left the room. That to me was totally disgusting and certainly not what is acceptable practice in a good resort!
Now St. Maarten was great. The people outside the resort were wonderful. Very friendly and smiling all the time. We went to Skip Jack’s for supper one night. You have to try it! The food is fantastic and service superb!
Try St. Maarten but in my opinion I would stay clear of the Maho! For the little extra it would cost you stay at the RIU! If I’m spending good hard earned money for a 4 star resort, I expect a 4 star resort , room as well! Sunwing and Signature should be ashamed of themselves for labelling this resort as 4 stars. I might return to St. Maarten but never to the Sonesta Maho and I certainly will not recommend it to anyone! The whole Sonesta Maho resort should be downgraded to a 3 star!

Room Number:
637,864

Arrival:
The lobby is ok, worn and tired looking and not quite the atmosphere I would have expected. Certainly not as nice and inviting as Palladium, Iberostar or Riu resorts!

Rooms:
The rooms checking in weren't ready yet so we had to wait. We finally were allocated room 637 which is absolutely terrible. The shower head is coming off the wall, the water pressure is almost nil, the room is very run done in dire need of renovations and directly outside was the water treatment tank and garbage! The décor and furniture were very tired and worn just like the rest of the resort. We couldn’t enjoy the balcony at all due to the water tank and garbage! Very disappointing as I emailed Rollicia at reservations prior to coming to try and ensure a good room plus brought her gifts to sweeten the deal and I still ended up with one of the worst rooms ever! The front desk clerk, I think her name was Jessenia, was in no way helpful. We just kept getting told the same old story that they were booked and no other rooms available! I had also asked prior to coming if it was possible to get non-alcoholic beer in our room or on the resort and was emailed back that it was no problem they would ensure some was in our room. That never happened either! After calling constantly and only thanks to Rollicia, we finally got some non-alcoholic beer on Tuesday. Most people comment and say so how much time do you really spend in your room, well we spend quite a bit of time in our room! We really enjoy sitting on the balcony, looking at the view and reading which we could not do in room 637. On Tuesday we went to see Sansary, the Sunwing rep and he was able to get a different room. The new room was 864, it wasn’t a 4 star room, the bathtub caulking and shower curtain were covered in mold but at least the shower worked and we were a little further from the water tank and noise. The beds in both rooms were quite comfortable so that was a plus.

Restaurants and Bars:
There are three restaurants in the resort, the buffet, the point (suppose to be fine dining), and the grill. Food is very good, selection not bad so there was always something to eat. I found most of the staff very unfriendly and unsmiling unless you tipped them constantly. I took this to test. I went to the same woman at the pool bar and ordered a drink, no money in hand. Even though no one else was there, she took her sweet time getting around to serving me. Not once did she smile! The next day I tried again with money in hand, I got served right away and she smiled and spoke! Ok, next day tried again with no money and same service as first time. Discussed!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool is ok but there is only one and it is small, very old and in need of repairs. The tile/plastic lining on the bottom of the pool is all lifting up.
Ocean water is clear and a beautiful blue with white sandy beaches and the lush green foliage of the island is attractive.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Worst resort - stay somewhere else"

Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino Resort
User Rating:  Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino Resort Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tonique  on Aug 9, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2013 | Wedding | Family and Kids
104 people found this review helpful

I recently had my wedding at Sonesta Maho and I'm sad to say it was one of the worst experiences of my life.

The staff were incredibly rude and management could care less about guest complaints.

The bad:
- Many of our friend and family who stayed with us had to switch rooms multiple times because of plumbing and mold issues
- They served our food cold at our wedding
- We overheard the manager on site for our wedding telling her staff that we could wait for our food for no apparent reason which resulted in our food being served cold.
- The servers were rude to our guests and were also very argumentative.
- They didn't clean the room or set up we had our wedding reception in so we had to do it ourselves
- The linens were stained and the chair covers had visible holes

The Good:
- We actually visited the resort months before our wedding to check everything out and had a wonderful experience but everything went downhill after that.
- Sadly there is nothing good about that resort. Stay some where else.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet was uninspiring and repetitive.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is just a strip of sand and the water is rough.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
They had decent entertainers and would show current movies in the lobby but they had limited seating areas.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A complete disappointment"

Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino Resort
User Rating:  Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino Resort Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  nikita  on May 3, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
318 people found this review helpful

This is a hotel, and definitely not a resort. It is also not worth your money because:
-the staff are incredibly rude, especially the maids
-the buffet choices are repetitive and not at all tasty
-the restaurants were also of poor quality and service
-the entrance to the resort is ugly and unwelcoming
-the lobby is poorly decorated
-the rooms are not spacious
-the bathrooms need repairs (i.e. shower handles falling off)
-the beach is a small strip of sand
-the casino is a joke (1 room with some slot machines)
-only good thing is the walking distance to the shopping area

It's up to you if you want to stay at Great Bay, but I was there just last week and it was a memorable stay in the worst of ways. A total disappointment.

Room Number:
605

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The good and the bad of this resort....."

Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino Resort
User Rating:  Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino Resort Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Elaine  on Feb 7, 2011  >  5 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
328 people found this review helpful

We were at the Sonesta Maho Beach Resort and Casino from January 14 to the 28th, 2011. There were things that were good about the Resort, but some were very bad.

First, the good:
1. We were fortunate to be on the 9th floor which is a remodelled floor. We heard many complaints from anyone who was below the 6th floor. "Disgusting" was one description of the rooms.
2. Although the Resort had only one A la carte restaurant, the Resort offered three co-operating restaurants within a few minutes' walk and although the selection was limited to four items, we really liked two of them – Sopranos and the Charlovais, two of the ones off of the resort.
3. The Palms Grill served excellent food.
4. The buffet worried us at first because the ones we are used to are 10 times the size but the food was excellent so we were happy with that. On a negative note, there is not a smoking and non-smoking area.

Secondly, the bad:
1. The lounge/reception was not air conditioned and there was smoking in the enclosed area. With a casino and bar there, the cigarette/cigar smoke was horrible.
2. The lounge/reception bathroom was hot, smelly and flooded from time to time.
3. The room fridges were empty. You had to buy your own water at a grocery across the street.
4. There was no beach. The waves crashed up to the wall of the Resort.
5. Oddly, the entertainment was offered at the buffet at dinner time which is NOT when it should. We couldn't talk to each other because the entertainment was too loud. We would have preferred if it was in the lounge or another area so we could participate. They had karaoke, he was terrific but no one participated because they were eating.
6. We had an outside room and the runway which is immediately next to the Resort had planes that started taking off at 7 am and didn't stop until 11 pm. No quiet time anywhere, especially on the balcony with the planes. And the smell of burning rubber and fuel. Yuk.
7. Having a street side room we were also subject to loud music from the local clubs until midnight some days, and 2 am others.
8. Bring enough $1 US for tips because you cannot get anyone at the Resort to give you any change.

The weather was good though!!! We will not return.

Arrival:
5 minute drive from airport (hence the noise at the Resort) and check in was quick. Of course, I had emailed in advance to book three rooms together as we travel with three friends.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Clean and well kept.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"There is so much to see"

Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino Resort
User Rating:  Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Monica  on Aug 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2009
353 people found this review helpful

Arrival August 2009:
My husband and I have been to the Sonesta Maho every year for the last 3 years to celebrate our anniversary! The first year we went alone, last year we briought some friends along and again this year another set of friends. Not one of us have ever had a complaint!

The hotel staff are amazing-thank you to Messam in reservations, Sheryl, our favorite bartender, Erroll, Evangeline, etc. etc. The staff are amazing and we never had any difficulties.

The food is excellent-we enjoyed the buffet, Palm Grill, The Point and our other all-inclusive dinners at Soprano's and Le Charolais-we have always gone with Transat Holidays out of Toronto and these are included in the package.

There is so much to see and do in St. Maarten-we always go to Anguilla and have rented a car for the past two years. We were advised not to leave any valuables ever in the car, so we didn't and obviously did not have a problem. We have visted Baie Rouge, Marigot, Phillipsburgh, Grand Case, Orient Beach (the hotel included a complimantary trip to Orient every Wednesday) and find it quite easy to drive an manoever around the island.

We have made the usual donations to the Casino Royale across the street and have kept our favorite jewelers (Adil along the Maho strip) in business!

We loved every moment of our 3 vacations at the Maho! We just got back Friday night and we miss everyone at the Maho and St. Maarten badly!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I wouldn't go back to that hotel"

Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino Resort
User Rating:  Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino Resort Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marcel  on Jun 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2009
369 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 2009
My arrival was Ok. The person at the front desk (Mr. Elvis) was very nice.

Rooms:
The room was Ok. We really expected much more for what we were paying for. The problem was the towels. We used them and they never replaced the same quantity. We had to call the front desk to get them. On another topic, when we arrived we noticed one pillow was missing. I had to call them twice to get it. Only one soap we got. We also had to call them to get another soap (we had to do this everyday). The other problem was the minibar, which was empty at all ties. They never provided us with drinks or anything. They did provide us with a coffee maker, but the sugar was never replaced in the quantity we had the previous night.

Restaurants and Bars:
Pretty expensive. All of them. The service was ok, far from outstanding based on their prices. The buffett breakfast was $ 16.50 and was just that, buffett. You couldn't order anything else but what the buffet had. For $ 16.50 each ? C'mon !!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was pretty nice. The beach was very rocky and it wasn't that large either. Regarding the grounds, we had WI-FI only in the lobby. Neither in the rooms, nor the pool, nor the beach, etc. Besides, we needed a password to get connected. This password expired 3 days later and when we requested a new one they told us the person in charge (of doing that) was off on week ends.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
One day they scheduled a karaoke show. We went and found there was a wedding instead. They didn't even bother to let us know the karaoke had been cancelled. We took one tour to visit Marigot and Phillisburg. It was very well organized and lasted what they told us. The tour guy was very corteous and answered every question we asked.

Other Comments:
I wouldn't go back to that hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube