Azul Sensatori Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Mayan Riviera > Mayan Riviera Hotel Index > Azul Sensatori reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Mayan Riviera Hotels with Similar Ranking

Grand Palladium Royal Suites Yucatan

5.0 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 9, 2011

Excellence Riviera Cancun

5.0 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 5, 2012

Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 25, 2011

Iberostar Paraiso Lindo

4.6 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 2, 2011

Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach

3.7 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 20, 2014

Iberostar Paraiso Maya

3.7 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 23, 2013

Azul Sensatori  

Mayan Riviera Mexico

"Amazing Vacation."
Posted by: Patrick  on Apr 28, 2012
see all reviews

Azul Sensatori Reviews
Azul Sensatori Pictures and Information
Azul Sensatori Mayan Riviera Mexico

#13
of 74 Hotels in Mayan Riviera

User rating 4.9

Based on 8 reviews

Azul Sensatori Information


Azul Sensatori Hotel features never-before-seen suites that have a heated Jacuzzi for two in the lazy river off the terrace. There are also guaranteed family connecting suites, adults-only and premium sections, and honeymoon suites with wrap-around balconies.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Azul Sensatori Reviews

Azul Sensatori Review: 4.9 of 5 8 reviews
Excellent
  7
Very good
  1
Average
  0
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (7)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (3)
Solo
With friend
1 - 8 of 8

"Amazing Vacation."

Azul Sensatori
User Rating:  Azul Sensatori Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Patrick  on Apr 28, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
196 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
2123

Room Block:
Adults Only Swimup.

Arrival:
We got there safely, flight was early.
Greeted with a glass of champagne and a lot of big smiles.

Rooms:
Stayed in the adults only section, had a jacuzzi swim up suite and couldn't have been happier. The only draw back was sometimes the water took awhile to get warm. Housekeeping and turndown service were great, minibar restocked daily and the best part was having a pool right outside the back door. The adults only pool and bar were right outside the back door, nice and quiet beside the "le chic" restaurant. Seems there were some roudy people from a wedding party but we weren't disturbed at all.
All in all the nicest room we have stayed in and we have traveled south numerous times.

Restaurants and Bars:
Le chic was an experience, food was interesting but the whole effort involved in sitting for two and a half hours for all the courses was a little much. The Mexican, Caribbean and Italian restaurants were all great, probably the best overall food experience we have enjoyed down south.
The Spoon restaurant, where three buffet meals a day were served, was always open and always good had food, the restaurant staff was amazing, always ready to help.

Lots of bars throughout, the adults only was fun (and close by) the bar at the Caribbean restaurant overlooked the water, amazing at sunset.
All top shelf liquor, only local beer.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Our pool swim up was awesome, over all the pools were well kept and clean, lots of little area`s to hide away in.
The beach was very nice, white sand and blue water. Some seaweed in the mornings and snorkeling off the beach wasn`t really an option. They expect you to pay $3 US to take out the non-motorized water crafts, not a big deal but for what you pay seems a little stupid.
The grounds were truely beautiful, the staff never stopped working.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Had a quiet week, spent an aftenoon in Playa, $15 US per person, shopping has really become upscale the last few years!
I celebrated my birtyhday, we came to the room to find a complimentary bottle of Champagne on ice and a birthday card from Itzeel, the concierge....She was fantastic :)

Other Comments:
From arrival to departure we were amazed at the trearment we recieved, a beautiful resort with beautiful people, thank you Azul Sensatori.....to be continued.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic, Beautiful, and super Friendly Staff!!!!"

Azul Sensatori
User Rating:  Azul Sensatori Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Karen  on Mar 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
339 people found this review helpful

I loved this resort, the staff was simply top notch. The food and drinks were fabulous and enjoyed everything!!

Room Number:
3303

Arrival:
march 07/2011

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Something for Everyone"

Azul Sensatori
User Rating:  Azul Sensatori Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Elizabeth  on Oct 13, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
329 people found this review helpful

We wanted a last minute getaway somewhere hot with good food, good service and a good kids program. My husband and travelled with our sons who are 7 and 5. We found this resort lived up to our expectations and was a very good value. The hotel has and excellent program for children. At the same time if you are looking for an adult vacation there are three pools that are primarily for adults and areas in most of the restaurants with tables for two away from the tables they sit families and groups at.

Arrival:
The hotel was close to the airport. The bus ride was less than 20 minutes which was welcomed after the plan ride. The staff was very friendly when we arrived and had champagne for adults and smoothies for the kids. We arrived around 10 am in the morning but did not get our room until 3pm. We were prepared for this and had bathing suits ready in the carry on.

Rooms:
The rooms were great. We stayed in a Luxury Oceanview Jacuzzi room. The rooms with two beds had two Queens which is hard to find as most resorts have two double beds. The Rain shower, flat screen TV and clock radio with a docking station were all great features. I also found there was plently of storage in the room so we could unpack and put the suitcases away for the week. Most of the rooms above the first floor have an Ocean view which I also loved.

Restaurants and Bars:
There were lots of food choices. An a la cart menu in most restaurants even at the spoon that was set up primarily as a buffet. The childrens menu including all the standards was available in all restaurants so the kids always had choices. The a la cart exceptions are the Beach BBQ which is only open for lunch, Le Chique the adults only food experience set menu restaurant and the Tapaz restaurant which also has a nightly fixed menu but also has the childrens menu available. I really liked that there were no reservations needed with the exception of the Le Chique. Our favourite restuarant was the Italian restaurant Sienna followed by the Caribean Zavas.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The best thing about this resort is the size. From our room which was in the middle of the resort we could get to every spot on the resort within a minute or two. No need for a golf cart which many of the larger resorts required. This was one of our reasons we chose this resort and it was great. There are five pools a the resort. Children are encouraged to use only one of those pools but it is huge and has two shallow sections and a swim up bar. The kids also have a special area away from the other pools with a splash pad, wading pool and small waterslide. The beach itself is very nice with several chairs, umbrellas and beach palapas. If you wanted a good spot on the beach you do need to claim it early or go after lunch. The park on the beach was a hit with all of the kids at the resort. There is a large Covered open air area in the middle of the resort which has self serve coffee, tea, soft drinks and ice cream in the afternoon. It was a great spot to find some shade and curl up in a comfy chair in the afternoon especially if you don't like to be in the sun all day.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The entertainment team on the resort was excellent. Always had things going on and kept you in the loop but never applied to much pressure to participate. There were activities all day long and several options in the evenings. There was early entertainment a few nights during the week at 8:30 with chances for the kids to participate (talent night, mini disco, Africa show). As we were travelling with kids the programming for the children was important to us and was excellent. The indoor kids club was probably 2000 sq feet if not larger and included an bright gym area with a padded floor and climbing structures, an interactive gaming room (Wii), a theatre, a nap room with 4 beds, a large craft room, a Fischer Price room catering mostly to babies (although baby care cost extra)and a doll room. Our kids did not spend more than a couple of hours a day a the kids club but loved to go and always came back to us with fun crafts and stories of fun games they played. The kids club was also open in the evenings from 7:30 to 9:30 usually for a movie with popcorn and drinks. There was a theme for every day, a daily family activity at 4pm and play time in the morning for the under 4 crowd with a participating parent. For the adult activities I enjoyed the yoga, pilates and aqua aerobics while my husband participated in the tennis related activities and got to play against the onsite pro.

Other Comments:
This resort was not perfect but exceeded our expectations in most respects and we would definitely go back. All the staff worked very hard to make sure we had a great vacation and made a big difference in the overall experience

We chose this resort and would recommend it if the the following is important to you:
1) Great value for the vacation dollar
2) Excellent childrens (ages 4 to 12) program
3) Food and water safety ( I could not find review anywhere that mentioned tummy problems and was comforted to see a staff member using a laser thermometer on the yogurt at the breakfast bar at 8am.)
4) Food Quality and Childrens menu - I am not a big fan of buffet, like good food and liked kids menu resort wide so we could eat with them at the nicer restaurants
5) No need to commit to a la carte reservation times
6) Great staff that make the week enjoyable
7) Family friendly but not wall to wall kids
8) Good size (no need for a golf cart and easy to run back up to room)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"100% Recommended"

Azul Sensatori
User Rating:  Azul Sensatori Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Patricia  on Oct 11, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
353 people found this review helpful

Unbelievable bang for your buck! All staff are so curteous and helpful through out our entire stay. We went during March Break and experienced no caos what so ever. Ten thumbs up for the staff and management at the Sensatori Azul, very proffesional, promp, clean and pleasant no matter where you go on the premises, views are incredible, land scaping is beautiful through out, the grounds are so clean and well maintained, kitchens of restaurants unbelievably clean and competent, incredible food.......wow!

Arrival:
No waits for check-in, the Azul has taken the pain out of check-in, they greet you with champagne and hot cloths, check you right into your room and bring the luggage up later, the concierge was so helpful, I needed a ventalin inhaler due to the high humidity, the hotel concierge had a brand new athsma pump in my hand by half an hours time after I requested it! I forgot my high heels, the concierge found a lady on staff who hemmed all off my dress pants to suit my flat shoes within three hours of request, unbelievable service was experienced. Again Wow all the way!

Rooms:
CLEAN-CLEAN-CLEAN....wow, did I mention how clean this whole entire place is?
If your a clean freak like myself, this matters! Every public bathroom, kitchen, restaurant, lobby, courtyard, hall way and corridor and rooms are undeniably the cleanest I have ever encountered, our maid ensured our needs were met everyday by stopping in to see if we needed anything each evening, 2 people cleaned our room everyday for 2 hours!!! Did I tell you how clean they are? UNHEARD OF CLEANLINESS! I highly recommend this establishment to anybody who says clean counts!

Restaurants and Bars:
The food in deed is gourmet no matter where you go on this resort, even room service food delivers first class tastiness 24 hours a day! Great food, Great service with much friendliness and finess, the servers go well out of their way to ensure you have a great meal every time you enter their work place. Again 10 thumbs up for cleanliness and very little wait time for foods ordered off the menu, the buffets are incredible, talk about high quality all the way, the Azul has the food part mastered.....no question, this resort knows how to keep you coming back!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach area is large and private, pools surround the entire resort, they are everywhere and again clean..clean......clean! Great bar, beverage and food services on the beach too!
Swim up bars are plentiful and bar staff are outrageously entertaining!
Very fast bar services with plenty of fun and exotic drinks to try.
Sorry for the fact that there were no CORONA on the premises though.
Aside of that the Azul definetly has mastered the cocktail including very many bars on the resort with plenty of talented staff.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The resort staff helped us to plan our day trips and to know what we should bring with us. They escorted us to our tour buses as they arrived and took all the confusion out of which buses to get on and when to get on them, the staff made our day tripping absolutely painless and perfect. Thank-you Sensatori Azul staff again. We had a great time.

Other Comments:
I cannot express the value we experienced while at the Sensatori Azul, we have completely fallen in love with this resort and would recommend this resort anyday and anytime to everybody. Unbelievable food, cleanliness and incredible staff!
THANK YOU SENSATORI AZUL STAFF AND MANAGEMENT FOR A MOST EXCELLENT HOLIDAY!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Exceeded our expectations"

Azul Sensatori
User Rating:  Azul Sensatori Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Adrian  on Jun 30, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
357 people found this review helpful

AZUL Hotels are the ‘family’ brand of Karisma Hotel. We stayed as a party of 7 at the end of May 2010 and were accommodated in the family area. The Hotel is exclusive to Thomson for guests from the UK but also open to guests from other countries, notably the USA.

In summary we all thoroughly enjoyed the holiday and were lucky with the weather, which for most of two weeks was hot, sunny but often with a pleasant sea breeze. It would be difficult to fault the hotel in terms of administration, rooms, gardens, facilities, entertainment, activities, bars and - the fantastic selection of restaurants.

The only slight criticisms would be that it is more a good 4 star than 5 star luxury, it has a very average beach which gets a lot of seaweed and so is not ideal for swimming or snorkelling.

Your Arrival:
First impressions are very good with a welcome towel, drink and check-in was painless. Your first view of the resort is from the roof garden lounge so you can take in the whole complex with its lagoon-like interconnected pools.

Rooms:
The rooms are very spacious with his and hers sinks, walk in wet room and two large separate beds or king sized four poster. Every room has a balcony, mini bar, jacuzzi bath, TV, DVD and IPod docking clock radio. The air conditioning is very good as long as you keep the patio style balcony sliding doors closed. Room service is good with daily linen change, mini bar refill and turn down.

Restaurants and Bars:
There are 6 restaurants to choose from the international Spoon, a bit canteen like to the intimate Le Chique, the only one for which you need to book well in advance. In between you have the Zocalo, Mexican; Sienna, Italian; Tapaz, Spanish and Zavaz, Caribbean. There is also a beach BBQ for lunch and on Thursday evenings for Mexican night. We recommend the terrace of Zocalo for al fresco breakfast or lunch. We thought Zavaz was the best restaurant. The service in Sienna was very poor and Le Chique is certainly an experience but may leave you peckish! Make sure you check all the opening times as some are only open in the evening and some shut one night.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
There is a choice of sunbathing area, adequate sun loungers and parasols around the pool and beach although if you want a particular spot or it’s busy you may find towels have beaten you to it! There is covered seating for 70-80 in the BBQ area. There are also 29 beach cabanas of which 10 are in the premium section and 20 palapas albeit all seem to get bagged very early in the morning but free up mid/late afternoon. There is also a nice jetty with shaded seating. At the concierge and towel change huts you can borrow/exchange paperback books and magazines (plus they promote their own trips and time share!) There are three swim up bars by Zocalo, Zavaz and a premium one near Le Chique. The “World-class” spa looks very swish but is quite expensive and there is a reasonably well equipped and free gym.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
In terms of activities and entertainment there is a weekly ‘What’s On’ sheet for Sport & Leisure, Entertainment and Play which has a two week rotation. You would be hard pushed not to find a sporting activity during the day to suit from morning beach and pool exercises, beach and pool team games, card gaming, tennis, dance lessons, shuffleboard and kayaking. It’s even not too late to brush up on your Spanish. There is nightly entertainment in the roof garden lounge stage area with a house band and then the Show Cast or external entertainers such as a Cuban Circus, Mayan Dancers or Michael Jackson tribute. For the young or young at heart there is a Thomson Cancun ‘bar-crawl’ on Mon and Thurs which ends in Coco Bongos or Carlos n’ Charlie’s – plan to take the next morning off! For the children there is an under 5’s crèche and play area, for 4-12’s there is a daily supervised entertainment schedule and rock climbing wall. Finally for teenagers there is a separate supervised programme and dedicated teens club computer games area (closed for one of our two weeks for repairs).

Other Comments:
The Hotel is rather isolated and although you can walk southwest along the beach to Puerto Morelos in about 50-60 minutes. Heading northeast takes you towards a distant Cancun reaching a nudist Hotel Desire and another Azul Hotel in 15 minutes. The Hotel has a very average beach which shelves gently but is uneven and a little stony plus gets a lot of seaweed so not ideal for swimming or snorkelling. Because the Sensatori is all-inclusive you only need to budget for tips ($3-5 dollars per day per head) and trips or visits (say $200 per head for 2 weeks). There was some building work but it only involved maintenance (drains and balcony planters), In terms of views all the rooms (apart from sea facing suites) face the pool area. To the northeast side is a rather unattractive building plot area between the Azul and Desire Hotel.

The hotel does not seem to have a business centre but you can have a Wi-Fi connection for $15/day or use the CyberCafe (6 modern terminals) for $10 per hour or $6 for 30 minutes. There is a small and very pricy shop for gifts, cloths and toiletries you have forgotten or run out of. There is a separate gift shop with local crafts.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Buffet?"

Azul Sensatori
User Rating:  Azul Sensatori Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Val  on May 30, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
369 people found this review helpful

Does Azul Sensatori have a buffet? Want to go with small children and can't imagine going to a restaurant for snacks, fruit, pizza? or hot dogs or something quick. Must be a buffet. Help? Want to book this fall for 4 families.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fabulous Vacation"

Azul Sensatori
User Rating:  Azul Sensatori Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Christine  on May 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
364 people found this review helpful

Our group stayed at the Sensatori Azul at the beginning of April 2010. There were 11 of us in total. No one had any complaints. Vacationers travelling the earlier flight times should always remember that 90% of the time, rooms are never ready much before 3:00 (just like here @ home-don't forget - All Inclusives deal with many more people) I have noticed that this complaint is on many reviews and I don't feel it should be relfected on the resort itself. The beach @ the Azul is nothing to brag about - we hit the "seaweed" time and it was very rocky, but if you wanted to walk - you could walk for hours and go swimming in different areas where it was nicer.
The resort is isolated, therefore, you do need transporation to go to either Cancun or Playa De Carmen (approx 1/2 hour either way)there are buses scheduled for both. The staff were great and went out of their way to make our stay a very memorable one - that it was! The grounds are kept immaculate.
The main buffet is very "noisy" as that is where most families seem to go & eat and they have a very good selection. It was nice not to have to make reservations, although sometimes, due to us having a large group - it was difficult to sit altogether, but again, the staff tried to accomodate the best they could. We stayed mainly @ the Wave Swim-up Bar (Adults only). If you want the "beds" by the pool you do have to get up early to reserve, but ensure one person stays with the bed & your stuff til at least 8:00 a.m. There were many that reserved by throwing their towels, etc on the bed, but never showed up til much later in the morning. A complaint was lodged, and the security was on top of it and kept a close eye on the "reservations made with nobody there". After 15 minutes, towels, etc were removed and returned to the people later. I believe that was a fair decision made by the resort.
Food overall was very good - no complaints - only a fussy person would find something to complain about. Would we stay at this resort again or suggest it to others - YOU BET WE WOULD!

Michael & Christine
Ontario

Your Arrival:
arrival was very quick and in good order.
everything was explained to us with no problems.

Rooms:
very spacious and clean. Always fresh towels, etcs.

Restaurants and Bars:
Le Chic was definitely different, but very interesting. We were all surprised that no one was hungry after due to the small "sample" portions.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
staying @ the Adults only pool - the anitmation team would do a quick walk thru once to advise what was going on and left it entirely up to you if you wanted to join. Very good schedule board thruout the resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Loved this hotel - Best Staff Ever!"

Azul Sensatori
User Rating:  Azul Sensatori Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mike  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
347 people found this review helpful

This was our eleventh All Inclusive vacation in the last 10 years: six at 5-star resorts and five at 4-star resorts. This hotel was one of the top 2 of 11 we've stayed at! The staff were the best we've ever had - everyone appears to love their job and it shows. I don't know what the management is doing to achieve this, but it was astounding and really made our trip. Even the front desk was great in helping us when we asked for a few things.

There are so many positives at this resort they by far outweigh the few minor negatives. The only major negative, which is beyond the hotel's control is the beach. The beach itself is lovely but the water is rocky with lots of seaweed.

Staff: Excellent! Couldn't be more helpful or friendly.

Your Arrival:
Cold Towels and Champagne! Less than 5 minutes to register.

Rooms:
Room: Lovely! We had a 3rd floor Family Jacuzzi Suite in building 3 - it was huge with a separate sitting area, round jacuzzi tub with a view, beautiful large balcony with a outdoor couch and covered sitting area, and a beautiful ocean view - and this was their standard room level. We would sit out on the balcony as the sun set each day and enjoy the view. Yes there are a few finishing details to be improved but not a big deal.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food: Great! Between the different restaurants there is something for everyone. For Le Chique and Tapaz restaurant, we found some loved them and others didn't. If you're an adventurous/gourmet diner who likes new food experiences you will love them. If you're more a standard meat and potatoes type - you probably won't. It was nice to not have to make reservations - except for Le Chique. Only minor issue to nitpick was the Spoon buffet - not as many choices as some larger hotel buffets - for example - the fruit selection was basic (but okay) and there were no fresh blended juices, but we found everything there was good quality. By the way the house wine, both red and white, was quite good - the best we've had at an All Inclusive - so we didn't find it necessary to go for any of the extra $$ wine pairings at the restaurants.
Bars: very good drinks, you can ask for premium liquor, good service and never a line-up if you choose to get your own drink, or whether you're at the beach/pool or sitting in the roof garden or mojito lounge, there is always a server to quickly take your order.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach: as mentioned the ocean was a negative due to rocks and seaweed (they did groom the sand each day which helped). However, the beach above the waterline was great, and the covered beach beds were fantastic! My wife is now spoiled and wants these at every resort in the future. We did have to get up before 7:30am to get one - but we like to start the day early anyway and they are so comfy.


Hotel Grounds: very nicely kept. pools were nice - although we're not the types to lounge around the pools - we prefer the beach, we did swim several times in the pool and enjoyed it. We've been to some huge resorts with golf cart trams to get you around but we really liked the compact efficient layout of the Sensatori - it was a few minutes to walk from our room to the beach/lobby/restaurants/bars.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Entertainment: There were four professional singers from the west end of London that performed singing routines most of the nights and they were great! Better than the lip-sync dance routines you often get - which we also usually enjoy.

Other Comments:
Yes there are a few minor issues that you can nitpick about, but the positives at this hotel definitely outweighed them. It was one of the best we've experienced and we would go back!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube