Barcelo Puerto Vallarta Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Puerto Vallarta > Puerto Vallarta Hotel Index > Barcelo Puerto Vallarta reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Puerto Vallarta Hotels with Similar Ranking

Vallarta Palace

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 26, 2014

Riu Palace PacŪfico

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 9, 2011

Palladium Vallarta Resort and Spa

4.3 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 7, 2012

Occidental Allegro Nuevo Vallarta

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 24, 2010

Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

3.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 23, 2014

Crown Paradise Club Resort Puerto Vallarta

3.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 14, 2014

Barcelo Puerto Vallarta  

Zona Hotelera Sur Km. 11.5, Mismaloya 48300, Mexico

"My Wedding ring was stolen from our room!"
Posted by: Sharon  on Jan 12, 2015
see all reviews

Barcelo Puerto Vallarta Reviews
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta Pictures and Information
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta Puerto Vallarta Mexico

#7
of 32 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta

User rating 2.3

Based on 4 reviews

Barcelo Puerto Vallarta Information


Discover nature's own sanctuary in gorgeous Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, a few minutes south of downtown Puerto Vallarta.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barcelo Puerto Vallarta Reviews

Barcelo Puerto Vallarta Review: 2.3 of 5 4 reviews
Excellent
  0
Very good
  1
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (4)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
Solo Traveller (2)
With Spouse/Partner (1)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 4 of 4

"My Wedding ring was stolen from our room!"

Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Vallarta Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sharon  on Jan 12, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2015 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
16 people found this review helpful

My wedding ring was stolen from our room. It was inside the safe box. The safe was open but it does not make an excuse for them to take it. At the check in, hotel gave us a letter stating that they are not responsible towards guestís valuable stolen from their room. Seriously! Isnít it a great encouragement for the staff to take anything they like from the rooms?? !!!
On the second day we decided to change room. My husband opened the safe and asked me to take my wedding ring. I did not hear him and I thought he will take it with other valuables from the safe. So the ring was left there. We changed the room but did not like the new room so in less than 15 minutes we returned to our previous room and saw 2 cleaners cleaning the room. They quickly left. We put our luggage inside and left the room until midnight. The next morning my husband said give me your ring so I can put it in the safe again. I said I thought you took with yours. He said no! I left it in the safe and thought you will take it. We quickly checked the safe and it was not there. We talked to the hotel security they asked us to fill a form. Then it took them 2 days to investigate! Finally they said we interviewed with the cleaners and they said they did not take it. As simple as that!!! Hotel managers acted very irresponsible, careless and ignorant. They did not take any actions towards this serious problem. The way security react about it was that this is something they face everyday!

2nd problem: Our roomís door had a problem so every single day we had to wait for someone to come, fix it and open the door for us!! On the third day I was standing on the line for 30 minutes and then I told the front desk girl (that could hardly speak English) to call someone to come and fix the door. She said ok and then she took care of the next person on the line. I was looking at her for 15 minutes and she did not even touch the phone in front of her and totally ignored me until I talked to the manger and he took care of that! This story of the room problem happened every single day.

3rd problem: On the check out day we checked out our room on 11 am and asked the front desk if we can stay in the resort for couple of more hours until we go to the airport. They said no you cannot! Although we checked out our room we had to pay extra 450 pesos to stay inside the resort. This is just ridicules! We travel a lot and never had such an experience anywhere else.

All in all, employees of this hotel donít care if they lose customers. I told them that I will write bad reviews in every single website and they said It is ok! I think that is why we rarely saw people from North America there as they do not tolerate such a bad customer service. Spend your time and money somewhere that you feel welcome and respected.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"it was a great place"

Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Vallarta Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  matt  on Nov 14, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Sep, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
21 people found this review helpful

If I had listened to the reviews, I would probably not have had the opportunity of having my own experience here and to be honest, it was all fun for me. I have been to many all inclusive hotels not just in Mexico but also in Cuba and I can say that this is one of the best I have had, couldnít have asked for anything better. I had a room on the 6th floor, very nice and big room with a beautiful pool view so nothing was bad about that. The place is a bit far from town as you need a bus to get to the own but it doesnít cost that much so I am cool with it. The room and entire surrounding was clean, nice clean sheets, firm bed and soft pillows with functional bathrooms. There really isnít any beach here but that wasnít a problem for me, I am not really a beach person so the pool was quite enough for me. Swimming at the pool at night was calming because it looked more gorgeous at that time of the day. The pool bar was great and they had enough drinks to go round as many times as you wanted. I only had issue of quality when it came to drinks, every resort should know that quality is appreciated all the time. I loved the Italian and Spanish restaurants; they were the best for me. The buffet was great, I had no complaints.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not quite executive"

Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Vallarta Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jim  on Apr 25, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
209 people found this review helpful

Just returned from two weeks at the Barcelo Premium.

In summary, the property was good value for this shoulder season. (Mexican tourists outnumbered the gringos) But, I would not pay the high season price.

The property is located in a small cove too far south of PV on a slow coastal road. The last brand name south of PV.

It might not matter if this was a full resort. But, it is a small property. The beach in front of the hotel is narrow and disappears at extreme high tide.

Moreover, the southern location makes it inconvenient for tours that leave downtown early in the morning. And, the buses stop running at 10pm.

On the other hand, you could spend a day exploring the network of small roads and tracks on the hillside. Bring a pair of binoculars in the early morning for the many feathered friends.

On the plus side, the rooms are suites with two sitting rooms and two HDTV. The bathroom (mine had no tub) is executive class with many good design features. Good lighting and no shortage of electrical outlets. The balcony is of a good size able to seat several people.

The ocean breeze keeps the hotel cool. Never had to use air-condition.

The outstanding feature was the food. It was surprisingly good in the buffet. That said, they did not seem to be able to do the roast right. It was either overcooked or undercooked. Moreover, the fish (probably local) was not up to standard.

Fortunately, the hotel restaurants are quite decent.

Areas of improvement include the theater entertainment. The dancers and singers gave their 100% but were crippled by the poor lighting and limited choreography.

Don't know if this is typical of Mexico. I was very disappointed in the spotty service and poor cleanliness in the buffet. The buffet officially opens at 0730. But one morning napkins and coffee wasn't ready at 0800. Check the stacked plates carefully for smudges and huge dirt specks.

P.S. There are mosquitoes in the pool area by the shady areas. There's a bad sand fly problem near the end of the public beach. Beware.

In conclusion, I would rate the hotel overall 4/5 if the beach wasn't an issue. As a premium experience, my stay was let down by the service, cleanliness and pest problems.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A nightmare"

Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Vallarta Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lourdes  on Mar 28, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
280 people found this review helpful

I implore everyone who is reading this, especially any travel agents to please at this time do not book any reservations at Barcelo La Jolla de Mismaloya unless you want to be extremely ill or end up in the hospital like my family member. All I can say is that a majority of the guests at hotel were complaining about being sick with vomit, diarrhea, chills, fever bug bites. Three days were spent being violently ill and hospitilized. That left us with 1/2 day we spent by pool when we arrived and one day to travel home. Hospital bill cost more than our trip. Please stay away from this resort. I've been to Puerto Vallarta many times, usually in the newer part and had great experiences with food etc. But this resort is a complete nightmare.

Your Arrival:
My arrival was fine, but not the nicest resort I've been to.

Rooms:
Beautiful rooms with great view. We got to enjoy the view since we were stuck unside from being sick and trying to recover.

Restaurants and Bars:
Breakfast was the best.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Small private beach, nice pool, but people around pool area vomiting.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Didn't get to do any activities.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube