Barcelo Puerto Vallarta Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Puerto Vallarta > Puerto Vallarta Hotel Index > Barcelo Puerto Vallarta reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Puerto Vallarta Hotels with Similar Ranking

Riu Palace Pacífico

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 9, 2011

Palladium Vallarta Resort and Spa

4.3 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 7, 2012

Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 16, 2011

Occidental Allegro Nuevo Vallarta

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 24, 2010

Grand and Club Marival Hotel

3.3 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2014

Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta

3.0 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 23, 2011

Barcelo Puerto Vallarta  

Zona Hotelera Sur Km. 11.5, Mismaloya 48300, Mexico

"Not quite executive"
Posted by: Jim on Apr 25, 2012
see all reviews

Barcelo Puerto Vallarta Reviews
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta Pictures and Information
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta Puerto Vallarta Mexico

#12
of 32 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta

User rating 2.0

Based on 2 reviews

Barcelo Puerto Vallarta Information


Discover nature's own sanctuary in gorgeous Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, a few minutes south of downtown Puerto Vallarta.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barcelo Puerto Vallarta Reviews

Barcelo Puerto Vallarta Review: 2.0 of 5 2 reviews
Excellent
  0
Very good
  0
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (2)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
Solo Traveller (1)
Solo
With friend
With Group
With Spouse/Partner
1 - 2 of 2

"A nightmare"

Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Vallarta Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lourdes  on Mar 28, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
253 people found this review helpful

I implore everyone who is reading this, especially any travel agents to please at this time do not book any reservations at Barcelo La Jolla de Mismaloya unless you want to be extremely ill or end up in the hospital like my family member. All I can say is that a majority of the guests at hotel were complaining about being sick with vomit, diarrhea, chills, fever bug bites. Three days were spent being violently ill and hospitilized. That left us with 1/2 day we spent by pool when we arrived and one day to travel home. Hospital bill cost more than our trip. Please stay away from this resort. I've been to Puerto Vallarta many times, usually in the newer part and had great experiences with food etc. But this resort is a complete nightmare.

Your Arrival:
My arrival was fine, but not the nicest resort I've been to.

Rooms:
Beautiful rooms with great view. We got to enjoy the view since we were stuck unside from being sick and trying to recover.

Restaurants and Bars:
Breakfast was the best.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Small private beach, nice pool, but people around pool area vomiting.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Didn't get to do any activities.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not quite executive"

Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
User Rating:  Barcelo Puerto Vallarta Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jim  on Apr 25, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
185 people found this review helpful

Just returned from two weeks at the Barcelo Premium.

In summary, the property was good value for this shoulder season. (Mexican tourists outnumbered the gringos) But, I would not pay the high season price.

The property is located in a small cove too far south of PV on a slow coastal road. The last brand name south of PV.

It might not matter if this was a full resort. But, it is a small property. The beach in front of the hotel is narrow and disappears at extreme high tide.

Moreover, the southern location makes it inconvenient for tours that leave downtown early in the morning. And, the buses stop running at 10pm.

On the other hand, you could spend a day exploring the network of small roads and tracks on the hillside. Bring a pair of binoculars in the early morning for the many feathered friends.

On the plus side, the rooms are suites with two sitting rooms and two HDTV. The bathroom (mine had no tub) is executive class with many good design features. Good lighting and no shortage of electrical outlets. The balcony is of a good size able to seat several people.

The ocean breeze keeps the hotel cool. Never had to use air-condition.

The outstanding feature was the food. It was surprisingly good in the buffet. That said, they did not seem to be able to do the roast right. It was either overcooked or undercooked. Moreover, the fish (probably local) was not up to standard.

Fortunately, the hotel restaurants are quite decent.

Areas of improvement include the theater entertainment. The dancers and singers gave their 100% but were crippled by the poor lighting and limited choreography.

Don't know if this is typical of Mexico. I was very disappointed in the spotty service and poor cleanliness in the buffet. The buffet officially opens at 0730. But one morning napkins and coffee wasn't ready at 0800. Check the stacked plates carefully for smudges and huge dirt specks.

P.S. There are mosquitoes in the pool area by the shady areas. There's a bad sand fly problem near the end of the public beach. Beware.

In conclusion, I would rate the hotel overall 4/5 if the beach wasn't an issue. As a premium experience, my stay was let down by the service, cleanliness and pest problems.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube