Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Mayan Riviera > Mayan Riviera Hotel Index > Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Mayan Riviera Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tucan

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 28, 2010

Hidden Beach Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 13, 2010

Playacar Palace Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 16, 2011

Secrets Maroma Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 17, 2010

Grand Palladium Colonial

4.8 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 10, 2011

Gran Bahia Principe Akumal

4.7 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 13, 2012

Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe  

Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico

"Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Club Premium VIP"
Posted by: Judi&Joe  on Apr 25, 2012
see all reviews

Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Reviews
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Pictures and Information
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Mayan Riviera Mexico

#34
of 74 Hotels in Mayan Riviera

User rating 4.7

Based on 3 reviews

Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Information


This Mexico beachfront luxury resort is ideally-located on two kilometers of dazzling-white sands bathed by the crystalline waters of the Caribbean Sea On your Mayan Riviera vacation, enjoy engaging activities for the entire family including entertainment programs and 2 Childrenís Clubs.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Reviews

Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Review: 4.7 of 5 3 reviews
Excellent
  2
Very good
  1
Average
  0
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (3)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 3 of 3

"Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Club Premium VIP"

Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Judi&Joe  on Apr 25, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
176 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
8545

Room Block:
Oaxaca

Arrival:
We flew Air Transat Option Plus, from Halifax to Cancun, had great flights, down movie was Happy Feet 2, return was New Years Eve. The two hour time change was not so great on the return flight! We had hot meals on both flights & they were not bad @ all. Flights were on time departing the airports & early arrivals both ways. We did a private transfer to & from the airport/hotel/airport & it was great! We arrived long before the bus.
Check in was great & fast, we were directed to the Club Premium office where we received a nice welcome drink and a really nice personal welcome and we were banded & given our rooms.

Rooms:
Our luggage was delivered to our rooms, we were told how to get to our rooms butÖ. we really thought we should have been golf carted there upon arrival, like we have been to other 4-5* resorts, as it had been 4 years ago since we were there previously, It would have been nice to at least get our surroundings in check. (This is our only Complaint) Which is nothing really, but after along flight really means a lot, especially when you have carry-ons in tow.We are a family of 5, we had 2 rooms. 1 king size bed Room: 8545 1 with two queens Room: 8546 both in the Oaxaca Building top floor ocean view, with palm trees obstructing our view, that was ok, There are NO joining rooms in the Deluxe Club Premium section of the resort, there are joining rooms in the regular club premium. Rooms were awesome, cleaned daily with fridge stocked daily as well. No problems with towels, face clothes (clean each day) beds & pillows were great no problems. Because we were Club Premium we had bathrobes & slippers, & beach towels in the room. We changed our beach towels @ the towel hut daily ourselves.

Restaurants and Bars:
We did al la carts every night with the Kyoto-Tepp (Japanese @ Colonial) twice, this is where they cook in front of you. We all enjoyed this al la cart the most. The Japanese @ the Palace is ordered off of a menu. So donít get them mixed up. : ) We always tip @ the al la carts if we got the service & we did, so with $10 US every evening, they really appreciated it. We had no issues with the food @ the al la carts, but as per usual , the buffetís & grillís get old fast, itís the same thing for breakfast & lunch every day. We are not great buffet people anyways, but you can always find something even for the pickiest eater like myself.We used all bars & have had no issues with drinks, and the resorts below the palace we had to sign for premium liquor but there was no charge to us, this is their way of tracking. The children enjoyed going to the bar & ordering their own drinks. We tipped @ the bars & buffets if it was warranted. $2 US

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The resort is beautiful, very clean & well kept, the beach is not great lots of coral rocks, but you cannot have the best of both worlds if you want to snorkel off the beach. But we were ok with that. We walked the beach daily & liked being able to drop into the 4 resorts below us for drinks & lunch because being @ the palace gives you the run of the five resorts in the complex. We never used the pools @ all and there are several @ this resort from adult only to childrenís. The Barcy Water Park @ the Palace is awesome so much better that the Colonial Park. The 7 yr old in our group really enjoyed the programed childrenís Barcy Club, he is ADHD medicated of course, but didnít want to leave @ 5 when we went to pick him up. The girls took the children to lunch so it was nice not to have to be concerned about going to get him & feed him. I donít know if the other childrenís club did this but the Palace childrenís Barcy Club did. It was even nice that @ 7pm you could return them to the childrenís club till 930, they had movies, talent show PJ party etc , for them so the adults could enjoy their dinner. Thank you Erika you were awesome.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did do the Chichen Ruins all day Tour it was awesome a must to see.

Other Comments:
* Previous clients complained about fridge not working, a tip is to leave the door open where the fridge is located so the fridge can get air & its keeps items cold, if the door is closed on the cupboard where the fridge is, the heat from the motor will not let it work properly. * : )All purchases are charged to the room, none of the gift shops, spa/massage, braids or anywhere on the resort do the staff handle cash.
Check out was quick & easy, as our bill was @ our room the day before, so we paid it ahead therefore we only had to leave our beach towels in room & drop off the room cards & pick up our check out paper to be able to leave the resort.
We had a wonderful trip, we would like to send a Special Thank You to, Sandy Pfeil , Manager of the Barcelo Punta Cana, for making this vacation an awesome experience and one to remember. And also we would like to Thank , Maria Jose Aragon Astaburuaga & Andrea Gonzalez for all your help in organizing our stay and for making this an enjoyable week at your wonderful resort.
I will be sending future clients to you with no concerns.I have been to all 5 resorts to scout them out, so I will be able to inform clients.
Thank you, to all the Barcelo Staff that have worked hard to make our vacation and other clients vacations a wonderful memorable one for us all. We will return again. Keep up the good work!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful Resort"

Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Munro  on Jan 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
304 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
We arrived at the airport in Cancun on January 31, 2010. This was not a great experience as there were two planes full of tired passengers and only a few people working at immigration. We were in a line-up for 60+minuites. The bus ride to the resort was another 75 minutes, so we didn't get to the Palace until 1:00 am. Unfortunately, by then everything was pretty well wrapped up for the evening. We didn't receive a welcome drink and when we asked for a drink at the only bar that was open, the bartender was not very accomodating as he was getting ready to close up in 15 minutes.

After a long day of travel and an exhausting wait in line at the airport, a bit of service would have been nice. Check in was pretty quick, however, we were told that if we had any requests we would have to come back in the morning (and wait in line again) because it was late.

Rooms:
Our room was on the ground floor (we had requested an upper floor because in the past we have found bottom floor rooms musty, however, this was not as bad as we have experienced in other locations. The room itself was pretty well identical to the website pictures. King bed and a sitting area with 2 sofas and a table, TV, lots of closet space and storage. Beautiful bathroom with a tub with a hand held shower and another rain shower beside the tub. The room was kept very clean and the fridge and snacks replenished daily. There was also a safe (free) and bathrobes for your use. We also had turndown service every evening (with chocolates left on the bed). I have read many complaints about the bed; it is a very firm bed, but I slept fine on it. Overall, nice room.

Restaurants and Bars:
There are 3 a la cartes at this resort and 2 buffets. Both buffets have a wide variety of food, so I am sure the most fussy of eaters would be able to find something to suit them. There is very little variation from day to day. We went the first morning to make our reservations at the a la cartes and although we had to wait about 45 minutes in line, we were able to book an a la carte resaurant for 5 of our 6 evenings. The best a la carte is the French restaurant....however, if you are looking for fine cuisine forget it. The service is fine, and there is a nice variety. My favorite dish was the grilled salmon.

There are not many bars at this resort compared to others we have been to. There is a bar in the lobby, one in the pool and one that is on the other side of the pool bar that serves the general beach area. There is no service on the beach or by the pool. It isn't bad to have to walk a bit to get your drink, but we found that there weren't enough bartenders at the bars and you often had to wait for a long time to get served. Many of them There are bars in every restaurant. By 11:00 pm, however, this resort is dead. If you want a drink or any entertainment you have to walk to the Disco club at one of the sister resorts; this is the only place that booze is served beyond 11:00 pm.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach, pool and grounds are beautiful. There is a substantial amount of corral in the water, so the odd rock sticks up out of the sand and it can be dangerous if you are not careful. Unfortunately the first morning I was there, I went for a walk on the beach and hit my toes on a random rock on the beach and broke a few. We saw many of the guests receiving first aid for cut and bruised toes and feet during our stay. So, just be careful. The advantage to the corral is that you can just walk out a few yards from the beach and snorkel. You will see all kinds of fish and ocean life right there! I recommend that you bring your own snorkel gear if possible, as the water activity equipment rental place is several resorts down the beach within the complex. Lots of beach chairs, even during the peek hours you could find chairs and a sunny spot as the beach is huge. As a palace guest you have access to the entire strip of beach in the Barcelo Complex (about 2 KM).

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on one day trip to Xhel Ha. It was a great experience. I recommend it to people with children also. Activities include snorkeling, zip-lining, cliff jumping, swimming with dolphins, snorkeling in caves and tubing down the "river". Once you pay for the day it is all inclusive; this includes bus ride to the park, all food and beverages (including alcohol), use of snorkels and tubes. Swimming with the dolphins, scuba and snuba are all extra.

We also went para-sailing at the resort and we had a blast!!

Other Comments:
This is definitely a family resort. There are fun activities for kids and it is pretty quiet. If you are looking for more of a party scene, you may want to look at another complex. Overall a very pretty resort with a beautiful beach.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great vacation"

Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rod  on Jul 14, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
321 people found this review helpful

I loved this place - we got upgraded to the palace and enjoyed everything about it. The food was great, the snorkelling with sea turtles was fun and the adult bar and bartender made one rainy day the best day at the beach. The only thing I can say that was not the best was that our room was the furthest away from everything and it was a walk to get to the main area. But It was great in the sense that we can take the trolley to any other locations! Great place and is what you expect from an all inclusive!!!

Arrival:
Easy as pie - we took a privte USA trashfer and they were amazing. check in was easy and fast.

Rooms:
Very very nice - the junior suits were amazing and it was large clean and the bar was stocked daily with what I requested. I tried to tip for the whole week but they dont have the same staff look after the rooms.

Restaurants and Bars:
The adult pool bar was the best! Rainly day becasme the beast day. The resturants were good - but I really loved the grill and buffet!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool was great and always found a seat, beach was also great and not over crowded. Sea turtles are friendly and right at the beach. Often they swam around the swimmers without them knowing they were there.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Go to Chichenitza! It is a wonder of the world!

Other Comments:
We got 2 extra days there due to a hurricane in the gulf - no problems no worries - we were taken care of and got two more sunny days!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube