Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Cancun > Cancun Hotel Index > Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cancun Hotels with Similar Ranking

Barcelo Costa Cancun

4.5 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 5, 2011

Riu Caribe

4.4 based on 22 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 18, 2010

Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa

4.4 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 28, 2010

Caribbean Princess Cancun

4.2 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 1, 2007

Be Live Grand Cancun

3.8 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed May 4, 2011

Be Live Palm Beach

3.3 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 4, 2010

Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun  

Blvd Kukulcan Km 3.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico

"Amazing!"
Posted by: Susan  on Jan 3, 2012
see all reviews

Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun Reviews
Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun Pictures and Information
Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun Cancun Mexico

#6
of 53 Hotels in Cancun

User rating 3.8

Based on 16 reviews

Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun Information


Temptation Resort Spa welcomes singles and couples to a contemporary take on the all-inclusive holiday.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun Reviews

Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun Review: 3.8 of 5 16 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  6
Average
  6
Poor
  1
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (15)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Solo Traveller (3)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (12)
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 16

"Amazing!"

Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun
User Rating:  Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Susan  on Jan 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
183 people found this review helpful

My husband and i returned from Mexico on Dec 10th and want to go back again!
I had not been to Mexico in 20years as there was so much bad publicity and my husband and never been and wanted to go. There was so much security and the Mexicans were great! The food was great and so was the service with 5 restaurants including a Buffet which we only ate at at breakfast, two ala cartes you do need a reservation for and two others you can go anytime but might have a 20-40min wait with a beeper which works the BEST! Also you do not need to be a swinger,I know this might deter people from going here. We don't know exactly how many were there, but never was there any evidence of it, its all done very privately I assume. About 30-40% topless woman which is great as you can do with or without without feeling funny either way. My biggest complaint is that I wish they would play more Mexicain music and not all DISCO top 40 stuff all day there. The crowd is mostly 35-55 year olds and none of us like this type of music, so why not play more our era of music or Mexican music. I spent more time at the Quiet pool which is not like me due to this.

Arrival:
Great reception and fast service! BEWARE of the Time share they want to talk to you about the next morning. They say they take you to breakfast and its only and hour but its more than two hours, they won't stop till you buy unless you just get up and say thats enough! Talking to them at breakfast and the tour of the hotel i enjoyed, so do that part if you want and then don't enter the upstairs room where they want you to go from a FREE drink. Who cares its free everywhere and they want 40k for the time share with 35% down. I personally was the most angry when they said I could not think about it for a couple days, it was a one time offer. Did you see the RED flag?

Rooms:
Love that there are only 3 stories and 400 rooms unlike alot of very large hotels in the Cancun area.

Restaurants and Bars:
All the restaurants had great service, we especially loved the food and service at the Italian and the Seafood.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The quiet pool is not heated but nice to read and lounge and the bartenders are all great! The Sexy pool is alot more fun with games and activities and more people to talk and mingle with. The beach is white soft sand and always has plenty of chairs.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The have free water sports but it was too windy for us most of the week. There are lots of trips to take advantage of and I would suggest talking to Douglas as the Water sport booth right on the beach. He is a great guy who we got to know the whole week and we only booked one small trip from him. His prices are the same as by the Sexy pool, so either works. There is a fun drinking cruise that goes out once a week on Fridays call Nice Shoes, that i would recommend if you like to party, it goes over to the island.

Other Comments:
I have never been anywhere where so many people have returned 5-10 times. We will go back again for sure as we loved the balance of quiet days at the pool with romantic dinners or the Party pool and the great Paty-O lounge at night to meet people and have fun! Its a great location wtih access to a bus to go anywhere 24-7 in Cancun.
If you are a FUN couple, and I mean enjoy meeting new friends but have found alot of ohter resorts are boring at night, you will love this hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hot Place to Stay!!"

Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun
User Rating:  Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  joseph  on Feb 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Group
322 people found this review helpful

2x times in Cuba this year, previously 3x in Punta Cana DC, this is the most invigorating place we ever stayed at!
You need to be prepared for some raunchy pool shows but overall, it catered to all ages 25 - 65 with about 50% topless at the beach and pool.

Your Arrival:
Great, easy check in, like any major hotel

Rooms:
Our room was great, main floor as requested but no king bed, 2 queens, but we adapted without a problem.
Room was super clean, no bugs, no smell & the AC worked very well. Had a flat screen TV with satellite & 24 hr lite sex shows like Playboy, very erotic in the evenings!

Restaurants and Bars:
All of the the ala carte restaurants were excellent, great food beyond the buffet which we found different since most of our experiences suggested the buffet and ala carte were similar in food quality!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was excellent however, if you didn't have a space reserved by 7:30, you were out of luck. I need to be shaded from the sun so the shady beach cabanas were the best for me and my wife. She felt so comfortable with the exhibitionist crowd that she started to walk around the beach topless - a first for us!! She even wore a open weave crochet dress "commando" for New Years eve! A really hot time that we both enjoyed. A really great time to open up some new personal horizions.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Took a tour of chichen itza, a most wonderful view of ancient Mayan ruins in Mexico, be aware it is a long day!

Other Comments:
Would we go back? yes and no, we are beach people and the beach was somewhat small and had some sea weed issues. However, the overall ambience of the resort made up for all of the short falls.
The staff was great everywhere we went, a real plus!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The activities they show on the website are mostly in downtown Cancun."

Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun
User Rating:  Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Matt  on Nov 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Business | Solo
286 people found this review helpful

Thought you may be interested in my recent visit to Tempatation Resort in Cancun, MX. There are a few reasons why I would not return, here they are.

1. Ended up in 2 different rooms due to air conditioning problems. When I continued to complain I was told 'it's as good as it gets"
2. Rooms had a musty smell, it's in evreything-my clothes, luggage etc. room didn't even have a clock
3. All of the fun activities they show on the website are mostly in downtown Cancun.
4. The food was very repetitive and just seemed very bland, almost like a cafeteria
5. I have never traveled to Cancun before, always kept hearing about the beautiful beaches and water-I could have gotten better at the Jersey shore-boats docked close by-smell of fish.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"My wife and I had a fantastic time"

Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun
User Rating:  Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Steve_Canada  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Apr, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
274 people found this review helpful

>b/b<>br< Aside from the usual swarm of cab drivers and shuttles at the airport, everything was pretty smooth. It's a short 25 minute cab ride to the hotel. Check in was quick. We were shown to our rooms and given a quick briefing on the resort.

Rooms:
Our room was a little small, but very clean. They go all out when they make your rooms in the morning.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food and service at the asian, seafood and italian restaurants was five star. The dinners they provided, you would've spent upwards of 100-200 dollars per couple at another restaurant. That's a thousand dollars worth of dinners over a week and it's included in your stay. Plus free booze. The people who wrote bad reviews are out of their mind. They serve a lot of mexican liquor, not chinese liquor, as the dyslexic reviewer wrote. If you tip you'll get faster service, of course. The drinks are not watered down whether you tip or not. However they do need guidance in making a proper Caesar.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach and swimming area is a little small, but not over crowded. The person who wrote complaining about weeds on the beach must have been referring to the other resorts and areas nearby; it wasn't like you had to swim in weeds. There was ample room for swimming on the beach. The pools are nice and everything is meticulously cleaned constantly.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The activities you see on their web site happen on the resort. Daily party games by the pool. Activities at night in the disco or open air bar. Everyone I saw was having a good time.

Other Comments:
I cannot understand how anyone would not enjoy their stay. The complainers who wrote bad reviews must have been 'stick in the muds' who are probably miserable wherever they go. My wife and I had a fantastic time and look forward to going again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Mixed emotions"

Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun
User Rating:  Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Denis  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
283 people found this review helpful

Transportation:
On the way to Cancun transportation from airport was by minivan and arrange with documentation by people from Signature waiting outside the airport. We were the last van to leave the airport after a 30 minutes wait. Transportation for the trip back home was on time and courteous at 9:30am; ounce at the airport we were told the plane was to be arriving at about 4pm... we could have spend half a day doing something else but we sat at the airport with not much to do...

The Resort:
Arriving at the resort Temptation and Spa was early so we walked around for a while waiting for check in time at 3PM. Back to the check in counter at 3 to pick up the key, the room is not ready... wait another half hour to finally go to the room with suitcases in tow for another 15 minutes... no one knows were the room is located. Our clothing is now sweaty and we are hot; the room is OK and modern located a few step from the main lobby, luckily we have a newly renovated room with only the noise of air conditioning unit humming. We get unpacked and are invited to a tour of the facilities in the morning... do not take this tour this is time share and a total waist of time with sale pressure at its best ...

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants have excellent food again there is a catch... you need to reserve between 10 and 12 AM... there is a line from 9 am on most days; when you get to reserve the remaining times are 9PM and this is when the best activities take place; the shows are short about half hour so you eat or you go to the show ... this waiting is pretty bad... so your choice is you eat in a nice restaurant or view a show or go on an organize visit for the day... your choice is limited to one of those per day, might seem like a lot but it is not... you are taking an entire day to plan a half hour show or a dinner or an excursion somewhere.

Free Drinks:
This seems to be the reason most people comes to Temptation. Many start drinking at 10am and go to the middle of the night. ;The booze you will be drinking all day is made in China... no jokes! Ask for the good stuff, they do have some unless they simply fill the bottles with the cheap stuff. If you ask for a Baily you get something that is the same color and a bit sweeter and probably made in China. The wine is from Spain and pretty good. You tip when you get a drink you get better and more booze in drinks.

Beach/Pools:
The three pools are very clean and nice. Two of them with bars and shallow areas to sit. No one goes in the water at the beach, many weeds and hard stone everywhere. Many motor boats around so the water is not at its best.

Grounds:
The grounds are well maintained with an army of workers.

Activities:
The crew for the activities is very rude and have to force people to participate. No one wants to be redicule and there games get old quickly. Activities by the pool or in the evenings last only around 30 minutes and are nothing of great fun, very childish and nothing like we have seen elsewhere.

Tours:
Many tours are available all around. Cancun is small so you are close to most tours; make sure you don't spend half a day going to see something that last one hour... planning and lots of questions is best ...

Conclusion:
I would not go back to Temptation or ever send a friend there, what they show on there web site is full of adult activities that are taking place outside the resort and nothing of the kind happens there. Other resort nearby have better room, less noise, better beach ... and the same or better activities are available at Coco Bongo etc ...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Overall a pretty big disappointment"

Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun
User Rating:  Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Meghan_Canada  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
281 people found this review helpful

Arrival: February 21 - 28:
The arrival was pretty smooth. There was a guy at the airport who got us our ride to the hotel. The front-desk staff were very nice and polite, and a spunky kid carried all our luggage to the room and showed us how to use the safe, etc.

Rooms:
The rooms are decent. Nice flat TV, big beds, small patio (although ours only had one chair which was in bad shape), mini-fridge always stocked, safe (but ours needed the batteries replaced). Everything is very clean and fresh-looking. 2 all-day porn channels on the TV were interesting @_@

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was a pretty big disappointment. The buffet had awkward open hours, and was often closed when we wanted to eat. The food LOOKS impressive, but the flavours leave something to be desired. The a-la-carte restaurants (Mexican, "Asian", seafood, Italian) look fancier, but the fare isn't much better. Service is ok, if you tip a lot. Drinks were pretty crappy.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
A "loud" pool (where there's always music, games, events) and a quiet pool. Both very nice. The beach was VERY seaweedy, but also nice. Good smooth sand. Lots of chairs if you get there early enough.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on the booze cruise (party cruise) which was pretty fun. We also went on the tour to Chichen Itza-- expensive but interesting. Keep in mind it takes 2-3 hours bus ride to GET there. Be ready for a long day. Lastly we took a boat ride to Isla Mujeres. NOT WORTH IT. All we did was snorkel for about 15 minutes in a VERY crowded section of reef (only saw about 3 different kinds of fish), putter around a decrepit-looking ex-resort and eat at a nasty-looking buffet.

Other Comments:
All in all, a MAJOR let-down. Bad food, bad drinks, disappointing tours... This place has nothing going for it unless you're in the mood to dress like a hooker and get trashed without any kids around.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A relaxing, resonably priced vacation!!!"

Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun
User Rating:  Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Richard_Canada  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
276 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
We arrived @ Temptation around 5pm & were in our room by 5-05, quick & efficent, our room was clean and ready, the mini bar was stocked with water,pop & beer. 5-06 we had our first Tequila Perilizer!!!!!

Rooms:
Our room was always clean, we had a view of the quiet pool, from our balcony we could see the ocean we were on the 3rd and top floor The wife would have liked a little more light in the bathroom area, (she still managed to look fabulous!!) The shower was great we had plenty of towels and they were changed every day

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants is where I think Temptation is a 5 star + resort--The staff are great, allways with a smile on their face. This was not our first trip to Temptaion, it is so nice to be recognized (I Think?) with good moring good to see you again, would you like your Momosa Sir, Coffee Senorita? we have been here before but it was 4 months ago!!! Being from Alberta, & off the farm, I have to admit I had one of the best steaks ever in Bellavita (must have been Alberta beef??lol), one of the four a la carte Restaurants all are very good,

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is another place that temptation has improved, it is probably 3 times the size it was when we were there in Nov. It is very interesting how they pump the sand up.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Location location location Temptation is 30 miniuets from the airport, a $10 dollar 10 miniuet form the bars, flea markets, market 28, wallmart, or you can take the bus (this just a fun ride, an adventure lol) from right in front of the Resort. I allmost sound like a commercal The resort has Hobby Cats, and Sailboards with lessons The wife has some great wipeout pictures of me, now no one will go sailing with me!!!

Other Comments:
All and all a relaxing, resonably priced vacation!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great value if you GO SILVER!!!"

Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun
User Rating:  Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Frequent Traveller  on Nov 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2007 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
280 people found this review helpful

Great Value when you go Silver!

I am a 25 yr-old female from Ann Arbor, MI and my boyfriend who is a 30 yr-old male from Paris, France. We were extremely pleased with our visit to the Blue Bay Getaway, soon to be the Temptation Resort. The staff was extremely helpful, courteous, and professional. The resort is great, and we had an amazing time. However, there are several things I wish we had known before coming.

First, the resort is at the end of the hotel strip and is quite a ways away from the Cancun restaurant and nightlife. This might be good to know if you want to be in the thick of it. The bus is really no problem, though, and runs 24 hours. We liked being a little out of it, finding it more peaceful and not as crowded.

The resort is also on the Bay, making the beach a little smaller and rockier than other resorts. It is still quite lovely and nice. If you like quiet, be SURE to request a room by the "Quiet Pool," and we would also recommend staying on the third floor if you value your privacy. Know that all Superior rooms are on the FIRST floor, so this might not be worth the extra cost. We stayed in the regular "Deluxe Room" and it was fantastic; we also travel a lot, and were still so pleased with the quality.

We stayed in a newly renovated room for the Temptation Resort and is was beautifully decorated and very clean. PLEASE tip your maid every day as they are underpaid and appreciate it very much. They will definitely go the extra mile.

Also, GO SLIVER!!! I cannot emphasize this enough. You will be able to eat at the three a la carte restaurants every night, and this is DEFINITELY WORTH IT.The buffet restaurants don't even come close. They are two-star AT BEST. This makes the Go Silver! program worth it by itself, but it also gives you water in your room each day (that you have to request)and an unimpressive breakfast and lunch room service, too. GO SILVER!!!

Also, MAKE SURE YOU PRINT OUT ALL THE PAPERWORK INCLUDING THE INFORMATION SHEET ON THE BLUE BAY /TEMPTATION RESORT WEBSITE. You can find this with Google. When we checked in, they tried to give us the Go Blue program, and we had to insist on receiving a la carte coupons for each night. This is our only service complaint. The staff is incredible and will make your stay inviting and fun!

Also, please know that in talking with the staff, we found out the most resort workers make less than US $7.00 a day, so definitely tip even though the package says gratuity is included.

And make sure you see one of the new seven wonders of the world, Chichen Itza! All in all, the resort is incredibly beautiful (and it won't even be finished until the end of December!), the staff far exceeded our expectations, the tours were awesome, the a la carte food was exceptional, and our room was beautiful and comfortable. What else could you ask for? Great value if you GO SILVER!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had a lot of fun"

Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun
User Rating:  Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Traveller  on Oct 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2007 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
290 people found this review helpful

We had a lot of fun

My husband & I stayed there a week in Sept.07. Had alot of fun and met some very nice couples. The room had a very strange smell which still lingers in my clothes and luggage. Food was ok. Not great. Seemed like same for dinner as for lunch. (guess they didn't want to waste) The liquor must be diluted because we didn't even get a buzz after a hundred or so drinks. Work out room had 2 machines out of order. There isn't enough equip. for 2 machines not to be working. Staff was always nice. Everyone seemed to tip for everything. (I thought all incl. meant no tipping). Anyway, we're headed to Desire Resort and Hidden Beach Resort next month. We've been to both b4 and know they are nothing but 1st class. Probably will not return to BlueBay.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our first time to Blue Bay"

Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun
User Rating:  Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  First time visitor  on Mar 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2007 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
299 people found this review helpful

This was our first time to Blue Bay in the past we have always stayed at a resort in Playacar but wanted something without children for this trip. The "adult" games were not actually that funny and it was pretty obvious that the drunker one was the more likely they were to "volunteer".

Food:
The food was very good at the buffet and the specialty restaurants. With the exception that if you wanted to make a reservation you had to be sure to be in line for reservations before 8 am the day of , reservations could not be made a day or two in advance.

Rooms:
Comfortable room and excellent maid service. We asked for a quiet room on the ground floor and they were able to find one for us. It overlooked the garden at the "quiet pool" and was convenient to everything. Beds were comfortable. One downside was the lack of having the refrigerator stocked with either water or beverages. I also felt that for the resort to charge $3 per day to use the safe was unreasonable. We paid enough that the safe use should be included. Everyone who worked at the resort was very friendly and security was there but unobtrusive.

Timeshare sell:
We were unaware that this was behind the friendly "invitation" to breakfast. The morning of breakfast when we realized the agenda we made it clear we would not be buying into their program. The Canadian fellow was very nice and didn't give us the hard sell, but nevertheless it took a good 2 hours out of our first day of vacation.

Pools:
Nice, The quiet pool was the best for us, no loud games, music or foul language (F--- this and F--- that......enough already). Pools kept very clean.

Beach:
I've seen better. It was rocky sand and large patches of sea weed. Staff kept the seaweed cleaned up however. Lot of palapas for good shade.

Entertainment:
At night, not much to do unless you took a bus or taxi off the resort into Cancun. Don't bother taking the free shuttle to the other Blue Bay Resort. It's nothing special, no beach, small pool. Good workout facilities. Two pool tables in the "sports bar". SPA: Good spa and services. The best part of the time share sell was a complimentary massage certificate for 20 min. per person.

Cancun:
A big city and not appealing for us. Playa del Carmen is more our speed.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube