Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Cancun > Cancun Hotel Index > Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cancun Hotels with Similar Ranking

Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa

4.4 based on 8 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 4, 2014

Barcelo Costa Cancun

4.4 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 5, 2014

Riu Caribe

4.4 based on 22 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 18, 2010

Caribbean Princess Cancun

4.2 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 1, 2007

Be Live Grand Cancun

3.8 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed May 4, 2011

Great Parnassus Resort & Spa

3.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 4, 2014

Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun  

Blvd Kukulcan Km 3.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico

"Amazing!"
Posted by: Susan  on Jan 3, 2012
see all reviews

Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun Reviews
Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun Pictures and Information
Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun Cancun Mexico

#7
of 55 Hotels in Cancun

User rating 3.8

Based on 16 reviews

Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun Information


Temptation Resort Spa welcomes singles and couples to a contemporary take on the all-inclusive holiday.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun Reviews

Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun Review: 3.8 of 5 16 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  6
Average
  6
Poor
  1
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (15)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Solo Traveller (3)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (12)
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 16

"A relaxing, resonably priced vacation!!!"

Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun
User Rating:  Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Richard_Canada  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
824 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
We arrived @ Temptation around 5pm & were in our room by 5-05, quick & efficent, our room was clean and ready, the mini bar was stocked with water,pop & beer. 5-06 we had our first Tequila Perilizer!!!!!

Rooms:
Our room was always clean, we had a view of the quiet pool, from our balcony we could see the ocean we were on the 3rd and top floor The wife would have liked a little more light in the bathroom area, (she still managed to look fabulous!!) The shower was great we had plenty of towels and they were changed every day

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants is where I think Temptation is a 5 star + resort--The staff are great, allways with a smile on their face. This was not our first trip to Temptaion, it is so nice to be recognized (I Think?) with good moring good to see you again, would you like your Momosa Sir, Coffee Senorita? we have been here before but it was 4 months ago!!! Being from Alberta, & off the farm, I have to admit I had one of the best steaks ever in Bellavita (must have been Alberta beef??lol), one of the four a la carte Restaurants all are very good,

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is another place that temptation has improved, it is probably 3 times the size it was when we were there in Nov. It is very interesting how they pump the sand up.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Location location location Temptation is 30 miniuets from the airport, a $10 dollar 10 miniuet form the bars, flea markets, market 28, wallmart, or you can take the bus (this just a fun ride, an adventure lol) from right in front of the Resort. I allmost sound like a commercal The resort has Hobby Cats, and Sailboards with lessons The wife has some great wipeout pictures of me, now no one will go sailing with me!!!

Other Comments:
All and all a relaxing, resonably priced vacation!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"My wife and I had a fantastic time"

Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun
User Rating:  Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Steve_Canada  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Apr, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
794 people found this review helpful

>b/b<>br< Aside from the usual swarm of cab drivers and shuttles at the airport, everything was pretty smooth. It's a short 25 minute cab ride to the hotel. Check in was quick. We were shown to our rooms and given a quick briefing on the resort.

Rooms:
Our room was a little small, but very clean. They go all out when they make your rooms in the morning.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food and service at the asian, seafood and italian restaurants was five star. The dinners they provided, you would've spent upwards of 100-200 dollars per couple at another restaurant. That's a thousand dollars worth of dinners over a week and it's included in your stay. Plus free booze. The people who wrote bad reviews are out of their mind. They serve a lot of mexican liquor, not chinese liquor, as the dyslexic reviewer wrote. If you tip you'll get faster service, of course. The drinks are not watered down whether you tip or not. However they do need guidance in making a proper Caesar.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach and swimming area is a little small, but not over crowded. The person who wrote complaining about weeds on the beach must have been referring to the other resorts and areas nearby; it wasn't like you had to swim in weeds. There was ample room for swimming on the beach. The pools are nice and everything is meticulously cleaned constantly.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The activities you see on their web site happen on the resort. Daily party games by the pool. Activities at night in the disco or open air bar. Everyone I saw was having a good time.

Other Comments:
I cannot understand how anyone would not enjoy their stay. The complainers who wrote bad reviews must have been 'stick in the muds' who are probably miserable wherever they go. My wife and I had a fantastic time and look forward to going again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing!"

Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun
User Rating:  Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Susan  on Jan 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
703 people found this review helpful

My husband and i returned from Mexico on Dec 10th and want to go back again!
I had not been to Mexico in 20years as there was so much bad publicity and my husband and never been and wanted to go. There was so much security and the Mexicans were great! The food was great and so was the service with 5 restaurants including a Buffet which we only ate at at breakfast, two ala cartes you do need a reservation for and two others you can go anytime but might have a 20-40min wait with a beeper which works the BEST! Also you do not need to be a swinger,I know this might deter people from going here. We don't know exactly how many were there, but never was there any evidence of it, its all done very privately I assume. About 30-40% topless woman which is great as you can do with or without without feeling funny either way. My biggest complaint is that I wish they would play more Mexicain music and not all DISCO top 40 stuff all day there. The crowd is mostly 35-55 year olds and none of us like this type of music, so why not play more our era of music or Mexican music. I spent more time at the Quiet pool which is not like me due to this.

Arrival:
Great reception and fast service! BEWARE of the Time share they want to talk to you about the next morning. They say they take you to breakfast and its only and hour but its more than two hours, they won't stop till you buy unless you just get up and say thats enough! Talking to them at breakfast and the tour of the hotel i enjoyed, so do that part if you want and then don't enter the upstairs room where they want you to go from a FREE drink. Who cares its free everywhere and they want 40k for the time share with 35% down. I personally was the most angry when they said I could not think about it for a couple days, it was a one time offer. Did you see the RED flag?

Rooms:
Love that there are only 3 stories and 400 rooms unlike alot of very large hotels in the Cancun area.

Restaurants and Bars:
All the restaurants had great service, we especially loved the food and service at the Italian and the Seafood.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The quiet pool is not heated but nice to read and lounge and the bartenders are all great! The Sexy pool is alot more fun with games and activities and more people to talk and mingle with. The beach is white soft sand and always has plenty of chairs.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The have free water sports but it was too windy for us most of the week. There are lots of trips to take advantage of and I would suggest talking to Douglas as the Water sport booth right on the beach. He is a great guy who we got to know the whole week and we only booked one small trip from him. His prices are the same as by the Sexy pool, so either works. There is a fun drinking cruise that goes out once a week on Fridays call Nice Shoes, that i would recommend if you like to party, it goes over to the island.

Other Comments:
I have never been anywhere where so many people have returned 5-10 times. We will go back again for sure as we loved the balance of quiet days at the pool with romantic dinners or the Party pool and the great Paty-O lounge at night to meet people and have fun! Its a great location wtih access to a bus to go anywhere 24-7 in Cancun.
If you are a FUN couple, and I mean enjoy meeting new friends but have found alot of ohter resorts are boring at night, you will love this hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great value if you GO SILVER!!!"

Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun
User Rating:  Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Frequent Traveller  on Nov 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2007 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
784 people found this review helpful

Great Value when you go Silver!

I am a 25 yr-old female from Ann Arbor, MI and my boyfriend who is a 30 yr-old male from Paris, France. We were extremely pleased with our visit to the Blue Bay Getaway, soon to be the Temptation Resort. The staff was extremely helpful, courteous, and professional. The resort is great, and we had an amazing time. However, there are several things I wish we had known before coming.

First, the resort is at the end of the hotel strip and is quite a ways away from the Cancun restaurant and nightlife. This might be good to know if you want to be in the thick of it. The bus is really no problem, though, and runs 24 hours. We liked being a little out of it, finding it more peaceful and not as crowded.

The resort is also on the Bay, making the beach a little smaller and rockier than other resorts. It is still quite lovely and nice. If you like quiet, be SURE to request a room by the "Quiet Pool," and we would also recommend staying on the third floor if you value your privacy. Know that all Superior rooms are on the FIRST floor, so this might not be worth the extra cost. We stayed in the regular "Deluxe Room" and it was fantastic; we also travel a lot, and were still so pleased with the quality.

We stayed in a newly renovated room for the Temptation Resort and is was beautifully decorated and very clean. PLEASE tip your maid every day as they are underpaid and appreciate it very much. They will definitely go the extra mile.

Also, GO SLIVER!!! I cannot emphasize this enough. You will be able to eat at the three a la carte restaurants every night, and this is DEFINITELY WORTH IT.The buffet restaurants don't even come close. They are two-star AT BEST. This makes the Go Silver! program worth it by itself, but it also gives you water in your room each day (that you have to request)and an unimpressive breakfast and lunch room service, too. GO SILVER!!!

Also, MAKE SURE YOU PRINT OUT ALL THE PAPERWORK INCLUDING THE INFORMATION SHEET ON THE BLUE BAY /TEMPTATION RESORT WEBSITE. You can find this with Google. When we checked in, they tried to give us the Go Blue program, and we had to insist on receiving a la carte coupons for each night. This is our only service complaint. The staff is incredible and will make your stay inviting and fun!

Also, please know that in talking with the staff, we found out the most resort workers make less than US $7.00 a day, so definitely tip even though the package says gratuity is included.

And make sure you see one of the new seven wonders of the world, Chichen Itza! All in all, the resort is incredibly beautiful (and it won't even be finished until the end of December!), the staff far exceeded our expectations, the tours were awesome, the a la carte food was exceptional, and our room was beautiful and comfortable. What else could you ask for? Great value if you GO SILVER!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great holiday in Cancun"

Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun
User Rating:  Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  BlueBayAnonymous  on Jun 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2004 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
252 people found this review helpful

hi we have just returned from a great holiday in cancun at bluebay resort we stayed at blue bay club its out of the way and family orientated, the sister club is in cancun adult only and very noisy and raunchy !!, its fun if you dont mind that type of holiday but be warned, it IS rowdy, the quality of both hotels are very good, one thing TRIPS book them thru the local man , as alot of times we had to find our own way to the pick up points 15 minutes away so check before you boook and shop around as many will include transportaion which we learned after to our expense, but overall its the best holiday ever and weve been around ,we will go again next year

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our first nights"

Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun
User Rating:  Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  James  on Sep 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
270 people found this review helpful

We (1 26yr male, 1 27yr female)arrived back in Cancun from the 5-star RIU in Playa Del Carmen, to check into the Blue Bay Getaway. Out first impression was not great. The front desk staff was less then friendly, and before we even got to our room we were thinking about not staying. I'm glad we did though. The desk clerk gave us a meal coupon to use to reserve our one a la carte dinner, arbitrarily we were given the Italian restaurant. We actually had to convince him to let us look at the restaurants before choosing which one. (Note: since returning home I've been told that it's possible to 'buy' additional a la carte dinners from the reservations girl in the morning.) We got to our room, where we had been told to wait for someone to come turn on the safe-deposit box. I liked the fact that the box was electronic, with a code chosen by me, as it meant either of us could access the box, not just whomever had the key. However, after waiting almost an hour, I tried the box and it was working. Nobody ever came. The room itself was large, had a small patio with a view, and was overall just fine. Tap water is not drinkable. They provided full bottles of shampoo, which was nice, compared to the packets at the other hotels. Yes, there is a 24-hour porn channel.

We had checked in on a Friday, so after dinner in the buffet we attended Anything Goes Night. It's a lot of fun, I'm not going to give it away but it's worth the stay at BBG. The bar in the Nice Shoes Disco closes during the activity so get a few drinks, or more, before it starts. Following that is Ms. Hot Legs Contest (which my girlfriend WON by the way!!)

Saturday we hung around the pool, drinking and enjoying the sun. There had been a card on our door Friday night asking us to come to the "Blue Bay Premier desk" to get our welcome gift. We did this Saturday morning, expecting a high-pressure sales technique to get us to buy in. We explained that we weren't interested in buying, and that was that. The lady explained to us a but about the property, the restaurants, the way the different colour wristbands work, a bit about Cancun itself, asked us about tours, gave us some information on getting to Costco and Wal-Mart, etc. Quite polite and friendly, not the dreaded sales pitch. Blue wristbands are for first-timers like us; return visitors get green which basically means better alcohol; and people who book direct with the hotel get gold which means better menus and better alcohol.

On Sunday we did our shopping and got back to the hotel for afternoon activities and dinner at Bella Vista which was the best a la carte dinner food we'd had our entire trip.

Pictures etc.:
There are photographers throughout the hotel taking pictures of you at the activities, at dinner, etc. You can buy the pictures from them. We missed them the morning we left, and I regret not buying the pictures.

Leaving we got a cab to the airport and were charged more then the posted amount at the hotel. Be prepared for them to try that.

any questions or to see pictures, email me sparky4@telus.net
Websites: http://www.bluebaypremier.com/premieren.html
http://www.bluebayscancun.com/
http://www.hotetur.com/Hotetur/listahotelessd.aspx?
ListaZonas=10MEXICO
(Sorry there are so many 'official' websites. There have been company changes, as the company that owned Desire owned the Blue Bays, but seems to have sold them to Hotetur)

Food:
Buffet was average, late-night buffet below average, snack bar buffet good, a la carte good.

Drinks:
Good. Excellent menu selection. Returning guests get a different colour wristband that gives access to better alcohol. I was annoyed that at our a la carte dinner, no alcohol was offered other then wine to purchase. Not even house wine.

Staff:
Entertainment staff are friendly and very energetic. Service staff in the restaurants, bars, and front desks leave much to be desired.

Beach:
They don't really have a beach. Most of the hotel has what is almost concrete along the water's edge. The hotel also has a marina, soThere are photographers throughout the hotel taking pictures of you at the activities, at dinner, etc. You can buy the pictures from them. We missed them the morning we left, and I regret not buying the pictures.They don't really have a beach. Most of the hotel has what is almost concrete along the water's edge. The hotel also has a marina, so I wouldn't really be comfortable swimming there.

Pools:
Several. A sports pool, a quiet pool, and a sexy pool. Sports pool and quiet pool have pool bars. Strangely the quiet pool bar is open till 930 and the sexy pool bar is open till 7 (it seemed to close earlier) so if you're in Bella Vista for a romantic dinner after 7, you'll have noisy partiers right outside that have come from the sexy pool.

Activities:
Watersports activities available until 3 or 4. Fun activities all day centred on the sexy pool and sports pool.

Entertainment:
Tuesday and Sunday there is a show in the theatre, which wasn't very good. Also, the open-air theatre is above the "utility" area (garbage bins, etc.) so it doesn't smell good. Most of the entertainment is at the "disco" almost every night.

Great things about Blue Bay:
Wild entertainment, or at least a degree wilder then other hotels. Adults only. nice, big rooms. Return guests get better privileges. Even more so for return guests who book directly through the hotel. The sales pitch for "Blue Bay Premier" time-share wasn't high-pressure.

Not-so-great things:
Staff could be friendlier. Food could be better. Beach would be nice. I've heard there's a shuttle to their other hotel, which we didn't see, and someone said they have bikes available but nothing was apparent to us.

Restaurant info:
Embarcadero Buffet: breakfast 07:00-12:00 daily, lunch 13:00-15:00 daily, dinner 18:00-21:30 daily nightly dinner theme: Monday - International, Tuesday - Mexican, Wednesday - Italian, Thursday - Argentinian, Friday - Spanish, Saturday - Caribbean, Sunday - Oriental
Bellavista Snack Bar: daily 12:00-16:00 daily
Las Margaritas Patio: Continental Breakfast 06:00-07:00 daily, snacks 16:00-18:00 daily, Mexican buffet 19:00-23:00 daily, late snacks 23:00-05:00 (often leftovers from the main buffet)
Village Wok Oriental Food: 18:00-21:30 closed Sundays
BellaVista Seafood: 18:00-21:30 closed Tuesdays
Il Piaccere - Italian: 18:00-21:30 closed Thursdays
a la cartes are by reservation (08:00-11:00) at the patio. Dress code is no sandals (only flip flops not accepted) no sleeveless t-shirts, no pool shorts (bermudas accepted)

Bar info:
Diego's Pool/Swim-Up Bar: 10:00-19:00 daily at Sexy pool
Margaritas Patio Bar: 16:00-00:00 daily
L'Alternative Bar (sports pub) 19:00-01:00 daily
Theatre Bar: open Tuesdays/Sundays during show. This is a bar area, that the bartender brings some bottles of alcohol, a cooler of ice, and some glasses to. Not fully functional (ie. no blenders)
Nice Shoes Bar (disco): 21:30-01:00 daily (closed during some entertainment)
Bikinis Pool/Swim-Up Bar: 10:00-21:30 daily at Quiet Pool, closed at 17:00 on Tuesdays

Amenities info:
Both sexy pool and quiet pool have mini-hot tubs in them
gym
spa
watersports

Entertainment info:
Nightly: After the later entertainment, there is a bus to one of the discos (no return trip)
Monday: Karaoke 21:30 (Nice Shoes Bar)
Tuesday: Live Music 19:30 (Las Margaritas Patio); Mexican Music show 21:30 (Theatre); Kissing Contest 22:30 (Nice Shoes Bar)
Wednesday: Casino 21:30 (Nice Shoes Bar); Live Music 22:30 (Nice Shoes Bar)
Thursday: Fantasy Trivia 21:30 (Nice Shoes Bar); Dance Contest 22:30 (Nice Shoes Bar)
Friday: Anything Goes night 21:30 (Nice Shoes Bar); Girls Hot Legs Contest 22:30 (Nice Shoes Bar)
Saturday: Live Music 20:00 (Nice Shoes bar); Mens Hot Legs Contest 22:30 (Nice Shoes Bar)
Sunday: Latin Show 21:30 (Theatre); Beer Drinking Contest 22:30 (Nice Shoes Bar)

General information:
1) When shopping, catching a taxi, etc. You will usually be given the opportunity to pay in US dollars or in pesos, and for simplicity most people use a 10 to 1 exchange rate. ie. 100 pesos, $10 US. Since you should be getting 11 pesos to the US dollar or more at the exchange house (the best rate I got was 11.28 at Scotiabank in Playa Del Carmen) by paying in pesos you're getting about a 10 % discount. Whenever possible, use your pesos instead of US cash or even instead of credit cards. In chain stores like Plaza La Fiesta (a tourist shop) you'll notice on the price tag they've factored in a proper exchange rate.

2) Tours: unless you are rich or really need the guided package, everything is more affordable to go on your own. Some examples: Bus tour from Playa Del Carmen / Playacar resorts to see the Tulum ruins is US$49 per person including lunch. On your own: round trip taxi from hotel to bus terminal, first class bus round trip to tulum, shuttle train to the ruins, entrance to the ruins, total for two people $28 US. Similar prices apply throughout the region.

3) Transport: At Cancun airport, you're pretty much stuck paying 90 pesos per person for a shared shuttle to your hotel, unless you leave the airport and get out to where the taxis are or beyond that to where the city bus runs. I didn't see any other option for that part of the trip. In the hotel zone, the city bus is 6.5 pesos (only 4.5 pesos if you're not in the hotel zone) or around 60 cents US. The R-1 and R-2 and I think R-27 go almost everywhere you'd want to, and the destinations are listed on the front of the bus. Wal-Mart, plaza Las Americas (big mall where the locals shop, including Chedraui market) and the Terminal Del Autobuses can all be reached by city bus. The Wal-Mart bus says Wal-Mart. For the bus depot, take an "Av. Tulum" bus and get off at Av. Uxmal. To get to Costco, get a taxi on the street from Wal-Mart for 15 pesos. Getting back to the hotel zone should be around 50 pesos. Returning to the airport from the hotel will be around 180 pesos. Taxis in the hotel zone, and shuttles at the airport, are fixed rates (each of the hotels will have a price list posted by the door). If the doorman summons the taxi for you then you should pay exactly that amount (again remember to pay in pesos to save money) but if you grab the taxi then it might be more. If you get a taxi in the city, or in Playa Del Carmen, or anywhere else, be sure you and driver agree on the rate before you go anywhere. It is negotiable, but not much. Tip is built in, you don't tip the cabbie. The intercity bus system is great. Service is provided from the bus terminal by ADO (1st class, A/C, etc.) and Riviera/MayaB (second class, more stops, etc.) There's also playa Express that is a shuttle and is cheaper. Sample rates: ADO 1st class, Cancun to Playa Del Carmen 32 Pesos every 20 minutes, same price returning every 10 minutes. The MayaB is about 12 pesos less, but less frequent. Playa Del Carmen to Tulum or Coba 32 pesos each way by ADO, less by MayaB. Playa Express should be less but I couldn't find their depot and didn't really care at these prices.

4) Alcohol: If you're buying alcohol, start at Costco, followed by Wal-Mart. Example prices: 1 litre Kahlua. At home about C$45. In the tourist stores and mini-marts, around 90 to 200 pesos. At Chedraui 81 pesos, At Wal-Mart, 73 pesos. At Costco 61 pesos. Likewise, Tequila starts at around 65 pesos per litre and goes up.

What to bring:
Things to bring: Lots of sunscreen. We took 3.5 250ml bottles for 1 week, and went through 3 of them. I'd suggest taking a mix. We took SPF45 normal, SPF30 sport sweat proof, SPF30 eco-friendly (needed if you're going to one of the eco-parks.) Caution: Don't forget a hat, even in the pool, and sunscreen lip balm. If you put sunscreen on in the morning before dressing for breakfast, put more on when you take your shirt off at the pool. That's the only way we got burned was having our t-shirts absorb all the sun block off our shoulders. Also take after-sun gel and bug-bite cream just in case.
Disposable waterproof camera for pool, ocean activities, and snorkelling.
Thermal mugs for drinks at the pool. They hold more and keep things cold, and keep the sand and crawlies out of the drinks.
A backpack for carry water and stuff if you do a tour of the ruins.
Immodium, Tylenol, Pepto Bismol. Especially the tylenol! Instead of taking pepto or immodium every day as a precaution, start eating yoghurt every day 2 weeks before you go. You can continue this when you're there.
Lots of shorts and shirts because you'll sweat a lot.
At least one pair of long pants and closed shoes for the men for dinner.
Chargers/spare batteries for any electronics, like digital cameras.

Any Questions, or to see pictures, please email me sparky4@telus.net

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hot Place to Stay!!"

Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun
User Rating:  Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  joseph  on Feb 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Group
812 people found this review helpful

2x times in Cuba this year, previously 3x in Punta Cana DC, this is the most invigorating place we ever stayed at!
You need to be prepared for some raunchy pool shows but overall, it catered to all ages 25 - 65 with about 50% topless at the beach and pool.

Your Arrival:
Great, easy check in, like any major hotel

Rooms:
Our room was great, main floor as requested but no king bed, 2 queens, but we adapted without a problem.
Room was super clean, no bugs, no smell & the AC worked very well. Had a flat screen TV with satellite & 24 hr lite sex shows like Playboy, very erotic in the evenings!

Restaurants and Bars:
All of the the ala carte restaurants were excellent, great food beyond the buffet which we found different since most of our experiences suggested the buffet and ala carte were similar in food quality!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was excellent however, if you didn't have a space reserved by 7:30, you were out of luck. I need to be shaded from the sun so the shady beach cabanas were the best for me and my wife. She felt so comfortable with the exhibitionist crowd that she started to walk around the beach topless - a first for us!! She even wore a open weave crochet dress "commando" for New Years eve! A really hot time that we both enjoyed. A really great time to open up some new personal horizions.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Took a tour of chichen itza, a most wonderful view of ancient Mayan ruins in Mexico, be aware it is a long day!

Other Comments:
Would we go back? yes and no, we are beach people and the beach was somewhat small and had some sea weed issues. However, the overall ambience of the resort made up for all of the short falls.
The staff was great everywhere we went, a real plus!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Lot's of fun,great time!"

Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun
User Rating:  Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  MarshiaUSA  on Apr 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2004 | Leisure | Solo
254 people found this review helpful

Stayed at BBG 3/26 - 3/31/04. Had a great time. Lot's of fun adult contest to keep you laughing! Met nice people that were great to talk and party with! HI Shelly & Blake, hope you had a great honeymoon. Food was OK, didn't get to eat in the specialty ones due to them being booked the nights we wanted to eat at them, but snack bar and buffet were fine. Not the best, but not the worst. Pools are nice, beach not very nice, go south for the waves. Rooms, we stayed in 1249 which was fine. Alittle musty at first, but got better through the week. Maid service very good. Bartenders and Activities staff are great. May go back if the price is right. Wouldn't pay High $, but if you can go for under $100.00 day including air, it's well worth it. Just remember, it is for adults and if you are easily offended, stay elsewhere.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Worth the money"

Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun
User Rating:  Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Terry_Canada  on Aug 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2004 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
266 people found this review helpful

Food:
The Blue Bay Getaway in Cancun. In deciding whether this is the resort for you, ask yourself the following question: Do you want to party? If the answer is yes, this is the place for you. If you are looking for a quiet peaceful holiday, this is probably a bad choice. The motto of the activity staff here is "This Ain't Disneyland". The atmosphere is very lively (bordering on rowdy). Action starts at 10:00 am and turns into one big pool party by afternoon. Activities staff do a good job. They start the day with good healthy fun like water aerobics, kayaking, horseshoes and volleyball. By mid-afternoon activities turn toward pool-side games/contests centered on sexual themes. I found these hilarious personally, although more conservative guests might find it offensive. At one time during a game, 15 men ran through the resort completely naked. Also, I have been to many destinations where I have seen women sunbathe topless, but I've never seen mostly-naked women running around the pool area getting drunk and partying with a hundred guys drooling all over them. Definitely not the scene for everyone.

Rooms:
The first room we were given was small, dark and dingy with an icky bathroom. It had two singles-we asked for a king. Staff were very accommodating and said if we could wait two days they could move us into a nicer room in the time-share area. The new room was fabulous! Very spacious, bright and nicely appointed with huge windows, ceramic floors, a marble bathroom and a big balcony with a lovely view of the lagoon across the street. There was a bit of traffic noise, but since we live on a busy street in a large city this felt just like home.

Staff:
Staff were great. They were always very friendly and helpful. Never passed by without smiling and saying "Ola". Maids were thorough and our room was spotlessly maintained. We were particularly impressed with the a la cart dining staff who were very professional and well-trained. We left tips for both the maid and the a la carte staff.

Disappointment:
The biggest disappointment of this resort for me was twofold. First was the beach. There were boat docks located at both ends of the resort where many large charter boats and personal craft were docked. Gave one the feeling of swimming in a harbour rather than the ocean. There was a foot-high wooden board running the length of the beach between the sand and the water. As a result, you had to take designated stairs into the water. The water was a pretty colour but very still with no movement or waves at all. Second was the nightly entertainment. It was very lame - beer drinking contests, best legs contests, karaoke, etc. Nothing like some of the wonderful stage shows we have seen at other resorts in both the Caribbean and Mexico. We took in the first two nights and skipped the rest.

Conclusion:
Overall, if this is the type of atmosphere you enjoy, you'll have a good time at this hotel. We felt it was worth the $750 US for the week (off-season). We would visit another Blue Bay Resort, but not this one. As an overall destination, we found Cancun to be too big, too busy and too commercialized. There was nothing pristine or pretty about it - felt like being in the city. In my opinion, it's best to spend the extra money and take the hour drive south to the Mayan Riviera which is very beautiful.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Mixed emotions"

Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun
User Rating:  Blue Bay Getaway Temptation Cancun Review: 3.50 of 5

Posted by:  Denis  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
833 people found this review helpful

Transportation:
On the way to Cancun transportation from airport was by minivan and arrange with documentation by people from Signature waiting outside the airport. We were the last van to leave the airport after a 30 minutes wait. Transportation for the trip back home was on time and courteous at 9:30am; ounce at the airport we were told the plane was to be arriving at about 4pm... we could have spend half a day doing something else but we sat at the airport with not much to do...

The Resort:
Arriving at the resort Temptation and Spa was early so we walked around for a while waiting for check in time at 3PM. Back to the check in counter at 3 to pick up the key, the room is not ready... wait another half hour to finally go to the room with suitcases in tow for another 15 minutes... no one knows were the room is located. Our clothing is now sweaty and we are hot; the room is OK and modern located a few step from the main lobby, luckily we have a newly renovated room with only the noise of air conditioning unit humming. We get unpacked and are invited to a tour of the facilities in the morning... do not take this tour this is time share and a total waist of time with sale pressure at its best ...

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants have excellent food again there is a catch... you need to reserve between 10 and 12 AM... there is a line from 9 am on most days; when you get to reserve the remaining times are 9PM and this is when the best activities take place; the shows are short about half hour so you eat or you go to the show ... this waiting is pretty bad... so your choice is you eat in a nice restaurant or view a show or go on an organize visit for the day... your choice is limited to one of those per day, might seem like a lot but it is not... you are taking an entire day to plan a half hour show or a dinner or an excursion somewhere.

Free Drinks:
This seems to be the reason most people comes to Temptation. Many start drinking at 10am and go to the middle of the night. ;The booze you will be drinking all day is made in China... no jokes! Ask for the good stuff, they do have some unless they simply fill the bottles with the cheap stuff. If you ask for a Baily you get something that is the same color and a bit sweeter and probably made in China. The wine is from Spain and pretty good. You tip when you get a drink you get better and more booze in drinks.

Beach/Pools:
The three pools are very clean and nice. Two of them with bars and shallow areas to sit. No one goes in the water at the beach, many weeds and hard stone everywhere. Many motor boats around so the water is not at its best.

Grounds:
The grounds are well maintained with an army of workers.

Activities:
The crew for the activities is very rude and have to force people to participate. No one wants to be redicule and there games get old quickly. Activities by the pool or in the evenings last only around 30 minutes and are nothing of great fun, very childish and nothing like we have seen elsewhere.

Tours:
Many tours are available all around. Cancun is small so you are close to most tours; make sure you don't spend half a day going to see something that last one hour... planning and lots of questions is best ...

Conclusion:
I would not go back to Temptation or ever send a friend there, what they show on there web site is full of adult activities that are taking place outside the resort and nothing of the kind happens there. Other resort nearby have better room, less noise, better beach ... and the same or better activities are available at Coco Bongo etc ...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube