Ocean Maya Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Mayan Riviera Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tucan

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 28, 2010

Hidden Beach Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 13, 2010

Playacar Palace Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 16, 2011

Secrets Maroma Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 17, 2010

Grand Palladium Colonial

4.8 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 10, 2011

Gran Bahia Principe Akumal

4.7 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 13, 2012

Ocean Maya  

Carretera Federal Chetumal, km. 299 | (Formerly

"Week in Paradise"
Posted by: Gladys on Feb 14, 2011
see all reviews

Ocean Maya Reviews
Ocean Maya Pictures and Information
Ocean Maya Mayan Riviera Mexico

#28
of 74 Hotels in Mayan Riviera

User rating 3.8

Based on 5 reviews

Ocean Maya Information


Ocean Maya hotel is located on the beach side of the Riviera Maya, in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean, and very close to Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cozumel and Cancun.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Ocean Maya Reviews

Ocean Maya Review: 3.8 of 5 5 reviews
Excellent
  2
Very good
  2
Average
  0
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (5)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Solo
With friend
1 - 5 of 5

"Week in Paradise"

Ocean Maya
User Rating:  Ocean Maya Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gladys  on Feb 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
345 people found this review helpful

A group of 6 stayed at the Ocean Maya from Jan 31/11 to Feb 8/11. Our room was 1201 and when we opened our curtains or stepped out on our patio, we had the most magnificent ocean view. The other couples who travelled with us were in rooms 1002 and 1003, they had a lovely view of the pool and partial ocean view. The rooms have been recently upgraded and were absolutely beautiful. The resort is very lush with lots of flowering bushes and trees. The beach was fantastic and we walked down the beach everyday. The food was very good and Italian alacarte the best. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. The weather was wonderful and would recommend this resort to anyone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It was a great vacation,loved everything"

Ocean Maya
User Rating:  Ocean Maya Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Janet  on Jan 6, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
324 people found this review helpful

The staff were the best,they were so friendly and made us feel very special. It didn't matter where, there was always staff around to help in anyway needed.
Our air conditioner didn't work the first night, and with one call to the front desk we were moved to another room within the hour.
There was four in our group and we all had a great vacation, and would go back today if we could.

Arrival:
Arrival was quick and easy, rooms were ready when we arrvied.

Rooms:
The rooms were nice and clean

Restaurants and Bars:
The food and the service was the best, never had to wait for anything, lots of staff to help.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We enjoyed the pool and the beach areas, lots of places to sit or lounge around in the sun or shade.
The grounds were well looked after, very nice place.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There were lots of activities going on at all hours of the day and evening.
The shows were very good, and enjoyed watching every night we were there.
Bus trips were easy to plan and pickups were always on time, buses were clean and driver were good.
Shopping in Playa was interesting as it was our first time there,once you get into the barganing with the shop owners it was fun.
I would recomend taking the ferry over to Cosmel, that was a fun trip over and lots more shopping.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"WARNING we were ROBBED !"

Ocean Maya
User Rating:  Ocean Maya Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Paula  on May 24, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
331 people found this review helpful

My mother and I booked our vacation for this resort Ocean Maya thinking we were going to have a relaxing holiday in the sun. On the second night our room was BROKEN into. The person/people who entered our room did so with a key and stole 500 (American and Canadian dollars, from both our wallets inside our room. This situation was reported to security and hotel staff IMMEDIATELY. Both management and security did not help us in any way shape or form to investigate this situation. They completely acted as if we were lying, and making false acquisitions. The manager ESTER, was very rude and ignorant!!! Our safety and security of both (us and the people on the resort ) was at risk! This incident was reported to the police. Our trip adviser "Nolitour Vacations" and REP Justina, was also extremely unhelpful. We were left on our own, without money for the entire rest of our vacation. We felt an invasion of privacy, and it ruined our first and LAST trip to MEXICO. This theft was defiantly an inside job, and when we tried to have it investigated by resort security, it showed that the room was entered while we were not there. We even have witness to prove that we were eating supper at the buffet, and interacting with fellow worker/guests at this resort. Management showed no signs of remorse and did not even extend an apology. They didn't try to accommodate us in anyway! AWFUL Vacation, AWFUL Resort.. Don't let this happen to you! STAY CLEAR of Ocean Maya Resort H10 (Playa De Carmen ).

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Under renovation.

Other Comments:
Birds (skinny ugly black crows) were everywhere! They were loud and annoying!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"had great food,liguor,service and wonderful time."

Ocean Maya
User Rating:  Ocean Maya Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  kathy  on Mar 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
371 people found this review helpful

I found the service at Ocean Maya friendly and quick. The food at the buffet and the restaurants very good. Uri at the desk was always helpful. It was nice having Canadian liquor like crown royal and baily's. The waiter's were friendly and quick with service especially Edgar.The rooms were very nice and clean. The grounds with well maintained and beatiful. We did get sent to Barcelo resort for 3 nights which was a nice surprice even if they were a bit disorganized at the front desk getting our rooms ready for our stay. It is a beautiful resort but very big, the beach is nicer than at Ocean maya though. So I spent most of my time by the pool or tanning on the beautiful beds with canopy's on the beach. I loved it there and would recommend it to anyone.Thanks Ocean Maya H10 for giving me a wonderful relaxing holiday.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The food was excellent."

Ocean Maya
User Rating:  Ocean Maya Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Karen from Cornwall  on Jan 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
398 people found this review helpful

We arrived at the hotel around 13:00 and our room was not ready until 15:10. Check-in was quick but we had to ask 3 times before our room was ready. They had warned us that it would be ready around 15:00 but we had hoped it would be ready a bit earlier. We had left our main luggage in the locked storage room but had kept our carry-on with us and did not want to go far with it.

Rooms::
The room we were assigned was in Building B which is behind the front lobby. This is the furthest building from the beach but the closest one to the lobby, theatre, main buffet, etc. The room was very clean, we had a problem with the television as it would not shut-off without it being unplugged and we could only get 1 channel. We didn't report it until the third day but once we did, it was corrected within a few minutes by them replacing the unit. The maintenance staff were everywhere and they are obviously trying to please the customer.

Restaurants and Bars::
The food was excellent. There was plenty of choice for breakfast with fresh fruit, cold cereal, hot cereal, breads, potatoes, eggs, a grill with a chef to make you omelettes, eggs, bacon, hot cakes, etc.. Lunch at the same buffet was varied with much to choose with salad always being available, hot foods and the grill. The other lunch restaurant down by the beach/pools served hamburgers and hotdogs, etc. but nothing healthy, so we always ate at the buffet. For dinner, we ate at the a-la-cartes. You did not have to make reservations as it was not prime season but we did have to wait on the Saturday night at the Japanese restaurant. The food at the a-la-cartes were excellent. Eventhough the Italian a-la-carte was closed, the Japanese restaurant alternated between Japanese and Italian and the food was excellent. We also tried the Mexican a-la-carte one night and it was very good as well.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
There is a beach section on both sides of the boardwalk where you could swim but while we were there, the red flags came down only once. There is some debris that gets washed up on the beach and the water close to the beach is brownish from the sand which gets picked up by the waves. The pools were very clean, large but cold. The jets on the beds and in the whirlpool only came on for 20 minutes per hour. This did not bother us as who wants to sit in a cold whirlpool. The grounds were well manicured but in a very natural way. The flowers were beautiful and plentiful with lots of varieties of flowers. There were many iguanas scurrying about but they did not bother you. If you went near them, they would retreat quickly into holes.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
Although we did not go on any tours as such, we did venture off the resort. We took the free shuttle to Playa del Carmen which left the hotel at noon and picked you up in Playa del Carmen at 6:00. The shuttle lets you off near 5th Avenue and there are plenty of shops along the street of all types. The vendors all want you to go into their shops so be prepared to look at alot of the same things or to ignore them. As well, there are taxi drivers at every street corner offering you a cab. You can get a cab back to the hotel for $135 pesos (about $12 CDN) but make sure you haggle the price before getting into the cab. The day was too long staying until 6 so I would suggest you may want to get a cab back. The beach in Playa del Carmen is beautiful so you may want to wear your swimsuit under your clothes and spend some of the time on the beach. The mosquitos come out around 5 p.m. so bring some bug spray.

We also took the public transit at the road to Cancun. The public transit are 14 passenger vans which you just wave at and they stop for you. It costs $30 pesos (less than $3) to take it to the bus terminal in Cancun. Warning, the driver may not speak English so you may want to speak to someone before you leave or bring a map. From the bus station, we walked back a few blocks to the hotel zone road (Tulum) and took a bus from there along the hotel zone to La Isla mall which I had been to before.(This bus was $15 pesos for the two of us.) This is a lovely Americanized mall with many American stores. The prices are quite high so this is not the place for bargains. We just took the Cancun bus back to the bus terminal and the Playa del Carmen bus back to the resort. When you get in the Playa del Carmen bus, just tell them what hotel to let you off at and they stop and let you off. You do have to cross the road back to your hotel. Please be warned that the hotel is set far back from the road so it is a little hike from the front of the hotel to the road so you have to be able to walk some good distances.

Other Comments::
We have travelled to 5 or 6 other Caribean resorts in the past and this is one of the nicest resorts we have stayed at. They do have a VIP program but it is in the lobby and if you do not approach them, they do not bother you. You will be given an invitation to go see them when you first get there but if you do not, they do not hassle you. If you do see them, from what we heard from others as we did not go to visit their desk, for $25 or $35 per day, they would upgrade you to an ocean front room, (there was plenty of availability while we were there), fridge was stocked with liquor instead of just water, specialty higer end liquor at certain bars, a cordonned off section of the beach with beach beds and bar service to your chair or bed, etc..

The evening entertainment was not as good as other places we have been to. They did their best but it was quite amateurish.

Overall, this was a great resort and we would recommend it and would return.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube