Riu Palace Los Cabos Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Los Cabos - Cabo San Lucas Hotels with Similar Ranking

Barcelo Los Cabos Palace Deluxe

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 4, 2010

Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 30, 2011

El Presidente Intercontinental

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 19, 2010

Riu Palace Los Cabos  

San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico

"Best vacation we've ever had."
Posted by: Ernie on Dec 3, 2012
see all reviews

Riu Palace Los Cabos Reviews
Riu Palace Los Cabos Pictures and Information
Riu Palace Los Cabos Los Cabos - Cabo San Lucas Mexico

#1
of 11 Hotels in Los Cabos - Cabo San Lucas

User rating 3.7

Based on 7 reviews

Riu Palace Los Cabos Information


Constructed on a beach of white sand, the Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas offers exceptional service, along with the wide range of leisure options in the surrounding area.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Riu Palace Los Cabos Reviews

Riu Palace Los Cabos Review: 3.7 of 5 7 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  1
Average
  0
Poor
  0
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (4)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
1 - 7 of 7

"Best vacation we've ever had."

Riu Palace Los Cabos
User Rating:  Riu Palace Los Cabos Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ernie  on Dec 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2012 | Business | With Group
110 people found this review helpful

Went via Sunflight with a group of 60 people for my daughters wedding. Easy customs and check in. Room spotless and comfortable. View of pool. Service was excellent and also super around the pool for drinks. Can't say enough about the food. Everything was fresh and the area spotless as well. At this time of he year there is lots of room at the tables. Staff is very friendly and talk with you and answer your questions no matter how busy they are. We/ve been on cruises all over the world but nothing can compare to this. The wedding was off the resort and was fabulous as well. We are going back for our kids anniversary in 2013.. What a great place no matter what your event!! No problem with language either. Everyone speaks English!

Room Number:
not important

Room Block:
over the pool

Arrival:
No problems anywhere!

Restaurants and Bars:
we found that the main dining room had more food types than we could ever impagine although we tried the the other four separate restaurants. Next time I will eat at the main dining room all of the time. I'ts amazing!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Vendors are not allowed on the grounds. If you want something .. "anything", you can go out on the beach and ask for it but don't get caught smoking it in the resort. Can't swim in the gulf (under tow) Two huge pools on the property which are clean. Exercise classes in the am if you want to join in. Volleyball in the pool at one end and doesn't interfere with anyone. Can't say enough about the cleanliness of the grounds and the resort itself. People are continually cleaning everything. There is another bar near the beach where you can get salad, pizza, chips, sandwitches and anything your heart desires during the day and a bar to supply the pools with any kind of drink immagineable. The beer is always cold! You don't have to tip but it helps!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went down to the peir in SanLucas and went on an evening cruise on about a 50 foot boat and there was only 3 other couples. Another boat (party boat) was loaded with people. It was like yachting with our own boat. They fed us and the drinks were free there as well. We also went out to the arches about 2 miles away from the resort to snorkel and had a ball. They outfit you with swim fins and a snorkel and mask. The water is crystal clear and all kinds of small fish abound. A sandwitch was provided and a soft drink as well. Not very expensive either! Next time the kids want to go parasailing just off the resort. Looks like fun!

Other Comments:
like I have said before... best holiday experience I have ever had if you want to relax and enjoy. Not many kids when we were there but lots for them to do and they are well looked after by the staff who are there just for the kids.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent Resort! 5 Stars"

Riu Palace Los Cabos
User Rating:  Riu Palace Los Cabos Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jen  on Nov 8, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
175 people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed 3 nights mid-October 2011. The Riu Palace properties never disappoint! This one was beautiful and the service was absolutely excellent! You must visit. We chose a bottom floor partial ocean view junior suite which was very spacious, clean and pretty. Loved the in-room mini bar and we had plenty of bottled water and DosXX beers in our mini-fridge. All-inclusive is definitely the best bang for your buck. Although we stayed for 4 days the food never got old and was delicious. Plenty of variety for everyone with healthy choices and new cuisines to try. The grounds, pools, beach, lobby, restaurants and bars are spacious and beautiful. My favorite was the main lobby bar ('sportsbar') which had a huge open balcony overlooking the arch rock formations. It was awesome to just sit there, relax and have all the champagne you wanted. Pool bar was so much fun. Beach is nice, but they warn not to swim due to strong undertoe. Oh well, we did anyway and enjoyed. For those who claimed their personal items were stolen, shame on them. It's their own fault. Every room has a safe. USE IT! And the front desk people would never tell anyone to leave the property unless they were taking advantage of the amenities without paying for it. Some tourists expect way too much. Use some common sense please. There is truly nothing bad about this resort. People are friendly, service amazing, fun nightly shows, yummy food, endless cocktail choices, a place to have fun and relax too. It's very close to downtown Cabo which is convenient to go party or go see the arch, although you don't have to leave your resort if you don't want to. Visit this Palace and enjoy!

Room Number:
1108

Room Block:
unknown

Arrival:
Happy, friendly greetings. Easy check-in. Welcome cocktails.

Rooms:
Spacious, clean, comfortable, great mini-bar

Restaurants and Bars:
All excellent service, many choices, easy to make reservations for the ala carte restaurants, easy dress codes.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Awesome pools! Pretty, well-kept grounds. Beach not recommended for swimming due to strong undertoe, but you can still go in if you are careful. Little kids were getting in the ocean just fine. Nobody gave them a hard time and parents were with them.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We took a $6 US dollar taxi to Medano Beach (Mango Deck) and then kayaked to the Arch and back. It was great! Lots to do at Medano Beach; kayaks, jet skis, glass-bottom boats, off-site snorkel trips, bars too.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Warning: Theft at Riu Palace"

Riu Palace Los Cabos
User Rating:  Riu Palace Los Cabos Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marg  on Nov 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
199 people found this review helpful

We chose Riu Palace for our twentieth wedding anniversary. Unfortunately, our event was spoiled by the theft of cellphones and 600 pesos from the room – with no signs of forced entry. The hotel staff filed a report, but our further efforts to seek compensation for this horrid event were completely fruitless, despite sending registered letter to the owners, Mr. & Ms. Riu in Mallorca, Spain.
We feel obligated to warn fellow travelers about this hotel, and please do not have a false sense of security, just because it is listed as five star. The day we reported the theft to our travel representative, we found out that we were not the only one robbed; looks like there is an organized gang at this hotel. Just imagine, what could have happened if I accidently entered the room, and faced the robbers! Or we could have been robbed in our sleep….
Also, just to let you know that the ocean is absolutely unsuitable for swimming (actually it is forbidden), because of a huge undertow, and the beach is unsuitable for walking due to a very loose sand, so nobody is using the beach, but the vendors….

Restaurants and Bars:
Hard to get reservation

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Unsuitable for swimming due to dangerous undertow, unsuitable for walking due to loose sand.

Other Comments:
Beware of robbers

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The best tropical vacation yet!"

Riu Palace Los Cabos
User Rating:  Riu Palace Los Cabos Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Valerie  on Feb 9, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Wedding | Family and Kids
332 people found this review helpful

We just returned from a 1 week stay at the Riu Palace, Los Cobos. I can't say enough about this resort. The moment we stepped off the bus we felt special. We were taken to their lounge that over looks the ocean and given margaritas. The hotel staff came to us while we were enjoying the scenery to give us our bracelets and room keys . We were traveling with a large group of 30 for a wedding. My husband and I had our 5 year old and our 1 year old. Right away our 5 year old said it was like Jasmines palace. Fit for a princess.
The resort is spacious and extremely clean. You see people cleaning all the time. This seems to be especially important when you do travel with kids.
The pools were wonderful. A more of party side for fun with music and then a quieter side for those who want some peace. The food was amazing. This was the first time I left a resort not craving to get home to home cooking. Lots of choices and flavorful. we especially loved the juice station where they had all kinds of healthy mixes of fruits and veggies.
I myself got up in the morning and either went to the gym or for a run. The gym is a small area with some treadmills and machines. The bonus is that it overlooks the ocean and if you look carefully you will catch a whale jumping in the distance.
The staff and service...wow ...amazing. You would be sitting my the pool and every 15 min someone is buy to take your order and with a smile!(the drinks are so tasty..) Everyone is saying hello to you in the halls and even will carry your plate from the buffet to the table. I can't say enough on how hard working and dedicated everyone is to making your stay and memorable as possible. The entertainment crew were great with our kids..even managed to get my daughter on stage in the evening during the kids entertainment.
We went for my nephews wedding and it was absolutely perfect. Right on the beach without a glitch. It made for some beautiful pictures.
We did the cabo eco cat sunset cruise which was so much fun. Our 5 year old went and had a visit with the dolphins in Los Cabos. The kid visit was for up to 5 kids at a time, but she was the only one. What a special event for her.
We would love to return...

Room Number:
4602

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Unfriendly"

Riu Palace Los Cabos
User Rating:  Riu Palace Los Cabos Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mary  on Jan 25, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
333 people found this review helpful

My husband and I spent a wonderful week at the Riu Sante Fe. The Riu Palace next door looked very royal all lit up at night. We decided to walk over and check it out. We had heard that the food was better and thought maybe we would try staying there on our next visit. We entered the lobby of the Riu Palace and immediately were greeted by a staff who asked us if we were guests of the hotel. We explained that we were staying next door and wanted to come over and see the facilities. We were promptly asked to leave the premises as we were not allowed on the property unless we were staying at the hotel. We have never felt so insulted and unwelcome in any other hotel in the world and we have travelled throughout Europe and been to Mexico many times. We guaranteed the staff that we would leave and would never step foot into a Riu Palace ever again. We just wanted to share this with others who may consider giving the Riu Palace there hard earned money.

Thank you

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A beautiful place, but...."

Riu Palace Los Cabos
User Rating:  Riu Palace Los Cabos Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  P  on Jul 13, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
318 people found this review helpful

Check in went smoothly and our room was very nice - overlooking the pool and Sea of Cortez with the beautiful arch in the background. A cruise ship was there when we arrived. The drink served upon arrival is delicious! "Tropical martini" ? After 2 1/2 hours we called to see where our bags were and they finally brought them up. On to the pool - awesome! Trouble is, it closed at 7PM !! :-( so much for unwinding at the end of the day. The variety of foods was tremendous though what we ate was very bland. Roast beef WAS delicious! Reservations for "specialty" restaurants- a joke. You had to get up early to make one but then when you got there, it was half empty. For our last night there we again went early to make a reservation for the steak place. The woman told us you had to make reservations days in advance. When told that we had been making them daily she said "well now you have to make them days in advance" The front desk was friendly though you got different answers from different people. Concierge? HA - unless you were male or a cute little "thang", they were no help. Cecilia and Noberta at the main lobby bar were awesome! The male bartenders at the same bar during the day would not even acknowledge our presence if men were around. When it was obvious there was no one else to wait on, then they would ask. The real workers - maintenance, grounds, wait staff and housekeeping worked their tails off. We came upon a housekeeping person being fussed at by a supervisor who was on her hands and knees with a white glove telling her it was not clean! The place was immaculate but this was proof that their standards were set very high. I am thrilled to have taken the vacation, but will not return to the Riu Palace. Not that the experience was that bad, just that there are other places to be seen.

Arrival:
Arrival went pretty well. We got our room shortly before 3 but it was almost 6 before our bags were brought to the room. My daughter finally went down to get them and only then were they brought up.

Rooms:
The room was very nice and clean. Ours was an "ocean view" that overlooked the Sea of Cortez and the beautiful Land's End arch. Housekeeping did a great job. We had 2 very comfortable full sized beds.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants were nice though the reservation system stinks. We made reservations daily until the last day and then were told we had to book a place days in advance - the exact opposite of what we had been doing. When you went into the restaurants they were half empty. The buffet locations varied from one meal to the next. Didn't make sense to me but I guess there is a method to their madness. Wait staff did great jobs.

We mainly dealt with the pool bar and the main bar in the lobby. Pool was great. Main lobby bar was great at night - NOT during the day - different personnel.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful and immaculate!!

The surf is too rough to swim in front of the Riu. Beautiful sands though!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots of activities - in the pool - IF you wanted as well as shows at night - for different ages.

Cab rides (in vans) are $12.00 each way while the public bus was only $2.00. Yes, the bus is hot but you are not on it that long and I'd rather spend my money elsewhere.

The Margarita Sunsset cruise was great! Great music and people. It does NOT run on Sunday night, so plan accordingly.

Make reservations for any dolphin encounters/events as soon as you get there or you may miss out as we did.

HIt the markets in downtown Cabo!! Catch the guy on the street painting sea shells - clam and conch. He does beautiful paintings as you wait and will even personalize it. The scenery he does is unbelievable!

Other ideas - ATV rental and parasailing.

They even have WAL MART, Sams and Costco there! lol

Other Comments:
Do NOT let anyone convince you to stop until you get OUTSIDE of the terminal. You think you get through, go out the first set of doors and you are free - NOPE, there are other time share people. To catch your shuttle/transportation, just keep going until you are outside of the terminal. THey are smoooooooth talkers.

We were there from July 8 - 13. The weather was very warm, but not humid and there is always a breeze. (FYI - we are from Houston, Tx so we are used to the heat) The weather was gorgeous.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Perfect!"

Riu Palace Los Cabos
User Rating:  Riu Palace Los Cabos Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cathy  on Jan 18, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
364 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 7th -14th
Flight was a little long, just over 5 hours. We arrived in the late evening. Customs went smoothly; bus ride to the hotel was quick, approx. 25 minutes. Check in was fast and efficient.

Rooms:
We had a junior suite #2055, with an ocean view. Clean room, with housekeeping and bar restocked every day. Please note, we did not leave anything lying around the room, and ensured everything that may be stolen was locked up before we headed out for the day.

Restaurants and Bars:
The Bar service was impeccable. Fast and efficient, and most of all friendly. The service at the restaurants, including the buffet and a la cartes, was just superb as well. Good service is hard to find, and these people work hard! Tips were very well deserved.

Food:
The food was great! Delicious! Always something to eat, with many choices!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools and grounds were very well maintained by the staff. The undertow at the beach was quite strong. We did go swimming but ensured not to go out far. Nevertheless, the beach is just breathtaking. The weather was unbelievable. Sunny skies with no clouds or humidity. Perfection.

Other Comments:
We walked over to the Santa Fe and it is as well a gorgeous hotel. However, it’s very large, busy and a little more lively, especially the pool during the day. If you’re looking for a party, I would recommend the Santa Fe. While if you’re looking for a quiet vaca, go with the Palace. Plus, with the Palace, if you choose to, you can access the Santa Fe property (while they are not able to access the Palace).

Not only would we highly recommend Los Cabos for a holiday but we would recommend the Riu Palace and plan to visit.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube