Catalonia Playa Maroma Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Mayan Riviera > Mayan Riviera Hotel Index > Catalonia Playa Maroma reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Mayan Riviera Hotels with Similar Ranking

Playa Sonrisa

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 9, 2010

RIU Tequila

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 19, 2012

Gran Porto Real Resort

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 16, 2014

Gran Bahia Principe Coba Resort

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 29, 2012

RIU Lupita Resort

4.0 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 9, 2014

Catalonia Royal Tulum

4.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 31, 2014

Catalonia Playa Maroma  

Carretera Federal # 307 | (Formerly VentaClub), Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico

"Going back"
Posted by: Peter  on Oct 25, 2011
see all reviews

Catalonia Playa Maroma Reviews
Catalonia Playa Maroma Pictures and Information
Catalonia Playa Maroma Mayan Riviera Mexico

#27
of 74 Hotels in Mayan Riviera

User rating 4.6

Based on 5 reviews

Catalonia Playa Maroma Information


The Hotel Catalonia Playa Maroma is located on the beach of Punta Maroma, considered to be one of the most beautiful in the Caribbean.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Catalonia Playa Maroma Reviews

Catalonia Playa Maroma Review: 4.6 of 5 5 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  0
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (5)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 5 of 5

"Going back"

Catalonia Playa Maroma
User Rating:  Catalonia Playa Maroma Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Peter  on Oct 25, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
244 people found this review helpful

Back from one of our more enjoyable vacations. My wife & I have travelled and cruised the Caribbean for the past 11 years and our stay at Catalonia Playa Maroma will rate as our favorite all-inclusive resort. We were travelling with our daughter & her boyfriend and our son & his girl friend (all in their mid to late 20's). The check-in was a breeze. We decided to upgrade us all to the 'Privileged Rooms' since we wanted to be close to the beach and it also gives you a few added perks at the a-la carte restaurants and spa. well worth the added expense.

We all fell in love with the natural beauty of the resort - all the units are set apart from each other by natural Mangroves - you feel like you are in the middle of a rainforest walking to the Lobby or the Buffet. Excellent food and plentiful - even for our vegetarians.
The a-la-carte restaurants (4) really surprised me. Each has its own kitchen, so it is not the buffet food re-presented to you. Food quality and presentation would rival most restaurants in Canada.

The resort staff go out of their way to please you. They are constantly cleaning the grounds and walkways.

This is not a glitzy polished marble, granite and glass resort - it is as natural as it gets. I would not change a thing. I would go back tomorrow if I could. However, we will probably wait til next year.

Stayed January 2011, travelled with family

We are booked to go back this coming January 2012

Room Number:
6307

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excelent hollidays... will return"

Catalonia Playa Maroma
User Rating:  Catalonia Playa Maroma Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alejandro  on Jun 21, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) ARGENTINA
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
274 people found this review helpful

What? Only 3 review for this hotel... hmmm, lets do some justice

Room Number:
dont remember, near the beach

Room Block:
-

Arrival:
n/c

Rooms:
ok, perhaps some redecoration needed but basically ok

Restaurants and Bars:
Good food, basically no complains.. could include a wider variety of fresh fruit (mango, grapes, etc) at breakfast.
Avoid at all cost the pancake post near the pool... you don't want to leave this hotel rolling off on a wheel chair because of the weight gained do you? (in other words it was excellent and addictive)

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Awesome beach pools and grounds

We love beach walking and this beach is walkable upwards and downwards for a great extent.... reaching Iberostar hotel beach a new (abandoned?) condo emerges with very dirty beaches, but that is far of from the hotel

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Did some snorkeling at Pto Morelos... it was ok and well organized

It was a pity the free shuttle service to playa del carmen was cut off or did not exist any more...

Other Comments:
We traveled with our 7 year old daughter in May and where very happy to find many children of the same age at the hotel.. a nice group formed... kids club works fine and they do get in charge of the children and expect no tips for this as in other hotels we traveled to... so this hotel can be defined as a family hotel with a working kids club

We where amazed by the Animation team... all languages spoken, Portuguese, French, English and of course Spanish... and even people from diverse countries.. made you feel at home if you needed any help

The plus for this hotel was that we saw (more than on other hotels) handicapped people, they even had a beach wheel chair and shades reserved for them, guess they feel comfortable here

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not a 5 star hotel"

Catalonia Playa Maroma
User Rating:  Catalonia Playa Maroma Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  esmeralda  on May 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
263 people found this review helpful

Just got back from Catalonia Playa Maroma, the beach is beautiful we loved it.The hotel can be remodeled, the bathrooms are old and smells. The rooms are ok, our maid did a wonderfull job cleaning the room. The buffets are good but the service is very poor, some of the waiters are very nice but hard to come buy. The Italian and Lapas excellent food and service, the Steak house the food was good but service was horrible, and the Mexican the food and service was terrible. Expect a lot of French and Italian people and they are a bit rude on the buffets. But if you are going for the beach it's really pretty and beautifull the water is clean and blue you can feed the fish, and the sand is white. There is plenty of shade but the ocean and the pool, the pool is very clean and nice. The hotel grounds are very clean and nice. Just the hotel needs to be upgraded.

Room Number:
4221

Arrival:
Our arrival was poor since they told us to go the privileged check in area, but we didn't have anybody show us where it was.

Rooms:
The room was nice, but the bathroom was old and it smelled, they need to be remodelled.

Restaurants and Bars:
Most of the food was good but the service was very poor.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Amazing beach, the pool was very nice and clean, and the grounds are well kept.

Other Comments:
I would check other hotels in the same area.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"An amazing and tranquil retreat for any couple."

Catalonia Playa Maroma
User Rating:  Catalonia Playa Maroma Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mike  on Jan 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
336 people found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed for a week in early January in Catalonia Playa Maroma. This place is absolutely beautiful. It does not feel like you're staying in a resort or at a hotel, it is closer to your own personal, private retreat. The resort is spread out with the rooms divided into smaller sections that feel like your own private villas. There is no congregation of rooms or guests and you are never disturbed by the sounds of other guests. Each section or rooms is separated from the others by the jungle that the resort is built within. Wild Coatis (raccoon/anteater hybrids) roam the resort in small families and are even accustomed to people enough to not be frightened by the guests, though the free bread doesn't hurt. The area is also a nature preserve, and you really get the feel for this too as the Coatis are allowed to move about as they please, but they don't want you feeding them.

Room Number:
4119

Arrival:
We arrived in Cancun at around 8 am local time after a red eye flight from Canada. A representative from Nolitours was waiting for us outside the airport and took us to the resort, which was a good 30 minutes from Cancun airport. The entrance to the resort is a long way from the actual resort, so don't get too excited when you see the sign, as you're another 10 minutes away. When we did get to the resort, the staff immediately opened the door for us and greeted us. The lobby area is a huge, wide open space with couches and water fountains. Check in was simple and there was no delay getting into our room (though our bags were a little late behind us).

Rooms:
We were upgraded to a "privileged" room because there were no regular rooms available. These rooms were very large with two queen sized beds and a spacious patio connected to it. Minibar, room safe and flat screen TV in the room were nice additions but you don't go to Mexico to stay in your room. Bathroom and shower were far above what I expected as well. Rooms were always spotless with maids coming in at least once a day. The only disappointment was that we didn't get any towel art made for us since others we knew there were getting turtles, scorpions and swans.

Restaurants and Bars:
This resort had two buffets, 3 A la Cartes, a crepe bar and 1 additional A la carte that wasn't part of the all inclusive. We ate at all the restaurants except for the pay A la carte. Both buffets were open at lunch but only one the main buffet was open at supper. The other buffet turned into the 3 ALCs. The main buffet had an obscene selection of food and always had pasta, pizza, rice dishes and a selection of typical Mexican dishes. I focused mainly on the Mexican cuisine which was all delicious but all the other food there was above expectations. There was always a healthy variety of desserts as well. Beer and wine flowed freely at the main buffet also. The second buffet was closer to the beach and focused more on burgers and hot dogs but also had excellent fish.

The A la cartes at this resort were one Mexican themed one, an Italian themed restaurant and a Steak/Seafood restaurant. All three were very good with the Mexican being my least favourite. It seems like they made an effort to back off of the spiciness for the benefit of the guests but I was left wanting more heat. The meat restaurant had amazing Mahi Mahi and fairly good steaks though they were a little fatty. The Italian restaurant was impressive as they pulled off a top quality carpaccio and very well made risotto. Your drinks will be as full as you wish at the restaurants. They serve a very good Spanish wine that I am now hunting back home for.

There was one 24 hour bar in the lobby and a beachside bar during the day. Both made whatever drink you could think of and would even improvise for you when you weren't sure what you wanted. The bartenders were very helpful and would even remember drink preferences. Tequila Boom Booms are a new favourite of mine thanks to this resort. There is also a disco at the resort though it's popularity at the resort was questionable. It would only be busy for an hour or so each night, and the staff really had to work to get people in there.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach at Catalonia were among the best I had ever visited. The workers cleaned the beach every morning so all you saw was white sand and clear water. Not one rock anywhere on the beach or in the water. The waves were a little rough on some days but still very enjoyable. Lots of deck chairs line the beach and there is no worry about not getting a spot. Even some hammocks when you want to take a nap.

Even though I have an aversion to a pool at a beachfront resort, the pool there was excellent. Very little, if any, chemicals in the pool and it was cleaned daily by the staff. It has some shallow ends for kids and a deeper end which the scuba divers practice in. One important thing to note is that the hot tub is the same temperature as the pool.

The grounds were well kept and I never noticed one piece of garbage on the resort. There were small lights throughout the resort cleverly disguised as tree stumps. Since there is smoking on the resort, there were frequent ash trays that all had the HC stamp of the hotel on them.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went to Playa Del Carmen on several occasions. The resort didn't have their shuttle to town so we had to take a cab each way at 20 USD each time. It quickly added up. The restaurants in Playa are a must, with Blue Lobster for supper and Vagabonda for lunch being a top recommendation. We also went to Coco Bongo one night which is another thing you must experience.

There are shows put on at the theatre each night at the resort. They range from the entertaining Mayan show to the hilarious Hollywood variety show to the humorously bad Moulin Rouge. I recommend going to all the shows but make sure you're in the back so you can sneak off it is terrible.

I didn't do any of the daytime activities but they seemed like they were fun, it's just not as appealing as the beach was.

Other Comments:
The guest makeup for this resort was over 70% Italian. The rest were a mix of French Canadians and English Canadians. Be prepared to see a lot of topless women and guys in Speedos on the beach.

I cannot say enough about the quality of staff at the resort. Most staff there spoke at least 2 languages and were nothing but courteous the whole time. Every worker, from front desk, to security to groundsworker would say hi to you as you passed by. In one instance, we came across a worker smoking as we were wandering the resort. When he saw us, he put his cigarette out and waited until we had passed by to relight it.

I would return to this resort without question.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Paradise Found"

Catalonia Playa Maroma
User Rating:  Catalonia Playa Maroma Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dana  on Feb 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
368 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
We arrived near midnight (nolitours/canjet) and were quickly taken to our rooms. Walked along a softly lit pathway surrounded by jungle, and soothing music. The music is played continually along the pathway.

Rooms:
The rooms are dated but clean. We were in block 5 close to the beach/pool and restaurants. The beds were a bit on the hard side but nothing we couldn't deal with. We had a kingsize bed. The bathrooms could use some new tiles and sinks but I understand they are slowly renovating the hotel. Small fridge with bottled water and a free safe. Our room was on the second floor overlooking the beautiful gardens. All rooms have balconies but very few, if any, have ocean views. There are 6 complexes of rooms set into the jungle, offset by pathways.

Restaurants and Bars:
There are 3 a l cartes, (one of which is a snack bar during the day)and one buffet. Food at the buffet was reasonably good and there was enough variety for a one week stay. Service was excellent. No reservations required at the a la cartes and you were allowed 3 per stay. I did not notice any long line-ups but it was on a first come first served basis. We only ate in the one restaurant, Touscany, but enjoyed the food and service very much. At the beach bar they seve capuccions and crepes. The 24 hour lobby bar aslo serves capuccinos.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
It is about a 200 metre walk from the lobby to the pool/restaurant and beach area. But most of the rooms are close to these areas as well and you only need to take the walk if you are going to the lobby or buffet. This is the first resort where I have seen beach wheelchairs, (3 of them which can also go in the water)and 2 dedicated palapas for those with disabilies and a ramp connecting the two palapas at the beach to the pool area.

No towel wars at this resort and lots of palapa-like structures and shade for anyone who wants it. No towel cards either. You just exchange you towel when you want a new one. The beach is beyond belief. Wide and extremely long and composed of powder white sand. You can walk forever. While there were a few other resorts on the beach, they did not seem to have many guests and there was never a feeling of over-crowding. No beach vendors. Waiters brought drinks to guests on the beach or you could walk to the bar. It was very quiet and peaceful and there did not seem to be a lot of rowdy behaviour. this was a bonus for us as we were seeking a quiet holiday.

The pool was huge and had an area where you could swim lengths and also a children's area where the edges of the pool slanted slowly down so you could walk in easily. Again, lots of loungers.

Both the pool and beach area were extremely clean as were the washrooms near the pool.

The grounds are immaculate! It was fun to see the coatimundis coming out of the jungle seraching for treats from the guests near the buffet restaurant.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did not partake of any of the activities on the resort but there were many, including volleyball competitons, spanish lessons, stretching on the beach, pool activities etc. Although there were not a lot of children, there seemed to be a lot of activities for them as well.

There is a free shuttle twice a day into Playa del Carmen for shopping and bar hopping. Reserve the day before and make sure you are at the pick-up spot on time on the way back. If not taxi is $20 US.

Other Comments:
The mix of guests at the resort was 75% Italian/Spanish and the remainder a mix of French and English Canadians and a few Americans. The overall feel of the resort was very tranquil; I felt like I was at a spa most of the time. Perhaps this is the European influence. This is not a resort for party hardies.

Most of the staff speak little English and are thrilled when you try to speak Spanish to them. Staff on the front desk are excellent as are the guest relations staff and all speak English.

We tipped often as we felt the service was excellent. However, there was never an impression that staff were waiting to be tipped.

We will definitely return to this resort next year. If you are looking for a peaceful but not too expensive resort, this may be the one.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube