Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Mayan Riviera > Mayan Riviera Hotel Index > Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Mayan Riviera Hotels with Similar Ranking

Playa Sonrisa

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 9, 2010

Catalonia Playa Maroma

4.6 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 25, 2011

RIU Tequila

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 19, 2012

Gran Bahia Principe Coba Resort

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 29, 2012

RIU Lupita Resort

4.0 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 3, 2013

Riu Playacar Resort

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 2, 2011

Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa  

Carretera Chetumal Pto Juarez | Km 295, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico

"Great and well worth the money"
Posted by: sharon  on Jun 25, 2012
see all reviews

Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa Reviews
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa Pictures and Information
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa Mayan Riviera Mexico

#16
of 74 Hotels in Mayan Riviera

User rating 3.7

Based on 7 reviews

Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa Information


Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa hotel is located on a beautiful white sand beach on the exclusive Riviera Maya, at only 45 minutes from Cancunís International Airport and just 15 minutes from downtown Playa del Carmen.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa Reviews

Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa Review: 3.7 of 5 7 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  1
Average
  2
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (6)
Wedding (1)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
With friend
1 - 7 of 7

"Great and well worth the money"

Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  sharon  on Jun 25, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jun, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
159 people found this review helpful

Me and my partner and daughter who is 19 enjoyed our stay and could not complaine about anything xxx plenty of food choice drinks on tap .....and loads to do in the area plenty of trips xxxx but one thing we could not stand was the hassel u got from shop owners and also it has gone expensive xxxxx we did notice the change from our last visit back in 2010 xxx k.s.h ..Would recommened COCO BONGOS BRILL XXX

Room Number:
2012

Room Block:
20

Arrival:
no concerns ...............

Rooms:
always clean and beds changed all the time .............

Restaurants and Bars:
plenty of choice and always hot drinks always available xxxxxxxxxxxx

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
very well maintaned never saw any litter or un kept grounds xxxxxxxxx

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
great but at bit more choice of things to do for adults xxxxx

Other Comments:
would recommened this hotel for families and adults

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great hotel,,,lousy excursions"

Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  brian  on Feb 20, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
188 people found this review helpful

We stayed here 5 yrs ago on our honeymoon,,back again feb 11 2012,,resort increased in size ,soom rooms upgraded,food was great...free water sports are not free,,$10 cash insurance fee is asked for by attendant. excursions are 1 1/2 to 2 hr more then quoted, due to extra pick up at different resorts. it took 2 hrs from airport to resort ,because of extra resort drop offs, took cab back 2 airport at end of vacation so we could remain at resort for 2 extra hrs. 410 pesos for that,was worth the moneylapis jewelery IS very costly

Room Number:
7002

Arrival:
2 hrs later due to extra drops st oyher resorts,,,checked in at 10:30 pm

Rooms:
clean stocked daily ,except for hard liqour,,water cooler in room, 4 beer , 2 bags of chips ,2 chocolt bars , 4 soda

Restaurants and Bars:
mexican shut down twice a week for outdoor events, steak house was great (ask for jesus) italian was great , seafood was ok, brasilian was fantastic, 5 different skewers of meats are searved so you can sample them all,, buffets are crowded long line ,,, evening events are not posted correctly

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach is ok,,bring water shoes for the rocks,,,,free water sport cost $10 ,,they call it insrance policy-non-refund

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
add 2 hrs to access the main bus that takes you to the tourist spots, small van picks up other guest from different resort along the strip

Other Comments:
we have been there twice and would have gone back,,,,except that we were hounded to attend a time share ,by the resort , it took 4 hrs away from our sun time,,,too pushy,,will not return

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Never Again!"

Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jane  on Apr 28, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Wedding | With Group
313 people found this review helpful

For me this resort was way to large and they dont seem to have the capacity to manage a full house. On our first day we attempted to book our ala carte dinners and were told they were booked for the week. I wasn't impressed as we pay for that as part of our package. Only after advising them we had payed and they would compensate us in another way did they relent and book our dinners. On both occasions when we went for our dinners the restaurants were half empty. The food was terrible in all areas. I haven't been that sick from a vacation for some time. The smells around the facility are nauseating, I could go on... Suffice it to say I wont go back. Rude staff, poor service....

Room Number:
3215

Room Block:
3200

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"had the best time"

Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  karen  on Jul 5, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
352 people found this review helpful

I hear all the bad things about royal elite but in really life. My husband and myself went they in early 2009, after a 6 week trip to jamaica that end witha friend getting hurt. We had a great time and did buy a one bedroom, since then we have had a couple hickups but all has been worked out. We returned to sandos caracol in december and had no problems. no problems booking or with are stay. the have changed thing and are working hard to make it all right. we love the staff and the staff loves us no are money. like we found in jamaica they love your money not you.

cant wait to get back there

Rooms:
nice clean and cleaned everyday with towel animals on the bed

Restaurants and Bars:
fast, good and clean

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
clean and nice

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
lots

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Clean resort, very spread out."

Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gary  on Apr 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
386 people found this review helpful

Our stay was very good. The staff were excellent. We were bumped up to the select club because there were no other rooms left. (not worth the $ difference) Our room was too far from the beach and all three buffet restaurants. lots of walking. Our two boys aged 15 and 11 liked the grounds and animals, and pool tables. The food was what you'd expect at buffets. Our only true complaint was the smell of sewer everywhere on the property. It was by the restaurants, pools, rooms, etc.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Chilly Mexico! :)"

Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rebecca  on Jan 20, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
366 people found this review helpful

...

Your Arrival:
We left very early in the morning- 4 am- and had only a few hours sleep, so when we arrived and found out that the next morning we were expected for "orientation" at 9:30, we were fairly certain we weren't going to make it. We spoke with a customer service rep, Francine, about what we REALLY needed to know, so she gave us the bare bones but encouraged us to stop by the next day and we made an appointment for 12:30 with Alfredo. She introduced us to him, and explained that we would be sleeping the next day and unable to make the early morning meet. We weren't very happy when, the next morning at 8:30, we were woken up by a phone call reminding us of our meeting at 12:30!!

Rooms:
Very clean! Beds were EXTREMELY hard and we went for two massages each to try and fix our backs/necks. Fridge was always stocked, towels always clean. If you don't put a Do Not Disturb on the door, though, expect to get disturbed!!

Restaurants and Bars:
The Mexican was the best breakfast. We didn't eat a lot at the resort and spent a lot of time in Playa del Carmen, but the two times we ate at the International we weren't that impressed. The first day we got there, we made all of our bookings for the week with the different restaurants, and had no trouble getting reservations. All of our meals were excellent, if a little on the small side. La Riviera was the BEST!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Clean, clean, clean! Again, everything was kept immaculately and I was very impressed with how much care they took. Loved the Cat Cafe and the raccoons and all the other animals in the resort!! Also, the shop has everything you need, so if you forget something, don't worry!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't go on any excursions- it was too freaking cold!!

Other Comments:
Overall, both of us were just looking forward to some peace and quiet and sleep and a lovely enjoyable vacation, which this definitely was for the most part. I think the only thing we were unhappy with was the paper-thin quality of the walls separating the rooms, being called WHILE ON VACATION to get us to sign up for things, and the incredibly hard bed. This wasn't a Sandals... but it was very beautiful and I enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Thanks so much for a wonderful vacation Mexico."

Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Liesje  on Jan 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | Family and Kids
367 people found this review helpful

Hi
Our family of 5 had a wonderful time staying at the Sandos Caracol Mayan Riviera.
We did everything as a family all our outings were booked from the resort and had great service from Julian Lee and Claire. Food, rooms and weather along with the wonderful staff who could not do enough and quickly after a request as well Will be back in the near future as I felt at home completely comfortable in my surroundings. Every excursion was a blast the kids 24, 22 and 19 will come back too. Thanks so much for a wonderful vacation Mexico.
Liesje

Rooms:
Taken care of daily with no complaints

Restaurants and Bars:
Loved everything my son only asked for cream once for his coffe milk was just fine

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Had a blast there too

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel: Enjoyed the shows and went on 4 tours and a day in Playa de Carma

Other Comments:
Will do it all again soon

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube