Crown Paradise Club Cancun Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Cancun > Cancun Hotel Index > Crown Paradise Club Cancun reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cancun Hotels with Similar Ranking

Omni Cancún Hotel & Villas

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 17, 2014

Fiesta Americana Grand Coral Beach Cancun Resort & Spa

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 18, 2014

Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort

4.8 based on 16 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 18, 2014

Excellence Playa Mujeres

4.8 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 16, 2014

Gran Caribe Real Resort and Spa

4.2 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 4, 2014

Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

3.4 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed May 28, 2011

Crown Paradise Club Cancun  

Blvd. Kukulkan Km 18.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico

"best family resort"
Posted by: garey on Sep 17, 2014
see all reviews

Crown Paradise Club Cancun Reviews
Crown Paradise Club Cancun Pictures and Information
Crown Paradise Club Cancun Cancun Mexico

#2
of 54 Hotels in Cancun

User rating 3.9

Based on 21 reviews

Crown Paradise Club Cancun Information


If you are looking for a 5 star hotel in Cancún, Mexico there is no doubt that the Crown Paradise Club Cancún resort is the right place to book. Located by the beach, the hotel is easy to reach from the local airport.
Ideal for families who want to spend a fun holiday in the sun, Crown Paradise Club Cancún Hotel is located in the fabulous Mexican island of Cancún.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Crown Paradise Club Cancun Reviews

Crown Paradise Club Cancun Review: 3.9 of 5 21 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  9
Average
  6
Poor
  1
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (21)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (11)
Solo Traveller (2)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 21

"best family resort"

Crown Paradise Club Cancun
User Rating:  Crown Paradise Club Cancun Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  garey  on Sep 17, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
3 people found this review helpful

I visited this resort with my family and I have to say that it is one of the best resorts we have been to, it is the best resort I can think of or recommend to any family planning to be on vacation. I don’t want to mention the hotel where we normally spend our yearly vacation but that place was so we decided to try something else this year and I am glad that we chose this hotel because my wife and kids loved every moment we spent here. We had lots of luggage because we travelled as a family so when we arrived, the bell guy was efficient in transferring our bags to the appointed rooms that we booked, check in was very fast and we went straight into the rooms and right from that moment our wonderful holiday started. We stayed here for about 2 weeks before moving on to our next destination and those two weeks was bliss for us. The bartenders made sure that our glasses were never dry or empty; they are the best bartenders around. Our rooms were clean, it had Great Ocean and pool views, it was beautiful especially in the mornings. The employees and workers here know how to treat customer’s right, they are friendly and smiled always, it was outstanding. The waiters who serve at the buffet especially the guy called Raphel, he is the nicest waiter I have ever met and he is very hardworking, kudos to him.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It was ok"

Crown Paradise Club Cancun
User Rating:  Crown Paradise Club Cancun Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Hayley  on Feb 17, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
34 people found this review helpful

We had a good trip. The hotel was fine, but not as nice as I had hoped. Our kids (12, 15, 17, 17) didn't mind. I would have given it 3 stars, tops. All in all we enjoyed our trip but don’t feel the hotel added to that at all. It’s lovely getting away but it’s the hotel’s job to make us want to come back to them instead of just back to the area and Crown Paradise Club did not do that for us. When we return to Mexico, we will give another place a try.

Room Number:
1009

Rooms:
The hotel didn't give us adjoining or adjacent rooms even though I emailed them directly 3 times before we went! They offered us 2 rooms but on different floors which of course wasn't acceptable. They were good enough to upgrade us to a family room free of charge. The kids loved the room because it had a double bed, bunk beds and a single pull out bed on the main floor so they didn't have to share beds at all. It had a nice king bed upstairs. The whole room was very open though so upstairs didn't mean the same as upstairs does here! Coming in the door you look right into the top bunk and right on top was the king bed. But we were happy that the kids were happy. And we did get 2 bathrooms! Given the choice, we would do the family room for the kids again. The housekeeping service was average. We had a swan on our bed the first day but nothing on the kids' beds and then nothing after...and I handed the guy a $7 tip on the first day!

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurant offered the same buffet every night and food quality wasn't great. The specialty restaurants didn't offer very much variety either. You had a choice of 3 - 4 appetizers, 4 - 5 different main courses and 2 - 3 desserts at each. You had to call and reserve a table at 8 in the morning, 2 days before you wanted a reservation, yet every one we visited was half empty when we went! They should allow for walk-in traffic.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The entertainment staff put on a good show at night (quite talented) but were pretty absent during the day. They did have a few activities at the pool but other than a few kid’s games they just organized a volleyball game on the beach at 4 every day for the older kids/adults.

Other Comments:
Our WestJet representative (it's called Best Day Travel there) Rudy, was amazing! So friendly! We booked both our trips (dolphins and ruins) on the first day after dinner and he remembered our names the whole week and spoke with us every time he saw us. He was by far the best part of the hotel experience. The lobby, restaurant and bar staff were good, some better than others, but overall no complaints. The store/boutique staff by the Mexican restaurant were rude...no customer service skills at all. They just ignored you the whole time you were in the store...even if you were standing at the cash waiting to pay! They would be texting on their phone or talking to each other in Spanish and would get to you in their own sweet time. The one by the Seafood Restaurant wasn't much better. The store boutique by the spa had the best staff out of the three.
I got my hair braided while we were there so I didn't have to worry about curling or straightening every time I got wet but unfortunately I couldn't get it done at their spa because they wanted $60! A nice lady on the beach did it for me for $35.
They didn't take American money! They would only accept pesos at their stores/boutiques and didn't offer any exchange for US bills. They would exchange Canadian but we had changed most of our money into US. They said they didn't have a government permit allowing them to exchange American. They should let you know this before you go.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Only if you have young children"

Crown Paradise Club Cancun
User Rating:  Crown Paradise Club Cancun Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ron  on Feb 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
323 people found this review helpful

Being close to the airport is probably its biggest amenity. I will first start with the good for all ages, Ocean views for all, great cleaning staff, and very accomodating management personnel. Now, if you have young children you will quickly see that this resort caters to that age group. Buffet tends to serve foods that are easy for the young family to recognize and easy to serve (hamburgs, hotdogs, french fries). Lots of outdoor pools and activities geared to youthful imaginations and availability. For the young couple without children entertanment would be best found off the resort, even though they had 2 on-site venus (the disco or nightclub only open after 11 pm). Other than the adult only pool, this is not the resort for mature couples.
Now for the not for me items: Buffet area ultra noisy and selections minimal. Some foods were hidden from view and only available if you requested them(bacon in the morning). Wines served at meals in buffet and Ala Carte restaurants hit and miss with quality. Not enough something ?? for the Ala Carte Rests. They never seemed full, yet you could not book a table after 12noon. Always one rest. closed each night, eventhough you know they could have filled it with requests (maybe a staffing issue). The adult pool was so alienating that you fely like you were somewhere else (stuck behind the resort with no beautiful ocean view, only that of maintanence area and a hurricane wrecked resort next door). The beach was nice but far tto small for the number of patrons. I think there was only enough beach chairs for about on half of the quests and you would have to be out by 6:00 am to get one. The night shows really could entertain only those with no idea of good coryography or lip-sink skills. For a resort in the big city I think a more professional and variety of shows should have been part of the entertainment package. This was a fairly pricy booking and it fell far short of other resorts we visited in the Beautiful Carribean.

Room Number:
6th floor

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"awful"

Crown Paradise Club Cancun
User Rating:  Crown Paradise Club Cancun Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  olga  on Nov 24, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
339 people found this review helpful

I was at this resort in October, It was the worst resort by far as I have traveled to Cancun many times before. The rooms were stuffy and hot, the temperature in the room was so high, we complained and not one answered our concerns, it was so hard to sleep. The bed was stiff and damp. The pillows weren't actually pillows, they were lumpy cushions the worst. The food was terrible, hardly any restaurants were open, the service completely sucked. The resort is old, not renovated at all. There was no fridge in the room so every-time you needed water or a drink you had to go to the bar to get it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had a wonderful week at the Crown Paradise Club in Cancun"

Crown Paradise Club Cancun
User Rating:  Crown Paradise Club Cancun Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  David&Janet  on Dec 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
304 people found this review helpful

We just returned from a great week at Crown Paradise Club (CPC) Cancun from December 2 to 9, 2008. Janet and I are experienced travelers to resorts in Cuba, the Dominican Republic, and Mexico. We were looking for a place to spend my 50th birthday on the beach, and we weren’t disappointed. We got a very good deal on the CPC as that week fell in the low season and the resort was only about half full.

We flew with Air Canada and you had to pay for everything. Headphones for the entertainment system were $3. We paid $6 for a cold sub sandwich. The charter companies like Sunwing, Air Transat , Canjet and Conquest provide superior service.

Rooms:
Since we had a great price, we booked an upgraded Crown Club room. The bellman took us directly to the Crown Club Hospitality Suite on the 8th floor of the Crown Tower and our hostess checked us in. We also booked our dinner reservations at the a la carte restaurants while we were at it.

We were assigned room 2804 which was right around the corner from the hospitality suite. We had an awesome view of the whole resort and the ocean. Our room was large, with a king sized bed and a Jacuzzi in the room. The bathroom had the toilet in a separate room. There were double sinks and clear glass doors on the shower area with no tub. Everything was extremely clean, was in very good shape, and worked well. However, I did notice some very small ants or whatever crawling around the sinks. I’ve noticed these in most resorts that we have been in. There were plenty of pillows, but we found the bed to be extremely hard.

The mini bar fridge in the room was stocked daily with water, juices, soft drinks and beer, but we were concerned about the small amount of bottled water available for drinking. However, all the literature claims that the tap water in Cancun resorts is safe to drink. You can actually smell the chlorine when you turn on the taps. Just to be on the safe side, we bought bottled water for the coffee maker down at the store in the lobby.

The maid service was excellent as they checked the room about 3 times a day. However there was one day that the room wasn’t made up when we went back for our 4:00 siesta. There were always clean towels and facecloths available when we needed them. On my birthday, the maid had the room decorated with a Happy Birthday banner and lots of balloons which was a nice touch. We usually left a US$1 tip for the maid each day.

Food:
The food at the CPC was the best that we have had at an all inclusive resort so far. We usually went for breakfast at the Crown Club Hospitality Suite which was very good. We went to the La Palapa main buffet a few times for breakfast, lunch and supper. The food and service were excellent. We tried a little bit of everything and we never found it boring.

We had lunch a few times at the Tutuch snack bar which is located beside the main pool. They offered hamburgers with all the fixings, hot dogs, fries, chicken wings and taco chips with cheese and salsa. Beside this was the Fujiyama Japanese snack bar which offered deep fried coconut shrimp and beef noodle stir fry to name a few, and had all kinds of sushi rolls. We also stopped at the Midway Grill near the lobby bar one night on the way home after midnight and picked up a steak sandwich.

The Italian restaurant La Piazza had good red wine, and a salad bar. Wayne’s Boots is a steakhouse that features rides on a mechanical bull at 7:00pm & 9:00pm. I rode the bull but didn’t stay on too long. We had a nice chocolate brownie with ice cream for desert which was delicious. We saved San Soucis the French restaurant for my birthday dinner and we were not disappointed. We had red wine with crepes and a perfectly cooked beef tenderloin. Then we had after dinner drinks of Bailey’s and Sambooka.

We should note that not all the restaurants were open every night as the resort was not full. The French is adults only, and men must have long pants and shirts and no open toed shoes. I ended up wearing my sneakers. All other restaurants have a very good children’s menu which is definitely a priority at this resort. The Steakhouse was a little disappointing in that only 1 kind of steak was offered, but you could get chicken or ribs if you wished. Nevertheless, the food was absolutely the best, with very little waiting time between courses.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The main focal point of our week was the adults only Club Caribe pool and swim up bar. It is located off the 1st floor of the Paradise Tower. It is a quiet area with no children and is a perfect place to spend the afternoon relaxing. Elf was the bartender and he did a very good job of providing whatever it was we wanted to drink. We met some great people from all over the world herel.

We hung around the Main Pool on most mornings, but we usually moved around lunch time. The Concha pool is beside the main pool and is totally in the shade by about 1:00 pm. Generally, the water temperature in the pools was cool and it took me some time to get in. However, there are some heated pools up at the Adults pool.

The beach near the CPC is very narrow, but it is wider down to the right of the resort. There is an abandoned resort to left side. However, the beach is very clean with nice fine sand. The beach is public property and local venders were roaming around trying to sell you things. However, they weren’t much of a bother, but I ended up buying a bracelet. The CPC beach bar was closed for repairs while we were there, but I did notice a waiter serving drinks down at the beach. The ocean was very rough and the red flags were up on most days. However, we did manage to get in for a swim a couple of days when it was yellow flagged. You need to be careful getting in and out of the water as the waves can knock you down.

Bars:
The bars at the CPC open at 10:00 am. The lobby bar is very small with only a few tables. On the other side of this is the Collage bar which is quite large and has good table service. The only draw back is the children running around which is allowed in the Collage.

We spent most evenings at the adults only Trafalgar bar which opened at 6:00 pm. Carlito was the bartender and he was very friendly and he could make just about any kind of drink. I would suggest you try an apple martini which is a good drink before supper. After supper we would go back for drinks and play pool or cards and hang out with our new friends.

All the resorts in Cancun are now Smoke Free as of about 6 months ago. They do not allow smoking anywhere inside, similar to the smoke free laws in Canada. It would be nice if the CPC provided some kind of outdoor smoking lounge where a person could sit and smoke while enjoying a drink. Ash trays at the entrances to the lobby and other buildings are required so people can butt out before entering.

Activities:
The resort’s theater is inside and is just down the way from the front desk in the main lobby. The shows start at 8:00 or 9:00 pm each night. We caught a couple of shows and they were better than average. The staff works hard to include the children.

We were approached by a man on the first day who asked if we were interested in going for a 90 minute presentation on the CPC VIP package. He offered us gift certificates and other items if we went to the presentation. We apparently agreed probably because of the many tequilas and margaritas we had consumed that afternoon. We were surprised when he telephoned our room early the next morning to remind us. But we politely declined, and we were not approached again by anyone throughout the week.

We took the local transit bus into down town Cancun one day and did some shopping at the famous Market 28. The bus stops in front of the resort and only costs 6.50 pesos but we gave the driver US$1 each. Market 28 has the best prices in Cancun for tee shirts and other souvenirs. We then went to Wal Mart more for curiosity than anything else. But we ended up buying Tequila and Kahlua to take home as the price was better than anyplace else, including the Duty Free shop at the airport. The buses run every couple of minutes and it is no problem at all. Just be prepared to hang on! However, I would recommend wearing sneakers and socks when going into Cancun as the streets can be very dirty.

Our CPC vacation package also included green fees at the Pok ta Pok golf course. This is not to be confused with the Hilton Golf Course which is right across the street from the CPC. We had to pay for a mandatory power cart rental at US$35 per person and we rented clubs at US$45 per person. The course is rated 70 from the white tees and plays over 6400 yards. We noticed a lot of lizards on the course which we were wary of. There is no deep rough or anything like that where scary things can lurk. The course is a good test but we rated it at about 5 out of 10 when compared to similar priced courses at home. At the end of the round, we were provided with a cool cloth to wipe our faces which was a nice touch. We took at cab from the CPC to the course which cost US$13 each way.

Conclusion:
In summary, we had a wonderful week at the Crown Paradise Club in Cancun. The resort is very clean and compact. The service is excellent, and the staff are very friendly and co-operative. The price was a bargain and we’d definitely go back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We all had a good time and would return again."

Crown Paradise Club Cancun
User Rating:  Crown Paradise Club Cancun Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kenneth_USA  on Nov 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Leisure | Family and Kids
282 people found this review helpful

My wife, three children ages 9,12 and 14 and I spent the week of July 11 -July 18 at the Crown Paradise Club in Cancun. We left on time, flying American Airlines out of JFK Friday morning. The earlier flight was delayed two hours because of the tropical strom Claudette. The flight was fine and the pilot informed us that the flight would be approximately a half hour longer because they were going to come in from the south, rather than the north to aviod Claudette. We were meet at the airport by representatives of the tour company, Olympic Tours. On the 20 minute bus ride to the hotel the tour company representive told us about the storm, what to expect in Cancun etc.etc. Check in was no problem and our bags were taken to our room. We were supposed to have a cot in the room for our 3rd child. After 3 calls to the front desk, it arrived. The food was great and plenty of it. The resort has five restaurants and what I would call a food court for causal dining. The food court served a variet of foods at all meals. We went to three of the five restaurants. The Mexican was by far the most decorated, all had great service but the Seafood restaurant had the best service. You did need to make reservations very early in the day or a day ahead to get into any of the restaurants. The room, beds. bathrooms were nice. No problems with the accomodations, air conditioning etc. and all their rooms face the ocean. The hotel staff was very good. From those in housekeeping, to the wait staff, to the entertainment staff, all were nice and tried to make ones stay a pleasant one. The entertainment staff at the pool did a good job with a variety of activities for the guests and were not pushy. They also had activities such as water polo, water basketball for teenagers. Aadditionally they organized soccer games, basketball games for the children. If only one child wanted to do the event they would do it with the one child or 15 children. There were nightly shows put on by either then entertainment staff or other professionals. The shows were entertaining, started pretty much on time and lasted no more than 75 minutes. My 9 year old daughter went to the Kids Club and enjoyed it so much she continued to return. They do arts and crafts, board games and have an in door water park for the kids. I can't say enough about the resort...well managed, great staff, great food, great drinks, great pools, warm ocean and family oriented. We all had a good time and would return again next year if the price is right. If you wish to contact me kcrowley@somers.k12.ny.us

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would recommend this hotel, especially for families with young children"

Crown Paradise Club Cancun
User Rating:  Crown Paradise Club Cancun Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Cathy_CrownParadise  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009 | Leisure | With Group
318 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
We arrived around 6pm to the hotel everything was fine. Staff was friendly & took our luggage to our room.

Rooms:
Rooms were clean & updated. Our room was for 2 adults & 2 children so we had 2 double beds. We have stayed in cancun before at a different hotel so expected beds that would be larger then the average double in canada. Not at this hotel, the doubles are true doubles. We ended up having to get a cott for 1 of our children. Our bathroom was a handi-cap bathroom so was very roomy & had a nice walk in shower no bath tub. We had a nice covered deck with chairs & table. Other family members that were travelling with us had 1 king bed & their rooms were much bigger and had nicer linens on the beds. Bathrooms in the king bedroom were much smaller & had bath tubs. I would choose the walk in shower.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet was awesome, big selection of food everyday & night. Something for everyone. Staff was very friendly. A la carte restaurants were not very good at all. We tried the italian, the mexican & the steakhouse and the food in all 3 was awful and we ended up going to the buffet afterwards.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was good, you have to get down there early to get chairs. The beach is not very wide & by the end of the 2 weeks it had washed away & created almost a cliff at some spots & was barely wide enough for 2 people to walk. Beach was clean though. Waves were pretty rough some days with quite the undertow. I found it very windy at this resort. Because the hotel is so tall you loose sun by about 3pm so that was a downside. All the pools were very nice/clean & entertainment team did a good job. The kids paradise is awesome !! Waterslides & activities for the kids and was very safe to leave kids there.

Activities:
Nightly shows in the theatre were very entertaining and were appropiate for kids as well.mamma mia show was pretty good & the fantasy show for kids was awesome, they had all the disney characters, belle, ariel etc.. & barney, baby bop & bj.

Other Comments:
Overall i would recommend this hotel, especially for families with young children, lots of activities for everyone. Only downside was the beach.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We would certainly recommend this to families."

Crown Paradise Club Cancun
User Rating:  Crown Paradise Club Cancun Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Cathy_Manitoba  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
295 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
We arrived late at night with a bus load and only 1 person on desk so took awhile to get to our room. We had requested a fridge in our room, none available, and really could have cared less that we had requested one. Staff not very sympathetic about pleasing people and kinda errigant most of the time.

Rooms:
The rooms were fine clean and we had a walk in shower with a glass door and a huge jacuzzi in the room, took up a lot of space and who needs a jacuzzi in Mexico.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet was good although could get tiring after 2 weeks. The Ala Cartes were fabulous steak just like you bbq it at home tender and tasty. We tried all the A La Cartes at least once and all were excellent.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was a real disappointment as red flags out almost all of the two weeks were were there. Pools were okay, but really noisy and lots of kids.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't go on any tours went to Cancun shopping a couple of days, really easy to get to by the bus give the driver $ 1 and everyone is happy and he will help you get where you want to go

Other Comments:
There seemed to be loud music wherever you went and so loud that you couldn't understand half of what they were saying, Trafalgars bar was okay but at music cranked up and people didn't stay long, playing cards or visiting. There were just too many kids and too much noise to relax like we wanted, We would certainly recommend this too families and maybe go back when our grandchildren are older but until then we wouldn't go back and if you have no kids DON'T GO HERE

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I loved it!"

Crown Paradise Club Cancun
User Rating:  Crown Paradise Club Cancun Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Candy_Chicago  on Nov 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2008 | Leisure | Solo
292 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
June 5th-15th,2008 Was great, the resort was sooo nice !! every one very helpful & friendly.

Rooms:
very nice & clean, great view !!

Restaurants and Bars:
food was excelent!!& the bars were so much fun!!!the entertainers played games& were sooo much fun!I had a great time w/them .drinks were very very good!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach was breath takeing, & the pools were wounderful & the entertainers were sooo much fun & nice, Joey was fantastict!!! & as handsome as a movie star!! grounds very clean & nicely landscaped.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
activities on the resort were great!!w/ all the entertainers, soo much fun!! Joey, realy stands out,what a great guy!& he is an AMAZEING DANCER!!! he could be John Stamos twin brother.

Other Comments:
I loved it!the shows were AMAZEING!GREASE,WAS AMAZEING!JOEY&MARIA AMAZEING DANCERS!JOEY, was a real standout!!I heard he is a model/actor in the U.S.A.& boy does it show!! what a looker!!its worth going just to see him!spectacular!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This vacation was fine as long as we were not in our room"

Crown Paradise Club Cancun
User Rating:  Crown Paradise Club Cancun Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Sue_Charlottetown  on Apr 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2008 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
288 people found this review helpful

Arrival and Flight:
Air Canada March 23 -30- 2008

Rooms:
Absolutely horrible. I don't know where to start. I am not a picky person most times - a clean bed and decent bathroom are a must though. When we opened the door to the room I told my husband not to unpack. We went to this resort on the recommendation of a co-worker who had gone last year. He raved about his jacuzzi in the room and glassed in shower and the cleanliness of the room. A cockroach basically met us at the door. A few other bugs decided to crawl up the bathroom sink drain over the course of the week as well. The tub was rusting around the edges, the shower curtain holder was corroded beyond, one of the taps was rusted out. The bathroom floor was filthy and the drain on the floor had slime around it. There was a light in the center of the room so if you were on the toilet or standing at the sink the light was directly overhead - the housing around the light was dripping water - was it a leak from upstairs or condensation built up from our room? There were no problems with having clean towels everyday when the maid came to the room. There was a problem with enough beach towels. The smell was very musty - much like a basement that had water in it.

Restaurants:
We ate at the French restaurant, the Mexican Restaurant and Wayne's Boots as well as the Buffet and Snack bars at poolside. The French was by far the best. Cannot say anything bad about the food; neither the kids or adults got sick and their was something for everyone. I have to agree with some of the other comments that if you were at the buffet when it opened it was crowded and up to about the first hour seating was minimal. Also, booking at the restaurants you had to do about 3 days in advance for the a la cartes.

Bars:
Excellent service - the bartenders get to know you and tips are appreciated.

Beach/Pools:
Did not spend much time on the beach. Pool areas are definitely overcrowded, not enough towels or chairs. Although a sign is posted that there is no reserving of chairs, they pretty much all have towels or personal belongings on them by 7am - and then not used until later in the day and the rule is not enforced so you may end up sitting on cement all day.

Grounds:
The grounds were kept neat and tidy, no garbage around and the workers were visible and diligent.

Activities:
There were many activities to purchase at the tour desk - quite expensive. Evening entertainment was great and geared towards the kids most nights - the Circus night (Sunday) and Saturday evenings (Barney, Princesses, Shrek) were the best.

Tours:
Expensive but safe and available.

Departure and Check Out:
Let's start with the check in. We got there at 10am and were told no room until at least 3pm so our luggage went to the concierge desk. We changed in a public washroom and spent a pleasant few hours touring the facility to get familiar. At the time of booking we asked for a cot and a mini-bar. When we got to the room we had neither. When I enquired at the desk they said 4 people, 2 double beds that's it. Regarding the mini-bar because we were not in the new tower, apparently we were not entitled to it. I asked for a fridge because our daughter was on medication that required it to remain chilled. Could not get one so for the entire week, 2x per day we filled the ice bucket. I asked 3 days in a row at the desk regarding the 2 requests. They certainly did not want to provide them for various reasons it seemed and then I found out that the cost of a cot is $20 per day extra and the fridge $10 per day. We did not book last minute, it was the middle of February. I was also told there were no other rooms available but the man who checked in next to us with his daughter got a king bed in error and was supposed to have 2 doubles like us. He was given a cot and was moved to the new tower the next day. I spoke to the Air Canada representative on site and he basically told me all the rooms were the same and that the hotel was booked. I made it a point to visit the other tower and let me tell you the rooms are not the same. They were like the photos in the magazine and on the website - not the room that we got.
Check out was easy and I told them that I was disappointed with our holiday regarding our room, no reaction at all. The day before we left we were left with a customer satisfaction questionnaire - I filled it out and handed it to the agent on the front desk as I told her we were not happy with the room.

Kid's Club:
Usually only 2 employees in there at a time - with upwards of 50 children - not sufficient enough. The eating area is not clean and the bathrooms did not appear to be getting clean on a daily basis. Age 3-12 together in one group; makes it hard for the little ones in the pool. Not lifeguarded at all times.

Timeshare:
Every morning we went to breakfast there was a hotel employee who approached us to go to a breakfast meeting - we did not go but it was for a presentation on a time share. I had made the mistake of enquiring at her desk regarding hotel information and she took my name down 'for her statistics' so she had it and I told her I was not interested in the sales pitch. By the 2nd last day she came across the lobby at us saying 'why you didn't show up for the breakfast - you come now!' - she was pretty aggressive.

Water:
At the travel clinics and through our travel agent, we were told NOT to drink the water and to use bottled water to brush our teeth as well. I drink a lot of water. You could not get bottled water unless you bought it at the convenience store on site. We could only buy what we could drink/use in the short term because we had no place to keep it cold. Even if you asked for water at the bars they turned on the tap - no thanks. This resort is rated as a 4 and 4.5 star in many travel brochures - water is a basic necessity and at an all inclusive, expected.

Public areas:
Most areas were kept clean on the main level; i.e. the lobby with shiny marble floors however there is a difference between the 2 towers - the other being extremely upscale compared to our tower. One of the 3 elevators had a pink sticky drink spilled in it the first day we were there and was still in the corner when we left, complete with ants by the 2nd day. The public restrooms were deplorable. The toilets had a ring of water around the base with the sanitary holders overflowing on some days. The public washroom attached to the buffet restaurant never had any soap in the dispenser the entire week. The public washrooms in the other tower were spotless and did not have any odour.

Conclusion:
Overall this vacation was fine as long as we were not in our room. We all made out ok with the food and it is a good place for families. The kids club is not what the brochures lead you to believe, merely a place to leave your kids if you want a few hours to yourselves or to go for dinner.

We would not go back to this resort and I would like to see the rating of it lowered. Had we been in the other tower it could have made a world of difference. We went on a friend's recommendation and the photos from the web and travel brochures but that is not the product that we got.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube