Crown Paradise Club Cancun Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Cancun > Cancun Hotel Index > Crown Paradise Club Cancun reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cancun Hotels with Similar Ranking

Omni Cancún Hotel & Villas

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 17, 2014

Fiesta Americana Grand Coral Beach Cancun Resort & Spa

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 18, 2014

Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort

4.8 based on 15 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 1, 2009

Excellence Playa Mujeres

4.8 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 16, 2014

Gran Caribe Real Resort and Spa

4.2 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 4, 2014

Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

3.4 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed May 28, 2011

Crown Paradise Club Cancun  

Blvd. Kukulkan Km 18.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico

"best family resort"
Posted by: garey on Sep 17, 2014
see all reviews

Crown Paradise Club Cancun Reviews
Crown Paradise Club Cancun Pictures and Information
Crown Paradise Club Cancun Cancun Mexico

#2
of 54 Hotels in Cancun

User rating 3.9

Based on 21 reviews

Crown Paradise Club Cancun Information


If you are looking for a 5 star hotel in Cancún, Mexico there is no doubt that the Crown Paradise Club Cancún resort is the right place to book. Located by the beach, the hotel is easy to reach from the local airport.
Ideal for families who want to spend a fun holiday in the sun, Crown Paradise Club Cancún Hotel is located in the fabulous Mexican island of Cancún.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Crown Paradise Club Cancun Reviews

Crown Paradise Club Cancun Review: 3.9 of 5 21 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  9
Average
  6
Poor
  1
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (21)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (11)
Solo Traveller (2)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 21

"awful"

Crown Paradise Club Cancun
User Rating:  Crown Paradise Club Cancun Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  olga  on Nov 24, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
338 people found this review helpful

I was at this resort in October, It was the worst resort by far as I have traveled to Cancun many times before. The rooms were stuffy and hot, the temperature in the room was so high, we complained and not one answered our concerns, it was so hard to sleep. The bed was stiff and damp. The pillows weren't actually pillows, they were lumpy cushions the worst. The food was terrible, hardly any restaurants were open, the service completely sucked. The resort is old, not renovated at all. There was no fridge in the room so every-time you needed water or a drink you had to go to the bar to get it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Only if you have young children"

Crown Paradise Club Cancun
User Rating:  Crown Paradise Club Cancun Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ron  on Feb 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
322 people found this review helpful

Being close to the airport is probably its biggest amenity. I will first start with the good for all ages, Ocean views for all, great cleaning staff, and very accomodating management personnel. Now, if you have young children you will quickly see that this resort caters to that age group. Buffet tends to serve foods that are easy for the young family to recognize and easy to serve (hamburgs, hotdogs, french fries). Lots of outdoor pools and activities geared to youthful imaginations and availability. For the young couple without children entertanment would be best found off the resort, even though they had 2 on-site venus (the disco or nightclub only open after 11 pm). Other than the adult only pool, this is not the resort for mature couples.
Now for the not for me items: Buffet area ultra noisy and selections minimal. Some foods were hidden from view and only available if you requested them(bacon in the morning). Wines served at meals in buffet and Ala Carte restaurants hit and miss with quality. Not enough something ?? for the Ala Carte Rests. They never seemed full, yet you could not book a table after 12noon. Always one rest. closed each night, eventhough you know they could have filled it with requests (maybe a staffing issue). The adult pool was so alienating that you fely like you were somewhere else (stuck behind the resort with no beautiful ocean view, only that of maintanence area and a hurricane wrecked resort next door). The beach was nice but far tto small for the number of patrons. I think there was only enough beach chairs for about on half of the quests and you would have to be out by 6:00 am to get one. The night shows really could entertain only those with no idea of good coryography or lip-sink skills. For a resort in the big city I think a more professional and variety of shows should have been part of the entertainment package. This was a fairly pricy booking and it fell far short of other resorts we visited in the Beautiful Carribean.

Room Number:
6th floor

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Calling this a five star resort is a joke."

Crown Paradise Club Cancun
User Rating:  Crown Paradise Club Cancun Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  CrownParadiseVisitor  on Jun 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2004 | Leisure | Family and Kids
68 people found this review helpful

Stayed at the Crown Paradise Resort from June 5th-12th, 2004 and was our first trip to Mexico. My major complaints are below by section.

Food
Resort featured six restaurants. All restaurants were very hot with very poor air conditioning. The main restaurant serving B/L/D was the buffet. Breakfast was pretty good with a good variety. Lunch and dinner were terrible. Absolutely no change in the menu from day to day with very limited selection. (Cheese burgers, pizza, stir fry, pastas and a limited desert and salad station.) If you're looking for carved roast beef and ham with mashed potatoes, gravy and all the fixings, you are in the wrong place. Food quality reminded me of my dorm food in college. Iced Tea was terrible and soda had no carbonation. The other five specialty restaurants were for dinner only, reservarions only. Food presentation and atmosphere was nice, but portions were small and again all restaurants were very warm with poor air conditioning.

Rooms
Clean, but nothing special. The only real positive thing was the ocean view. Matresses were old, leaving all of us with back aches. Again, the air conditioning needs improvement. Did not seem to take the humidity of of the air and really did not get cool until very early in the morning. Ordered room service one morning and it took over two hours for delivery for juice and pastries. Our room was right above the bar area in the lobby. Bar was very noisy until 1-2am. Not the greatest setup for kids trying to sleep. Found out on the last day that TV remotes needed to be checked out at the front dask. Why? I have no idea,

Beverages
If you're an alcohol drinker, the bars are always serving. If you aren't, like us, the only choice through the day was flat soda. Believe me, these folks do not believe in bubbles in their drinks. No iced tea could be found anywhere. Bottled water had to be purchased at the gift shops for $2.50 a bottle. Our family of four spent well over $150 just in water alone, which is rediculous. No soda machines to be found anywhere.

Pools/Activities
The resort offered many activities for the kids. Adult pool was especially nice with a swim up bar. No kids were allowed and this was stricly enforced, since a hand full of women went topless. Nightly entertaiment was also very good.

Summary
Calling this a five star resort is a joke. The Crown Paradise needs to go back to the basics starting with their cooling system. They need to have beverage stands that will cater to non drinkers, and they need to offer much more variety in their food selections. Rooms were in need of a face lift, as I've seen nicer rooms at an economy hotel chain. Will return to Cancun some day, but it will not be at the Crown Paradise Resort for sure.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It was ok"

Crown Paradise Club Cancun
User Rating:  Crown Paradise Club Cancun Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Hayley  on Feb 17, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
33 people found this review helpful

We had a good trip. The hotel was fine, but not as nice as I had hoped. Our kids (12, 15, 17, 17) didn't mind. I would have given it 3 stars, tops. All in all we enjoyed our trip but don’t feel the hotel added to that at all. It’s lovely getting away but it’s the hotel’s job to make us want to come back to them instead of just back to the area and Crown Paradise Club did not do that for us. When we return to Mexico, we will give another place a try.

Room Number:
1009

Rooms:
The hotel didn't give us adjoining or adjacent rooms even though I emailed them directly 3 times before we went! They offered us 2 rooms but on different floors which of course wasn't acceptable. They were good enough to upgrade us to a family room free of charge. The kids loved the room because it had a double bed, bunk beds and a single pull out bed on the main floor so they didn't have to share beds at all. It had a nice king bed upstairs. The whole room was very open though so upstairs didn't mean the same as upstairs does here! Coming in the door you look right into the top bunk and right on top was the king bed. But we were happy that the kids were happy. And we did get 2 bathrooms! Given the choice, we would do the family room for the kids again. The housekeeping service was average. We had a swan on our bed the first day but nothing on the kids' beds and then nothing after...and I handed the guy a $7 tip on the first day!

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurant offered the same buffet every night and food quality wasn't great. The specialty restaurants didn't offer very much variety either. You had a choice of 3 - 4 appetizers, 4 - 5 different main courses and 2 - 3 desserts at each. You had to call and reserve a table at 8 in the morning, 2 days before you wanted a reservation, yet every one we visited was half empty when we went! They should allow for walk-in traffic.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The entertainment staff put on a good show at night (quite talented) but were pretty absent during the day. They did have a few activities at the pool but other than a few kid’s games they just organized a volleyball game on the beach at 4 every day for the older kids/adults.

Other Comments:
Our WestJet representative (it's called Best Day Travel there) Rudy, was amazing! So friendly! We booked both our trips (dolphins and ruins) on the first day after dinner and he remembered our names the whole week and spoke with us every time he saw us. He was by far the best part of the hotel experience. The lobby, restaurant and bar staff were good, some better than others, but overall no complaints. The store/boutique staff by the Mexican restaurant were rude...no customer service skills at all. They just ignored you the whole time you were in the store...even if you were standing at the cash waiting to pay! They would be texting on their phone or talking to each other in Spanish and would get to you in their own sweet time. The one by the Seafood Restaurant wasn't much better. The store boutique by the spa had the best staff out of the three.
I got my hair braided while we were there so I didn't have to worry about curling or straightening every time I got wet but unfortunately I couldn't get it done at their spa because they wanted $60! A nice lady on the beach did it for me for $35.
They didn't take American money! They would only accept pesos at their stores/boutiques and didn't offer any exchange for US bills. They would exchange Canadian but we had changed most of our money into US. They said they didn't have a government permit allowing them to exchange American. They should let you know this before you go.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our annual vacation with Apple."

Crown Paradise Club Cancun
User Rating:  Crown Paradise Club Cancun Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Annette_Crown Paradise  on Jul 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2005 | Leisure | Family and Kids
275 people found this review helpful

On June 25th, my family and I took our annual vacation with Apple. This year we went to Cancun, Mexico. We have been to Rivera Maya, Playa del Carmen and Punta Cana twice each time at 5 Apple or better resorts - we've loved, loved every vacation.

This year we stayed at the Crown Paradise Club in Cancun - supposedly at 5 apple resort. It seems as though the hotel increased it's occupancy by 1/3 by the addition of a new wing, but did not increase it's amenities to ensure there was enough room and electricity for everything and everyone.

Our vacation started with the front desk telling us (in writing) we could not flush the toilet paper in the toilet bowl, but rather to save the soiled waste paper in our room for 24 hours until the maid would pick it up. The vacation only went down hill from there...

Food:
For breakfast and lunch, there were never enough tables available for everyone to be seated. We regularly would have to stand and wait for a table. The room was not open air, nor was it air conditioned, so the wait staff were regularly sweating while you tried to eat.

Restaurants:
The restaurants were over crowded for dinner and a typically wait would be 30 minutes if you got on line when the restaurant opened, or an hour if you got there after the restaurant opened. So we spend 10 hours of our vacation waiting on line waiting to eat.

Elevators:
There were 3 elevators for 1,000 people; there was always a line for the old not operational elevators so we used the stairs to get to the 3rd floor. The stairs were the service stairs which smelled like excrement and were also not air-conditioned.

The good news is we only had to walk to the 3rd floor, 5 flights of stairs, the bad news is that our room was above the hotel lobby so we were listening to the hotel drunkards until 2 a.m. every day.

Pool:
The swimming pool was a 90 degrees everyday and was so soiled that there was a black scum on the tiles that was not cleaned even once in the 7 days we were there. The pool had a film on top of it from sun block and there literally was people's dead sunburned skin floating in the pool. We did not use the pool after a while because we were afraid to contract a disease.

There was never any seating by the pool, you were crammed in like sardines. I have been to resorts that have no pool seating, but you could at least sit on the floor, the floor had no room, you had to walk on the chairs to get through the pool area.

There were never any lifeguards, the slide area was unsupervised, my child went down the slide and no one told the next child when to go so my daughter had another child land on her.

Every day there was tequila water polo or tequila volleyball, but only twice was there volleyball for children.

Plumber:
To top it all off, at 3 a.m. on Tuesday, after using the bathroom in our room to relieve digestive discomfort, and before having used any paper product, our toilet overflowed and excrement was all over the entire floor. We required the plumber and the cleaning people to come to our room in the middle of the night

Finally:
Overall the Mexican people are very nice and accommodating. The people in the hotel were superb - very helpful. We didn't like the hotel, so we spent $1,000 and went on excursions so we could leave the hotel. The hotel's staff was very kind, the dinner's were very good, but everything else was atrocious. The USA3000 Airline was a pleasure.

We used "Aqua world" for our excursions and though expensive, they were very well done. The buffets had real food and not bologna on white. The staff was also terrific.

I don't understand how this hotel is rated a "5" - at a "5" star resort, you should be able to flush the toilets.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We would certainly recommend this to families."

Crown Paradise Club Cancun
User Rating:  Crown Paradise Club Cancun Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Cathy_Manitoba  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
295 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
We arrived late at night with a bus load and only 1 person on desk so took awhile to get to our room. We had requested a fridge in our room, none available, and really could have cared less that we had requested one. Staff not very sympathetic about pleasing people and kinda errigant most of the time.

Rooms:
The rooms were fine clean and we had a walk in shower with a glass door and a huge jacuzzi in the room, took up a lot of space and who needs a jacuzzi in Mexico.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet was good although could get tiring after 2 weeks. The Ala Cartes were fabulous steak just like you bbq it at home tender and tasty. We tried all the A La Cartes at least once and all were excellent.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was a real disappointment as red flags out almost all of the two weeks were were there. Pools were okay, but really noisy and lots of kids.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't go on any tours went to Cancun shopping a couple of days, really easy to get to by the bus give the driver $ 1 and everyone is happy and he will help you get where you want to go

Other Comments:
There seemed to be loud music wherever you went and so loud that you couldn't understand half of what they were saying, Trafalgars bar was okay but at music cranked up and people didn't stay long, playing cards or visiting. There were just too many kids and too much noise to relax like we wanted, We would certainly recommend this too families and maybe go back when our grandchildren are older but until then we wouldn't go back and if you have no kids DON'T GO HERE

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our experiences at the Crowne Paradise Club in Cancun"

Crown Paradise Club Cancun
User Rating:  Crown Paradise Club Cancun Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Family_USA  on May 1, 2003  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2003 | Leisure | Family and Kids
69 people found this review helpful

My wife, 6 1/2 year old daughter and I spent 6 days at the Crowne Paradise Club in Cancun, Mexico from 5/24/03-5/30/03. This is our second trip in as many years to an All-inclusive resort in the Caribbean. Here is our review:

The Good:
Great staff!!! Everyone was helpful and very friendly. My daughter fell in love with her two Kids Camps counselors (Nicole and Emily) and she also loved the Kids only water Park. It was very nice (so nice, I wish I was a kid again!). The food at the Buffet was OK to good. Wayne's Boots was great as was the food at Snack Shack by the main pool. My daughter loved the main pool and the kiddy pool. The Activities Staff were tireless and very funny (though I did overhear some women comment about their sometimes raunchy language while kids were around). Our maid was great and so were the front desk people. Our room was OK (see below), but the beds were very firm. The bars were not cheap with the beverages (like other places I have been to).

We booked trough Liberty Travel, and their reps, Olympus Travel, were very friendly and informative about attractions and options. We did go on the underwater trip. It was OK. I had two massage sessions and they were great. The beach was OK considering the entire beach front of 7-10 miles is public and anyone can venture on the property. They resort did not clean the beach very often and waves were quite strong. The red flag was up everyday we were there.

The Bad:
The rooms need to be redone in the old building. I've been in better rooms in Comfort Inns in some places in the US. The TV stand doors would not open so we had to prop it open with our ice tongs. No carpeting in any rooms makes for very cold feet in the middle of the night run to the bathroom. We had a connecting door to the next room and our neighbors were not to considerate to others when they staggered in (very loudly) at 3 am from Senior Frogs though that's not fault of the resort.

The Ugly:
We got tricked into going to a "welcoming breakfast and tour" that we thought was sponsored by the hotel. Wrong, it was a timeshare sales pitch. We sat through it, but wasted an hour of our time. I'm a native New Yorker so I don't fall so these things too easily, but the information desk people gave us the information when we were booking our RSV's for dinner, so we thought it was legit. Beware of this trick! We went into some of the malls and flea markets...beware of the hawkers and sales people...they are VERY aggressive. Do not buy anything from the store in the main lobby next to the deli and bell stand. We bought a necklace for our daughter and it broke apart within an hour.

Hints:
Be prepared to spend quality time sweating while standing in many lines clearing customs and immigrations because it is in an unair-conditions new part of the airport.

Tip for exceptional service ahead of time. I tipped my two most frequent bar tenders ahead of time and I never had to wait to get my drink orders or repeat my order the second time up.

The cigar lady in the main lobby is great and so is the chocolate flavored cigars for $5 a pop is worth the money.

Every few days there is a market in the main lobby with vendors selling genuine Mexican staff. You' get the same stuff cheaper in town.

Avoid the cost of taxis by using the R-1 buses that run every 3-4 minutes for 6 pesos. They are unair-conditioned, but well worth the value.

Try to exchange your money in the money exchanges located in many of the mall. The hotel exchange is $9-$9.50 pesos vs $10 pesos to one US dollar at the mall.

No one had matches so I had to buy a lighter for $3 US. Bring matches if you smoke.

Overall:
My wife will not want to go back because she likes going to different places each vacation, but I might go back again if they redo the rooms. We enjoyed our vacation at Radisson Cable Beach last year a lot more. I just wish we could take the staff at Crowne Paradise Club with us everywhere we vacation.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This vacation was fine as long as we were not in our room"

Crown Paradise Club Cancun
User Rating:  Crown Paradise Club Cancun Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Sue_Charlottetown  on Apr 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2008 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
288 people found this review helpful

Arrival and Flight:
Air Canada March 23 -30- 2008

Rooms:
Absolutely horrible. I don't know where to start. I am not a picky person most times - a clean bed and decent bathroom are a must though. When we opened the door to the room I told my husband not to unpack. We went to this resort on the recommendation of a co-worker who had gone last year. He raved about his jacuzzi in the room and glassed in shower and the cleanliness of the room. A cockroach basically met us at the door. A few other bugs decided to crawl up the bathroom sink drain over the course of the week as well. The tub was rusting around the edges, the shower curtain holder was corroded beyond, one of the taps was rusted out. The bathroom floor was filthy and the drain on the floor had slime around it. There was a light in the center of the room so if you were on the toilet or standing at the sink the light was directly overhead - the housing around the light was dripping water - was it a leak from upstairs or condensation built up from our room? There were no problems with having clean towels everyday when the maid came to the room. There was a problem with enough beach towels. The smell was very musty - much like a basement that had water in it.

Restaurants:
We ate at the French restaurant, the Mexican Restaurant and Wayne's Boots as well as the Buffet and Snack bars at poolside. The French was by far the best. Cannot say anything bad about the food; neither the kids or adults got sick and their was something for everyone. I have to agree with some of the other comments that if you were at the buffet when it opened it was crowded and up to about the first hour seating was minimal. Also, booking at the restaurants you had to do about 3 days in advance for the a la cartes.

Bars:
Excellent service - the bartenders get to know you and tips are appreciated.

Beach/Pools:
Did not spend much time on the beach. Pool areas are definitely overcrowded, not enough towels or chairs. Although a sign is posted that there is no reserving of chairs, they pretty much all have towels or personal belongings on them by 7am - and then not used until later in the day and the rule is not enforced so you may end up sitting on cement all day.

Grounds:
The grounds were kept neat and tidy, no garbage around and the workers were visible and diligent.

Activities:
There were many activities to purchase at the tour desk - quite expensive. Evening entertainment was great and geared towards the kids most nights - the Circus night (Sunday) and Saturday evenings (Barney, Princesses, Shrek) were the best.

Tours:
Expensive but safe and available.

Departure and Check Out:
Let's start with the check in. We got there at 10am and were told no room until at least 3pm so our luggage went to the concierge desk. We changed in a public washroom and spent a pleasant few hours touring the facility to get familiar. At the time of booking we asked for a cot and a mini-bar. When we got to the room we had neither. When I enquired at the desk they said 4 people, 2 double beds that's it. Regarding the mini-bar because we were not in the new tower, apparently we were not entitled to it. I asked for a fridge because our daughter was on medication that required it to remain chilled. Could not get one so for the entire week, 2x per day we filled the ice bucket. I asked 3 days in a row at the desk regarding the 2 requests. They certainly did not want to provide them for various reasons it seemed and then I found out that the cost of a cot is $20 per day extra and the fridge $10 per day. We did not book last minute, it was the middle of February. I was also told there were no other rooms available but the man who checked in next to us with his daughter got a king bed in error and was supposed to have 2 doubles like us. He was given a cot and was moved to the new tower the next day. I spoke to the Air Canada representative on site and he basically told me all the rooms were the same and that the hotel was booked. I made it a point to visit the other tower and let me tell you the rooms are not the same. They were like the photos in the magazine and on the website - not the room that we got.
Check out was easy and I told them that I was disappointed with our holiday regarding our room, no reaction at all. The day before we left we were left with a customer satisfaction questionnaire - I filled it out and handed it to the agent on the front desk as I told her we were not happy with the room.

Kid's Club:
Usually only 2 employees in there at a time - with upwards of 50 children - not sufficient enough. The eating area is not clean and the bathrooms did not appear to be getting clean on a daily basis. Age 3-12 together in one group; makes it hard for the little ones in the pool. Not lifeguarded at all times.

Timeshare:
Every morning we went to breakfast there was a hotel employee who approached us to go to a breakfast meeting - we did not go but it was for a presentation on a time share. I had made the mistake of enquiring at her desk regarding hotel information and she took my name down 'for her statistics' so she had it and I told her I was not interested in the sales pitch. By the 2nd last day she came across the lobby at us saying 'why you didn't show up for the breakfast - you come now!' - she was pretty aggressive.

Water:
At the travel clinics and through our travel agent, we were told NOT to drink the water and to use bottled water to brush our teeth as well. I drink a lot of water. You could not get bottled water unless you bought it at the convenience store on site. We could only buy what we could drink/use in the short term because we had no place to keep it cold. Even if you asked for water at the bars they turned on the tap - no thanks. This resort is rated as a 4 and 4.5 star in many travel brochures - water is a basic necessity and at an all inclusive, expected.

Public areas:
Most areas were kept clean on the main level; i.e. the lobby with shiny marble floors however there is a difference between the 2 towers - the other being extremely upscale compared to our tower. One of the 3 elevators had a pink sticky drink spilled in it the first day we were there and was still in the corner when we left, complete with ants by the 2nd day. The public restrooms were deplorable. The toilets had a ring of water around the base with the sanitary holders overflowing on some days. The public washroom attached to the buffet restaurant never had any soap in the dispenser the entire week. The public washrooms in the other tower were spotless and did not have any odour.

Conclusion:
Overall this vacation was fine as long as we were not in our room. We all made out ok with the food and it is a good place for families. The kids club is not what the brochures lead you to believe, merely a place to leave your kids if you want a few hours to yourselves or to go for dinner.

We would not go back to this resort and I would like to see the rating of it lowered. Had we been in the other tower it could have made a world of difference. We went on a friend's recommendation and the photos from the web and travel brochures but that is not the product that we got.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our stay at Crown Paradise"

Crown Paradise Club Cancun
User Rating:  Crown Paradise Club Cancun Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  JamesandSarah_Crown Paradise  on Apr 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
93 people found this review helpful

Crown Paradise Club
Stay: Saturday August 28th, 2004
Room: 1146
Guests: 1 26yr male, 1 27yr female

We didn't actually plan to stay at the CPC. We booked the Golden Crown Paradise (adults only) and arrived there at 9:30 only to be told they were overbooked and we were bumped to CPC. When we arrived at CPC the staff were very friendly but had no idea about our booking, the rates we were paying, etc. Finally they got us booked in and we took our stuff to our room. It took the bellman a little while to find our room, which was also confused by the elevator taking us to the wrong floor.

Rooms:
Once we were in our room, it was time to eat as we were starving. Luckily, the CPC (and GCP) have all-night snacks available. We went down to the midway snack bar, and I had a great grilled steak sandwich while my GF had a chicken Caesar. We shared some nachos. The great thing about this snack bar is the food is being cooked to order all night, until about 5 or 6 in the morning. Some places have snacks available but it's buffet style and sits all night. However, the water cooler had bad water. (See notes at end)

Having eaten, we decided to hit the bar for our first drinks. We had a map they gave us when we checked in, but it was a little hard to follow. We found our way to "La Rumbera" which is a lounge/bar/pool tables. It's open late, when we went in there were live music, and a couple of people dancing. Most were either sitting, playing pool, or lined up at the bar. The music was good, but we weren't into dancing. The thing I didn't like was children were allowed in this bar, and the dancing was all children with their parents, even at midnight. I was also a little unsettled at lining up at the bar for a drink, with kids sitting at the bar. It was just weird (I didn't get that feeling anywhere else we stayed). For other "nightlife" at the CPC there is the Insomnia Disco down by the beach. This is for teens and doesn't serve alcohol. I also saw "trafalgar's" English pub. Here they have a dance floor and had some pretty loud hip-hop dance music going when I went in, with a good crowd but no dancing.

The room was comfortable, but nothing special. In the bathtub, the plug was held in place by a 25cm long rusty metal spike. The whole thing was gross so I just lifted it out and laid it on the counter. The only downside to the room is the door faces out onto the enclosed "pyramid" area that houses the restaurants, a bar, and the snack bar, as well as the hotel lobby. Even at 3 in the morning, the screams of children were echoing up and into the room.

In the morning, I hit the snack bar at 7:30 for continental breakfast. Which is buns and fruit. They had coffee, milk and juice, as well as Tea bags and a jar of instant decaf, but no hot water for those. I went from there to the gym, which is actually pretty well equipped. Cardio, weights, free weights and an instructor leading aerobics.

Back to the room, and a nap, and then the two of us were off to the buffet for breakfast. We had a lovely table on the patio overlooking the pool and beach. If you sit outside make sure you're upwind of the smokers. Breakfast was good, great selection, not too bad food. The GCP had told us a shuttle would pick us up at 10:00 AM to come back to our original hotel. It didn't, and the scheduled 11:00 shuttle didn't show until almost 12:00. We whiled away some time at the lobby bar. On to the shuttle to our next hotel. This tale is continued under "golden Crown paradise"

any questions or to see pictures, email me sparky4@telus.net website: http://www.crownparadise.com.mx

Food:
we didn't have much but it was acceptable. Loved the late night snack bar

Drinks:
seemed fine. not overly strong, but not watered down. Water problem noted below.

Staff:
Polite if not overly friendly. We weren't really here long enough.

Beach/Pools:
Beach: looked nice at 2AM but we didn't go during the day.

Pool: Numerous. Looked good, but we didn't use them.

Great things about CPC:
For children, there is actually a lot to do. The kid's club looked quite large, including a pool with 4 waterslides. There's mini-golf, and the teen disco. Also kids were at the Rumbera lounge with their parents, so they had fun there. There seemed to be a lot of restaurant choices, which is a good thing. The late night snacks are available and were pretty good. There are about 5 pools so you shouldn't ever be too crowded. The guidebook/map was handy.

Not-so-great things:
While there are water coolers at the bars, restaurants, and gym with purified water, it seems to be hit and miss whether the water tastes good or not. It was all safe, we didn't get sick, but sometimes it was disgusting and actually difficult to finish a glass. The noise of the screaming children echoing into the room would prompt me to find a room in a different part of the hotel. The map is hard to follow. There was supposed to be a "piano bar" open till 1AM with live jazz music. We couldn't find it, and the area where the map placed it was totally closed, dark and dead. The description in the tour operator's books says 24-hour room service is included in the all-inclusive, but the card in our room had it available for breakfast only, and there were prices attached to the menu.

Restaurant info:
Midway Stop: Express continental breakfast 06:00-09:00 daily; Late night snack grill 21:00-06:00 daily
Food Court (buffet): Breakfast Buffet 07:00-11:30 daily; Breakfast a la Carte 11:30-12:00 daily; lunch/dinner buffet 12:30-21:00 daily
La Concha & Tutuch (beach snack bar): Snacks (hamburgers, hot dogs, sandwiches) 11:00-17:00 daily.
Arigato (Japanese): 12:00-17:00 daily
Los Gallos (Mexican): Seatings at 18:00, 20:00, and 21:00-22:15. Reservations required for 18:00/20:00. Closed Mondays
La Piazza (Italian): Seatings at 18:00, 18:30, 20:00, and 21:00-22:15. Reservations required for 18:00, 18:30, 20:00. Closed Thursdays
Fifty's (International food with live music): Seatings at 18:30 and 21:00. Daily menu. Reservations required. Closes Tuesdays and Fridays.
Wayne's Boots (Steakhouse/Western): Seatings at 18:00, 18:30, 20:00, and 21:00-22:15. Reservations required for 18:00, 18:30, 20:00. Closed Wednesdays.
Fisherman's (Seafood): Seatings at 18:00, 18:30, 20:00, and 21:00-22:15. Reservations required for 18:00, 18:30, 20:00. Closed Sundays. reservations can be made by phone, up to 24 hours in advance. At least that's a little better then going out at 07:00 to get a reservation.

Dress Code - Fisherman's, Los Gallos, La Piazza, and Wayne's Boots: semi-formal dress for men (long pants, dress shorts, collar shirt, shoes, no beach wear.)
For Fifty's: formal dress code (long pants, collar shirt, closed shoes.)
Room Service (extra charge, even though everything says it's included): breakfast 07:00-11:00, regular menu 12:00-18:00 Tea Time: English style afternoon tea, 17:00-18:00 at Los Gallos Terrace

Bar info:
Lobby bar: 10:00-23:00
Rumbero's Bar: 18:00-02:00. 2 pool tables, live music, dance floor, kids go in here too.
Las Brisas: Main pool bar, 10:00-17:00
La Concha: Between the main pool and the La Concha Pool; 11:00-18:00
Piano Bar: on the ocean, 18:00-01:30, adults only, live music starting at 22:30, closes Tuesdays. (We tried to go here but it seemed closed on a Saturday night.)
Club Caribe: pool bar in the adults recreation area, 10:00-17:00
Beach bar: 10:00-17:00 weather permitting
Trafalgar's: Pub, games room, billiards, disco/dance floor: 18:00-02:00 adults only

Amenities info:
Las Brisas: main pool, with music/activities, 07:00-22:00
La Concha/Jacuzzi: adults only, 07:00-22:00
Club Caribe: recreation area for adults. hydro massage, pool (07:00-19:00), Jacuzzis (07:00-22:00). steam baths downstairs (08:00-20:00)
Coco Loco: indoor/outdoor pool, 07:00-22:00
Mini-club/Baby-club: Kids 4-12 or babies 18 months to 4 years. Activities, pool, water slides. Open 09:00-21:45 (mini-club closes 16:5 on Sundays)
Tennis Courts: 2 courts, with night lighting. instructor available for free lessons
Watersports: Daily shuttle at 09:30 and 11:30 to Marina for windsurfing, kayaking, sailboating, and paddleboats.
Gym: 08:00-20:00
Minigolf: 08:00-22:30. equipment available
Arcade: 09:00-12:00
Insomnia Disco: beachfront disco for teenagers only, no alcohol served.
In-room safe is included

Shows info:
Nightly disco shuttle (23:00, 22:30 on Sundays)
In the hotel's theatre:v Monday: Mexican Fiesta Show 20:00-21:00
Tuesdays: international Show 20:00-21:00
Wednesdays: Star Show 20:00-21:00v Thursdays: Broadway Show 20:00-21:00
Fridays: Carnival Dinner Show: Unique dinner ball in Grand Salon, doors 19:30 dinner 20:00
Saturdays: karaoke in Trafalgars, win prizes, disco music 23:00-02:00
Sundays: Fantasy Show, geared to children, 20:00-21:00

Other events:
Monday: Kids - Pinata in lobby 21:00-22:00, Adults Singing Contest at Piano bar at 22:00
Tuesday: Bingo at Trafalgar's 21:00-22:00
Wednesday: After show, Children's football, teenage basketball, adults volleyball
Thursday: After show, dance contest for kids 21:00-22:00, adults salsa contest at Rumbero 22:00-23;00
Sunday: Crazy games at insomnia disco 21:00-22:00, 22:00-02:00 "teens night"

Any Questions, or to see pictures, please email me sparky4@telus.net

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"For our needs, it was fantastic!"

Crown Paradise Club Cancun
User Rating:  Crown Paradise Club Cancun Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Pauline&Mark_USA  on Mar 1, 2003  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2003 | Leisure | Family and Kids
75 people found this review helpful

My husband and I traveled to Cancun Feb 22-28, 2003 and stayed at the Crown Paradise Resort. We are Seasoned Caribbean travelers, but we took our 20 month daughter with us on this trip. We have to say this was a very family oriented resort that accommodates the needs of kids/adults of all ages. If you’re a couple traveling without kids, you can still have a great time, but we have stayed at better places but paid for that 5 star treatment as well. For our needs, it was fantastic!

We flew out of Buffalo via Fun Jet, and got a seat for our daughter b/c the charter was not fully booked (Thank God!). After a 3 ½ hour direct flight, arrived to find a HUGE line for customs. Got through in about an hour and arrived at the hotel for a quick (and early) check in. They allowed early check in b/c we had a little one and requested it before our trip with our Travel Agent. Do this if traveling with any kids!! Otherwise check in is 3pm.

Rooms:
Pros: All rooms have an ocean view which was great. We tipped our maid and she decorated our room and bed with beautiful fresh flowers daily. Always left us tons of clean towels!!

Cons: The room was nice, but no ceiling fan as the brochure had promised. We really missed the mini-bar too –those only come with the VIP rooms. Had to request a crib 4 times before my husband went down and got some response. The crib was terrible! A 3 inch mattress at best that sunk in the middle. They tried to “build it up” a bit by adding layers of blankets but to no satisfaction. Our daughter unfortunately slept every night with us :o( Also, we had the room temperature as cold as it would go and still would have liked it a degree or two cooler.

Food:
Overall the food was pretty good and offered a wide variety of selection: I would say they had foods that would easily please a kids palate.

The main Dining Buffet - The buffet was great.
Breakfast: included fresh fruit smoothie bar, omelettes, pancakes and waffles made in front of you and an authentic Mexican buffet.
Lunch and dinner were the same things but included a pizza bar, sushi bar, oriental stir fry, pasta and Mexican fajita bar all made in front of you -and their specials of the day on the buffet.

During the day, noon -5pm I believe, we dined at the Japanese poolside restaurant. Very, very good. Even if you don’t’ eat Japanese, you can have filet mignon or chicken kabobs, grilled veggies, fried shrimp, etc. Great Sushi!
The poolside grill was very good too. My daughter especially liked the endless supply of nachos and cheese, fries cheeseburgers.

Ala Carte restaurant reviews:
The seafood restaurant was very good. Great selection including a tasty steak dish that my non-seafood eating husband enjoyed.
The 50’s fine dining restaurant (adults only) had a french flair and although it was good, not totally satisfying to our tastes.
The Mexican was by far our favorite!! The food was incredible, the margarita’s flowed frequently and the mariachi band duo topped off this authentic experience.
The Italian restaurant was exceptional as well.
We didn’t have the pleasure of dining at the Steak house but we heard it was good and had a mechanical bull you can ride.

Cons:
It is very difficult so get dinner reservations at the Ala Carte restaurants but we finally succeeded the 3rd night. The wine at all restaurants was Portuguese and well.. not that great. We drank it anyways!!

Facilities:
Pools - The pools were all great but there was no jacuzzi as promised (Its now a kiddie pool) other than the one connected to the Adult pool in the adult section of the resort, so we didn't get in there much with our 20 month old. We were waking up early every day with our little one and went down and put our towels in the primo lounge chair locations on the pool or beach. Recommended!
Beach - The sand was perfect. The waves were great for body surfing. The beach is not very deep though, so get your towel on a chair and umbrella early (Before 8:00 am).
Gym- The gym was shockingly nice. Much better than ones we’ve seen in the past. Six new treadmills, a big universal gym, Lots of Dumbbells and Straight bars, some other stomach exercise machines. The aerobics classes are here at 8am.
Baby Club - (18 Months to 3 years) This was the only resort we saw that offered a club for the little ones. There were lots of things for them to play with and a good two children to one (Or one on one) staff member ratio that made us think your child is getting alot of attention. It seemed very safe as no adults were allowed in the baby area with their children to keep people from swiping your little ones. You can have them in there from 9am to 9pm as much as you wanted. Our daughter doesn't like sand and was not crazy about the pool unless enticed into the water with toys and took some exception to staff members plopping her in the sand or the kiddie pool and did quite a bit of crying (Just as she would have done with us).
Kids Club - (3 and up) Looked like tons of fun. Water slides, pools, play gym, Movies, kids basketball, Arts & Crafts all in a secure environment.
Tennis Courts - Very nice and lit during the night.
Basketball Courts - Very nice and lit during the night.
Putt-Putt Course - It was playable but in a sad state of affairs. I think they are in the process of re-doing it. It needs it.
Human Chess Boards - Neat, but we didn't play.

Activities:
There were plenty of daily activities and a ton of people participated.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube