Crown Paradise Club Cancun Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Cancun > Cancun Hotel Index > Crown Paradise Club Cancun reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cancun Hotels with Similar Ranking

Omni Cancún Hotel & Villas

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 17, 2014

Fiesta Americana Grand Coral Beach Cancun Resort & Spa

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 18, 2014

Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort

4.8 based on 16 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 18, 2014

Excellence Playa Mujeres

4.8 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 16, 2014

Gran Caribe Real Resort and Spa

4.2 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 4, 2014

Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

3.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 23, 2014

Crown Paradise Club Cancun  

Blvd. Kukulkan Km 18.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico

""Wonderful trip""
Posted by: Emily09  on Oct 22, 2014
see all reviews

Crown Paradise Club Cancun Reviews
Crown Paradise Club Cancun Pictures and Information
Crown Paradise Club Cancun Cancun Mexico

#2
of 54 Hotels in Cancun

User rating 3.9

Based on 22 reviews

Crown Paradise Club Cancun Information


If you are looking for a 5 star hotel in Cancún, Mexico there is no doubt that the Crown Paradise Club Cancún resort is the right place to book. Located by the beach, the hotel is easy to reach from the local airport.
Ideal for families who want to spend a fun holiday in the sun, Crown Paradise Club Cancún Hotel is located in the fabulous Mexican island of Cancún.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Crown Paradise Club Cancun Reviews

Crown Paradise Club Cancun Review: 3.9 of 5 22 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  10
Average
  6
Poor
  1
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (22)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (11)
Solo Traveller (2)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
With friend
11 - 20 of 22

"This vacation was fine as long as we were not in our room"

Crown Paradise Club Cancun
User Rating:  Crown Paradise Club Cancun Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Sue_Charlottetown  on Apr 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2008 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
294 people found this review helpful

Arrival and Flight:
Air Canada March 23 -30- 2008

Rooms:
Absolutely horrible. I don't know where to start. I am not a picky person most times - a clean bed and decent bathroom are a must though. When we opened the door to the room I told my husband not to unpack. We went to this resort on the recommendation of a co-worker who had gone last year. He raved about his jacuzzi in the room and glassed in shower and the cleanliness of the room. A cockroach basically met us at the door. A few other bugs decided to crawl up the bathroom sink drain over the course of the week as well. The tub was rusting around the edges, the shower curtain holder was corroded beyond, one of the taps was rusted out. The bathroom floor was filthy and the drain on the floor had slime around it. There was a light in the center of the room so if you were on the toilet or standing at the sink the light was directly overhead - the housing around the light was dripping water - was it a leak from upstairs or condensation built up from our room? There were no problems with having clean towels everyday when the maid came to the room. There was a problem with enough beach towels. The smell was very musty - much like a basement that had water in it.

Restaurants:
We ate at the French restaurant, the Mexican Restaurant and Wayne's Boots as well as the Buffet and Snack bars at poolside. The French was by far the best. Cannot say anything bad about the food; neither the kids or adults got sick and their was something for everyone. I have to agree with some of the other comments that if you were at the buffet when it opened it was crowded and up to about the first hour seating was minimal. Also, booking at the restaurants you had to do about 3 days in advance for the a la cartes.

Bars:
Excellent service - the bartenders get to know you and tips are appreciated.

Beach/Pools:
Did not spend much time on the beach. Pool areas are definitely overcrowded, not enough towels or chairs. Although a sign is posted that there is no reserving of chairs, they pretty much all have towels or personal belongings on them by 7am - and then not used until later in the day and the rule is not enforced so you may end up sitting on cement all day.

Grounds:
The grounds were kept neat and tidy, no garbage around and the workers were visible and diligent.

Activities:
There were many activities to purchase at the tour desk - quite expensive. Evening entertainment was great and geared towards the kids most nights - the Circus night (Sunday) and Saturday evenings (Barney, Princesses, Shrek) were the best.

Tours:
Expensive but safe and available.

Departure and Check Out:
Let's start with the check in. We got there at 10am and were told no room until at least 3pm so our luggage went to the concierge desk. We changed in a public washroom and spent a pleasant few hours touring the facility to get familiar. At the time of booking we asked for a cot and a mini-bar. When we got to the room we had neither. When I enquired at the desk they said 4 people, 2 double beds that's it. Regarding the mini-bar because we were not in the new tower, apparently we were not entitled to it. I asked for a fridge because our daughter was on medication that required it to remain chilled. Could not get one so for the entire week, 2x per day we filled the ice bucket. I asked 3 days in a row at the desk regarding the 2 requests. They certainly did not want to provide them for various reasons it seemed and then I found out that the cost of a cot is $20 per day extra and the fridge $10 per day. We did not book last minute, it was the middle of February. I was also told there were no other rooms available but the man who checked in next to us with his daughter got a king bed in error and was supposed to have 2 doubles like us. He was given a cot and was moved to the new tower the next day. I spoke to the Air Canada representative on site and he basically told me all the rooms were the same and that the hotel was booked. I made it a point to visit the other tower and let me tell you the rooms are not the same. They were like the photos in the magazine and on the website - not the room that we got.
Check out was easy and I told them that I was disappointed with our holiday regarding our room, no reaction at all. The day before we left we were left with a customer satisfaction questionnaire - I filled it out and handed it to the agent on the front desk as I told her we were not happy with the room.

Kid's Club:
Usually only 2 employees in there at a time - with upwards of 50 children - not sufficient enough. The eating area is not clean and the bathrooms did not appear to be getting clean on a daily basis. Age 3-12 together in one group; makes it hard for the little ones in the pool. Not lifeguarded at all times.

Timeshare:
Every morning we went to breakfast there was a hotel employee who approached us to go to a breakfast meeting - we did not go but it was for a presentation on a time share. I had made the mistake of enquiring at her desk regarding hotel information and she took my name down 'for her statistics' so she had it and I told her I was not interested in the sales pitch. By the 2nd last day she came across the lobby at us saying 'why you didn't show up for the breakfast - you come now!' - she was pretty aggressive.

Water:
At the travel clinics and through our travel agent, we were told NOT to drink the water and to use bottled water to brush our teeth as well. I drink a lot of water. You could not get bottled water unless you bought it at the convenience store on site. We could only buy what we could drink/use in the short term because we had no place to keep it cold. Even if you asked for water at the bars they turned on the tap - no thanks. This resort is rated as a 4 and 4.5 star in many travel brochures - water is a basic necessity and at an all inclusive, expected.

Public areas:
Most areas were kept clean on the main level; i.e. the lobby with shiny marble floors however there is a difference between the 2 towers - the other being extremely upscale compared to our tower. One of the 3 elevators had a pink sticky drink spilled in it the first day we were there and was still in the corner when we left, complete with ants by the 2nd day. The public restrooms were deplorable. The toilets had a ring of water around the base with the sanitary holders overflowing on some days. The public washroom attached to the buffet restaurant never had any soap in the dispenser the entire week. The public washrooms in the other tower were spotless and did not have any odour.

Conclusion:
Overall this vacation was fine as long as we were not in our room. We all made out ok with the food and it is a good place for families. The kids club is not what the brochures lead you to believe, merely a place to leave your kids if you want a few hours to yourselves or to go for dinner.

We would not go back to this resort and I would like to see the rating of it lowered. Had we been in the other tower it could have made a world of difference. We went on a friend's recommendation and the photos from the web and travel brochures but that is not the product that we got.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A great spot for families"

Crown Paradise Club Cancun
User Rating:  Crown Paradise Club Cancun Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Lee_Crownparadise  on Jan 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2008 | Leisure | With Group
302 people found this review helpful

Wow what a great spot for families ,lots to do and fun for the teens to. not the spot for singles or senoirs .Families will love it 5 ala cart restraunts one buffet two snackbars. the rooms were small but very clean and everything in good working condition.Every room is an ocean view with a balcony, the public transit system is great $2.60 for a family of four the taxi's there are expensive .You can use the public transit all over cancun even to downtown where their is a wal-mart and costco great idea to get souviners thier you will save a tonne of money.The food was fresh and and very flavorful,we did not expierance any stomach issues at all.I can not say enough about the staff they were great and friendly ,helpfuland best of all they were not looking for tips if you tipped you were thanked, and if you did not tip you were also thanked, those guys were very nice.Pools were good the main pool was busy and hard to get a chair people were out early to place thier towels on the chairs .The others pools were not busy and the beach was always availble with chairs .If you are a carver you will be disappointed,the sand is only good for soft pack carving even that is a chore , should brought some clay i guess HAHA,.Kids club was very well run and organized, also the teens have thier own area and activities.I think this a good place for families it has it all and you will be pleased, i know we were, from dec.22 2007 to jan 05 2008

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our annual vacation with Apple."

Crown Paradise Club Cancun
User Rating:  Crown Paradise Club Cancun Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Annette_Crown Paradise  on Jul 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2005 | Leisure | Family and Kids
275 people found this review helpful

On June 25th, my family and I took our annual vacation with Apple. This year we went to Cancun, Mexico. We have been to Rivera Maya, Playa del Carmen and Punta Cana twice each time at 5 Apple or better resorts - we've loved, loved every vacation.

This year we stayed at the Crown Paradise Club in Cancun - supposedly at 5 apple resort. It seems as though the hotel increased it's occupancy by 1/3 by the addition of a new wing, but did not increase it's amenities to ensure there was enough room and electricity for everything and everyone.

Our vacation started with the front desk telling us (in writing) we could not flush the toilet paper in the toilet bowl, but rather to save the soiled waste paper in our room for 24 hours until the maid would pick it up. The vacation only went down hill from there...

Food:
For breakfast and lunch, there were never enough tables available for everyone to be seated. We regularly would have to stand and wait for a table. The room was not open air, nor was it air conditioned, so the wait staff were regularly sweating while you tried to eat.

Restaurants:
The restaurants were over crowded for dinner and a typically wait would be 30 minutes if you got on line when the restaurant opened, or an hour if you got there after the restaurant opened. So we spend 10 hours of our vacation waiting on line waiting to eat.

Elevators:
There were 3 elevators for 1,000 people; there was always a line for the old not operational elevators so we used the stairs to get to the 3rd floor. The stairs were the service stairs which smelled like excrement and were also not air-conditioned.

The good news is we only had to walk to the 3rd floor, 5 flights of stairs, the bad news is that our room was above the hotel lobby so we were listening to the hotel drunkards until 2 a.m. every day.

Pool:
The swimming pool was a 90 degrees everyday and was so soiled that there was a black scum on the tiles that was not cleaned even once in the 7 days we were there. The pool had a film on top of it from sun block and there literally was people's dead sunburned skin floating in the pool. We did not use the pool after a while because we were afraid to contract a disease.

There was never any seating by the pool, you were crammed in like sardines. I have been to resorts that have no pool seating, but you could at least sit on the floor, the floor had no room, you had to walk on the chairs to get through the pool area.

There were never any lifeguards, the slide area was unsupervised, my child went down the slide and no one told the next child when to go so my daughter had another child land on her.

Every day there was tequila water polo or tequila volleyball, but only twice was there volleyball for children.

Plumber:
To top it all off, at 3 a.m. on Tuesday, after using the bathroom in our room to relieve digestive discomfort, and before having used any paper product, our toilet overflowed and excrement was all over the entire floor. We required the plumber and the cleaning people to come to our room in the middle of the night

Finally:
Overall the Mexican people are very nice and accommodating. The people in the hotel were superb - very helpful. We didn't like the hotel, so we spent $1,000 and went on excursions so we could leave the hotel. The hotel's staff was very kind, the dinner's were very good, but everything else was atrocious. The USA3000 Airline was a pleasure.

We used "Aqua world" for our excursions and though expensive, they were very well done. The buffets had real food and not bologna on white. The staff was also terrific.

I don't understand how this hotel is rated a "5" - at a "5" star resort, you should be able to flush the toilets.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Golden Crown Paradise"

Crown Paradise Club Cancun
User Rating:  Crown Paradise Club Cancun Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Anne_NewYork  on Jun 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
99 people found this review helpful

My husband, 5 year old son and myself have just returned from our first vacation in Cancun. We stayed at the Crown Paradise Club from June 10th to June 17th.

We travelled from Newark to Atlanta with Delta Airlines and from Atlanta to Cancun with Aeromexico,both of which were good.The roll on the Aeromexico flight was probably the largest and the tastiest I've ever had!!

Staff:
The staff at the hotel was absolutely wonderful and helped you in anyway that they could. Our room was a good size for us, but could of done with a touch up {broken bedside lights and writing on the wall} but we didn't spend that much time in the room long enough to be really upset about it!

Pools:
The pools were great and the beach was beautiful. People have said that it is too small, but I liked the fact that you stepped from the hotel, took about thirty steps and your in the ocean.

Kids Paradise Club:
I don't have enough to say about the kids paradise club, but it is fanatastic for your young ones. My son fell in love with 'Crazy Emily' one of the women who watch out for the children. He played water volley ball, fed the Iguanas, went to a disco, and made some cool things for craft time. When they have there lunch or do there crafts the club is locked up for an hour and the other children that are just there to play in the pool are asked to leave. The children in the club then have there own private and secure time with the child carers. If you sign your child up you have the option of letting them come and go or not. My son had the option as we were never far away!

Restaurants:
The restuarants were absolutely wonderful, as was the food. I have had the fortune to have travelled to many countries in the past and taste many foods, and ours was always cooked and presented beautifully. The cleanliness and the decor was great in every one of them, not to mention the service. And the main buffet was great and I miss the breakfasts terribly! Try some of the authentic foods, they are good as are the different types of water they had.

Trips with Best Day:
We took two trips with Best Day tours and they were excellent. Our travel company had booked them as our transfer to and from the hotel so we chose to book our trips with them too and was not dissapointed !! They,as well as other tour companies are located in the main lobby but I recommend Best Day very highly!

Drinks:
I had read that someone went here and said that the drinks were waterd down as you would probably expect in an All- Inclusive resort, well I'm to tell you that I didn't have one 'Watery' drink. They were all made great.

More Things I liked:
The one thing that was really good about the location of this hotel is that it is one of the first drop offs form the airport. It's not across the street from bars or clubs, but if that's want you want to do, it's only twenty minutes,if that, downtown.

I liked the merchants market that came into the hotel a few times a week. The prices they ask for is not what you pay of course because you haggle with them. We bought some nice things for way less than they were asking for.

Another thing that was really cool was just when your not expecting it a Super Hero or his nemesis will jump out from no-where and do a stint for everyone like ,jumping on the bar or going in the pool ect,ect. It was so funny to see my son chasing the Green Goblin with Spiderman in tow !!

So I am happy to say that we plan to go back next year. The whole experience was wonderful in the hotel as well as in Cancun, with the warmth of the Mexican people and the beauty of their country . I can't wait !!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our stay at Crown Paradise"

Crown Paradise Club Cancun
User Rating:  Crown Paradise Club Cancun Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  JamesandSarah_Crown Paradise  on Apr 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
94 people found this review helpful

Crown Paradise Club
Stay: Saturday August 28th, 2004
Room: 1146
Guests: 1 26yr male, 1 27yr female

We didn't actually plan to stay at the CPC. We booked the Golden Crown Paradise (adults only) and arrived there at 9:30 only to be told they were overbooked and we were bumped to CPC. When we arrived at CPC the staff were very friendly but had no idea about our booking, the rates we were paying, etc. Finally they got us booked in and we took our stuff to our room. It took the bellman a little while to find our room, which was also confused by the elevator taking us to the wrong floor.

Rooms:
Once we were in our room, it was time to eat as we were starving. Luckily, the CPC (and GCP) have all-night snacks available. We went down to the midway snack bar, and I had a great grilled steak sandwich while my GF had a chicken Caesar. We shared some nachos. The great thing about this snack bar is the food is being cooked to order all night, until about 5 or 6 in the morning. Some places have snacks available but it's buffet style and sits all night. However, the water cooler had bad water. (See notes at end)

Having eaten, we decided to hit the bar for our first drinks. We had a map they gave us when we checked in, but it was a little hard to follow. We found our way to "La Rumbera" which is a lounge/bar/pool tables. It's open late, when we went in there were live music, and a couple of people dancing. Most were either sitting, playing pool, or lined up at the bar. The music was good, but we weren't into dancing. The thing I didn't like was children were allowed in this bar, and the dancing was all children with their parents, even at midnight. I was also a little unsettled at lining up at the bar for a drink, with kids sitting at the bar. It was just weird (I didn't get that feeling anywhere else we stayed). For other "nightlife" at the CPC there is the Insomnia Disco down by the beach. This is for teens and doesn't serve alcohol. I also saw "trafalgar's" English pub. Here they have a dance floor and had some pretty loud hip-hop dance music going when I went in, with a good crowd but no dancing.

The room was comfortable, but nothing special. In the bathtub, the plug was held in place by a 25cm long rusty metal spike. The whole thing was gross so I just lifted it out and laid it on the counter. The only downside to the room is the door faces out onto the enclosed "pyramid" area that houses the restaurants, a bar, and the snack bar, as well as the hotel lobby. Even at 3 in the morning, the screams of children were echoing up and into the room.

In the morning, I hit the snack bar at 7:30 for continental breakfast. Which is buns and fruit. They had coffee, milk and juice, as well as Tea bags and a jar of instant decaf, but no hot water for those. I went from there to the gym, which is actually pretty well equipped. Cardio, weights, free weights and an instructor leading aerobics.

Back to the room, and a nap, and then the two of us were off to the buffet for breakfast. We had a lovely table on the patio overlooking the pool and beach. If you sit outside make sure you're upwind of the smokers. Breakfast was good, great selection, not too bad food. The GCP had told us a shuttle would pick us up at 10:00 AM to come back to our original hotel. It didn't, and the scheduled 11:00 shuttle didn't show until almost 12:00. We whiled away some time at the lobby bar. On to the shuttle to our next hotel. This tale is continued under "golden Crown paradise"

any questions or to see pictures, email me sparky4@telus.net website: http://www.crownparadise.com.mx

Food:
we didn't have much but it was acceptable. Loved the late night snack bar

Drinks:
seemed fine. not overly strong, but not watered down. Water problem noted below.

Staff:
Polite if not overly friendly. We weren't really here long enough.

Beach/Pools:
Beach: looked nice at 2AM but we didn't go during the day.

Pool: Numerous. Looked good, but we didn't use them.

Great things about CPC:
For children, there is actually a lot to do. The kid's club looked quite large, including a pool with 4 waterslides. There's mini-golf, and the teen disco. Also kids were at the Rumbera lounge with their parents, so they had fun there. There seemed to be a lot of restaurant choices, which is a good thing. The late night snacks are available and were pretty good. There are about 5 pools so you shouldn't ever be too crowded. The guidebook/map was handy.

Not-so-great things:
While there are water coolers at the bars, restaurants, and gym with purified water, it seems to be hit and miss whether the water tastes good or not. It was all safe, we didn't get sick, but sometimes it was disgusting and actually difficult to finish a glass. The noise of the screaming children echoing into the room would prompt me to find a room in a different part of the hotel. The map is hard to follow. There was supposed to be a "piano bar" open till 1AM with live jazz music. We couldn't find it, and the area where the map placed it was totally closed, dark and dead. The description in the tour operator's books says 24-hour room service is included in the all-inclusive, but the card in our room had it available for breakfast only, and there were prices attached to the menu.

Restaurant info:
Midway Stop: Express continental breakfast 06:00-09:00 daily; Late night snack grill 21:00-06:00 daily
Food Court (buffet): Breakfast Buffet 07:00-11:30 daily; Breakfast a la Carte 11:30-12:00 daily; lunch/dinner buffet 12:30-21:00 daily
La Concha & Tutuch (beach snack bar): Snacks (hamburgers, hot dogs, sandwiches) 11:00-17:00 daily.
Arigato (Japanese): 12:00-17:00 daily
Los Gallos (Mexican): Seatings at 18:00, 20:00, and 21:00-22:15. Reservations required for 18:00/20:00. Closed Mondays
La Piazza (Italian): Seatings at 18:00, 18:30, 20:00, and 21:00-22:15. Reservations required for 18:00, 18:30, 20:00. Closed Thursdays
Fifty's (International food with live music): Seatings at 18:30 and 21:00. Daily menu. Reservations required. Closes Tuesdays and Fridays.
Wayne's Boots (Steakhouse/Western): Seatings at 18:00, 18:30, 20:00, and 21:00-22:15. Reservations required for 18:00, 18:30, 20:00. Closed Wednesdays.
Fisherman's (Seafood): Seatings at 18:00, 18:30, 20:00, and 21:00-22:15. Reservations required for 18:00, 18:30, 20:00. Closed Sundays. reservations can be made by phone, up to 24 hours in advance. At least that's a little better then going out at 07:00 to get a reservation.

Dress Code - Fisherman's, Los Gallos, La Piazza, and Wayne's Boots: semi-formal dress for men (long pants, dress shorts, collar shirt, shoes, no beach wear.)
For Fifty's: formal dress code (long pants, collar shirt, closed shoes.)
Room Service (extra charge, even though everything says it's included): breakfast 07:00-11:00, regular menu 12:00-18:00 Tea Time: English style afternoon tea, 17:00-18:00 at Los Gallos Terrace

Bar info:
Lobby bar: 10:00-23:00
Rumbero's Bar: 18:00-02:00. 2 pool tables, live music, dance floor, kids go in here too.
Las Brisas: Main pool bar, 10:00-17:00
La Concha: Between the main pool and the La Concha Pool; 11:00-18:00
Piano Bar: on the ocean, 18:00-01:30, adults only, live music starting at 22:30, closes Tuesdays. (We tried to go here but it seemed closed on a Saturday night.)
Club Caribe: pool bar in the adults recreation area, 10:00-17:00
Beach bar: 10:00-17:00 weather permitting
Trafalgar's: Pub, games room, billiards, disco/dance floor: 18:00-02:00 adults only

Amenities info:
Las Brisas: main pool, with music/activities, 07:00-22:00
La Concha/Jacuzzi: adults only, 07:00-22:00
Club Caribe: recreation area for adults. hydro massage, pool (07:00-19:00), Jacuzzis (07:00-22:00). steam baths downstairs (08:00-20:00)
Coco Loco: indoor/outdoor pool, 07:00-22:00
Mini-club/Baby-club: Kids 4-12 or babies 18 months to 4 years. Activities, pool, water slides. Open 09:00-21:45 (mini-club closes 16:5 on Sundays)
Tennis Courts: 2 courts, with night lighting. instructor available for free lessons
Watersports: Daily shuttle at 09:30 and 11:30 to Marina for windsurfing, kayaking, sailboating, and paddleboats.
Gym: 08:00-20:00
Minigolf: 08:00-22:30. equipment available
Arcade: 09:00-12:00
Insomnia Disco: beachfront disco for teenagers only, no alcohol served.
In-room safe is included

Shows info:
Nightly disco shuttle (23:00, 22:30 on Sundays)
In the hotel's theatre:v Monday: Mexican Fiesta Show 20:00-21:00
Tuesdays: international Show 20:00-21:00
Wednesdays: Star Show 20:00-21:00v Thursdays: Broadway Show 20:00-21:00
Fridays: Carnival Dinner Show: Unique dinner ball in Grand Salon, doors 19:30 dinner 20:00
Saturdays: karaoke in Trafalgars, win prizes, disco music 23:00-02:00
Sundays: Fantasy Show, geared to children, 20:00-21:00

Other events:
Monday: Kids - Pinata in lobby 21:00-22:00, Adults Singing Contest at Piano bar at 22:00
Tuesday: Bingo at Trafalgar's 21:00-22:00
Wednesday: After show, Children's football, teenage basketball, adults volleyball
Thursday: After show, dance contest for kids 21:00-22:00, adults salsa contest at Rumbero 22:00-23;00
Sunday: Crazy games at insomnia disco 21:00-22:00, 22:00-02:00 "teens night"

Any Questions, or to see pictures, please email me sparky4@telus.net

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A fabulous resort!"

Crown Paradise Club Cancun
User Rating:  Crown Paradise Club Cancun Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Celina_Canada  on Feb 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2005 | Leisure | Family and Kids
80 people found this review helpful

What a fabulous resort! If you are looking for a resort that has entertainment for all ages, then this is the resort for you!
The rooms were good. The first room we stayed in was nice. We requested two beds as we were a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids under 6). This room, with the 4 of us was a bit small. However, the beds were great and the TV there had the kids cartoon network for the kids. There was only a handfull of channels that were engligh speaking. They should invest in satallite TV but then again, who stays in the hotel room when on vacation!
We were upgraded to a one bedroom suite, after buying a time share. The suite was fabulous! Had two hotel rooms together with a full kitchen. Next time we go, we are looking at not going all-inclusive., as there is so much out there to experience with respects to food....It will be an experience to dine out every night or just sit at the hotel and have a quiet supper.....

The pools were hopping with entertainment. There was one pool shaped like a shell and along side it was a small hot pool. Most of the families with young kids stayed at this one.Then there was the main pool where the staff entertained us patrons.


DOWNTOWN the best shopping of all. Got my hair done for $500 pecos, which I had them put in extensions (to my bottom) and beads and the fancy flowers. They did such a great job it took me nearly 6 hours to get it all out when I came home. BEST JOB! just take the bus R1, and tell them to take you to the supermarket downtown....as soon as you get off the market it located on the corner across the street but at the bus stop the ladies are there to do your hair....took two people and 1.5 hours to do my hair.

The restaraunts are great and you can only book 2 DAYS IN ADVANCE. Make sure you call first thing when you wake to book your two days in. I completely loved Wayne's Boots and recommend the shrimp and chicken kabob, and request a corn cob and extra rice then have the banana split after......they have the best ice cream in Mexico! Shhhh dont tell my husband but I was eating a cone everyday I was there!

ANyhow, I definately recommend the hotel to all. We are going back again....as matter of fact we met many others who have been to this hotel more than once...one couple has returned there 9 years in a row!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A great place for the kids and a nice choice of restaurants"

Crown Paradise Club Cancun
User Rating:  Crown Paradise Club Cancun Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Elizabeth_Canada  on Jan 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2005 | Leisure | Family and Kids
85 people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a vacation in Cancun. We stayed at the Crown Paradise from January 17 to 24. We were travelling with 4 adults and 2 children (3 and 4 years old). As we spent a lot of time looking at reviews on this site, I thought I would give my thoughts.

Flight:
We flew with Sky Service on a Sunquest package. I would not recommend either of those. The flight out of Ottawa was delayed by 5 hours due to mechanical problems. I can understand such delays, especially on a charter, but they knew well in advance that there was a problem. When we arrived to check in they asked if we were aware of the delay. I believe Sky Service could have done something to inform us prior to arriving at the airport. As for Sunquest, our only dealing with the rep in Cancun was on our first day there. He offered very little information and only seemed interested in selling us tours.

Check-in:
Due to the delay in our flight, we arrived at the hotel around 2 in the morning, instead of 9 in the evening. I thought the hotel did a pretty quick and efficient job of getting us to our rooms. We had adjacent rooms on the first floor of the farthest tower. At booking we had asked for rooms on an upper floor, but to me that really wasn’t an issue. Of concern at the time was the howling wind we could hear outside. Were we in a wind tunnel?? Turned out it was just a windy couple of days.

Rooms:
We had a few minor complaints about the room. Mostly, the bathroom. The tap in the bathtub didn’t quite reach all the way so a lot of water tended to end up on the floor. In addition there was a fist sized dent in the wall near one of the beds. Finally, the air filter was in obvious need of cleaning as it was so lined with dust. Otherwise, the room was quite comfortable. It was a good size for a family of 4. The balcony overlooked the pool with an ocean view and was also a good size. The kids kept wanting to play there and have snacks. Some have said the beds are not comfortable, but we seemed to have no problems with them.

Beach:
The beach in front of the hotel was a little small, especially at high tide. If your chair wasn’t right up against the wall, you might get washed away! But that was really only a problem on two of the days. We generally had no problems finding chairs, though it was a bit frustrating to see so many of the chairs missing their “backs”. Perhaps it’s time to replace a few of these. The beach was clean and the kids had a great time digging holes and jumping the surf.

Pools:
Finding space around the pools was more of a problem. People were putting their towels out around 7 in the morning, probably earlier, despite signs posted by the hotel that this practice is forbidden. I’ve always had a problem with people doing that. Everybody wants a place in the sun, but obviously some think it’s more their right. Anyway… the pools were nice. The two main pools were always hopping. One seemed more kid friendly, which presented a bit of a problem. Quite often, families would gather on the steps to let the little ones play there. That’s fine, except that it made it difficult to get slightly older kids in. Mine like to hold onto the railing, but that was hard to do with so many people there. Otherwise, the water was nice. I believe that pool was heated. The other pool, looking out onto the beach, was not heated. That was the activity pool and the one that had the best afternoon sun. I believe there was also a Jacuzzi in this area. However, if I’m not mistaken, it was turned into another kids pool and was never used as a Jacuzzi. Then there was the Kids’ Paradise where the slides were. Our kids never spent time at the kids club, but we did go do some sliding. The water was way too cold! If they can heat one pool, surely they can heat this one too. Otherwise, the slides were great. My kids can’t swim, but that didn’t seem to be a problem. I was in there with them but probably didn’t need to be. The sliding typically stops before truly hitting the water, so they don’t go completely under. Last is the adults’ only pool, which we used only on our last day. An interesting area. Nice to get away from the kids, but I found it noisy in other ways. There were a few groups that insisted on loud conversations and the bartenders were constantly blowing a whistle. Also a good place to catch afternoon sun. But I’m not sure I’d want to spend too much time there.

Restaurants:
The a la carte restaurants were great, though hard to get into. Reservations generally had to be made a day ahead and if you wanted a 6:00 seating, this was sometimes hard to come by. But we did get to try them all. My husband and I quite enjoyed the kid free restaurant “50s”. Travelling with two young kids, it was nice to get a break. Wayne’s Boots was a little too loud, but the meals were great. I think my favourite was probably La Piazza, the Italian restaurant. Service at all these restaurants was good, but not great. Things tended to be forgotten, but I attribute that to a language problem. The buffet restaurant was OK. As others have said, the menu tended not to change, especially between lunch and dinner. It did change day to day. I think this was a plan to encourage dining at the restaurants. Anyway, breakfast was generally pretty good (waffles with chocolate sauce – yum!). However, I found the staff there not to be very friendly or helpful, for the most part. Is this because we didn’t always leave a tip? It particularly bothered me the day I was in there alone with the two kids. Trying to get food from a buffet with a 3 and 4 year old can be a bit of a challenge. Nobody offered to get us drinks and no plates were cleared. Meanwhile, a larger table across from us were getting lots of attention and help when they didn’t really need it. A little thing maybe, but that tended to affect my judgement of the staff as a whole. I found, generally, that the hotel staff was not very friendly. There were exceptions of course.

Bars:
As we didn’t spend a lot of times at the bars, I can’t say much about them. The Pina coladas I had were great! Of my two experiences at the beach bar, I found the bartender to be very rude. On one occasion, I was advised very rudely that they weren’t open yet, which I was not aware. All that for a glass of water.

Entertainment:
The hotel put on nightly shows at 8 pm. These lasted from 30 minutes to an hour. The shows were good, but not great. And I think a later start would have been better to avoid rushing from dinner. From our perspective, the best of the shows had to be what they called a “Fantasy” show, geared towards the kids. It had a variety of Disney and other kids characters – Shrek, Tarzan, Mickey Mouse, Barney, etc. Both of our kids loved it and certainly looked like the others in the audience did too.

Check-out:
Check out was not quite as smooth as check-in. First off, we weren’t leaving the hotel until 6:00 that evening. We asked for a late check out (mostly so the kids could nap) and were told to come back the day we were leaving. So at 9:00 that morning we asked and were told to come back at 11:00. At 11:00 we were finally told no. We made our way to the front desk for our noon check out where we were asked for the TV remote (which we had never even used). My husband raced back to the room to get it, only to find we’d already been locked out. A further inquiry about a room for the afternoon yielded nothing until the manager was finally called. Lo and behold, there was a room we could use. For $50 US. We took it as this seemed like the best thing for the kids. Two things with this. First, $50 US seems like quite a lot just for the cost of cleaning a room. Second, I didn’t understand the run around over the issue. Just let us know one way or the other. I tried to get an explanation from the manager, but that yielded little. While I liked the hotel, this episode left me with a bitter taste. It was a shabby way to treat their guests.

Bottom Line:
Although the Crown Paradise did nothing that really made me say “Wow”, I would probably go back. It’s a great place for the kids and it did have a nice choice of restaurants. I may not have liked it as much as other places I’ve stayed at, but I can’t really point at one thing that would give me enough reason not to go back there.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Calling this a five star resort is a joke."

Crown Paradise Club Cancun
User Rating:  Crown Paradise Club Cancun Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  CrownParadiseVisitor  on Jun 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2004 | Leisure | Family and Kids
70 people found this review helpful

Stayed at the Crown Paradise Resort from June 5th-12th, 2004 and was our first trip to Mexico. My major complaints are below by section.

Food
Resort featured six restaurants. All restaurants were very hot with very poor air conditioning. The main restaurant serving B/L/D was the buffet. Breakfast was pretty good with a good variety. Lunch and dinner were terrible. Absolutely no change in the menu from day to day with very limited selection. (Cheese burgers, pizza, stir fry, pastas and a limited desert and salad station.) If you're looking for carved roast beef and ham with mashed potatoes, gravy and all the fixings, you are in the wrong place. Food quality reminded me of my dorm food in college. Iced Tea was terrible and soda had no carbonation. The other five specialty restaurants were for dinner only, reservarions only. Food presentation and atmosphere was nice, but portions were small and again all restaurants were very warm with poor air conditioning.

Rooms
Clean, but nothing special. The only real positive thing was the ocean view. Matresses were old, leaving all of us with back aches. Again, the air conditioning needs improvement. Did not seem to take the humidity of of the air and really did not get cool until very early in the morning. Ordered room service one morning and it took over two hours for delivery for juice and pastries. Our room was right above the bar area in the lobby. Bar was very noisy until 1-2am. Not the greatest setup for kids trying to sleep. Found out on the last day that TV remotes needed to be checked out at the front dask. Why? I have no idea,

Beverages
If you're an alcohol drinker, the bars are always serving. If you aren't, like us, the only choice through the day was flat soda. Believe me, these folks do not believe in bubbles in their drinks. No iced tea could be found anywhere. Bottled water had to be purchased at the gift shops for $2.50 a bottle. Our family of four spent well over $150 just in water alone, which is rediculous. No soda machines to be found anywhere.

Pools/Activities
The resort offered many activities for the kids. Adult pool was especially nice with a swim up bar. No kids were allowed and this was stricly enforced, since a hand full of women went topless. Nightly entertaiment was also very good.

Summary
Calling this a five star resort is a joke. The Crown Paradise needs to go back to the basics starting with their cooling system. They need to have beverage stands that will cater to non drinkers, and they need to offer much more variety in their food selections. Rooms were in need of a face lift, as I've seen nicer rooms at an economy hotel chain. Will return to Cancun some day, but it will not be at the Crown Paradise Resort for sure.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Definitely would recommend."

Crown Paradise Club Cancun
User Rating:  Crown Paradise Club Cancun Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Christopher  on Dec 1, 2003  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2003 | Leisure | Family and Kids
75 people found this review helpful

Synopsis:
Definitely would recommend. With the exception of the lobby bar, I found the service to be exceptional. Many activities and areas (e.g. bars, pool with swim-up bar and hot tub, the formal restaurant, etc.) reserved for adults only but resort is especially well suited for families with kids 12 and under (kids club with own water park – four water slides). The food overall met or exceeded my expectations.

Food:
The buffet has something for everyone – a central buffet island has the specials for the day, this is surrounded by made to order stations. One station is Italian, one is oriental, and one is Mexican. In addition to these there is a fruit bar and salad bar. The fruit and lettuce always looked like it had been picked that day, I’m not kidding. To drink you can have a smoothy made during breakfast hours at the Italian station. Otherwise, they have assorted soft drinks, coffee, tea, beer, red/white wine, and fruit drinks. The servers here are, in my opinion, some of the best at the resort. They were always alert made sure we had something to drink and would go get us one if we didn’t. If my hands were full (and sometimes when they weren’t) they would ask if they could help carry the food to the table, etc. Mind you, this wasn’t a freak thing, this was day after day for the week I was down there.

In addition to the buffet there are six restaurants – I only tried four of them and they all were good. I believe the Japanese one is only open from noon to 5:00pm (according to my wife). If you do not make reservations in advance you can always walk-in and check if there is an open seat after 9:00 PM at any of the restaurants.

My favorite meal was the filet mignon at Wayne’s Boots – one of the best tasting I’ve ever had. This also was my favorite restaurant as it had some entertainment, a mechanical bull. Staff was pretty good at getting people to try it. My most disappointing meal was the blue crab at the seafood restaurant – the crab was good but I look forward to the claw meat and the blue crab is served whole with the claws removed.

Beach:
The beach is kept very clean. To get to the beach you have to go down a series of stairs (typical for this area) or the service ramp. There is a big sand bar in front of the hotel which is kind of neat and safer if you have kids. There is no coral reef in front of the hotel or within reasonable walking distance, for those of you who like to snorkel right off the hotel grounds.

Bars:
The cups are small so you might want to bring your own cup or order more than one drink at a time. The service at the lobby bar was consistently poor. Over the course of the first two days I had the bartender ask me what I wanted to drink (beer) and then forget to serve me. This happened no less than three times. Once it happened two times in a row. Mind you, I am not much of a drinker. Service was so bad here I started avoiding the lobby bar. People I talked to at the resort also felt they got poor service at this bar. In reading other reviews it may be because I did not tip (my personal rule for tipping at an all-inclusive is to tip if service is above my expectations – not tip to get serviced). On the plus side, this is the only area I experienced poor service.

Kid's Club:
Staff did a superb job. On the second day I took my son, who’s six years old, down to the kids club and the staff had already memorized my sons name and greeted him by name as we approached (out of maybe 25 from the day before). The kids club opens at 9:00am and finishes up at 9:45pm on most days. The water park is enclosed and kids can only leave if parents provide in/out privileges to the kids. Activities included shows, movies, kids disco, contests, and of course the water park. Kids wear orange vests when going from the water park to other parts of the resort (kids disco, shows, etc.).

Aqua World:
This is the place you have to go if you want to go kayaking, paddle boating, or sailing (I think the sailboats are included), as part of all-inclusive. It is located on the lagoon side, which has calmer water. I took one of the kayaks out and traveled around the island out in the lagoon. On the west side of the island I saw what appeared to be a Scorpion fish and thousands of tiny fish. Along the shoreline I could have stopped at an outside bar to have a snack and a beer. If you miss one of the free Aqua World buses you can always grab a public bus for 6 pesos (about 60 cents). I don’t think the buses take US currency. Aqua World also provides a variety of excursions for a fee.

Rooms:
We started out in the old building. Room was clean and no mold in bathroom (a big pet peeve of my wife). However, sliding glass door to outside is old style that could be opened while locked by lifting door. This was not acceptable to us and we wound up in the new building. Here our room was a little nicer and little bigger and no sliding glass door problem. We did find that we needed to check if the sliding glass door was locked after our room was cleaned – our sliding glass door had to be pushed shut all the way before locking mechanism worked properly. On most days the maid did not properly lock our sliding glass door and I could open our door. Our maid did do an excellent job with our room, flowers on our bed every day, towels made up in the shape of a swan, etc. If I spoke Spanish I am sure I could have explained to her that our sliding glass door does not lock unless completely shut all the way.

Misc.:
You may miss the adult pool with swim-up bar and hot tub (also at bar level) if you do not know where it is. If you take the lobby elevator to first floor, make a right out of the elevator and keep walking. If you like to sun bathe topless, this is the place to go to do that. Piano bar is also kind of hidden and could be missed if you never walk down the stairs to the beach (across from the formal restaurant). When traveling to town I always opted to take a bus (6 pesos or about 60 cents). From the hotel walk down to the street, make a right and walk a little ways – you’ll see a sign that says bus stop.

I shopped around and found a good deal using www.restlinc.com for my hotel stay. From the airport it is easy to get transportation (I believe it is $9 p/p for a bus each way). When I inquired about a taxi it was $40 (without negotiating) and a couple at the resort we talked to said they paid $13 for a taxi. You may want to use this information as a guideline on deciding if you want to purchase round trip transfers from your travel agent.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We loved this hotel so much!"

Crown Paradise Club Cancun
User Rating:  Crown Paradise Club Cancun Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Anna_USA  on Oct 1, 2003  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Oct, 2003 | Leisure | Family and Kids
68 people found this review helpful

My husband, 2 1/2 year old daughter and I just returned from Cancun, where we stayed at the Crowne Paradise from 9/26 - 10/6. It was marvelous. Our daughter loved the trampoline in the baby club and the tubes and slides that led to pool in the kids club. The restaurants were very good, we especially liked La Piazza (Italian food) and our being Italian and running a restaurant, we are huge critics. Wayne's Boots is very good if you are in the mood for steak - and very entertaining for the little ones. The buffet was the best for breakfast and the service at every restaurant was wonderful. The entire staff at the hotel is so nice and especially to children. The activities are very well coordinated and the grounds are impeccable. The room service is very quick. The only problem we had was the air conditioning was being worked on and our room was a little warmer than we would have liked, but a bucket of ice in the room actually cooled it down.

We loved this hotel so much, we are making arrangements to go back in February with two other couples who have small children as well. If you are interested in having a relaxing, casual and safe vacation and have small children who may want the same, this is the place for you.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube