Dreams Resort and Spa Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Cancun > Cancun Hotel Index > Dreams Resort and Spa reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cancun Hotels with Similar Ranking

Club Med Cancun

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 1, 2008

Beach Palace Wyndham Grand Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 8, 2010

Le Blanc Spa Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 15, 2010

Sun Palace

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2011

Riu Palace Las Americas

4.8 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 1, 2007

Royal Solaris Caribe

4.6 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 10, 2010

Dreams Resort and Spa  

Punta Cancun s/n, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico

"Dolphirosa in Dreams Cancun."
Posted by: leonardito  on Jun 18, 2012
see all reviews

Dreams Resort and Spa Reviews
Dreams Resort and Spa Pictures and Information
Dreams Resort and Spa Cancun Mexico

#15
of 53 Hotels in Cancun

User rating 4.8

Based on 6 reviews

Dreams Resort and Spa Information


Set on four acres right at the very tip of the Yucatan Peninsula; located near the ancient Mayan city of Tulum on Punta Cancún, you'll find that All-Inclusive Dreams Resort & Spa Cancun is among the island’s most appealing places to stay.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Dreams Resort and Spa Reviews

Dreams Resort and Spa Review: 4.8 of 5 6 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  0
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (6)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 6 of 6

"Dolphirosa in Dreams Cancun."

Dreams Resort and Spa
User Rating:  Dreams Resort and Spa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  leonardito  on Jun 18, 2012  >  17 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
235 people found this review helpful

We spent 2 weeks vacation at Dreams and we couldn't have been
more happy with the resort. The location was great, it's at the
vertex of the two main beach strips in Cancun, so it has a beach
on either side of the resort. One with calm waters, and one with
waves. This makes it feel very secluded from neighbouring hotels
but located right in the center of Cancun hotels area where the action is.

We stayed in the pyramid section and later in the Tower Prefer Club.
Both rooms were great with a fabulous view. What makes this hotel
special is the staff and the management. Thanks Anett and Alex
for your hospitality, Everyone was so pleasant in the tower. Sheyla,
our concierge and the rest of the staff will help you with all your needs.

World Cafe has an excellent buffet choice for all of your meals
breakfast, dinner or supper).

The a la carte restaurants were great too. We tried four of the five
restaurants and were extremely happy with each of them.
The staff was very welcoming. The service was truly
exceptional. The food was one of the best we ever had in
all inclusive resorts. The salmon, the mahi mahi, grouper or
steak were our favourites. There was also room service 24 hours a day.
Finally the Paloma Bonita just outside of the Dreams Resort is included now.
You need to get reservations the day you want to go beginning at 9:00 a.m.
with the gourmet concierge. The authentic Mexican decor and atmosphere
is terrific . The food is excellent and the staff is eager to please.
For a choice of coffees and pastries Coco Cafe is the best.

The main pool was great (with a wet bar) and has a dynamic
team of animation. Finally, the greatest attraction is the dolphins residing
at the resort. You can admire their skill and their beauty anytime.

We were glad that we choose the Dreams Cancun as this place is the
perfect all-inclusive resort. We hope to return soon.
For more and photos see :
http://leonardito.com/drmcc1206n/drmcc1206.php

Room Number:
6192

Room Block:
Tower

Photos: http://leonardito.com/drmcc1206n/drmcc1206.php

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic Vacation"

Dreams Resort and Spa
User Rating:  Dreams Resort and Spa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Derek  on Apr 19, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
363 people found this review helpful

The Dreams Riviera Cancun was a perfect blend of service, atmosphere and enjoyment. Yes there are children at this resort but we went as a couple knowing this and were able to still have a wonderful vacation.

Your Arrival:
Nice and close to the airport with about only a 30 minute drive.

Rooms:
Exact replications of what they portray on their websites. We found them stunning and almost all have some sort of oceanview.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was excellent...we really enjoyed the Japanese and French. Plenty of bars to accomodate a thirst of any nature. Good selection of liquors availble.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was unfortunately not that great due to the weather during our stay. Winds were strong and had a storm front for a few days of our vacation.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots of energy and activities if you wished to participate. Not overly agressive to gather people for events and the noise from them was never really annoying.

Other Comments:
Excellent service, attention to detail and memorable experience. Would highly recommend and we plan to return soon.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This was one of the most relaxing vacations!"

Dreams Resort and Spa
User Rating:  Dreams Resort and Spa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bridget_Vermont  on Nov 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
319 people found this review helpful

Well let me start by saying that I don't know where the negative reviews are coming from on this hotel. This was our second trip to Cancun and this resort was wonderful. We have stayed at Sandals and other all inclusives and can say this resort is on the highest level of SERVICE!!! Don't hesitate to ask for anything, they will take care of you!

First of all we checked in on April 5th for 7 wonderful nights. We had the smoothest check in (Wonderful after traveling). We were greeted with the towels and champagne and bottled water. We were originally booked for an ocean view in the pyramid and were pleased to find that we had been upgraded to the Tower. We were wisked away to the Tower after a small tour through the lobby and pyramid for a sit down check in. They were very good at explaining everything and asked for questions. We were then escorted to our room and everything was explained. We stayed in Room 6144 on the 14th floor.

The room was wonderful and our mattress was great. The View was the best and the balcony! And when I say this resort is clean, I mean it. They were constantly cleaning. Everything was spotless. There was turndown service every night with a rose, chocolate and weather report. Also the fridge was well stocked everyday! Bottled water is everywhere at this resort and is never a problem.

We ate at the breakfast buffet everyday, they remember your name and are always on top of everything. Santiago and Diana were wonderful at the buffet. We ate almost every dinner at the Seaside Grill. The filet wrapped in bacon will melt in your mouth. At the Seaside Grill during the day they have great burgers and lunch. It is nice to sit and look at the water and the beach. At the Seaside David is a great waiter and bartender and Jose is wonderful. They will make sure your every need is taken care of.

The pool is nice and the pool bar. I can honestly say that the Beach by the Tower was so nice that we hardly used the pool. We wanted to enjoy the ocean. There was beach bar service and a tip will keep them coming back! We brought thermal cups and they take them and fill them for you. We went down early to the tower beach and put towels and books down everyday and we always had a chair. We were at the beach from 10AM every morning till 3:00 PM.

We didn't watch much of the Entertainment. We sat in the lounge at night and enjoyed the little band and had a few drinks it was laid back and relaxing.

This was one of the most relaxing vacations and if you don't enjoy this resort there is something wrong.

Thank you to all the people at Dreams for a wonderful vacation. We will be back just probably not soon enough for me :).

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It was superb!"

Dreams Resort and Spa
User Rating:  Dreams Resort and Spa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mary  on Jun 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2006 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
291 people found this review helpful

My husband and I just returned, 1/20-1/27/06, from Cancun where we stayed the same place we stayed last year, Dreams Cancun. Despite being hit by 2 hurricanes this past Fall, there was no difference in the way the hotel looked or the service we received, it was superb! We stayed on the 14th floor of the tower building, (we were upgraded because there was a convention in attendance) the beds were much more comfortable than the beds we had last year in the pyramid building, but other than that and the view, there was no difference. The service by all is the best we have ever experienced and the food is wonderful!

Cancun, on the other hand has not weathered the 2 hurricanes well, most of the hotels appeared to be closed but much work is being done to get the hotels up and running before spring break. The beaches are beautiful, in fact appear to be better than pre-hurricane, but the malls have taken a beating and in general is not the Cancun that we have visited so many times before, very sad. But, they are obviously working very hard to get everything back to pre-hurricane condition and many of the older hotels really could use updating anyway. The airport seemed the same as usual, no obvious damage and everything seemed business as usual there. We had a great time!

Any questions can be sent to jmendel2@comcast.net

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We were expecting a 5 star resort but Dreams fell very short of that."

Dreams Resort and Spa
User Rating:  Dreams Resort and Spa Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Tina  on Aug 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
346 people found this review helpful

My husband and I spent a week at Dreams 7/26-8/2. Last year we were at Secrets in Punta Cana and our vacation was superb. We were originally scheduled to stay at Aventura Spa Palace but due to Hurricane Emily we were rescheduled to Dreams. We loved Secrets so much that we thought that Dreams would be the same as it's owned by the same company. We even upgraded to have the "Luxury Club". We arrived on Tuesday, our room was on the 5th floor in the Towers. We stepped off the elevator and I had a bad feeling.The down button on the elevator was missing. It was completely pulled out of the wall, so, we had to go up to go down. There are 17 floors in the tower. There was a terrible mildewed smell. The room was filled with this odor and the bathroom had a lot of mold. We unpacked but, by early evening we couldn't take it. Our clothes in the drawers were smelling too. We were told we would have to wait until the next day. The bed linens and pillows had the same odor. The next day we were shown two other rooms and we were told we had to be sure, because we could only change once. We eventually changed to an 11th floor room which was a smoking room, but, it was better than the first one.The bottle open that's under the lip of the bathroom sink is rusted out and moldy as well. The bathroom could have used a good Tilex job. The floor gets slippery in the bathroom as the shower curtain does not reach all the way down the tub and you have to put a towel on the floor to prevent slipping. We had added the "Luxury Club" because we thought we would get more. But, when we didn't get turndown service we inquired and were told that the hotel had discontinued that service. After a few days we did get turndown for a few days and then it stopped. The pool area near the Towers is very slippery. The water overflows from the pool onto the tiles and there were several times when I went flying. We felt that we didn't get enough information and I was surprised because most of the reviews were so positive. My husband got sick and the doctor was wonderful. He came to our room and prescribed an antibiotic. I know that it's true that you don't spend much time in your room when you're on vacation, but, we were not comfortable there. The TV is positioned so that the post from the canopy bed cut the screen in half. It was like being at a football game and sitting behind a pole in the stadium. The restaurants were good, the food was good and the waiters and managers were wonderful. I think we were expecting a 5 star resort and Dreams fell very short of that. There was no reason to get the added Luxury Club they had told us that the only perk was an upgraded room. And, the rooms in the Towers are very old and not cared for. If you would like to contact us for more info please feel free to email us at: Tina295@aol.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Had the best vacation ever at Dreams Cancun!"

Dreams Resort and Spa
User Rating:  Dreams Resort and Spa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mary_USA  on Feb 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
331 people found this review helpful

This was our 6th trip to Cancun and we also have been to Riviera Maya twice, but this was the best vacation we have ever had. The hotel is immaculate, cuisine is superb and the service is extraordinary. We booked our vacation with Apple Vacations from Chicago O'Hare left on 1/31/05 and returned to Chicago on 1/7/05. First of all, it appears that they have a new slogan, Welcome to Mexico, Welcome Home! Very warm and welcoming and we believe that they really meant it, especially the staff at the Dreams Resort. Upon arrival at the hotel around 1 p.m. or so, we were met in the lobby by a pristinely attired sentry holding a silver tray with cool towels for us to freshen up and another sentry holding a tray with Champagne and Chocolate Chip cookies, talk about starting things off on the right foot! Check in was very fast and we got our non-smoking king room a short time later, early check in is no problem. Check in is normally 3 p.m. but if they have your requested room available when you check in they immediately take you to your room. We unfortunately just missed getting our room upon arrival, but we were told that it would be ready within the next hour and so we went for lunch, had a drink and when we were finished, our room was ready.

Rooms:
When our room was ready, a bellman who spoke perfect English took our bags and gave us an overview of the hotel on our way to the room. He showed us around our room and even hung up our coats in the closet for us. Showed us how to operate the electronic thermostat and safe in the room. The view was spectacular from our room. There is every possible amenity in the room including full size shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, body lotion and sunscreen. Satellite TV including ABC, CBS, ESPN, NBC, HBO and Cinnemax. We were there for the Super Bowl and were able to view it in our room in English, the hotel also had a big Super Bowl Party on Huge Screen on their inside lagoon beach, which we could also see from our room. There is mini-refrigerator in your room with beer, pop, juice and water and is replenished every day. Maid service comes two times a day to replenish towels and turndown with chocolates in the evening. Regular hangers in the closet, hairdryer, ironing board and iron and golf umbrella. You can even request a special kind of pillow if you wish, down/feather, cervical etc.

Beach:
Also, there are none of those unattractive and uncomfortable wristbands that you usually have to wear at the all-inclusive resorts. All you have to do is give your room number to the hostesses, barmen or other waitstaff and that's it. Security is very tight at this hotel and no one is allowed on property unless they are a guest of the hotel. The one exception is that they allow guests from the Hyatt Regency next door to use part of their beach (the Hyatt does not have a beach, only rocks). However, they are not allowed to use the beach chairs on the beach, only allowed to sit on the sand or the rocks on the sides of the beach. There is a full time lifeguard and a guard posted on the Hyatt side of the hotel who immediately remove Hyatt guests who occupy any of the Dreams beach chairs, within minutes of they occupying them. There are two beaches one on either side of the hotel, shady spots are minimal so you still have to get out there before 7:30 a.m. to get a shady spot if you want one and if you want 1 on the calmer side of the hotel where the water activities take place, you have to get out there before 7:00 a.m. The beach chairs are very nice, have thick pads on them and the towels are already placed upon the chairs when you get there and there are baskets with additional towels if you so desire. There are restaurants on both beaches and get this, the waistaff come around on the beach all day long to ask you if you wish to have a drink and they bring it to you. All the waitstaff are pristinely attired and very professional.

Restaurants:
There are 3 restaurants and a buffet. All of the food is superbly prepared, constantly replenished and wide variety. They have champagne and bloody marys everyday at breakfast. Any kind of beverage that you could possibly want, lovely pastries and breads, fresh squeezed orange juice etc. Espresso, capaccino etc. Top shelf everything, there was nothing we did not like, much to our waistlines' dismay. There is also a separate breakfast buffet and bar service in the lobby of the highrise building, breakfast buffet is more limited but still very nice. The dining room was never crowded, never a wait, excellent service. You can eat whenever you want, early, late etc. We saw people just going to dinner at 9:30 p.m. a couple of times. 24 hour room service included. There was dinner served on their lagoon beach one evening and several times during the week they bring in local artisans to display and sell their wares.

Entertainment:
There is live entertainment in the lobby bar area almost every night in addition to the daily evening show that is put on around 8:30 p.m.

Concierges:
There are concierges to help you 2 in the main lobby and 1 in the lobby of the highrise building too.

Spa atmosphere:
This is definitely a Spa atmosphere, everything is white and pristine and tastefully decorated. Up until a conference for an HSBC group came to the hotel on Thursday and Friday, it was very quiet. Spa services were a little pricey, minimum $110.00 for a 50 minute facial, I'm sure it would be worth it, but I am too cheap to splurge like that so we did not take advantage of any of those services.

Atmosphere:
The hotel is pretty quiet, not a party atmosphere like many of the other hotels, which I liked, I read 3 novels in the week we were there. Since we have been there so many times, we have been on most of the tours and just like to relax, walk on the beach etc. and this was the perfect atmosphere for that. No vendors or timeshare people on the property bothering you whatsoever.

Conclusion:
The location of the hotel is great, walking distance to Senor Frogs and Plaza Caracol and a host of other places you can walk to.

Definitely 5 Star Rating, everything was wonderful, only complaint is that the bed was very hard, like sleeping on a table and the convention people were a little obtrusive but not that bad.

I would be happy to answer any questions. Please direct questions to jmendel2@comcast.net

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube