El Dorado Seaside Suites Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Mayan Riviera > Mayan Riviera Hotel Index > El Dorado Seaside Suites reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Mayan Riviera Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tucan

5.0 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 9, 2014

Playacar Palace Resort

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 31, 2014

Secrets Maroma Beach

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 23, 2014

Hidden Beach Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 13, 2010

Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 9, 2014

Grand Palladium Colonial

4.8 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 30, 2014

El Dorado Seaside Suites  

Puerto Aventuras | Kantenah, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico

"great customer care"
Posted by: kaima on Oct 12, 2014
see all reviews

El Dorado Seaside Suites Reviews
El Dorado Seaside Suites Pictures and Information
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mayan Riviera Mexico

#31
of 74 Hotels in Mayan Riviera

User rating 3.6

Based on 5 reviews

El Dorado Seaside Suites Information


El Dorado Spa Resorts & Hotels is a fabulous collection of luxurious All Inclusive Adult-Only beach resorts located throughout the most beautiful sites and exclusive beaches of the Riviera Maya in Mexico.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

El Dorado Seaside Suites Reviews

El Dorado Seaside Suites Review: 3.6 of 5 5 reviews
Excellent
  2
Very good
  1
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (5)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Solo Traveller (1)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 5 of 5

"Loved this Resort!"

El Dorado Seaside Suites
User Rating:  El Dorado Seaside Suites Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bev  on Feb 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
386 people found this review helpful

All my expectations were met. All of the reviews that I read about this resort were bang-on. My husband and I had a very enjoyable relaxing week. The grounds were well maintained; the rooms were beautiful and clean; the food was delicious. All the staff was very friendly. Tip - use you Personal Conseirge - very helpful!
I would recommend this resort to couples who need some time together, to enjoy each other's company - It was sure great for our relationship!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"More Style Than Substance"

El Dorado Seaside Suites
User Rating:  El Dorado Seaside Suites Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Antony  on Nov 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
346 people found this review helpful

Having stayed in hotels all around the world, we had high hopes for this resort. Sadly, we were unimpressed. The highlights were: the exceptional staff, the beautifully manicured grounds & the location. The low points were the food & the shabby room that we were given.
The hotel group makes extraordinary claims of being better than any other all-inclusive resorts. I'm afraid that they don't come close.

Arrival:
After a generally appalling flight with First Choice, we arrived in Cancun some three hours behind schedule.
We had paid extra for a private taxi transfer, the reasoning being for this was that we would arrive ahead of the crowds and be the first at check-in. The dashboard was illuminated like a Christmas tree with a plethora of warning lights that told a tale of a seldom maintained vehicle. Even a constant alarm coupled with a flashing stop light failed to attract the drivers’ attention. Despite this & an unscheduled detour around the suburbs, we did amazingly arrive at our destination.

We were then swiftly & courteously attended to & served with a cold glass of sparkling wine & refreshing towel before being transported to our room on a golf buggy.

Rooms:
Our first hotel room (4124) was located in a block that was three stories high & above the swim-up rooms. In your description, all rooms are ‘suites’. Mine (& Websters) definition of suite is: ‘A series of connected rooms used as a living unit’. The room was not a suite; it was a bedroom with an en suite bathroom. In addition, it was worn, jaded & cluttered. In a relatively small room, they had managed to shoehorn in: a king-size bed, a table that contained a coffee machine, a dressing table, a dining table, two chairs, a pair of bedside cupboards, a cabinet the size of a wardrobe that contained an old fashioned TV, a DVD player & a mini-fridge. On top of all that, there was a Jacuzzi bath in the remaining corner. Our balcony was narrow & shallow with a wall that was so high that when seated, it was not possible to see anything other than the wall.
We were eventually moved to a room that was more like the description on their website. Although it was a vast improvement, we still had a number of problems including electrical faults, no hot water & broken air-con.

Restaurants and Bars:
We had told the management that we were both vegetarian & this information was passed to the maître d' of each restaurant. For whatever reason & despite the menus having vegetarian options, this concept seemed to bewilder the staff. One morning at breakfast in Arrecifes restaurant, I ordered a plain omelet with tomato & mushroom. When it arrived, it came with a side order of bacon. After complaining & once again reminding the waiter of my dietary requirements, he apologised & removed the omelet. When he returned with the next one, it had ham inside! This became a theme throughout our stay.

There was hardly any fresh produce, the choice of vegetables consisted mainly of egg plant & carrots & the fruit was confined to a choice of melon, papaya & pineapple while most of the seafood was frozen. There were, in addition, the availability of apples, bananas & plums that were displayed in ‘Healthy Corner’ which was situated at the main bar. These items were not on offer in any of the restaurants. Having vacationed in most Caribbean countries, this was the worst selection of produce that we had witnessed.

Including swim-ups, there were six bars. Unfortunately, only two are open after 6.00pm & one of those were closed for refurbishment. The result was that the entire occupancy gathered in one bar which was also the location of the evening entertainment. On one evening, I counted that there were about 200 people surrounding the bar which was staffed by just three people. The majority of the customers were ordering cocktails which are obviously time-consuming. Despite the best efforts of the staff, customers were waiting for unreasonable amounts of time to be served; in addition, the public areas were not cleared of glasses etc. Management should have identified this problem & increased the number of staff. Because there were no other bars, this area was very noisy, especially when the entertainment started. It was hardly conducive with the romantic image that is portrayed in the brochure & as a result, we returned to our room most evenings at 10.00pm. As this resort is purported to be 5 star, I was very surprised to be served drinks in plastic glasses in the evening. I fully understand, from a health and safety point why this is done during the day, especially around pool areas but it is a little down-market to be expected to drink out of a plastic receptacle when dressed for dinner.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was nice enough but there are a number of ugly sand bags surrounding the coast that are trying to keep Mother Nature at bay. The beach has an abundance of sunbeds which is just as well as many people 'reserve' the best ones at some unearthly hour of the day and in some cases don't use them.

The grounds are superb & are a credit to the maintenance team. Spare a thought for those guys when tipping.

There are two main pools. One is dedicated to 'fun' & the other relaxation. Because there are a number of swim-up suites, there is ample space for all.

Other Comments:
In conclusion this is a good hotel but not a great hotel. The staff are excellent but attention to detail is lacking in some areas.

The nightly entertainment is, in comparison with comparable hotels, very poor. There are no quiet bars so if you don't enjoy noise or the sight of wedding parties flashing their breasts while taking part in drinking competitions, you may prefer an early night.

Dress codes are not enforced & public areas are not cleaned sufficiently between day & evening resulting in ones clothes being marked with sun tan oil & sand. Being served drinks in plastic glasses in the evening is also not what one would expect in such an establishment.

If you want a good quality hotel, then you will be happy, if you want the experience that they claim to offer, go elsewhere.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"What a disappointment!!"

El Dorado Seaside Suites
User Rating:  El Dorado Seaside Suites Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  R  on Dec 22, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
318 people found this review helpful

Just returned from spending a week at Eldorado Seaside Suites in Mexico. Wow! Anthony from United Kingdom hit it all. This was our honeymoon. We have visited several other countries and places and this has been the worse. From Day 2, we tried to move to a different resort, but was told several times that it would cost $1,000.00 USD a day to move to another resort. They moved us to another room after we had given them several complaints concerning just our room. We could actually hear some one clipping there toe nails in the next room. The food was all the same. One night we decided to check out the different restaurants. They all had the same exact food, just in a different order. The beach was nasty! Huge black nasty looking sand bags everywhere. You only have about 50-75 yards to walk on the beach. Couples resort, but no one would enforce the topless; very uncomfortable. We will not be back. What a disappointment!!

Room Number:
2702

Arrival:
Saturday, December 12, 2010

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Seaside - A good value"

El Dorado Seaside Suites
User Rating:  El Dorado Seaside Suites Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bonnie  on Dec 23, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) UNITED STATES MINOR OUTLYING ISLANDS
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
336 people found this review helpful

My husband and I just returned from a relaxing week at Seaside. I was a bit surprised to read the critical reviews preceding this one, especially those critical of the food and accommodations. I do agree with some of the comments and the need to manage certain aspects of guest behavior, namely hogging beach beds and leaving a mess in bathrooms. I might add that the staff is constantly cleaning the rest rooms so it’s not a hotel issue.

Firstly, our room was clean and very comfortable. The grounds impeccably maintained. We often took a walk after the evening meal just to take in the scenery. The staff could have not been more pleasant, including some cheerful bar tenders and wait staff.

While the beach was clean and the water protected it’s not much of a swimming beach, the water is just too shallow. One earlier review complained of topless guests, but that’s common in every Caribbean vacation spot, every European beach (often more than topless) and not uncommon in the US. Furthermore Seaside is an adult hotel, not Disney- we don’t understand the complaint.

I will complain about guests that put their books and towels on the beach beds and never use them, that’s just guest bad manors. We also found that guests seem to be a little less than friendly. Seldom did saying “good morning” get a reply. All that said my husband and I had the relaxing vacation we were looking for.

Room Number:
1430

Arrival:
We took a Lomus van-very reasonable but it is a long ride from Cancun airport. Lot's of development and road construction.

We were greeted with a cool drink (don't like Champagne)and receive some information on sights and resort facilities.

Restaurants and Bars:
The Italian, Mexican and Garden Restaurants served some excellent meals. The wine list is overpriced, but the house wines were acceptable if not good. The International Restaurant served a wonderful meal one night but the next time our meals were buried in salt. The Asian Restaurant was Ok at best. Breakfasts were phenomenal, just anything you might want even if not on the menu.

Other Comments:
We felt that our vacation was a good value, pleasant, relaxing and comfortable. Massages were expensive and the steam room was segrated (gals & guys had separate areas) not good. The gym is small but adequate and hardly anyone seemed to use it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"great customer care"

El Dorado Seaside Suites
User Rating:  El Dorado Seaside Suites Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  kaima  on Oct 12, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
10 people found this review helpful

The first thing I noticed about this beautiful hotel is the way the staff approach and treat the clients and customers here, the customer service was something else. Once you arrive the reception, you will be greeted by very friendly staff all waiting to make you feel special. It is my first time in this particular hotel but I have been to other El dorado hotels and I can say that they were quite amazing. After all the airport trouble and stress of getting to the hotel from the airport, I was greeted with cool cocktail that calmed me right away and then check in was sorted out and my room was not far from the front desk. One problem though I had was that I felt like the hotel was far from the airport but doesn’t really matter anymore once you get to the hotel and enjoy everything that they offer. My room had an ocean view, it was gorgeous and I enjoyed looking out of it every time I was in the room. The area where the room was located is quiet and not so noisy like the pool side. The towels were folded in an art like manner and kept on the bed which greeted me once I entered the room, it was beautiful. I was just amazed at how the staff were all trained to be able to offer the maximum customer care service to customers. The restaurants here served good food, they were clean and the waiters were great as well.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube