El Cozumeleno Resort Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Cozumel > Cozumel Hotel Index > El Cozumeleno Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cozumel Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Cozumel

4.7 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 4, 2011

Occidental Grand Cozumel

4.4 based on 8 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 2, 2012

Melia Cozumel

3.2 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed May 17, 2013

El Cozumeleno Resort  

Playa Santa Pilar Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico

"Didn't stay by choice"
Posted by: Carleen on Mar 19, 2012
see all reviews

El Cozumeleno Resort Reviews
El Cozumeleno Resort Pictures and Information
El Cozumeleno Resort Cozumel Mexico

#4
of 24 Hotels in Cozumel

User rating 3.3

Based on 3 reviews

El Cozumeleno Resort Information


Ocean Front All Inclusive El Cozumeleno Beach Resort is located on a powder white sandy beach on the northern Hotel Zone of Isla Cozumel, facing the crystal waters of the Mexican Caribbean.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

El Cozumeleno Resort Reviews

El Cozumeleno Resort Review: 3.3 of 5 3 reviews
Excellent
  1
Very good
  0
Average
  1
Poor
  1
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (1)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
With Spouse/Partner (1)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 3 of 3

"Didn't stay by choice"

El Cozumeleno Resort
User Rating:  El Cozumeleno Resort Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Carleen  on Mar 19, 2012  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
159 people found this review helpful

AS a result of our Air Canada flight being cancelled on March 17, 2012, we were transported from the Occidental Grand to the El Cozumeleon. While grateful someone would take us, my understanding was that in this circumstance we should have received the equivalent quality of hotel or higher - and this sadly, was not the case.

Room Number:
1403

Other Comments:
While our room was fine in a pinch, the security was of real concern. The desk staff took an imprint of my credit card for "incidentals" and then insisted I sign it - this was really unnerving; how did I know someone wasn't going to run up a huge bill on it - and they had my signature. Also, although there was a safe in the room, we were told that since we were there due to unforseen circumstances we couldn't get a key safe. Finally, the room had a key lock (not a card lock) - the key was on a rope and the room number on the key. Why not just invite a thief to come right in with you since it wouldn't be hard to get access to someone's room if they misplaced their key. Finally, no dead bolt on the door - and the door to the room could have been kicked in quite easily. Given the concerns about safety in Mexico, I wouldn't advise any one to stay at this hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Lack of Security"

El Cozumeleno Resort
User Rating:  El Cozumeleno Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cristina  on May 25, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2011 | Wedding | Family and Kids
268 people found this review helpful

My Iphone and accessories were stolen from the nightstand where I had left it charging. When security came to the room they searched the room, asked if the people in next room and if my niece (who stayed with us on the 1st night) could have taken it. The people in the room next us were friends and my niece had returned the key to the room. The next day the person I was traveling with got off on the wrong floor and entered the room right below us with her room key. She went to security and advised them. They verified she wasn't lying about it. The following night at about 130am we returned from an event we had attended with some of the kids from the group. There was no one in sight. We had to yell to wake up the night auditor and "security." Some of the kids didn't have a key to get into their room. Instead of verifying who was registered in those rooms 1st, they just got the master key and escorted them to those rooms...No questions asked. The "security" employee, Francisco Mundo, had an attitude problem. He did not want to let me add how easy it is to access other peoples rooms nor give me a copy of the theft report. He claimed to have done an investigation, but I have my doubts. I must say the restaurant staff were excellent and very friendly. The food in the fine dining restaurant was very good. The alcoholic beverages were very weak...needed to ask for a double shot to taste the alcohol. Breakfast was good, Lunch buffet was mediocre. I would not recommend this hotel simply due to lack of security.

Room Number:
1810

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great but not for night life"

El Cozumeleno Resort
User Rating:  El Cozumeleno Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jean  on Apr 25, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
255 people found this review helpful

I can not say enough about this resort.We are a very quiet couple who love the beach/bars/service.We like a nice room but that does not make or break our vacation. This resort was way more than we expected. The rooms are great. Ocean views. We heard of many people complaining of the beds BUT they are used very frequently by people of all sizes. They are not great but show me one resort that fits everyones sleeping needs!!!!! Everyone at the resort is friendly and willing to help and take care of your needs. There are beach waiters and waitresses...I could not believe that. There is also room service..free, just a nice tip is required.The beach is nice BUT you do need beach shoes. The pools are nice but we really never used them. The beach bar was closed but the lobby bar was just a few feet away. David during the day was a great bartender. Emanuel at night was even more fun. He is quiet but he opens up after he gets to know you. They only negative comment I have is I would like to see hand sanitizer at the restaurants.
If you are young this is not the resort for you...there is no night life.
We stayed at the Occidental Grand at Xmas and it was terrible...please try this resort. We are going to return, something we usually do not say. Thank you El Cozumeleno!

Room Number:
1804

Arrival:
April 16 2011

Restaurants and Bars:
Great

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
very nice. Need beach shoes

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Very quiet at night. Not made for anyone looking for nightlife.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube