Excellence Playa Mujeres Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Cancun > Cancun Hotel Index > Excellence Playa Mujeres reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cancun Hotels with Similar Ranking

Omni Cancún Hotel & Villas

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 17, 2014

Fiesta Americana Grand Coral Beach Cancun Resort & Spa

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 18, 2014

Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort

4.8 based on 16 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 18, 2014

Gran Caribe Real Resort and Spa

4.2 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 4, 2014

Crown Paradise Club Cancun

3.9 based on 22 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 22, 2014

Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

3.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 23, 2014

Excellence Playa Mujeres  

Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico

"clean beach"
Posted by: frankie on Sep 16, 2014
see all reviews

Excellence Playa Mujeres Reviews
Excellence Playa Mujeres Pictures and Information
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun Mexico

#15
of 54 Hotels in Cancun

User rating 4.8

Based on 6 reviews

Excellence Playa Mujeres Information


Excellence Playa Mujeres is an adults-only romantic resort nestled on two miles of powdery white sand beach, in a resort community that boasts an inland marina, world-class spa, and a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course right on the Caribbean.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Excellence Playa Mujeres Reviews

Excellence Playa Mujeres Review: 4.8 of 5 6 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  2
Average
  0
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (5)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Solo Traveller (1)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 6 of 6

"clean beach"

Excellence Playa Mujeres
User Rating:  Excellence Playa Mujeres Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  frankie  on Sep 16, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Aug, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
12 people found this review helpful

The most attractive and popular thing about this place is the beach, very clean and beautiful. The beach is large because you can walk or stroll along the shores for a long time and the sand is very soothing underneath the feet. The beach waves and quite gentle and calm, not rough at all and a nice place to go dip yourself in when the day gets really hot or boring. You will always find people at the beach and that’s the essence of a vacation. The rooms are great and I always want to stay indoors and enjoy it but there are activities lined up for me to do ranging from taking strolls on the beach to swimming to moving around town and seeing the beautiful things that the city has to offer. The rooms are clean with nice clean bathrooms as well. The room I stayed in had a mini bar that was restocked on a regular basis, the room had an indoor hot tub as well as a nice looking patio, it was a great experience for me. The resort is designed with beautiful landscape of plants and animals as well; it was a wonderful sight to behold. There were statues everywhere in the premises and that added to its beauty. Food was great and the chef tried very much. There were different themed restaurants where I dined and it was impressive. The staff made it even better by their niceness, it was a nice experience I had.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Paradise at EPM"

Excellence Playa Mujeres
User Rating:  Excellence Playa Mujeres Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Anne  on May 4, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
309 people found this review helpful

Room Block:
Building 7A

Arrival:
We arrived in Cancun approximately 1:30pm. Customs and luggage pick up went relatively smoothly and were at the resort by 3pm. We booked our direct flights through Westjet and our hotel package through Sunwing, which also included airport transfers to and from the resort. We found the Sunwing rep and he guided us to a shuttle van (12 passenger) waiting for us. My husband and I were the only 2 in the van. It was a quick 30 minute drive to the resort without any stops! Perfect! We were greeted with a cold cloth and a glass of champagne and a friendly “welcome home”. Heaven on Earth!
Check in is at 3 p.m., check out is 12 noon. We were pleased to learn there were no wristbands; and our room was ready upon arrival at 3. We booked a standard Spa/Pool View room but upon our arrival we were upgraded to Excellence Club in Building 7A. We were given a Resort booklet and a sheet of the daily activities and open restaurants. The bellhop took us to our room, noting things as we made our walk to our building. There were elevators in every building, but since we were on the 2nd floor we used the stairs throughout the week. We emailed the resort 1 week prior to our arrival and requested a high floor, king bed and made note of the 3 couples travelling with us that were celebrating their 25th Anniversaries. We were very pleased with our upgraded room, even though we couldn’t really see the ocean and it wasn’t on a high floor; but we were pleasantly surprised to learn that when our friends checked in they were welcomed with “Happy Anniversary” and banners on their doors….as well as champagne and fruit and towel art. We had top shelf liquor in our room (which we never opened), as well as white robes, slippers and a beach bag to use during our stay.

Rooms:
Our suite was beautiful and looked exactly like all the pictures. It was on the second floor, and overlooked the pool and to our left a view of the Café Kafe courtyard. It was a large suite, with a beautiful bathroom with double sinks, huge double shower stall, and separate toilet stall, as well as a living area with sofa, coffee table, desk area and corner Jacuzzi which opens to the balcony if desired. Not sure why there is a telephone in the toilet room….for medical emergencies maybe. The room also had a coffee-maker, ice-bucket, as well as an alarm clock and iPod station, TV with a lot of English stations and a DVD player. There was a basket in the bathroom containing bottles of shampoo and bath gel, shower cap, combs, razors, toothbrush. There is good storage under the sinks for makeup, hair accessories, etc.
There is a mini fridge stocked with 4 bottles of water, variety of beer, pop and orange juice. This was replenished daily. We also asked for our own bottle of Baileys (as we didn’t drink any of the top shelf liquors) and they obliged. This was perfect for the “coffee with Baileys” mornings. We ordered a pot of coffee from room service every morning about 6am and it was delivered within 15 minutes. Bottled water is readily available at any of the bars and restaurants.
In the closet there was a small hanging rack (bring more hangers as they only had about 10), shoe rack, ironing board and iron, umbrella and beach bag for use during your stay (it could be purchased when you left if you desired). There is a combination in-room safe, at no extra charge. Maid service was ok…on a couple of occasions the room was not cleaned until 5pm, which we found late as we like to start showering for dinner at that time. We tipped $3-5 a day - no towel art but the room was left very clean. Air-conditioning worked great and can be regulated for your own comfort. There is an extra blanket provided in the closet. The pillows are great and if they are not to your liking, a pillow menu is available. We found them perfectly fine for us. There is turn-down service provided in the evening. They also wipe down the shower, leave clean towels, take away dirty dishes and leave you treats. They also leave you the activity sheet for the next day, as well as the weather forecast.

Restaurants and Bars:
The Excellence Lounge has a variety of coffee/latte/cappuccinos, as well as sandwiches and pastries if you’re looking for a late night snack. Of course room service is available 24/7.
There are a number of dining options available. Overall, I would consider the food quality and choices available to be very good, both in the buffet restaurant and the a la carte restaurants. We did miss the buffet option for evening dining. It would be nice to be able to just pop in and out in a hurry on some nights when you didn’t feel like sitting down and ordering a la carte. There is a soft serve ice cream machine near Café Kafe. This was great!
Breakfast was awesome with many choices at the Toscana. They even had egg-white omelets made fresh to your liking…which were superb!
Ala Cartes
The quality of food and the service was excellent at all six restaurants we ate in. Men are required to wear long pants and collared shirts at most, but can wear sandals. Women can get away with just about anything other than beachwear. Men are allowed to wear dress shorts at a couple of them and this is all explained on the daily activity sheets that are distributed daily. Men are not permitted to wear sleeveless shirts and any restaurants for dinner or lunch.
The Grill – The Caesar Salad was very strongly flavored with anchovies, which I didn’t like. The leek and potato soup and chicken were great. Agave – Mexican Cuisine– I had the Field Green Salad, Azteca Soup, and Chicken Fajita. All was good but the service was extremely slow. We felt sorry for the poor waiter who was run off his feet. More staff would have been better. We were almost 3 hours from start to finish.
Barcelona – Mediterranean Cuisine– I had the Greek Salad and Chicken/Scallops on Spaghetti. It was all fabulous! We also had special coffees and they were excellent!
Chez Isabelle – French Cuisine – I had the French Onion soup and Tenderloin Beef….spectacular!
Toscana –Italian Cuisine – I had the Tomato Salad and Pick your own pasta – Fusilla with tomato sauce….excellent! We also had special coffee here as well.
Spice – Asian Cuisine – We reserved the private room for 8 and were really treated! The chef prepared the Maki Combo Sushi, Fried Rice, and Beef/Chicken/Shrimp Vegetable stir fry. It was awesome!! The Fried Ice Cream for dessert was the perfect ending! Very enjoyable meal!
The service was great at all bars…and having them serve you on the beach was nice as well. There are numerous bars throughout the resort. All had excellent service and the staff was very grateful for tips. The drink service on the beach was also outstanding! The servers are all so very friendly!
Room Service
Available 24 hours. We did have fruit, yogurt and coffee ordered in on our first morning and it took just under 30 minutes. For the next 6 mornings, we just ordered coffee and had our breakfast at Toscana. Coffee was served within 15 minutes. This was a great feature!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The Resort is beautiful from the moment you drive through the 3 security gates. It is not a huge resort and we found it very easy to get around and find things. We were centrally located and didn’t have to walk a long way to any of the restaurants – which can be a problem when you are dressed up wearing high heels.

The grounds at Excellence are beautifully manicured and everything is kept very clean. The beach area is soft white sand with plenty of chairs but limited amount of palapas for shade. In my opinion, they could build more of these, as everyone was looking for shade during the heat of the day. The main pool is large and has a swim up bar as well as a bar near the X Lounge. It was really warm (at least 85 deg) when we were there. It meanders into a lazy pool area that leads to buildings in the front of the Spa. There are lots of chairs, swings, hammocks and beds with shade. We never had trouble finding a chair during the day. Beach towels are laid out on the chairs surrounding the Excellence Club buildings. Towels are readily available any time of day and they never once ran out. No towel keys are necessary so people are using 2 per person (one for a head rest) and there were still plenty to go around. I think the laundry staff must be running their services all day and night!! The pools and hot tubs are all very clean and are open until 8pm.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Internet
We used the free internet service available in our rooms a daily basis. There is also internet availability in the Excellence Lounge as well as the top floor of the lobby.
DVD’s
They had a DVD player in the room and a library of movies available – we never once considered staying inside to watch a movie.

Nightly Entertainment
We went to the courtyard area of Café Kafe every evening before supper and enjoyed live entertainment. The shows were average, with only ¼ capacity until the Michael Jackson show – which packed the house with standing room only. All shows were good. We thought the Circus show was the best! They really were outstanding!!
Disco
The Disco is located behind the theatre and we went one night. There was a wedding party taking up most of the dance floor so we didn’t feel right about intruding too much. It was a nice disco, with good music and they did a great job at keeping the sound inside. We couldn’t believe how sound proof the disco was from outdoors.

Shopping
There are shops in the main lobby that carry many souvenirs. We found the prices to be extremely expensive! A swimsuit (bikini) was $350 US. We didn’t buy anything there.

Bike Tour
We took the 1 hour guided bike tour from the resort. This is offered twice/day at 9am and 4pm. It was really nice to see some of the Playa Mujeres Golf course along the way. We stopped at a small botanical area that had parrots, flamingos, ducks and a crocodile. We also stopped at a lookout area and climbed it to have a beautiful view of surrounding areas of the Marina and resorts around. Only 10 people can bike on each tour, so get there early….the first 10 go.

Tours
We spent a half day on Isla Mujeres Island. We left the resort at 8am and were back by 2pm. This was just enough time to be away from paradise. We took a taxi to the Ultramar Marina ($15 each way). We then took the Ferry boat over to the Island ($14/person). This took about 20 minutes to cross and goes every half hour. The color of the water was spectacular!!!! We booked a golf cart for touring the Island ($42/day) that held 4 people. We toured up to the South Point and back down to the North Beach. We stopped at Zama Beach Lounge and Restaurant for cold refreshments and a bathroom break. This place was beautiful and the perfect oasis! We then finished our tour at the North Beach where we swam in the most beautiful crystal clear water. Snorkeling is apparently excellent here if you wanted to stay longer. We caught a taxi back to the resort and I was extremely happy to be back in Paradise!!

Other Comments:
Spa/Gym/Sports
We were impressed with the Spa facility. We compared it to our other favorite Spa at Excellence in Punta Cana and Grand Palladium in Mayan Riviera. What impressed us most was the wide range of services, but they were very expensive. They offered “specials” every day that were priced more reasonable but we didn’t book any. They were promoting the Spa one day on the beach and I was lucky enough to be asked if I would like a 5-minute free massage, so I did enjoy that. She did a scalp massage for about 5 minutes and then a back massage for another 5 minutes. It was lovely. The Gym facility seemed to be busy most mornings between 6-8am. The treadmills were always occupied when we were there. There are free weights, benches, universal equipment. It is air conditioned, but still gets very warm. They had a yoga room adjacent to the gym that offered morning classes ranging from boot camp, yoga, cardio kick, and fitness ball classes. There are 2 tennis courts as well as daily beach volleyball, water polo and water volleyball. Also there is aqua aerobics each morning at 11.


Weather and Bugs
We were there during April and we had perfect sunshine all 7 days. We couldn’t have ordered better weather! As far as bugs, there were a few at night. My husband got about 7 bites in one place on his leg and about 3 on his arm. They all seemed to happen one night while sitting on our balcony. I had no bites.
Summary
As an adults-only resort, Excellence Playa Mujeres is the perfect choice for those who just want to veg out and relax. At the same time, a full range of activities are also available to you. It is the perfect choice for a honeymoon, anniversary or couple time as there are many romantic areas to enjoy each other’s company.

We found the food choices very good, and especially liked not having to make dinner reservations. If asked to compare our vacation this year to other vacations, I would have to say I prefer the beaches in Punta Cana and Varadero for swimming but everything else was superior at EPM. We don’t usually return to resorts so we can enjoy other places, but I would not hesitate to return to EPM and would highly recommend this resort.


Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This resort tops them all!"

Excellence Playa Mujeres
User Rating:  Excellence Playa Mujeres Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  J&P_Montreal  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
274 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
January 9th-17th 2009
Departure of Air Canada flight was delayed two hours but heck we're on vacation so big deal!
We quickly zipped through Immigration, luggage pick-up and Customs.
We had booked a private transfer with USA Transfer beforehand. They weren't ready for us even though I had e-mailed them to advise them of our delay. We had to wait for a car and the car arrived the driver seem quite less than enthusiastic to give us a ride. He grunted whenever I tried to make conversation with him. And his driving, ouch!, we lamost had a head-on collision twice.
We survived the ride and arrived at the resort some 40 minutes later. Once there we were greeted there with a glass of champagne and towels. We were taken to the Excellence Club for check-in and we were in our room in minutes.

Rooms:
We had contacted the resort with a specific room location and sure enough we got the room we requested.Room was simply gorgeous, pure luxury! Room was cleaned everyday in the afternoon and the minibar was filled everyday.

Bars and Restaurants:
Barcelona (Mediterranean) - Fantastic buffet in the morning and for lunch. We had supper there once and it was also very good.
Toscana (Italian) - Went there for supper once and it was also very good.
Flavor Market (Tapas) - That was a fun restaurant. You just order a bunch of small dishes that are readied ahead of time. We wereMt sure how much we would like it but we really did!
Agave (Mexican) - Excellent! Ask for a table in Ivan's section, he's so great!
Spice (Asian) - Went there twice, excellent food and service!
Lobster House- Went there for breakfast only.
Grill - Perfect location for lunch. Great menu, great food and great service.
Isabelle (French) - Very good.

The Martini bar was a great place to meet before supper. Great friendly service by all bartenders. Ditto for the outdoor Cafe Kafe.

In summary the food was simply excellent everywhere. This is a first-class resort and it really showed in the food and service everywhere on the resort. We LOVED the fact that you don't have to reserve for any restaurants, you just go the one you like going to whnever you want.

The drinks are not diluted at all.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
There are pools everywhere and plenty of chairs and beds available. No need to get up early to reserve a spot. The beach is very nice with some seaweed in the morning but it gets picked up by a tractor quickly. There are plenty of chairs available on the beach as well. We went to reserve chairs the first morning only to realize there wasn't really a need for it.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
On a cloudy day we took the ferry over to Isla Mujeres and we really enjoyed that. The cab ride to the ferry is $10 and the ferry is $7 (return fare). Once on the island we shopped a bit downtown and then we rented a 4-people golf cart for $40/day and toured the entire island. It was a lot of fun and we were very glad we went.

On an other cloudy day we booked a massage and did the hydro-therapy circuit before and it was a riot.

Other Comments:
We go to adults-only resorts every year. We had previously gone to Secrets Capri twice, Excellence RC and Royal PDC but his resort tops them all. I can not find anything wrong with it. We would return in a heartbeat, and we will!

If you have any question: prrollt@hotmail.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The best time of our life!"

Excellence Playa Mujeres
User Rating:  Excellence Playa Mujeres Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Darlene_Canada  on Jul 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2008 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
263 people found this review helpful

Romance & Luxury = the BEST TIME OF YOUR LIFE!

We stayed at EPM from July 5-12 through Signature Vacations from Toronto, Canada. We were the only couple staying at this resort from Signature. This resort is absolutely gorgeous with friendly staff that goes way beyond your expectations.

The day we arrived in Cancun Airport must have been a fluke. We waited in customs/immigration for over 2 hours! Only 4 customs agents were open. We spoke to man who said he has travelled over 75X to Mexico and it had never seen it like this. They were so backed up that the lineups were all the way on the 2nd floor in the departure area. Oh well, at least our bags where ready for us when we got out!

Our charter flight arrived early in Cancun (9:30am) so by the time we arrived at the hotel it was approaching 11am. A lot of other flights didn’t get in till after 6pm, so we got a full day upon our arrival. Our room wasn’t ready so they gave us a pager and we had lunch. By the time we finished our room was ready. We were celebrating our anniversary and they decorated the room very nicely. There was an anniversary banner on the door with the swan towel/roses on the bed and a bottle of sparkling bubbly chilling. Our room was 7202 and we overlooked the lazy river/spa/Revive Bar. Wow! July in Mexico is hot, but since it is off season there seemed to be less people around.

Pool:
We chose the same cabana and covered bed all week. It was so tranquil here that we only saw 5-6 couples every day. I kid you not! A lot of my pictures look like no one was at the resort! It was pretty much like that through the entire resort. Most of the activity is centered around the main pool/beach, but there are so many pools behind the buildings and lazy rivers that wind around the property. It you don’t thoroughly walk all through the resort you will miss some of the pools and cabanas. Anyway, the lazy river near Mille Spa was my favorite getaway.

Service:
This was our 1st time at an Excellence resort. The staff couldn’t have been more accommodating. Bar/pool, concierge, wait staff are wonderful. We can’t say enough about Jocobo (Martini Bar- who works from 9-5), Nazzario, David, Theresa (Martini Bar-during the evening. I’m sure there are wonderful resorts in Mexico, but it is the staff that really put a stamp on this property. They make you feel like you are the most special couple in the whole resort! Let your concierge know that you are celebrating your anniversary-they offer small touches that make the difference. We had a champagne anniversary breakfast in on our patio one morning. During our last night they put a beautiful floral arrangement in our room to send us off.

Food:
We love to eat! Our favorite was Chez Isabelle, Spice and Toscana. The service in this restaurant is quick and entertaining. The sea bass is incredible. I ate seafood at every meal and the fish is done to perfection---so fresh! My husband said except for one meal in Chez Isabelle---that the meat was tough. Steaks have very little fat on them so the flavor and tenderness is not that appealing. We weren’t that impressed with Agave-the food was ok (ceviche was great). However, the Mexican buffet night is a lot of fun and the food is fantastic. Didn’t eat at the Flavor Market. The grill is nice at lunch as you can sit right by the beach. Went to the lobster house and it was ok. Definitely a different type of lobster than what most Canadian/Americans are used to. I actually ate a lobster tail here as my “appetizer” and then we went to Spice for our main dinner. Breakfast is great in Barcelona-lots of variety and juices/fruit/omelets are very tasty. Room service-we loved the 24 hour room service whether it was for a late night snack or breakfast. Again, very efficient service never waited longer than 20-30 minutes for room service! They also have snacks around the pool (loads of great salsa & guacamole with baked tortilla chips), and snacks by the martini by in the afternoon with coffee service. The portions are good because there is so much food available to you throughout the day! I’ve read that some people waited a long time for meals, but I never found this---waiters were right there with everything.

Spa:
Loved the hydro circuit…even if you are not doing a package, just pay for the hydro circuit because it is so relaxing. Book when you get there as they offer daily specials & 25% off for anniversary couples. We enjoyed being pampered here and soaking up the atmosphere. The massage was not the best one I have had in my life (I like more pressure) but it definitely was the most memorable one.

Activities:
towel folding class, handicraft class, air rifle, walking to the zoo area, scuba diving near Isla Mujeres through Aquaworld in the hotel($99usd for a beginners class + 1 hour dive-worth it for beginners), maintenance tour. Some of these things I did by myself since my husband was nursing a hangover some mornings! They took me on a tour of the kitchen and the maintenance of the behind the scene areas of the pool/water/electrical/heating/air areas. It is so interesting to see all the staff behind the scenes working. They have a board which ranks every employee in the hotel and their area based on a point system. If your area is not doing well in service in shows point tabulations in red. So obviously, someone is always watching the service standards. The employees work hard here. Look out your room before 8am and look at all the workers painting, washing down walkways, setting up bars, cutting grass, etc. (which was all being done in 32 degree Celsius weather)?

Off property stuff:
we took a taxi to Puerto Juarez ($8usd) and the ferry to Isla Mujeres. A fun day! Rented a golf cart for 4 hours and toured the island: check out Punta Sur, Garrafon, Playa Norte (the beach is so white & the water is beautiful!), turtle farm, lighthouse, shopping area & cemetery. This was a really nice trip that is not too far from EPM. When we came back by taxi from the ferry, we saw El Meco-a very small Mayan ruin and small pyramid structure (350 pesos)---no where near the size of the ruins throughout Mexico, but if you haven’t seen anything then it’s better than nothing! We were the only ones looking around when we went. Again, don’t expect to be blown away from these ruins; I enjoyed it because it was so private and quaint. We also went to Mercado 28 ($12usd), a very large handicraft flea market. If you love to haggle over $, then this place is for you. It exhausted my husband by the end!

Pet Peeve:
If I can say that something didn’t measure up, it would have been the inconsistency of housekeeping. I definitely do not think they have enough staff. The rooms seem to be done very late in the day---almost when you are getting ready for dinner. Turndown service seems to be the problem. They come when you are getting ready for dinner, or don’t come at all & merely put the next day’s activity paper under your door. I often had to request clean towels for the next day’s morning shower. We did get an older lady 2X during the week who was incredible-she cleaned & straightened up to perfection. Hint: if you are leaving things when you check out like shampoo/lotion/bug spray (pool float that we didn’t use & that you are not dragging home)…leaving it for the maid with a note authorizing that you are allowing her to have it-they can’t take it off property without a note. We brought a bunch of stuff from Canada that we really never used so instead of repacking it we left it there for them.

This is definitely the place for you if you want:
1)Serenity & relaxation
2) Romance- because it is 100% couples oriented
3)To be pampered in luxury

If you are looking for a party place with non stop action then this is not for you!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Definitely a 4.5 star resort"

Excellence Playa Mujeres
User Rating:  Excellence Playa Mujeres Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Julie&Mark_Vancouver  on Jul 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2008 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
258 people found this review helpful

Hi Debbie,

Just wanted to let you know about the resort.

We went April 2008, flew Air Canada from Vancouver direct to Cancun, great flight.

We waited maybe a 1/2 hour for our ride, we were the only ones in the van so straight to the resort, it was approximately 45 minute drive.

The main thing that I absolutely loved about this resort was that it was private, no resorts on either side of you, yet they are building condos next door, but a completely private beach, so if you are looking for action or tons of activities, this is NOT the resort, this is purely a romantic and quiet destination.

The beds on the beach are heavenly, the restaurants were excellent, some better then others, but for Mexican standards, very very good, we loved the Asian, Mediterranean, and the French restaurant was superb! Another great thing about the restaurants, is there is no reservations, the only place we had to wait for is the French restaurant, and it is well worth it, but you get a beeper, so you can go to the Martini bar and have some cocktails until they are ready to seat you.

The wine they serve at the restaurants is actually quite good, from Chile and much better than other resorts were you end up purchasing wine because the house is undrinkable.

The staff were very gracious and friendly, and the weather was wonderful!

I would definitely recommend the concierge rooms, we had a ocean view, I forget our room number, but it was perfect, e-mail in advance that you want the side that they are not building the condos for I did hear that it was noisy over there.

The gym is excellent, yes, we did workout every day for we do love to eat and drink, so I didn't want to be a beached whale by the end of the week.

The rooms are stunning, I must say, plasma TV, leather couch, huge bed, and very comfortable, if you don't like your pillow, call for another, they have whatever you want, decent size closet and the shower is amazing, and the balcony, very large with a bed on it, we had a nap there a couple of times.

Room service was very slow, so order well before you are ready to eat, but it is Mexico, so you must remember it is not the Four Seasons, but then we have waited a long time for room service at the Four Seasons anyways.

Overall, definitely a 4.5 star resort, we have stayed at Sandals a few times, and I must say this place is much better!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This is a couples resort. Romance and fun combined."

Excellence Playa Mujeres
User Rating:  Excellence Playa Mujeres Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Crissy_Ontario  on Mar 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2008
282 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
Booked with Sunquest. Waited 50 minutes for transportation to hotel. Met with damp, cold towels. Arrived close to noon, room was available at 5:30pm. We were booked with the excellence club, top room available.

Rooms:
Rooftop terrace with private hydrospa...beautiful!
Bathroom-double shower, double sink. Be comfortable with your partner as the walls are glass to the bathroom.
King sized bed, super comfy, great pillows. Not for the vertically challenged. They are high and I loved it! Leather L shaped couch looking on to flat screen tv. Movies are included although careful with channel 49 and 50, they are xxx.
Jacuzzi with indoor/outdoor access.
Balcony has a table with two chairs,and an outdoor bed. (all suites have this room)
Now go up the stairs to the rooftop, outdoor round bed, private cold water hydrospa, another mattress and outdoor shower.
Rooms cleaned somewhere between 1-6pm. Turndown service between 8-11pm I never wanted to come home!

Restaurants:
No buffets, all ala carte. I missed having a buffet for quick lunches as with ala cartes you must wait to be served. Just remember you're on island time.
Every breakfast was room service on our balcony. 50 minutes on average for food to be delivered. They have this closet where you place your dirty dishes. The food stays there for 24 hours but I never complained as sometimes you needed to retrieve that salt and pepper shaker or unopened jam that was not delivered the next day.
Tried the restaurants. I am not a complainer but the food was nothing to talk about. Inconsistent quality (based on same meals, same restaurants 2 days later)This for me was disappointing as my steak was perfect one meal and seared on the edges and completely raw the next. No one came to ask how our meal was and 25 minutes later they just removed my plate and/so I went straight for dessert.
Here is an example of eggs with hashbrowns each morning. One morning the hashbrowns looked like they were from McDonalds, another shredded potatoes, another squared fried potatoes and once brown mush.
Quality is hit and miss. The resort opened 4 months early and management is aware of the food and service issues so this should improve. And maybe you could be the lucky one that gets a great meal each time. :)
For me, food and service is "far" from 5 star but they will get there. Next year should be perfect.

Bars:
Bars everywhere! The martini bar is a great place to meet before dinner. Great martinis, and fantastic service! The swim up bar is in a heated pool. Private pool bars scattered throughout.

Beach/Pools:
The most beautiful pools. Some heated some regular. I loved the lazy river pool. The beach has plenty of white sand. Good beach front. There is a lot of sea grass but this is cleared daily. You can walk for miles and the beach is private. There are no other resorts close by. The resort offers bikes and kayaks included. Bikes can only be used with the bike tours and the kayaks are owned privately and can be used with tips but we only saw the company there one day and they take the paddles when they leave. Therefore no daily non motorized watersports included. No towel cards, towels are placed on each chair. The resort should look into hampers as chairs look occupied when abondened. Hammocks in the pool, bed swings, bed lounges...romantic touches everywhere.

Grounds:
Extremely clean and beautiful! Grass is mature throughout. The swimout rooms go to grass before meeting the pool. Nice touch. Do leave the pool area when the bar closes as they spray for mosquitos whether you are there or not. Construction of condos next door but I heard no complaints from those with rooms nearby.

Activities:
Nightly entertainment was hokey, but the staff try so thumbs up for effort! The Michael Jackson show was worth watching.
Disco was busy everynight.
The entertainment staff at the pool are great!
Many singers throughout singing soft romantic songs. Nice!

Tours:
Bike tour is included. You will see Jaguars and other animals kept in a minature zoo. Went to Isla Mujeres and rented a moped to tour the island. It was fun and continued to be on the romantic side for us.

Conclusion:
This is a couples resort. Romance and fun combined. The rooms are amazing, the resort is beautiful. I have been to DR and Jamaica and the food here was the worst, service was lacking. As the resort opened early, they will improve and once this is pefected, this will be the best AI resort!
Rooms A1
Resort A1
Cleanliness A1
Beach and Pool A1
Lacking on quality of food and service is B2

Please note, I do not expect to be catared to, but ordered with 3 staff at a restaurant occupied with 4 tables and not once did my soft drink arrive, or tipping a server to bring you a drink, watch him go to an empty bar and bring your drinks 15 minutes later. This is not working hard, so be able to ignore these types of details. Service is great at the bars and the bartenders should be acknowledged! Gracious! And same to the excellence club staff.

I would return in a heartbeat once these improvements are made.

This was by far my most expensive AI vacation,so I was disappointed with not recieving the value for my money BUT would return again for a great sale after the food is upscaled.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube