Grand Palladium White Sands Resort & Spa Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Mayan Riviera > Mayan Riviera Hotel Index > Grand Palladium White Sands Resort & Spa reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Mayan Riviera Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tucan

5.0 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 9, 2014

Playacar Palace Resort

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 31, 2014

Secrets Maroma Beach

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 23, 2014

Hidden Beach Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 13, 2010

Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 9, 2014

Grand Palladium Colonial

4.8 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 30, 2014

Grand Palladium White Sands Resort & Spa  

Carretera Chetumal-Cancun km 256 | Kantenah, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico

"no complaints at all"
Posted by: jolie on Oct 16, 2014
see all reviews

Grand Palladium White Sands Resort & Spa Reviews
Grand Palladium White Sands Resort & Spa Pictures and Information
Grand Palladium White Sands Resort & Spa Mayan Riviera Mexico

#9
of 74 Hotels in Mayan Riviera

User rating 4.5

Based on 11 reviews

Grand Palladium White Sands Resort & Spa Information


The Grand Palladium Resort and Spa consists of four 5-star hotels: Hotel Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, Colonial Grand Palladium Resort and Spa, Grand Palladium White Sand Resort and Spa, Grand Palladium Riviera Resort and Spa, and The Royal Suites.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Grand Palladium White Sands Resort & Spa Reviews

Grand Palladium White Sands Resort & Spa Review: 4.5 of 5 11 reviews
Excellent
  9
Very good
  0
Average
  0
Poor
  2
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (10)
Wedding (1)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (1)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 11

"Broken sport equipment and tennis instructor wants tips"

Grand Palladium White Sands Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium White Sands Resort & Spa Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  eugene  on Feb 1, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
419 people found this review helpful

Be careful when using the archery, equipment is faulty, no protection for the arm, arrows are broken. Complain with mangement since faulty equipment is dangerous. Also, they let you shoot only eight arrows and then the instroctor wants to relax and stop working.

Fitness instructor sometimes is too tired to teach zumba. Complain with management.

Tennis instructor is supposed to teach but he wants a 25 dollar tip in advance. Beware do not give a tip and report him to management. He is alreay paid to teach, not to ask for a tip before he even moves. Report him to the chief of animation.

Your Arrival:
Very good and quick.

Rooms:
Very nice

Restaurants and Bars:
Beware of long lines at dinner. Either be there at 5.50 pm or expect to wait until 8.8.30 to have dinner.

Lamb in Brazilian restaurant was quite bad.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Nice

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
See above, lots of problems with instructors and equipment.

Other Comments:
I really did not like the fact that archery equipment was faulty and that the tennis instroctor asks for tips. If it happens to you please report him to the chief of animation.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great resort!"

Grand Palladium White Sands Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium White Sands Resort & Spa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sonja  on Feb 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
443 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
We booked our vacation with Transat Vacations. Early morning flight from Toronto went with no problems. Travel time from Cancun airport to White Sands was about 1 hour 20 minutes. Smooth ride with beers on the bus. Rooms were not ready upon arrival but we were there by 12 noon so we had some lunch and a drink and then we checked into our rooms.

Rooms:
We stayed in building #56...perfect spot. Close to pool, beach, bar and a few minute walk to the lobby. Room were clean and in good condition. Never saw our maid all week but our room was looked after during the day and also every evening with a turn down service. Welcome fruit basket and bottle of tequila upon arrival.

Restaurants and Bars:
We ate at the buffet 3 evenings. Plentiful with lots of variety each time. Went to the WS one, Colonial & Kantenah.
A la carte restaurants were fabulous!! No problems booking them, did it as soon as we arrived and meals times were either 7 or 7:30 as requested.
Asian one was superb! Ate at the cooking table. Brazilian is a MUST! Mexican was delicous and the Ribs & More was another great choice! We were a group of 8 adults (no problems with reservations) and every evening everyone was quite thrilled with our dinners. No complaints except that we ate far to much.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We spent time at the WS pool and the beach. The pool gave us a variety of games and activites to take part in. eg water aerobics, water volleyball bingo, dance lessons etc... Swim up bar was awesome and Benny looked after us each time we swam up! Thanks for the caramel drinks Benny! The loungers in the water are a great idea. The grounds are well taken care of and there is wild life everywhere you look.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did one day trip to Cozumel as a group. Got on the collectivo at the front of the resort and it was a quick ride to Playa del Carmen. Caught the ferry across and rented 2 bug convertables for a trip around Cozumel and some snorkeling. Check out the Tequila place for some taste testing!!

Other Comments:
This was our 5th trip to the Mayan for my husband and myself. We have stayed at the Riu Palace, Moon Palace, Adventura Spa & Bahia Principe Akumal. Have enjoyed everyone of our vacations. Each resort has offered us something different. I would have to say this is a very huge resort and if you have problems walking you may want another choice. There are trains and club cars that run all the time and make it easier to get around. We did not mind the walking as we needed to wear off the yummy foods and drinks that we consumed!
The spa was a fabulous way to end our days with a hot tub, steam bath or sauna. Very enjoyable. We played beach volleyball, badminton, rifle shooting and mini golf. We snorkeled off the beach and yes water shoes are recommended because of some rocks/coral in the water. No big deal. A good stretch of beach for walking on!
Forget any complaints you've read....WS is a good choice...enjoy!
Your holiday is what you make of it!
All in all a great vacation with great friends!
Any questions grahambs@sympatico.ca

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful resort, terrible food and bad service"

Grand Palladium White Sands Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium White Sands Resort & Spa Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jackie  on Apr 22, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
393 people found this review helpful

We were very unhappy with our stay in April 2010 in the Mayan Suites in White Sands. We had red ants in the room every night and 6 times housekeeping came to fumigate. Only the last time did they clean up the dead ant bodies. Each time we were stuck in the room waiting for them to finish between 1-2 hours, the last night we missed dinner due to this. Each person we tried to talk to advised us they did not understand or speak english. If you are charging the rates you charge and claim to be a 4 or 5* hotel your front staff must speak english. We stayed at the Bahia Principe Akumal in March 2009 and were very impressed by the service and food. Also the pathway to our suite was long and winding quite and every night we walked in the dark which is very unsafe, we complained 5 times and twice they turned the lights on for 1 hour. Each nights the light would go out at 10 or 11 pm, this is unacceptable. The service is terible as far as response etc, and mostly because everyone claims to not understand us. We were with a big group as part of a wedding and all thought it was the worst resort we have been to as far as food and service. When I advised the front manager Fernanda of the terrible food she suggested we all eat at Colonial. Why when we paid more to stay at the White Sands??
On the last night when we were waiting a grand total of 2 hours to have them fumigate the 'large red ants' that seemed to live in our room we finally got to talk to some sort of a superviser who said when we asked for compensation, that he would check the records to see if we actually had problems, (like anyone keeps records there, I asked each time if they were documenting it and they replied no english) and then said talk to someone the next morning at checkout. When we went to talk to the manager she wasn't there and the same superviser advised we have to go online and lodge a complaint and they will review it (yeah right!). Anyway, we are not picky people or picky eaters, it's just bad here. It is a beautiful resort but the worst food/service of 12 I've been to. I wanted to let any potential travellers out there know that so you know what's going on.

Your Arrival:
Quick and simple

Rooms:
Spacious, not very clean, red ants and spiders constantly. Not good service as everyone you deal with claims not to speak english, you have to push to get a manager to talk to and they claim everyone speaks english, not so.

Restaurants and Bars:
Brazilian was good food and service, the other al a carte's leave much to be desired. Buffet good for breakfast, not so good for the rest of the meals. The Front Desk manager at the White Sands advised we eat at Colonial buffet as "it has better food"?!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Awesome, clean and beautiful. The tall bridges made it very difficult when the rain was puring...it's the only way to get anywhere. Compared to Gran Bahia Principe Akumal which is also large but simpler transportation, much more difficult to get around by trolley at White Sands as they only run in certain areas.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Cozumel and Playa del Carmen are always a good time, lots to do and see.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"lovely holiday"

Grand Palladium White Sands Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium White Sands Resort & Spa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  linda  on Sep 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
400 people found this review helpful

we have just returned from this wonderfull resort we were in bdg 59 which was very close to the beach but far from the lobby area which didnt matter as we took the little train that takes you around the resort we had no problems at all, we went horseriding and would recommend that beautifull beach and scenery, we saw racoons that were around the complex and lots of interesting wildlife and the place has been left pretty much as natural as it can be without spoiling the landscape everyone works so hard to keep it looking beautifull cant wait to go back

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful resort, fabulous vacation"

Grand Palladium White Sands Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium White Sands Resort & Spa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Debra  on Oct 18, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
412 people found this review helpful

My husband and I arrived in the evening and were greeted by a friendly face at the desk. We had two gentlemen take our suitcases and walk us to our suite which was very close to the lobby. It was a wonderful location. The suite was large and very clean. We had two balconies, one from the bedroom and the other from the sitting room. We faced the trees and was secluded. The bathroom was large and extremely clean! The bed was comfortable but the pillows were lacking. You could rent others but we decided not to.

We could utilize the facilities of the White Sands, Riviera, Colonial and the Kantana resorts. Lots of choice to eat, buffets and speciality restaurants. The fish restaurant had wonderful food and a very romantic setting on the beach. There was a lot of choice at the buffets, fresh fruit, cooked to order choices and well as authentic Mexican food. Something for everyone.

The beach was very clean and you could choose where you wanted to swim. Some of the beach was sandy and some areas were rocky, great for snorkling. Because of the time of year we travelled, there was no issue getting a beach lounge chair or shade. The ocean pool was the best! Fish are able to enter and exit the pool making for some wonderful snorkling. The day we left was the best (of course), we saw lots of bright and colorful fish. A real gem!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The staff work very hard to make sure you enjoy yourself. There were shows in the evening and live music in every lobby. We made the rounds every evening to the 4 lobbies, either walking or taking the choo choo train. The train travels to and from each lobby only. Each resort has their own transportation(golf cart looking vehicle with additional seating.) If you choose not to walk, you could use the free transportation.

We also took the Collectivo (local bus)from outside the Colonial lobby, on the highway, to Playa Del Carmen. You could also take a cab if you wish. Playa is beautiful with lots of local shopping. We purchased some souvenirs, don't forget to haggle the price! The ferry to Cozumel was docked and we could watch tourists come and go. The beachfront is very pretty.

Other Comments:
We will return to this amazing resort. Take some of the negative reviews with a grain of salt. The staff work very hard to ensure you have a good time. We did not meet anyone that was either rude or uncaring! The grounds are immpecably clean and constantly groomed, cleaned or painted. Word of advice, take water shoes if you want to go into the ocean pool or to the areas of the beach to snorkle. You can travel comfortably without worrying about stepping on a rock. You can purchase them in the lobby but they are a little pricey. We ran out of sunscreen and had to purchase some in the lobby, it was expensive but needed.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Resort"

Grand Palladium White Sands Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium White Sands Resort & Spa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brett  on Jan 13, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
400 people found this review helpful

I will be at the White Sands section of Grand Palladium, this is our 5 stay. Why? because it is great. If you complain about this resort you should stay home. I have been to 3 different 5 star resorts in the Mayan and other resorts in the Caribbean over the last 15 years and they do not measure up to White Sands. The food is very good, the service is very good, the rooms are clean and quiet, the entertainment is very good, the pools are very good, the bar service is very good, the sports facilities very good, the tenis pro very good I dont need to go on. This is a fantastic resort.

Other Comments:
If you have mobility issues this may not be the resort for you. There are lots of bridges andwood plank walkways.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"#1 Vacation Spot....Amazing Resort-Most Friendliest Staff You Will Ever Meet!"

Grand Palladium White Sands Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium White Sands Resort & Spa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Barbara  on Apr 21, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
366 people found this review helpful

The Grand Palladium is a wonderful resort, the staff are so friendly and accomadating. The food was great, entertainment was amazing! There are 4 resorts to choose from during the day and evening. A very big resort but there are trains to get you from one resort to the next. So much to do, you will never be bored. Rooms are very clean. I can honestly say we have no complaints about this resort. We have been to many 5* resorts and by far this has been our best experience! The only thing I can suggest is to stay for at least 10 days if possible. So much to do but so little time. Can't wait to go back!

Arrival:
Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff offering us a cocktail. Bell boy came and took our luggage to our room and asked us to check out our room to make sure everything was fine before entering with our luggage.

Rooms:
Room was very clean and welcoming...very impressed!

Restaurants and Bars:
The staff at the restaurants and bar were so friendly, they made us feel so welcome and tended on us from the time we walked in til the time we walked out...Amazing service.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was nice, some rough spots but also smooth spots as well.
Pools were very clean, the only thing I noticed was the counter to pool bar was too high from the stools. Wasn't comfortable sitting up to the bar for me.
Grounds are so clean, staff are always cleaning. You would not find a speck around the grounds. Just beautiful!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots of activities but would suggest more water activities in the pool.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Vacation with fun and relaxation"

Grand Palladium White Sands Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium White Sands Resort & Spa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lorna  on Nov 1, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
317 people found this review helpful

This year was our third year back to the grand palladium, yes we love Mexico and the Grand Palladium. We had the opportunity to stay in the Royal section and I have to say this was fabulous......needless to say we have booked again for next spring....can't wait. This is an excellent resort from beach to food to fun and entertainment. Our countdown is on
Steve and Lorna Green
Don't forget to use the spa services were excellent

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We will be back"

Grand Palladium White Sands Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium White Sands Resort & Spa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Wayne  on Aug 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
314 people found this review helpful

Made a big mistake staying there for one week. This year it will be for two weeks. Loved it. Wayne Kulcheski & Rhonda Grant

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Most amazing"

Grand Palladium White Sands Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium White Sands Resort & Spa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  ken  on Jan 3, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2013 | Wedding | With Spouse/Partner
149 people found this review helpful

My wife and i stayed here at white sands for a week but should have been two weeks food and staff very helpful and always smileing. The train which takes you around the resort was a blessing as i have bad knees. we where there in 2011 not one complaint. in 2012 we tried another resort Wont mention which one but i will tell you here we come white sands see u in april 2013. thanks for the great time see you soon. Ken and Diane Barker ontario canada.

Room Number:
?

Room Block:
?

Arrival:
aug 2011

Rooms:
very clean

Restaurants and Bars:
all great

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
maicured to perfection

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
amazing variety

Other Comments:
both my wife and I work in the hospitality industry

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube