Sandos Playacar Beach Resort Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Mayan Riviera > Mayan Riviera Hotel Index > Sandos Playacar Beach Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Mayan Riviera Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tucan

5.0 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 9, 2014

Playacar Palace Resort

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 31, 2014

Secrets Maroma Beach

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 23, 2014

Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 9, 2014

Hidden Beach Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 13, 2010

Grand Palladium Colonial

4.8 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 30, 2014

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort  

Paseo Xaman-Ha Manzana 1, Lote 1 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico

"romantic getaway"
Posted by: melanie on Nov 9, 2014
see all reviews

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort Reviews
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort Pictures and Information
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort Mayan Riviera Mexico

#13
of 74 Hotels in Mayan Riviera

User rating 3.9

Based on 9 reviews

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort Information


In the edge of a splendid white-sand beach and within short distance from the picturesque center of the village of Playa del Carmen, near Cancún, lays the Sandos Playacar Beach & Resort. This luxury 5 star hotel is located at the heart of the Mayan Riviera, a protected area where the traces of the Mayan civilization are still visible.




Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort Reviews

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort Review: 3.9 of 5 9 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  3
Average
  0
Poor
  1
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (9)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (5)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 9 of 9

"romantic getaway"

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
User Rating:  Sandos Playacar Beach Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  melanie  on Nov 9, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
4 people found this review helpful

It was a lovely romantic getaway from the hustle and bustle of Canada as my husband whisked me away for a nice week stay at this beautiful resort. We stayed in the adults section and it was a trip well worth it. The resort has a very relaxing atmosphere but it is not as big as most hotels I have been to. The hotel has smaller rooms but they were still nice and the one we had was great as well. The hotel is on the beach, both the guests and the staffs made our stay a memorable one. I can say that some of the staff though need some customer care service classes to become better if not they could chase guests away from poor customer service. Not all of them are bad but some need some coaching to become better. Don’t get me wrong, the staff is nice just that they somehow lack the ability to pay attention to guests and that can be frustrating for some. Most of the time, the staff was interested in just selling different packages to you and then ignore the main reason you are there so it can be confusing sometimes. Still, the staff is nice and that’s what we wanted basically. The environment is clean, it is well taken care of so were the rooms. The food was excellent, we were surprised at the quality of the food but it was really great. The Asian restaurant was our best and so we enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Third time, better than ever!"

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
User Rating:  Sandos Playacar Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Diane  on May 7, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
225 people found this review helpful

This is our third stay here, on our other stays we were in the Riviera section, a bit far from the beach but very nice!! This time we were staying in the Ocean front Suite.
The service is very good, mostly if you are a Royal Guest (black wristband) you get extras. The food is always good, excellent room service. I really like to have a private pool with beds, this just beside the beach. We even had a pillow menu!!!
The first 2 stays we booked at the travel agency but last year we met a Royal Elite member who offer us the chance to rent is unit anytime or any amount of weeks we would like and this at a really low price. We had the choice of Ocean front suite, Hacienda or Jr. Suite. this at any Sandos resorts.
At the beginning we were really sceptic about this, we thought about it for a few months, you know renting an Ocean View Suite at $30 a day is very attracting. We were not to familiar about timesharing also. We finally contact him last October and decided to book an Ocean Suite from him and pay the AI at the resort on our arrival.
You know what? This is one of the best decision we have done regarding travelling. We have travelled many places in the Caribbeen and we paid a lot of $$ everytime. Now we could get the Royal benefits at a fraction of the price we could get via a travel agent. At that price we're attracted to go twice a year.
Sandos Playacar is a very nice resort and I think this will be our Home away from Home for a while.
The FUNIEST thing is we met a couple last year at the resort and they were back this year and guest what?? They were renting through the same Royal member we did, we had a good LAUGHT!!
Other benefits from renting from a member: You don't have to assist at any timeshare presentation and the best of it you don't have to BUY any upfront $$$ package like they are trying to sell you.
Our next trip will be Sandos Caracol next summer and back to Sandos Playacar next winter!!

Room Block:
Ocean Front

Rooms:
Royal Elite Ocean front suites are very popular, you should reserved at least 120 days in advance

Other Comments:
The Royal Elite member who I rent from has a Facebook page, you could find a lot of info.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Will recommend this resort"

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
User Rating:  Sandos Playacar Beach Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Denis  on Apr 7, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
212 people found this review helpful

Our experience at this resort is 4.5 out of 5. The white line painted on the sidewalk from one end of the resort to the pool before the beach is the #1 best idea. A resort of this size, and a couple of cocktails, you could get lost easily. Just follow the line to either read "Beach - Playa" up-side-up or up-side-down depending on the direction you are heading.
They have no timeshare people there. They offer you a Sandos inclusive Elite Club. This is offered by the hotel. DON'T! It is a form of timeshare. They always say otherwise but in other to pressure sale you something of better appeal, it is linked with some timeshare catalog and a 30 year contract. These numbers can change etc. but I won't go on as they do. Only recommendation, even if they tell you it isn't timeshare, don't get caught. I took 0,5 points off because of this but on that morning, the number would have been a lot bigger giving them a bad rating.
The WI-FI is far from being good. It is extremely slow. Skype won't work and even trying to book my plane seats....the airline website would not allow me to get on. Lucky for me, I was able to use one of the PC's they have for internet and that one worked fine. Still, don't offer WI-FI if it is of this inferior quality. I'll go to Starbucks!!!

Room Number:
9124

Arrival:
The check-in was done in a very timely matter. The staff was not rushing me through either which is great. Always some juice available at the lobby which is nice and refreshing even though you can also pick the lobby bar.

Rooms:
Very nice, large and clean room. It had a king size bed, couch and 2 chairs, shower and a whirlpool tub. The safe is included. The directions have you input a 4 digit number but after failling several times, we contacted maintenance. He informed me it required 6 digits to work and dis-regard the instructions. It worked properly with the right number of digits. The refrigerator was filled with 4 beers, 4 Pepsi, 2 7-up and 2 orange pop. It was re-stocked daily. A complimentary fruit plate was also left for us. No other surprises as we were told others in our area were getting. This is located in the "Adults only" section.

Restaurants and Bars:
We went to the buffet all the time. The Festival. This one had more choices than the other buffets. We didn't do any "A la carte" If you plan to do them, you need long pants and shoes for the French one.
We were always pleased with the selection and quality of the food at the Festival. We even ask about the way an item was made and Manuel, the chief chef came to our table to answer. As we complimented him on not only the item in question but all of the selection, he was very noble and simply thanked us and offered to be there for us if we needed anything else.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The adult section pool was great since it has lots of room vs the number of users. We didn't stay at the other pools which seemed busier and louder. They were all very well kept though...very clean.
The beach is very nice and devided in sections depending in which section or bracelet you are wearing. This allows you the chance to have a spot.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The evening shows are very good. We attended 4 out of the 7. 2 we missed simply because we were just too tired and the 1 we walked away from was the "beach party". It didn't attract us but another couple from our area that were vacationning at the same time did attend it and praised it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wish I had known"

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
User Rating:  Sandos Playacar Beach Resort Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  edward  on Jan 20, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
214 people found this review helpful

I had money stolen from my luggage WHILE it was under the care of the front desk. I get it, this can happen. That isn't the problem. Here is the problem:

When I go to the front desk and say 'you need to check the security camera in the luggage room, someone has emptied my wallet', is it really a good idea to deal with my concern by telling me "There have been a lot of problems with theft so we put a large sign on the luggage room door saying "don't store valuables in this room"? That is your answer? Exactly how am I supposed to see this sign if you stored my luggage for me? Odd policy.

If I ask for a secure place to store my luggage, why store it in a room that says "don't store valuables in this room"? Really? I SAID I NEED A SAFE PLACE FOR MY LUGGAGE. Was that confusing? Odd policy to store guests' valuable luggage in a room that says don't store valuables in this room.

If, after I pointed out I had no idea my luggage was being stored in a room that said "don't store valuables here" you assured me a "full investigation" would happen and got my contact info on three different forms, why haven't I been contacted?
The people that stole the money are going to be retired by the time this is finished! Again, odd policy on Sandos part to leave this discussion for forums instead of following up.

You know, I get it that in the 30 minutes before my bus arrived 20 minutes was spent with me filling out exactly the same information on 3 different forms and 10 minutes was spent with you guys searching my luggage (apparently that is ANOTHER policy). What I don't get is why you found indeed, there was no money but you STILL SENT ME HOME WITH NO MONEY AND NO WAY TO GET HOME. I got lots of deeply sorry and full investigation stuff. Saying sorry didn't get myself and my wife home safely.

I can buy a security camera for $90 in Canadian tire. Considering the front desk explained there have been lots of problems with theft (which is why the put this sign up, apparently), why hasn't Sandos put a camera in the security room?
Sandos thinks putting a sign on the luggage room door saying "don't put valuables in this room" is good policy (remember, guests dont even see the room, porters take the luggage to the room) but Sandos doesn't think it's a good policy to put a security camera in the luggage room? Seems like this policy is a good way to keep the theft continuing, no?

FOOD AND OVERALL RESORT
The room was nice. The resort buildings were great. The grounds and beach were great. The food was pretty good. The staff were very gracious (especially in rushing me out the door after I found I had been robbed). Even the thief was nice enough to leave the pouch containing the passports and car keys, the only thing they took was the cash. Should I say thanks?

Room Number:
9203

Other Comments:
GUEST TIP
If you want to be treated better than I was, indicate this review was useful to you. They might do things differently if enough people notice.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Lifelong Memories. We all miss it already!"

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
User Rating:  Sandos Playacar Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gregory  on Jan 6, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
215 people found this review helpful

This was an all-round fabulous visit. My wife and daughter, who turned 16 while we were there, we treated with kindness and humour and never any vulgarity. Not a single person approached us to sell us anything! The food was much better than any other all-inclusive we've been to: It actually had flavour, so one could get spicy if one wished. The dining rooms were excellent, too. Our room was very big and the showers all worked well. I loved the weightroom in the gym and the girls spent their time getting their PADI licenses from the onsite Divetilus (diving) centre. Great trainers, great equipment, and good diving locations made for the experience of a lifetime for both of them. I strongly recommend checking Divetilus out. The complex is very big, but it's not anything that can't be walked end to end. The "Meeting Place" always had something going on. Drinks were real, and good. A noisy burrow kept fenced in was amusing, but there were other unusual animals running free like agouti and coati, not to mention the usual iguana. Of course, part of it was mere appearance. The sounds of crickets & brooks and other outdoor friendly sounds were found to come from speakers hidden in the foliage around trees, but we only found that amusing. One thing I do abhor, however, is that the staff must wear those awful pseudo-Santa Claus hats throughout the Xmas season and, worse, on Xmas Eve and Day they wear (light) red scarves too. I personally would have found that unbearable. Another thing is that for my taste, the ambience is a bit tame, but one could certainly have fun if one wanted to. Beautiful, safe, clean, & pleasant — an all-round paradise (even if a somewhat artificial paradise).

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice but too large"

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
User Rating:  Sandos Playacar Beach Resort Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  John  on Aug 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
262 people found this review helpful

The resort was nice but the place is too large for someone w/a disability ( I cant walk far) the beer is only 4.6 and i dont like mixed drinks so I was screwed never again

Room Number:
2703

Room Block:
27

Arrival:
8/6/11

Rooms:
8/13/11

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"beautiful resort and harassment free"

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
User Rating:  Sandos Playacar Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sherry  on Mar 13, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
347 people found this review helpful

My 16 year old daughter and I just got back from this resort. We had a fabulous time and enjoyed the facilities immensely. The grounds, room and restaurants are all kept incredibly clean.

Staff where friendly when we needed them and blessedly not there when we did not. Because I was traveling without my spouse I was not bothered by the staff looking to sell packages with the resort ( I think it is funny that this attitude still prevails but it makes for a great "out" if you don't want to spend hours of your time listening to a sales pitch ).

We loved the fact that there was a lot of wildlife roaming about the resort grounds - capybara, coatimundi, iguanas and more birds than I could dream of. If you don't want to wake up early make sure you keep your window or patio door closed because there are enough bird calls to wake you early. I found it a great way to wake up.

Overall an excellent stay and we will definitely go back!

Your Arrival:
We arrived late at night. Check in was easy and the porters were very helpful. We had asked for a specific type of location and it was done just as requested.

Rooms:
We stayed in a junior hacienda suite which had a small shared pool amongst the 6 suites in the hacienda but always seemed to have it to ourselves. The haciendas are located centrally in the resort so are a short walk to anywhere without dealing with the noise of the pool area or the road area.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurant staff are very attentive and the restaurant managers often drop by the tables to ensure everything is as you wish. This is even true at the buffet restaurants where resorts often offer less service. Our favorite restaurant was the Brazilian one. What a great meal experience! Not only was the food excellent but the service style and structure of the meal made this one of my all-time favorite restaurant experiences. The buffets offered a wide variety of foods- all of which were good quality and enjoyable. The only restaurant we did not enjoy as much was the Italian buffet. The food was not quite authentic enough for me but then I should know by now that if you go to a different country take advantage of what they do best - don't expect Mexico to get Europe right. Having said that the service there was good and we tried a bottle of Mexican wine at the managers urging and I was pleasantly surprised.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is excellent. We had heard rumours of construction on the beach but it was all cleared up with no sign of it ever having occurred when we got there. The main pools are busy with activities and kids and we did not spend much time there. One problem with the beach and the pools is that too many visitors "reserve" a lounge chair by picking up a towel early in the day and leaving it on a chair. Anyone who does the math can see that there are not as many chairs as there are guests and this practice is ridiculous. I had one beach encounter with a family that "reserved" chairs at the waterfront and then left to go eat breakfast and came back and forcibly removed my belongings from the lounge chair. It got a little ugly - but they were ugly people. Another time at the pool we found a chair without a towel and shared it and a woman came up and claimed there had been a towel on it. She had 5 chairs reserved for her children who never got out of the pool. The hotel needs to deal with this in a better manner. I know it is more of a guest problem than a hotel problem but it was upsetting.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We visited Tulum and Xel-Ha one day on a tour. I would split this into two outings next time. We had enough time to look around the ruins and follow our tourguide but not any time to go down to the beach or any extras. Also all of the tours seem to take place in the morning so you are surrounded by tours. Xel-Ha really deserves a day all on its own. We loved it there!

Playa del Carmen is a short taxi ride away and very colourful and fun to explore. I have never felt as safe in a town in Mexico as I did here. Don't miss out on the night activity. Very colourful and everything stays open late.

Cozumel is a short ferry ride away but we honestly enjoyed Playa del Carmen more.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"They were soooo nice to our handicap son & all the teenagers"

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
User Rating:  Sandos Playacar Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  cindy  on Feb 5, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009 | Leisure | Family and Kids
317 people found this review helpful

We used Hospitality Sun & Fun for our electric wheelchair transfer.
Very courteous very effecient. They also rent Beach Wheelchairs which we wished we had known.

Rooms:
The Riveira rooms are some of the nicest our group has stayed in.They are
"huge" you could easily put a family of 6 in them if they would allow it.
Big jacuzzi bath tubs that open up right into your room if you want.
We had the most beautiful wheelchair accessible bath & shower. Huge!

Restaurants and Bars:
The teens loved the Sports Bar, Everything was wheelchair accessible except
the Disco. Every Buffet was themed. The steak in the Ala cartes was the
best I have ever had

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach comes & goes with the currents. Beautiful bright blue water.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activity staff knew all out teens by name, shows were great!

Other Comments:
We would all definetly go back to this resort and now that I know about
Hospitality Fun& sun, I know we can go to Cancun or the Mayan without
difficulty. They ever sell handicap tours.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We loved the staff here, very attentive and kind."

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
User Rating:  Sandos Playacar Beach Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bob from Chicago  on Dec 5, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
349 people found this review helpful

Let me first say that we are experienced travelers - this was our 25 trip to a resort, so we are not rookies. Traveling to Cancun airport from O'Hare was very easy. We flew on USA3000 which is a basic service provider, but was a little ahead of schedule which is nice when traveling to a warmer climate. Cancun airport is loaded with condo / timeshare sellers, so be aware. Lobby of resort was very large and beautiful which makes a good impression. Our concierge signed us up for a "presentation" which didn't happen because I had only brought a passport on this trip. Check-in was quick and getting from lobby to room was accomplished with the use of a golf cart.

Rooms:
We stayed in room 1205 which is in one of the buildings near the pool. The view from our ground floor patio was of a small group of trees and the adjacent resort. We faced somewhat east but the drapes did a good job of hiding the sunrise. There were holler monkeys either on the resort or nearby - anyway the are like roosters at sunrise! Just roll over and go back to sleep. The room was a little older and was showing some signs of wear, but not bad. Very roomy and laid out well. Maid service was excellent though time varied from day to day. Had a walk-in shower and adequate size bathroom. Not top shelf, but very serviceable.

Restaurants and Bars:
We were a little disappointed in that not all the restaurants were open, but we did enjoy the Steak and French restaurants. The Asian was ok and we did not get to the Brazilian steak house. The buffets were really good - a lot of sameness but the choices were varied and quite tasty. The clientele is mainly European (75% by my guess) so they have to cater to people on different time zones. The fish was excellent - perfectly fried. The beef, pork, and chicken were also quite good. Salads, deserts, and bread were plentiful and good. Food was probably in the top 3 places we have stayed.
Drinks are plentiful but weak unless you tell them to add more.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was excellent. Water was quite warm so we spent a lot of time there. You can walk south for several miles from the resort without seeing another resort - don't worry its safe and you can see some interesting things. Going north toward Playa del Carmen you do run into resort after resort (mostly RIU's) but you can walk all the way to town. It does get crowded at times but also worth evening out the tan. Pool near us was cooler than ocean, but you got used to it and was refreshing after laying in the 86 degree sun. Grounds are well kept and offer some special sights. There were a number of weddings during the week at several different locations. It can be quite a long walk from the haciendas to the beach. They do provide golf cart transportation but can only carry 8 at a time. It is not a flat resort either unless you are staying in one of the 2 buildings near the pool, bring comfortable walking shoes.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We have been to this part of Mexico several times and had done a number of tours previously. We did go to Isla Muajres / Garrafon Park and we would recommend doing so. It is a full day affair since you need to go into Cancun to catch the ferry. Traveling to Cancun takes 90 minutes each way.
There were a number of activities at the pool which were cute to watch. The night shows on the square were mainly kid oriented but were fun to watch. We did make one night show which was very good. There seemed to be a large number of kids (14 and under) at the resort - not overbearing but noticeable.

Other Comments:
If you are looking for an area of the world to visit, the Playacar area can't be topped. Lots of tours, shopping, great beaches, and warm water and weather. If you are a first timer, I would recommend it. This resort is not bad if you have a family - it is fairly small and offers a lot for everyone, and I think a good value. If you are not a family and are looking for a wilder experience, this is not the place. There are other resorts in the area that are huge (2500+) rooms that are so sprawling, I do not know how people get around. This place may seem large at first but is easy to learn and in 2 days you will know your way around. We loved the staff here, very attentive and kind. A lot of people that come to the resort are not English speaking (but the staff is)so communication can be tricky.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube