Grand and Club Marival Hotel Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Puerto Vallarta > Puerto Vallarta Hotel Index > Grand and Club Marival Hotel reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Puerto Vallarta Hotels with Similar Ranking

Riu Palace Pacífico

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 9, 2011

Palladium Vallarta Resort and Spa

4.3 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 7, 2012

Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 16, 2011

Occidental Allegro Nuevo Vallarta

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 24, 2010

Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta

3.0 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 23, 2011

Dreams Villamagna Resort

3.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 8, 2010

Grand and Club Marival Hotel  

Blvd Nuevo Vallarta y Paseo Cocoteros s/n, Nuevo Vallarta 63573, Mexico

"Awful, not even a 2 star"
Posted by: vaughn on Feb 20, 2014
see all reviews

Grand and Club Marival Hotel Reviews
Grand and Club Marival Hotel Pictures and Information
Grand and Club Marival Hotel Puerto Vallarta Mexico

#1
of 32 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta

User rating 3.3

Based on 12 reviews

Grand and Club Marival Hotel Information


Marival Resort & Suites Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit is a 5-star, all-inclusive beachfront property, located in the Mexican state of Nayarit.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Grand and Club Marival Hotel Reviews

Grand and Club Marival Hotel Review: 3.3 of 5 12 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  2
Average
  2
Poor
  1
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (10)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (7)
With friend (1)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Solo
1 - 10 of 12

"Awful, not even a 2 star"

Grand and Club Marival Hotel
User Rating:  Grand and Club Marival Hotel Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  vaughn  on Feb 20, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2013 | Leisure | Family and Kids
32 people found this review helpful

Sorry to say I went and stayed here,I probably received the worst customer service ever! They were to busy trying to sign people up into a pushy timeshare sale(which later at the pool I heard multiple stories of couples being scammed out of thousands of dollars,now having to vacation here because they are stuck with a contract,sold on lies,promised things cannot get and forced to pay fees or threatened with collection agency's))
The food at the buffet was comparable to hospital food or staff cafeteria . The pizza restaurant was always empty, the cooks were in no rush to replenish. The ala carte restaurants were always booked up forcing us to eat the pizza scraps.
The rooms were old and outdated and the staff for the most part not friendly. I have stayed at many resorts in Dominican Republic,costs rica, Mayan Riviera and South East Asia. I will never return to Marival and am truly disappointed I wasted my hard earned money and little time off here.
Take it from me,stay at a hotel chain with a reputation: Palladium,Riu, Barcelo or Bahia Principe to name a few. You will be disappointed ,and whatever you do do not attend a timeshare scam there, from what I hear you will get ripped off.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not Happy"

Grand and Club Marival Hotel
User Rating:  Grand and Club Marival Hotel Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rick&Sue  on Jan 28, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2014 | Business | With Group
34 people found this review helpful

When we booked the trip we asked for a king bed and a room above the ground floor, when we checked in we were given double beds on the ground floor. We then asked to be moved but never were. The room stunk and since we were on the ground floor we couldn't leave the patio door open to get fresh air.

The staff was really friendly and the food was okay.

What really irked us was all the smoking. They were smoking in the open dining areas, around the pool, in the pool and the lobby were the free wifi area was.

The day before we left my wife and a friend were assaulted over chairs they were sitting in by the childrens pool. The response from the management was smile you're on holiday and they said other fellow is a really nice guy.
Needless to say we will never return.

Room Number:
1448

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This is a great hotel and this was a great vacation (West jet Vacations)"

Grand and Club Marival Hotel
User Rating:  Grand and Club Marival Hotel Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kevin  on Mar 24, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
158 people found this review helpful

I have been to about 5 all inclusives in Dominican, Mayan and PV, and this one rates up there with the best. It's hard to have a horrible time on any of these, what with the beach and pools and all, and so the negative comments I record should be taken in perspective as areas that could be improved, but by no means did they spoil my vacation or my good time.

Positive comments-The hotel staff here are top notch. Never dealt with any staff with an attitude, they always went out of their way to help. I never felt like they were holding out better service for a tip, but I know tips were appreciated, and a $2 tip at the bar or on the buffet with a meal, or in the rooms, went a long ways. I read in the literature that gratuities are included in the price of the all inclusive, but I still felt compelled to leave $2 for the housekeeping staff, to tip for meals, and if I was at one of the poolside bars for any extended time. the bartenders there work really hard and deserve a tip I figure.

Disappointing things:
-There are 2 gift/souvenir shops on the resort with most of the amenities but no liquor. One may wonder why I would want to buy liquor with an all inclusive, but the bars don't open until 11 AM and I consider it a convenience to have some liquor in my room. On the 3rd day I took a bicycle tour and found a strip mall about 10 minutes away and was able to buy some liquor, problem solved, but other resorts have a liquor store right on the resort, not sure why any resort wouldn't do this, it seems like a guaranteed money maker.

-In room safe-available for a modest charge of $14 for the week long stay, unfortunately it's equipped with a key rather than a combination

-In room fridge-stocked with water and soft drinks but no beer

-Wireless internet-Available and coverage fairly good, download rates are decent, but very expensive. ($4 for 15 minutes)-Many other resorts I have stayed at this is free.

The pools:-They have an adults only pool which is an excellent idea, but no swim up bar, the swim up bars are located at the pools that are shared with children


Room Number:
1746

Room Block:
Grand

Arrival:
Watch out for shady time share salesmen at the airport. One of them claiming to be the West jet Rep diverted us to the parking lot to a designated stall to wait for our bus. After about 20 minutes in the hot sun I went back inside to double check, and found the real West Jet rep. We had already missed the shuttle van but he arranged for a cab to take us to the resort. This was only about a 1/2 hour diversion but it was a half hour extra ewe could have been on the beach, and thus annoying. The real West jet reps wear a uniform that says West jet on the sleeve. Look for this to avoid these type of annoyances.

Rooms:
-There are 2 sides to this resort, the Club side and the grand side. If you enjoy the night life ask for a room on the Club side, if you prefer something quieter ask for a room on the Grand side. We stayed on the grand side and I don;t know this for certain but have been told tat the rooms on thee club side, especially next to the pizza bar, can be a little noisy at night. Also it looked to me like the rooms on the Club side were equipped with key locks, vs the rooms on the Grand side where we stayed, were equipped with card locks.

-In room safe-available for a modest charge of $14 for the week long stay, unfortunately it's equipped with a key rather than a combination, so one more thing you need to carry about with you, and risk losing. If you do lose the key, I'm sure the valuables can still be recovered, but not sure of the cost for this. I kept the key in my shoe and never lost it. but a combination lock is the way to go for in room safes

-In room fridge-stocked with water and soft drinks but no beer, this is extra, and this isn't the hotel's issue but something I should take up with West Jet vacations, as many all inclusive's in the Mayan stock the fridge with beer. This is an important feature for my vacation.

Restaurants and Bars:
4 a la carte's and the buffet as well as the snack bars. No danger of going hungry. I think the snack bars were 1100-1000 daily and the lobby bars were 1300-2400.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
-They have an adults only pool which is an excellent idea, but no swim up bar, the swim up bars are located at the pools that are shared with children, and at this resort there seemed to be a lot of children around. They tended to hang around the swim up bar with all their assorted water toys, order non alcohol drinks, spill them in the water and on each other (unattended children left alone at the pool will resort to horseplay). This was not that big a deal, but it seems to me the adult only pool should have a swim up bar, rather than the pool shared with children. Staff were very quick to keep unsupervised children out of the adult pool, but it's unfortunate those travelling with children can;t respect the resort rules, and insist on bringing their children to the adults only pool areas. With at least 3 other pools where children are allowed, you'd think this would be a no brainer. This is not the resort's fault so much as it is a lack of respect for the rules by adults who ought to know better.

While there were peddlers on the beach selling blankets, jewelry etc, they were very polite and not pushy at all.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The only one I managed to get to was the bicycle tour. You don't need to wait for an organized tour,you can rent the bikes any time during the day and take them wherever you want (free). I took the bike tour and because someone on the group had a child we wound up cycling to the zoo. Not my first choice of things to see but it was a fairly nice ride. After this I took the bikes out a few more times and just went on my own. Stay on the right hand side of the road and watch for traffic. Most drivers very polite and share the road but cyclists don't necessarily have the right of way so be careful, especially at intersections.

Other Comments:
I felt completely safe leaving the resort during the day. I wasn't hassled by anybody and the only thing limiting some extensive walks off of the resort, was the intensity of the hot sun. I also did several walks along the beach in the morning shortly before sunrise, and again nobody bothered me.

Only other disappointment was at the airport on the way home. I have never been to an international airport before where it was impossible to cash an American express traveller's check. I was unable to do this at any of the duty free shops or even the money exchange booth. Take cash, I guess, or use a credit card

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome"

Grand and Club Marival Hotel
User Rating:  Grand and Club Marival Hotel Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gabe  on Apr 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
252 people found this review helpful

Over the past week that I have been there, I have met some of the coolest people i would ever get to meet.

Room Number:
405

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Blown away"

Grand and Club Marival Hotel
User Rating:  Grand and Club Marival Hotel Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bulvindar  on Jan 12, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
296 people found this review helpful

by all the great food, the service, espicially Maria the concierge she took care of us for anything we needed, and we would also like to mention Yolanda Quintero for booking our restuarant reservations she was very friendly and helpful. The staff are unbelievable at the resort, the resort was spotless. The staff were constantly maintaining the resort.
The food was out of this world. We enjoyed every meal. We took our two kids they were nine and thirteen and they loved it. We played mini golf, swam , went boogie boarding, and took out the bikes. We enjoyed walking the beach each day. We got pictures taken by Papa Razzi Mike did a great job taking our family pictures by the sunset. We reccommend this hotel to any family with children or just couples. This is paradise. We will go back now every two years. We enjoyed every minute of or vacation, we can't wait to go back!

Room Number:
6106

Room Block:
6

Arrival:
Jan.4

Rooms:
very comfortable and nice with a view of the ocean and balcony.

Restaurants and Bars:
World class fodd

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very nice beach, pools were big and fun, grounds were well maintaned and upgraded.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Mini golfing was fun with the kids. There was beach volleyball, tennis, basketball, and biking,

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"O.K for the Price"

Grand and Club Marival Hotel
User Rating:  Grand and Club Marival Hotel Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sam  on Jan 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Business | Family and Kids
284 people found this review helpful

Stayed at this Resort between December 10-17,2010. OVerall impression was good however it is a four star in my opinion. The Italian and La Pergola resturant very good however the buffet had repetative food with not the greatest taste. The other resturant by the Pool was not that great either. Freindly staff. Great hotel for Kids. Wahtchout for Time Share pressure.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Unforgettably wonderful"

Grand and Club Marival Hotel
User Rating:  Grand and Club Marival Hotel Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  carol  on Oct 28, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
273 people found this review helpful

This was our 4th time back to the Marival. The ocean view room was spectacular! We were celebrating my Mom's birthday and room service surprised us one night with a beautifully decorated piece of birthday cake complete with a candle!! The beach front is fabulous. I read some reviews about being charged for a boogie board ???? don't know what they're talking about! Absolutely no charges for us - unless it was returned bent in half. No line ups at bar, in fact, no line ups anywhere. Pool chairs and clean towels were always available. The pool staff made the trip for my 12 yr old. She loved their joking and entertainment and care and special attention! Food was good - except for seafood night - but I don't eat seafood - so we headed upstairs to the Italian restaurant. UNBELIEVABLE!!!! Live piano music, fancy table settings - 3 course delicious meal. Incredible service everywhere we went. No one rolling eyes at us or being rude. NOT AT ALL! (I'm not sure what the people in the other reviews did to deserve rolling eyes.)Great choice of pools. One adult, one kids and 2 others!

Arrival:
Little bit of a line up for about 10 minutes, but that's okay. We came off a bus - what do you expect? Watch out for the time share approach. That's one definite thing I DO NOT APPRECIATE. Let me enjoy the hotel - forget the time share waste of time!!!!!

Rooms:
Not high end - but comfortable. Never really spent a whole lot of time there anyways!!

Restaurants and Bars:
Don't drink so the occasional coke at the bar was super! Didn't do the nightclub scene.
Restaurants were very good. Service was always great! Favorite night was Mexican night - they decorate the whole place outside with banners, and tables and decorations. Food is incredible. Especially the desserts - candy floss, candy apples, it was like a giant party! Entertainment - live mariachi bands, and dancing from all around Mexico. Perfect night!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Excellent choices!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots of activities to choose from. Boogie boards, bike rides, rock climbing for kids, swimming, yoga, aerobics, volleyball ( in and out of the water). pool staff VERY friendly.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It's our Fifth time back to this resort. We Love it!"

Grand and Club Marival Hotel
User Rating:  Grand and Club Marival Hotel Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Doris  on Sep 3, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
317 people found this review helpful

We Love coming to this resort, because our experience has allways been a good one. Our rooms have allways been cleaned well and we have never gotten sick. Yes the Staff is overworked, and unfortunatle they live mostly on tips for there pay is not verry good. So I can not see the workers being snotty with you unles you treat them with disrespect. I have also been to a lot of All Inclusive resorts and I can see the frustracion on the workers face when they scrape off the plates because of so much un-eaten food. People think just because it's all inclusive you're allowed to throw away the food. I always have one rule. If you tip,and you try to speak the Language you will be well serve. Five bucks to you will be a meal for the week for a family in Mexico. How many Star buck capuccinos do you drink in a week????
Our gils love all the activities that they have. Activities in the kids club the wall climbing to surf bording wich we were never asked to pay for anything. Oh and I can't forget before the shows start at night they allways include the kids to participate on stage which my girls looked forward to. It must have been a bad week of people who think they can act like idiots and say what hapens in Mexico stays in Mexico. Which I think that's what gets the workers so mad. That's why we never go on Spring brake. Too many Drunks! I Love this resort and the activities Staff is allways friendly and wellcoming you to join in on the fun. Especialy in the pool.
It's funny when I see people that do not speak Spanish and they expect them to speak English .Hello!!!! We are in Mexico. Most of them do speak English but it would be nice to see people at least try. Then Maybe they will be treated with the respect that everyone deserves. So when some one tells me that they got treated badly I allways ask my self. What did you do?
By the way I'm from Mexico But I've lived in Canada for over 20 years. I love my country very much And I hate it when people abuse the people especially when I know how hard they work to survieve down there. I hope this review will change peoples minds about going there. We are actually going back in a few months.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Marival Disappointing!"

Grand and Club Marival Hotel
User Rating:  Grand and Club Marival Hotel Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jay  on Mar 31, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
315 people found this review helpful

Stayed at Marival Mar.14-21.
Decor, furnishing, architecture, landscaping was disappointing. Reception, lobby, bar areas could be found in any mid value hotel in Seattle or Vancouver. Very little in way of Mexican themes, art or architecture.
Room very disappointing. Looked to be 20 yrs, old. Door had old style key lock (which you had to carry around your neck when you left) instead of newer magnetic card. Room furnishing similar to any good Motel 8, bed was short (I'm only 5' 10"), no fan in bathroom (was like a sauna after showering), blow dryer wall mount kept falling off with each use, and had to pay $2/day for use of room safe. The rooms need a serious upgrade and renovation.
Biggest complaint was NOISE in the room in the evening. Stayed on 2nd floor. Main floor/ lobby area had a large bar/sitting area that was used every night 9-11:30 for small bands, karaoke, singing, games ect.. Speakers were turned high and it was so noisy that it was impossible to sleep or relax. Seemed like the speakers were in the corridor outside the room. Many people in the building bought and used ear plugs, which they sold in the shop. Not what I paid for.
The entertainment was not of a high standard and the building, stage and seating that it was presented in had a high school feel to it.
Marival positives- good food, drink and service, excellent pools and beaches. Marival is very good for families with children and has an excellent water area for them.
Overall, it was OK during the day, but not a good value in my estimation. Last year I stayed at the Iberostar in Cancun for about the same money (maybe $400-500 more for the two of us) and it was exceptional compared to Marival.

Your Arrival:
Arrived after a quick 20 min. trip from the airport. Tour guide on the bus urged us to take various excursions from the hotel and reminded us to tip if we were happy with the service.
Reception area was clean, basic and quick. was surprised that we were being charge $3.00 a day for the room safe.
When we completed the check in, a representative sat us down to give a overview of the resort. This was just a push to sign up for a time share presentation. Extremely annoying and a waste of our time!

Rooms:
Clean but basic! No fan in bathroom, bed was short and the furnishings were motel 6 quality.
Noise in the evening was atrocious, with music, games, karoeke, ect. playing full volume on the main floor below and echoing up through the cement building. Many guests resorted to buying earplugs, available at the shop, to enable them to sleep. This is not what a 4/5 star resort is supposed to be!

Restaurants and Bars:
OK! Breakfasts were fine as were the restaurants.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Good!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Didn't participate in any activities.

Other Comments:
I wouldn't come again, as, for similar money, there are far better resorts available.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Don't bother.........go somewhere they want people to come back too!!!!!!!"

Grand and Club Marival Hotel
User Rating:  Grand and Club Marival Hotel Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alison  on Feb 9, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
315 people found this review helpful

Terrible...we checked in and was immedietly brought away by a lady to explain their suites you could buy into. We then got to our room supposedly with a king bed...NOT, 2 double beds, how cozy. The room smelled horendous!! We looked out of our window to stare at the straw theatre roof. No view at all. It took alot of tipping to certain workers to get any kind of service. We did finally get a new room with a bit of a view of the pool area. Again, told we would get a king bed...NOT!! At least it smelled better. Very simple funishings. I got up early one morning and wanted coffee. It took me a 1/2 hour to get that from the closed buffet. No coffee is provided in your room, and only water. No pop or bar drinks. The buffet had some good food, if the pans weren't empty. Service again needed tipping. I had bad meat in the buffet and spit it out. Then again in the alacarte resteraunt had bloody prawns and steak that tasted and smelled terrible....that night I had it coming out both ends. Not great!! There is so much more I could say, but I think you all get the picture. The pool area was nice and a great beach, but the resort all in all was so not a 4 or 5 star!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube