Grand Coco Bay (formerly Reef Coco Beach) Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Mayan Riviera > Mayan Riviera Hotel Index > Grand Coco Bay (formerly Reef Coco Beach) reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Mayan Riviera Hotels with Similar Ranking

Playa Sonrisa

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 9, 2010

Catalonia Playa Maroma

4.6 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 25, 2011

RIU Tequila

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 19, 2012

Gran Bahia Principe Coba Resort

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 29, 2012

RIU Lupita Resort

4.0 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 3, 2013

Riu Playacar Resort

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 2, 2011

Grand Coco Bay (formerly Reef Coco Beach)  

Calle Costera Norte S/N, Lote 1 Mza.7 de la Region 6 | Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico

"Go Anywhere Else!"
Posted by: al on Sep 8, 2011
see all reviews

Grand Coco Bay (formerly Reef Coco Beach) Reviews
Grand Coco Bay (formerly Reef Coco Beach) Pictures and Information
Grand Coco Bay (formerly Reef Coco Beach) Mayan Riviera Mexico

#49
of 74 Hotels in Mayan Riviera

User rating 2.5

Based on 2 reviews

Grand Coco Bay (formerly Reef Coco Beach) Information


Nestled on a lengthy stretch of beach, just a short walk from the picturesque town of Playa del Carmen, you will enjoy our personalized service, the privacy you desire in a resort destination and the entertainment of one of the best night life’s the Mayan Riviera has to offer.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Grand Coco Bay (formerly Reef Coco Beach) Reviews

Grand Coco Bay (formerly Reef Coco Beach) Review: 2.5 of 5 2 reviews
Excellent
  0
Very good
  2
Average
  0
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (3)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
With Spouse/Partner (1)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 3 of 2

"Go Anywhere Else!"

Grand Coco Bay (formerly Reef Coco Beach)
User Rating:  Grand Coco Bay (formerly Reef Coco Beach) Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  al  on Sep 8, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
211 people found this review helpful

This was the worst trip of my life. Greeted with a time share pitch that never ended until you wasted half your day - they said it was in the contract? What Contract ? - they are schemers for sure - they threatened to cancel our reservation - and were were already there, in the room. Anyway food terrible, service, terrible, drinks? - terrible. Did I have a terrible time? Yes. It was like waking up in a bad dream that never ends - Sorry, but it was that bad. I've been to mexico a few times and never had a time like this. Skip this hotel at all costs. You will thank me later.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Smaller Resort and Wonderful Staff"

Grand Coco Bay (formerly Reef Coco Beach)
User Rating:  Grand Coco Bay (formerly Reef Coco Beach) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ron  on Feb 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
346 people found this review helpful

Spent 2 weeks at the Grand CocoBay. I'm not sure what travellers expect for accomodations...we are generally satisfied with a clean room,attentive staff,decent menu (although a little repetetive) hot/cold water and a quiet working AC,,,our expectations were met. Bartenders (Gilberto,Beau) Bellboy (Victor)catered to every need and answered all questions. 1st time to Mayan Riviera and will go back someday. Do and see Xel-Ha, Xplor, Tulum, Ek Balam, Xcaret, Coco Bongo's (A MUST)....list goes on and on. Book these through the resort from your tour agency,,,See Maria (Sunquest Rep)she will point out all the hilites of the area and again cater to your needs. She's a sweetheart and a cutie too! (right Thomas/). If you book through the resort they are responsible for you.
This is our 3rd time in Mexico (Puerto Vallarta and Ixtapa) and only the Grand CocoBay Resort has done the following. Each time we walked out the front door and requested a taxi,a resort security staff wrote down the taxi number and your room number in a log book and also asked as too where you were going. I'm too assume that if you did not return upon a reasonable time they would start to look for you.
I have one knee replaced and am waiting for the second. My son picked the
smaller resort due to the shorter walking distances to bar,pool,beach etc and Grand Cocobay suited us just fine!
Treat the staff with the same respect you would expect ,tip them on occasion cuz' they do work long and hard hours for very little money.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had another great time in Playa del Carmen"

Grand Coco Bay (formerly Reef Coco Beach)
User Rating:  Grand Coco Bay (formerly Reef Coco Beach) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Terry  on Dec 12, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
282 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
we were first in line off the bus and they were ready for us so it was a smooth check in. The desk staff were friendly and helpful anytime we needed them.

Rooms:
Rooms were clean, nothing special, but no complaints either. The walls were a little thin, but we only noticed that once.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was pretty good in the buffet restaurant and at the poolside cantina. I especially liked the nachos and salsa. The 2 a la carte restaurants were very good. We could eat at each one once a week, but you had to reserve in the morning.
Service was great but at the bars it was a little slow at times, but not bad. The lobby bar was the slowest in the evenings, but it was the best place for a cappuccino. The Disco was good, not too loud and a wide variety of music, not just dance.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Nice beach, but there are boats parked in front- not a big deal to me. you could walk along it all along Playa del carmen. The pool was nice and had a swim-up bar.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The animation staff is pretty good and there are lots of things to do throughout the day if you are into that sort of thing. We only saw one show in the evening and it was quite good.
Ten minute walk to 5th avenue where there is lots of action and some excellent restaurants.
50 pesos ($5) for a cab ride if you want to take one to the other side and walk back or vice versa. You have to try a slice of Renso Pizza on 5th.

Other Comments:
This was our first time at this resort. All in all its a great deal. Would I go again? I'm already booked for Feb.
PM me with any questions.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube