BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Mayan Riviera > Mayan Riviera Hotel Index > BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Mayan Riviera Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tucan

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 28, 2010

Hidden Beach Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 13, 2010

Playacar Palace Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 16, 2011

Secrets Maroma Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 17, 2010

Grand Palladium Colonial

4.8 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 10, 2011

Gran Bahia Principe Akumal

4.7 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 13, 2012

BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya  

Carretera Federal Chetumal- Puerto Juarez km 300, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico

"we had fun but.............."
Posted by: Mike on Feb 27, 2014
see all reviews

BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya Reviews
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya Pictures and Information
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya Mayan Riviera Mexico

#11
of 74 Hotels in Mayan Riviera

User rating 3.6

Based on 10 reviews

BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya Information


The hotel BlueBay Grand Esmeralda boasts very large swimming pools, special facilities for children, a spacious spa and luxurious rooms and suites as well as business meeting rooms

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya Reviews

BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya Review: 3.6 of 5 10 reviews
Excellent
  2
Very good
  4
Average
  4
Poor
  1
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (11)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 10

"Nice, Relaxing, but Food was Meh"

BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya
User Rating:  BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jane  on Feb 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
350 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
Our arrival was one of the two negative things about our stay. As soon as we'd checked in, an employee flagged us down to "make restaurant reservations". We were tired after a day of flying, but decided to quickly make a reservation anyway. Turns out that by "restaurant reservation" he meant "listen to my awful, pressuring sales pitch for a timeshare/executive membership". 10 minutes later we were desperate to get away from the guy! Finally we made it clear that we weren't going to sign up for anything, at which point he pretended his computer was broken and that we'd have to talk to the concierge to make our reservations. Clearly, he was lying -- he never intended to make reservations for us. Anytime after this that we happened to speak with a concierge, she'd notice that we hadn't signed up for their sales pitch, and would try to sell it to us all over again -- ugh! I came to Mexico to relax, not to deal with this kind of underhanded, terrible marketing!

Rooms:
Our room was lovely! We had a standard room with a king size bed and a nice shower where two can easily fit. But the best part was the location. It was on the first floor, so the balcony was a walkout right onto the beach. If you have a chance to request a room ahead of time, ask for this kind of location!

Restaurants and Bars:
The bars were great - especially the swing bar! Really good service, and an excellent atmosphere.

The restaurants were dissapointing. The food was good, it just wasn't memorable or anywhere near 5-star quality. The a-la-carte restaurants were a bit of a joke, as it wasn't easy to get reservations, but once we did the food turned out to be worse than at the buffet. I didn't mind it so much (it was definitely palatable), it was just disappointed after hearing stories of the amazing food you normally get at these kinds of resorts.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Lovely grounds! The pool was excellent, uncrowded, relaxing. The beach was beautiful. Plenty of space to relax! I didn't swim in the ocean much because there were quite a bit of rocks and seaweed, but I did walk along the beach a lot...it was beautiful!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great resort"

BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya
User Rating:  BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tammy  on Mar 11, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
382 people found this review helpful

I was so pleased that we picked this resort . From the minute that we arrived we were treated like royals. Our room was not ready so they took our bags and told us to go and enjoy the resort with all that it had to offer until our rooms were ready. Great rooms , very mordern and clean and beautiful. We had a swim up room and it was amazing. The staff there were so nice and friendly and the bartender at the vip is out of this world. What a character. Would go back in a minute .

Restaurants and Bars:
Great food, we didnt have one bad meal. I cant beleive how fast they were at clearing up the table .

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was not the best but the pools made up for that

Other Comments:
We have been all over the world and this place, this stay, and these people were by far the nicest and accomidateing that we have ever might

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"not what it was bragged up to be"

BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya
User Rating:  BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Eric  on Sep 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
344 people found this review helpful

We stayed at blue bay from Aug 13 to aug 20, 2010 and were not overly impressed. It was our first time in Mexico and were disappointed. The people there were excellent as far as the waiters, concierges etc. were concerned but once we turned down their time share deal the love affair was over. The sales people pulled a complete 180 after we rejected their plan and thank god we did. My wife and i were both cut by the tiling in the pools as they were cracked and chipped . It seemed the owners were taking the money out but not putting any back in.The food overall was very good. However we were not impressed with all the screaming kids all the time.

Arrival:
Good reception but only after 15 minutes they were shoving the time shares at us

Rooms:
Excellent

Restaurants and Bars:
Very good overall

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very poor beach, probably one of the worst on the river maya from what I heard

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Minimal, Rather boring

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very disappointed!"

BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya
User Rating:  BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  dee  on Dec 6, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
336 people found this review helpful

We have been to several resorts, Jamaica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, 3 times to the Miyan, and Australia so we have something to compare to. We are not prudes my any means & in our travels have even stayed in hostels. With this resort we were told it was a 4+ star, but would actually place it at a 2+ .
I have read other reviews from others who stayed during the same week, so they obviously had better service then us. We were to stay at the GSP but b/c of the mishap a week before we left, we opted to change resorts. Which we found out was a huge mistake and should not have changed.
There were 7 of us traveling, some for the first time to an all-inclusive.

The front desk and concierge were rather useless as anything we asked for was either ignored or flatly refused without any other suggestions.
Our representative for our courier was never present and the information session was just a push on excursions.

The food-serving staff are what made the stay worthwhile and as a family we had a lot of fun with out visit. The resort was not the biggest nor smallest but our rooms were so far from the beach. We really like all the animals throughout the resort, they were a real joy to watch!!

Would we go back. Not at this time, as there are too many resorts available that are less expensive and higher quality. I have further points on the resort below.

Arrival:
We had requested a ground floor due to medical problems (back, knee, heart) We were flatout refused, saying there was nothing available and that the buildings had elevators. However, the elevator worked only on the first night. Asked several times to be moved, but were refused.

Rooms:
The rooms were very small and balconies almost non-existant. The showers leaked b/c the shower doors would not close. The maid service was exceptional!! Our rooms were very clean and we had a suprise on our beds whenever we came back to the rooms. However, we are very good tippers.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffets were higher quality then the al la cartes and found whenever we were allowed to book, they were full anyway. The fact that one of the buffets were right beside our building saved us a lot of walking. So getting to and from the further al la cartes and restaurants along with the beach was very difficult. Whenever we asked for a 'cart' to take us, it was a very long wait (30-45 minutes)so found we ended up walking anyway. And when the carts came, they would only take us 1/2 way.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pools were nice, small but clean. But NO shade anywhere and what little shade there was did not suffice as my brother got 2nd degree burns on his shins, even though he was sitting in the 'shade'.
Big disappointment that there was no swim-up pool bar.
Found walking to/from the beaches, the smell from the mangrove ponds were sometimes over powering with the stench that came off of them.
One part of the beach did have a sewage like consistancy which we had to walk through to get to the diving boats. Not very appealing. But if you walked 50-100 feet down the beach is was clear enough to enter the water.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"BlueBay Grand Esmeralda worth a visit!"

BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya
User Rating:  BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Robert  on Feb 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
343 people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at the Blue Bay Grande Esmeralda (BBGE) from Jan.27th, 2011 to February 10th and had a wonderful time. For those never having been there, the resort which we feel falls between a 4 to 4.5 star rating is along the Mayan Riviera coastline, about a 20 minutes drive north-east of Playa Del Carmen. Did we like the place? Let's just say that this is our 2nd trip back to BBGE in as many years and we'd go back there a 3rd time in a heat beat!



Room Number:
1419

Room Block:
1

Arrival:
We flew direct from Ottawa to Cancun on West Jet and the flight itself was quite pleasant. We've flown other airlines/charters before and this was our 1st time with West Jet. Great airline, good selection of food/drink while en route and we'll be using their airline for sure in the future. We arrived at Cancun about 11AM and assumed because it was a Thursday that things would move quickly – wrong! Seems other tourists had the same idea so out of the blue there was like about 6 flights arriving one after another. Immigration and Customs lines were murder and we waited about 1 hour solid along with about 300 other people at the carousel to get our luggage.

Once out of the airport we got shuttled off to BBGE with no problems. Check-in at BBGE was pleasant enough. No major hassle encountered. For any 1st timers to this region – be wary of the Time-share marketing people who have a desk next to the main counter. They will approach you asking if they can reserve dinners for you which will end up being an introduction to their time Share stuff. Find out who is your building concierge and do all your dinner and tour planning through them instead.

Rooms:
The accommodations are quite adequate. Our beds were comfortable, the bathroom always shipshape. The staff work their butts off to keep everything as clean as possible. Hint: A $2.00 tip left on the bed each morning before you go out goes a long way to ensure it stays that way. As I mentioned earlier, the buildings closest to the beach are bit older so most of the rooms have older tub/shower units. The newer buildings further back are graced with larger bathrooms, double sinks and gorgeous, huge ceramic/glass walk-in showers.

Restaurants and Bars:
We can honestly say that we did not have one bad meal in our 2 weeks stay there. I don't care what other persons may have written in the past about this topic, the food at BBGE is 5 star+ all the way! I can say that the food there was as good or better than any restaurant we've eaten at in Ottawa. With 8 separate restaurants on the resort, if you can't find something to suit your palette then you've got a serious problem.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds at BBGE are immaculately kept. Staff and other workers constantly seen, sweeping walkways, trimming back greenery, raking the beach, cleaning the 2 huge pools, etc. They have a great kids-club/baby-sitting service there and we never heard anything but praise from young parents there. The resort is so big that even with 100+ children at any given time, you rarely see or hear them.
The only real negative comment we'd have is the beach area. The Mayan area was severely pounded about 3 years ago by a hurricane and this has taken a toll on the beach. They are slowly reclaiming beach area which was lost in the storm and although adequate enough, is not up to par with what Cuba and/or Dominican may have to offer.

Other Comments:
BBGE is a fairly large large resort spread out over many beautiful acres. It will require a fair bit of walking to get from one place to another but there are several electric shuttle carts running back and forth all day so you never have to wait too long if walking is not for you. There are 8 separate buildings for accommodations. Buildings 1, 2, 3, 4 are the oldest but closest to the beach while 6, 7 and 8 are furtherest from the beach but newer. Buildings 6,7,8 are also closest to the main lobby and most of the restaurants are in that area too.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent stay at BlueBay Grand Esmeralda"

BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya
User Rating:  BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Susan  on Mar 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
338 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda from February 12 to February 26, 2011. We travelled with Can Jet and Nolitours was our representative at the hotel. They did an excellent job.

Room Number:
7328

Room Block:
7

Arrival:
We had a late flight with Can Jet Airline from Winnipeg and arrived at the Cancun Airport at around 9:30 pm and were in our room at the Blue Bay at around 11:30 pm. No problems arriving in Cancun and we were on a bus with around 20 of us and just had to drop off two people at the Ocean Maya which was right next door to us. Cold beer waiting on the bus, what could be better. Check in at the hotel was quick and we were shuttled to our room and luggage was delivered shortly thereafter.

Rooms:
Rooms were very spacious and we had a king size bed. Great size bathroom with walk in shower. Hairdryer and soap, shampoo, conditioner were stocked. Large size closet with safe and mini bar which was stocked upon our arrival and was stocked daily and sometimes twice a day.

Restaurants and Bars:
We found the buffet restaurant for breakfast and lunch was great. We usually went to the main buffet for breakfast and the beach buffet for lunch. Always alot of food and very clean and helpful staff. The beach bar by the buffet was very good and very quick but the swing bar was a bit slower and not enough people helping out. No set way of helping customers and people getting served who had not been waiting long. You had to remind them who was there first. They needed to have one bartender help the waitress and a bartender on each side of the bar with a helper. Otherwise it was good. The ala carte restaurants were awesome. We ate at the French restaurant 3 times, Italian, Oriental, Steakhouse 2 times each and Seafood and Mexican 1. I definitely would recommend the French restaurant as the menu changes daily. It is very good and the atmosphere is wonderful. There is a bar between the Italian and French restaurant and outside the restaurants is a gorgeous area for having a late night drink before and after dinner.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We had a pool which is located by buildings 6,7 and 8 but did not use it very much. We are not pool people so we made the walk down to the beach everyday. There is a shuttle that you can catch to take you down but it is around a 10-15 minute walk. It was good exercise and we usually packed our bag and went down at 8 am and came back at 4 pm. The pools all looked to be very well kept as well as the grounds. The beach was not perfect but we already knew this coming in to this resort. We are not swimmers but just enjoy wading into the water to cool off. There is one section of the beach just for this as the rest of the beach has a bit more rocks in it but you could wear aqua shoes and be okay. Other than that the beach was good, lots of chairs, and shade trees to be found.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on the Coba Mayan Encounter which was fabulous. Alberto our driver and tour guide picked us up at the hotel at 7:10 am and we only had to pick up 2 other people from one hotel so we were on our way quite quickly. We arrived at the Coba ruins around 9:30 am and started our trek into the ruins. What a sight. We started our big climb around 11 am and were back at the bus before noon. After that we were off to a Mayan village for rapelling into the cenote, ziplining and canoeing as well as a great lunch. What a fabolous tour and we were back at our hotel at 5:30 pm.

We also went on a snorkelling tour at Puerto Morelos. What a gorgeous place this is but we did not have much time to tour the area. We snorkelled at two of the reefs, had lunch and maybe about 15 minutes to do some shopping. We arrived back at the hotel around 2:30 pm. We did get to see a huge (six foot) stingray, what a sight.

Other Comments:
I found this resort to be very good, clean and everyone was helpful. Would recommend this resort and would definitely go back again. It was a large resort but it sure did not feel like it even at the restaurants as it was never over filled.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful"

BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya
User Rating:  BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kelly  on Apr 28, 2011  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
336 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
6115

Room Block:
6

Arrival:
We arrived at Blue Bay at 11:30am. Went to check in. We were told to come back in an hour. We found the Sportsbar and had a Bacardi white rum and coke. We went back to reception. Told 1/2 hour. Went and had lunch. Back to reception. One of our rooms was ready so he gave us keys and told us to wait 20 minutes for the second. Our bags were at the room before we were. The maid was just finishing our room. Perfect. Put on the air conditioner that worked superb. Unpacked, changed into swimsuits and went to pool.

Rooms:
We were in building 6, ground floor, rooms side by side as we requested. We were only about 50 yards from the pool, buffet and towels. Perfect. The rooms were beautiful, clean and had superb air conditioning. We wanted a cot for our son, asked a couple times, then went to our Nolitours rep Christian, and a cot was there in 20 minutes. We got fresh towels every night and always had plenty of ammenities. The shower was beautiful, large and tons of hot water, almost to hot. There are some rooms that have personal pools off the terrace, upgrade available.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was simply amazing. We ate at all the ala cartes except the seafood and managed the steakhouse twice. The service was superb. There was anything you wanted on the buffets. There was a steakhouse, mexican, french, oriental, italian and seafood. Every building has a conceirge that makes your reservations. We went every morning at 7:00 and always got 7:00 supper.
There were several bars with a great selection of alcohol, international brands also. We had baileys, bacardis and their slushy drinks were great. They don't supply straws so I took my own. They deliver drinks to your chair. Tips don't mean to much unless they are pesos. We used American money but not as grateful. Government is trying to control American dollars in the country.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is the only downfall I could find. The water is not the greatest. A bit rocky and dirty looking. Could walk out a long ways and still only be up to your waist. Still the Carribean Sea and way better than any I have found in Ontario. Lovely sand, chairs and drinks, what more is there. We walked about 10 minutes to the left of Blue Bay(looking at the water) and got to a swimming hole. Cold water, crystal clear and amazing. You have to see it. The pools are great. Always were warm. Only 4ft deep all over. We never had trouble getting a chair anywhere. There is not much shade but can always find a little. There are umbrellas in the room that you are welcome to use. The grounds are beautiful, lush, and completely filled in. Beautiful flowers and palm trees. It is a walk to the beach, but they do have shuttles and if you really need one, the conceirge in building 1 will call them. They all have intercoms with them.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't participate in any activities. My son and friend did parasailing and loved it. We were there for relaxation. One night in the sportsbar they had electric bull riding. The vendors set up on Saturday nights. Be prepared to barter.

Other Comments:
Overall it was a great experience for our first time to the Mayan Riviera and it definitely won't be our last time there. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very Important to View before you go on Vacation"

BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya
User Rating:  BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bella  on Dec 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
206 people found this review helpful

When we arrived to Cancun of Mexico it was no Apple Vacation Representative and we start moving ahead in case to find the bus of transfer. On our way we fund the Fanjet rep and ask him where Apple Vacation is located and he show to us.
Finally we on the bus and our vacation start moving to Riviera Maya, but very slow, because on our way we stopped 5 times to the other resorts and spend 2 ½ hours until we hit the “Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda”
Here we go…we arrived and get up from the bus and rep. send us to reception without “welcome”
I was very disappointed and tired from the long trip on the bus. Well from the bus and Apple Vacation is pointed how much it will be liable to tip the bus driver.
Finally we at the reception desk and the room are ready to move in, but they do not have anything higher then ground floor or you may add $30.00 per night to upgrade and have higher floor.
When I see the 20-30 coati mundi around our building and start panic. My husband cools me down and closed the door.
The room service was extreme doing job and overall at the resort very clean.
In the room we have had broken air-condition and until the end of our staying in the room we were frozen. The TV wasn’t working and dyed totally then we were cold the front desk before we went to the beach and when returned no one never checked to our room. I did cold again and finally they changed to another one, but the limitation on the using the remote control only for changing the channels and if you need lower the volume then pick up your butt and do manually…
Okay the big day is beginning…we are at the beach and our BIG disappointment, we cannot use the sea because we have to travel 40 feet until we hit the water over knee. We were looking for better beach at neighbor’s resorts and was surprised that very nice beach next to ours and maybe next year we will make reservation to this hotel with nice beach.
In room service was prompt and they did good job, but every days if you not catching the housekeeper then you leave without morning coffee and missing towels.
In restaurants you can make reservations 24 hours before but not much variety. I would say better safe food and we didn’t get sick.
The oriental restaurant is okay, but French you may try and presentation is okay.
Late evening Entertainment – is average, and many people expect better and live the place in the middle of premier.
At the resort is not much umbrellas and only 6-7 over entire beach and if you sleep until 8:00 am then you will stay on the sun entire day.
This resort is very old and I would give around 3-3 ½ stars just because is clean, but no more.
Will never go back and would not recommend-- to anyone!

Room Number:
3111

Arrival:
US 3000 11/26/11

Rooms:
3111

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very pleased with resort would recommend"

BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya
User Rating:  BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  suzanne  on Jan 27, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
176 people found this review helpful

Resort accomodation was great better than expected,food was excellent.

Room Number:
8141

Room Block:
8

Arrival:
jan4-18

Rooms:
great

Restaurants and Bars:
very good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
well maintained

Other Comments:
would return

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great food, great staff, nice sandy beach but ocean water not that nice!"

BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya
User Rating:  BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Francine  on Apr 12, 2012  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
169 people found this review helpful

Was at Bluebay from March 17th to 24ty, 2012. Food was amazing, 3 different places to have breakfast ( & it was served from 7 a.m. until 11a.m.) - all the a la cartes were great - never ate so good for a week!! Staff were all friendly, helpful & couldn't do enough for you.

Room Number:
Can't remember

Room Block:
Building 8

Arrival:
We were with Cameleon Club - made us walk to Building 6 to check in - we were warm & tired after the flight - didn't appreciate the walk in the heat( leader didn't even wait for people who were walking slow) There was no line-up in the lobby . I would have rathered check in there.

Rooms:
Rooms are beautiful & clean. We changed to buidling 2 to be closer to the beach but were kept awake with the sound of disco music from 11 p.m. to 1 a.m. so we changed again to building 5, which was very quiet & close to beach.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food amazing!!! Always good although I personally didn't care for Mexican night in the buffet - I don't like Mexican food & that's all there was. Also, where only adults sit, I found it too dark.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach itself is fine - you can walk for a long time in both directions. There are sandbags on the beach but I didn't see that as a problem. But the water is murky & shallow. The bottom is swampy with rocks. You have to walk out really far to get to clear water. So this is a resort I would suggest for a pool person, not for a person who likes to swim in clear, ocean water. We went to Akumal Beach one day by local bus - it took about 1 1/2 hours to get there but we were able to snorkel there & saw large sea turtles, stingrays & some beautiful fish - the water was crystal clear there. We also went to Playa del Carmen one day & swam in the water there. Again, the water was clear there, big waves though the day we were there.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I wasn't impressed with the night entertainment, except for the dinner shows - the one we went to was great!

Other Comments:
The resort is big. The lobby & main buffet are by buildings 6, 7 & 8. if you are staying in Buildings 1 to 5, you basically don't have to come up to the lobby section until supper time, as the restaurant & bars are open there until 5 p.m. - there are also 2 a la cartes down there - the Steakhouse & the seafood - all are great! The pools & the beach are there so to me., that's the place to be!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube