BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Mayan Riviera > Mayan Riviera Hotel Index > BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Mayan Riviera Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tucan

5.0 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 9, 2014

Playacar Palace Resort

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 31, 2014

Secrets Maroma Beach

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 23, 2014

Hidden Beach Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 13, 2010

Grand Palladium Colonial

4.8 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 30, 2014

The Royal Playa Del Carmen

4.8 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 31, 2014

BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya  

Carretera Federal Chetumal- Puerto Juarez km 300, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico

"AWFUL"
Posted by: Misty  on Jun 21, 2017
see all reviews

BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya Reviews
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya Pictures and Information
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya Mayan Riviera Mexico

#12
of 77 Hotels in Mayan Riviera

User rating 3.5

Based on 11 reviews

BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya Information


The hotel BlueBay Grand Esmeralda boasts very large swimming pools, special facilities for children, a spacious spa and luxurious rooms and suites as well as business meeting rooms

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya Reviews

BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya Review: 3.5 of 5 11 reviews
Excellent
  2
Very good
  4
Average
  4
Poor
  2
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (12)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
With Group
11 - 12 of 11

"Wonderful"

BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya
User Rating:  BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Kelly  on Apr 28, 2011  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
1210 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
6115

Room Block:
6

Arrival:
We arrived at Blue Bay at 11:30am. Went to check in. We were told to come back in an hour. We found the Sportsbar and had a Bacardi white rum and coke. We went back to reception. Told 1/2 hour. Went and had lunch. Back to reception. One of our rooms was ready so he gave us keys and told us to wait 20 minutes for the second. Our bags were at the room before we were. The maid was just finishing our room. Perfect. Put on the air conditioner that worked superb. Unpacked, changed into swimsuits and went to pool.

Rooms:
We were in building 6, ground floor, rooms side by side as we requested. We were only about 50 yards from the pool, buffet and towels. Perfect. The rooms were beautiful, clean and had superb air conditioning. We wanted a cot for our son, asked a couple times, then went to our Nolitours rep Christian, and a cot was there in 20 minutes. We got fresh towels every night and always had plenty of ammenities. The shower was beautiful, large and tons of hot water, almost to hot. There are some rooms that have personal pools off the terrace, upgrade available.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was simply amazing. We ate at all the ala cartes except the seafood and managed the steakhouse twice. The service was superb. There was anything you wanted on the buffets. There was a steakhouse, mexican, french, oriental, italian and seafood. Every building has a conceirge that makes your reservations. We went every morning at 7:00 and always got 7:00 supper.
There were several bars with a great selection of alcohol, international brands also. We had baileys, bacardis and their slushy drinks were great. They don't supply straws so I took my own. They deliver drinks to your chair. Tips don't mean to much unless they are pesos. We used American money but not as grateful. Government is trying to control American dollars in the country.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is the only downfall I could find. The water is not the greatest. A bit rocky and dirty looking. Could walk out a long ways and still only be up to your waist. Still the Carribean Sea and way better than any I have found in Ontario. Lovely sand, chairs and drinks, what more is there. We walked about 10 minutes to the left of Blue Bay(looking at the water) and got to a swimming hole. Cold water, crystal clear and amazing. You have to see it. The pools are great. Always were warm. Only 4ft deep all over. We never had trouble getting a chair anywhere. There is not much shade but can always find a little. There are umbrellas in the room that you are welcome to use. The grounds are beautiful, lush, and completely filled in. Beautiful flowers and palm trees. It is a walk to the beach, but they do have shuttles and if you really need one, the conceirge in building 1 will call them. They all have intercoms with them.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't participate in any activities. My son and friend did parasailing and loved it. We were there for relaxation. One night in the sportsbar they had electric bull riding. The vendors set up on Saturday nights. Be prepared to barter.

Other Comments:
Overall it was a great experience for our first time to the Mayan Riviera and it definitely won't be our last time there. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent stay at BlueBay Grand Esmeralda"

BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya
User Rating:  BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Susan  on Mar 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
1192 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda from February 12 to February 26, 2011. We travelled with Can Jet and Nolitours was our representative at the hotel. They did an excellent job.

Room Number:
7328

Room Block:
7

Arrival:
We had a late flight with Can Jet Airline from Winnipeg and arrived at the Cancun Airport at around 9:30 pm and were in our room at the Blue Bay at around 11:30 pm. No problems arriving in Cancun and we were on a bus with around 20 of us and just had to drop off two people at the Ocean Maya which was right next door to us. Cold beer waiting on the bus, what could be better. Check in at the hotel was quick and we were shuttled to our room and luggage was delivered shortly thereafter.

Rooms:
Rooms were very spacious and we had a king size bed. Great size bathroom with walk in shower. Hairdryer and soap, shampoo, conditioner were stocked. Large size closet with safe and mini bar which was stocked upon our arrival and was stocked daily and sometimes twice a day.

Restaurants and Bars:
We found the buffet restaurant for breakfast and lunch was great. We usually went to the main buffet for breakfast and the beach buffet for lunch. Always alot of food and very clean and helpful staff. The beach bar by the buffet was very good and very quick but the swing bar was a bit slower and not enough people helping out. No set way of helping customers and people getting served who had not been waiting long. You had to remind them who was there first. They needed to have one bartender help the waitress and a bartender on each side of the bar with a helper. Otherwise it was good. The ala carte restaurants were awesome. We ate at the French restaurant 3 times, Italian, Oriental, Steakhouse 2 times each and Seafood and Mexican 1. I definitely would recommend the French restaurant as the menu changes daily. It is very good and the atmosphere is wonderful. There is a bar between the Italian and French restaurant and outside the restaurants is a gorgeous area for having a late night drink before and after dinner.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We had a pool which is located by buildings 6,7 and 8 but did not use it very much. We are not pool people so we made the walk down to the beach everyday. There is a shuttle that you can catch to take you down but it is around a 10-15 minute walk. It was good exercise and we usually packed our bag and went down at 8 am and came back at 4 pm. The pools all looked to be very well kept as well as the grounds. The beach was not perfect but we already knew this coming in to this resort. We are not swimmers but just enjoy wading into the water to cool off. There is one section of the beach just for this as the rest of the beach has a bit more rocks in it but you could wear aqua shoes and be okay. Other than that the beach was good, lots of chairs, and shade trees to be found.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on the Coba Mayan Encounter which was fabulous. Alberto our driver and tour guide picked us up at the hotel at 7:10 am and we only had to pick up 2 other people from one hotel so we were on our way quite quickly. We arrived at the Coba ruins around 9:30 am and started our trek into the ruins. What a sight. We started our big climb around 11 am and were back at the bus before noon. After that we were off to a Mayan village for rapelling into the cenote, ziplining and canoeing as well as a great lunch. What a fabolous tour and we were back at our hotel at 5:30 pm.

We also went on a snorkelling tour at Puerto Morelos. What a gorgeous place this is but we did not have much time to tour the area. We snorkelled at two of the reefs, had lunch and maybe about 15 minutes to do some shopping. We arrived back at the hotel around 2:30 pm. We did get to see a huge (six foot) stingray, what a sight.

Other Comments:
I found this resort to be very good, clean and everyone was helpful. Would recommend this resort and would definitely go back again. It was a large resort but it sure did not feel like it even at the restaurants as it was never over filled.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube