BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Mayan Riviera > Mayan Riviera Hotel Index > BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Mayan Riviera Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tucan

5.0 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 9, 2014

Playacar Palace Resort

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 31, 2014

Secrets Maroma Beach

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 23, 2014

Hidden Beach Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 13, 2010

Grand Palladium Colonial

4.8 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 30, 2014

The Royal Playa Del Carmen

4.8 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 31, 2014

BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya  

Carretera Federal Chetumal- Puerto Juarez km 300, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico

"AWFUL"
Posted by: Misty  on Jun 21, 2017
see all reviews

BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya Reviews
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya Pictures and Information
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya Mayan Riviera Mexico

#12
of 77 Hotels in Mayan Riviera

User rating 3.5

Based on 11 reviews

BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya Information


The hotel BlueBay Grand Esmeralda boasts very large swimming pools, special facilities for children, a spacious spa and luxurious rooms and suites as well as business meeting rooms

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya Reviews

BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya Review: 3.5 of 5 11 reviews
Excellent
  2
Very good
  4
Average
  4
Poor
  2
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (12)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
With Group
11 - 12 of 11

"we had fun but.............."

BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya
User Rating:  BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mike  on Feb 27, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
876 people found this review helpful

Upon returning to the land of ice and snow I would like to touch base and share our experience with our recent WestJet vacation.

Room Number:
5206

Room Block:
5

Arrival:
We were thrilled for a 5 day getaway at Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda. We were greeted by wonderful staff and our luggage stowed until check-in time. We were advised about a welcome dinner and set off to the beach via the sports bar. Our first disappointment was the foul smell at the sports bar, hoping it was an anomaly we enjoyed our day and were pleased with the staff who took our bags to our room where we had wine and fruit waiting for us. The room was clean and tidy upon arrival.

Rooms:
Despite the wonderful food and friendly staff at this resort we cannot overcome one large factor that overshadowed the entire vacation. We finally discovered on our final night why we had so many bites on our bodies. We thought it was mosquitoes (we rarely saw any). To our surprise, we found that our bed was riddled with bedbugs. We have returned with beautiful photos, tanned skin, relaxed but very itchy. There is no doubt that we were blessed with these bugs as we pulled back the sheets and saw insects in our bed.

Restaurants and Bars:
Our second disappointment was with the lack of welcome dinner and show that were promised at 730pm. We had left Ottawa very early, were hungry, and chose not to wait for an already significantly late "welcome dinner". The buffet dinner we chose however was once again with pleasant food and excellent staff so our disappointment was somewhat alleviated, although we may have ate more than our share.

Our stay was very pleasant despite the broken toilets and putrid smells at two of the bars. The sports bar is horrible. Poorly lit, and the smells at the bar area were brutal. I would suggest, that the bar be closed for a day, and a proper and thorough cleaning be done. Ordering there will make you not want to go back for a second drink.

The beach bars were great, and the staff everywhere were; for the most part excellent.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was weak. Alot of mangrove debris, making the water appear black. Looking past the obvious hurricane damage and the "fiberglass bagged" false break waters, its not too bad.

the pools were awesome, warm, clean, and staff eager to go get you a drink.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Our orientation the following morning with the BestDay staff was late but friendly and entertaining. We chose to book an excursion with the BestDay representative Tim Coutu who was excellent to deal with. We were also encouraged by Circle One staff Lupita to attend a "non time share" presentation. The presentation which was supposed to take 90 minutes was much longer than anticipated. We were however impressed with the property and signed on until we realized what was being offered was changing faster than the approval on our credit cards and eventually turned down the offer though the reversal to the credit card remains unprocessed. We were advised that the reversal could take 10 business days. In this day and age of instantaneous credits and debits.... really? Holding 5000k usd in their account for up to 10 days to earn interest. We really aren't silly rubes that don't understand what they are doing.

Very little night life. We appreciated as we had come to relax.

We took the snorkel excursion to Akumel, and saw the ruins in Tulum. That is highly recommended.

Other Comments:
We were encouraged to visit the neighboring lagoon though fortunately chose not to as other guests on the excursion advised us of an armed robbery on the beach that same afternoon.

The departure from the hotel was far too early to meet our flight. Departing at 3 hours ahead is a little excessive. Although it seems you have saved some money by not allowing a bunch of us access to breakfast. You really should consider moving your flight by an hour. The good news however, once again the BestDay representatives were amazing as we left our phone in the van and it was returned to us within 30 minutes.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"AWFUL"

BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya
User Rating:  BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Misty  on Jun 21, 2017  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2017 | Leisure | Family and Kids
597 people found this review helpful

This place is a scam BlueBay Grand Esmeralda! They nickel and dime you once you get there for small things like internet, pool towels, No Discounts for excursions. The building we were in (5) smelled like mildew and neither elevator worked while we were there. I spoke with someone we meet that was there a week before us and they stated that they haven’t worked since before they were there.
The excursions, them self and the guides were wonderful!
I hope you like walking (we do), but it's too much to walk when you are trying to relax and enjoy a vacation! They have shuttles, but will not stop for anyone except the people who work there!
You have to make reservation 24 hours in advance for any restaurants! Mostly always booked.
None of the restaurants have air conditioner, so you didn't want to enjoy your meals at all! Rush in and out! The pools were nasty and had food, beer cans and cup floating in they daily. Hardly saw they pool attendants clean they pool area while we were there trying to relax. The beach is small and the water was murky. We didn’t even want to get in the water at the resort.
The hotel manager was super nasty to several people that we witnessed!
When checking out 10 mins before our shuttle arrived, I was told I needed to bring our towels up to the front desk! I had to walk over a mile back to the room to get the towels! I was told after I got back that wasn't the towels he needed (he wanted the pool towels, that we turned in to the pool attendant the day before) I was yelled at by the manager and told that we could not leave until I gave them towel cards back or pool towels back (which we turned in at the pool or we had to pay! He told me that the pool attendant should have given us a towel card back; this is their SCAM they are running. This happened to the people that checked out after us as well! He the manager was so nasty and rude; they never give us cards back ever, when we turned them in each day. The manager told me we were not allowed to leave the property or get on the shuttle until they received towels or pool cards! I felt like my family was being held hostage for some nasty pool towels! I told the manager he could check our luggage for the crappy towels, but he said no! After my husband paid for pool towels we Already returned, we were able to leave and were almost late for our flight back to the states! I told the manager that we were going to be late for our flight and his exact words were (He Didn’t Care)!
I would have rather stayed at a Super 8 Motel that is so called Resort!!

Room Number:
5328

Room Block:
5

Arrival:
Attacked by the white shirts (3) of them as soon as we got off the shuttle.

Rooms:
Room was ok, balcony door handle fell off twice. Looked like it had been reattached several times.

Restaurants and Bars:
Par, no A/C so we didn't want to stay and enjoy our food.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Ground are beautiful, pool nasty with beer can, food and drink cups floating in then daily. Beach not much of one and murky water

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
NONE

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube