Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Puerto Vallarta > Puerto Vallarta Hotel Index > Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Puerto Vallarta Hotels with Similar Ranking

Riu Palace Pacífico

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 9, 2011

Palladium Vallarta Resort and Spa

4.3 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 7, 2012

Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 16, 2011

Occidental Allegro Nuevo Vallarta

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 24, 2010

Grand and Club Marival Hotel

3.3 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2014

Dreams Villamagna Resort

3.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 8, 2010

Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta  

Av Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico

"The Grand Lyin'"
Posted by: Shelley  on Feb 23, 2011
see all reviews

Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Reviews
Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Pictures and Information
Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Puerto Vallarta Mexico

#8
of 32 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta

User rating 3.0

Based on 3 reviews

Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Information


The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta is a magnificent resort located on Mexico's famed Banderas Bay offering guests opulent one and two-bedroom accommodations along with a host of lavish amenities in a breathtaking ambiance of seaside allure, outdoor adventure, and glamorous relaxation.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Reviews

Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Review: 3.0 of 5 3 reviews
Excellent
  1
Very good
  0
Average
  0
Poor
  2
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (2)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (1)
Solo
With Group
1 - 3 of 3

"The Grand Lyin'"

Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta
User Rating:  Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Shelley  on Feb 23, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
288 people found this review helpful

There are tons of beautiful resorts with nice staff elsewhere, and you can stay anywhere, right? You should stay anywhere else. We will never stay at the Grand Lyin' again and will post our negative comments on the internet wherever possible. It's a shame this gorgeous, contemporary, lushly landscaped resort fails so miserably.

Reservation/concierge methods are unprofessional and deceptive. It is completely dishonest to let prospective patrons feel that there is any chance whatsoever of attaining an Ocean Front Unit at the resort when the units are completely filled with Timeshare Owners. As Ocean Front Timeshare Owners in Maui, HI, we should have a comparable unit at the resort with our trade. We also deserve to have this confirmation made to us BEFORE we make a reservation at the resort so that we might book elsewhere when our requests can't be met.

The Mayan Resorts make it seem as if such units may be available, "depending on the inventory," when there never was the remotest possibility that there would indeed be any Ocean Front Units available at all. Even some owners there could not get an Ocean View. This is the second time this has happened to us when reserving with the Grand Mayan and we won't be giving them a third chance to ruin our week of vacation.


Fellow Americans will reserve pool chaises with their towels the night before. That was a new one for us. Also, guests from the other Mayan resorts are shuttled over to the Grand Mayan, so it is difficult to find a place to sit around the pools.

Pack plenty of prozac. We were frustrated and upset the entire week of our stay. I spent every night in sleepless frustration with no help or apology from any manager or supervisor. Even when we complained when insincere timeshare calls asking if we were enjoying our vacation were ignored, no remedy or apology was offered. We remain extremely angry, frustrated and humiliated from our experience.

This is a plastic, soulless, cliche of a mega-resort. Really too bad, because it is gorgeous My advice is to ask yourself what you really want from a trip to Mexico.

Room Block:
Marina View New Bldg

Arrival:
Our check-in staff member went into some sort of act, pretending to go backstage to check on cancellations when he knew there was not a chance we could get the unit we wanted -- at any time during our week. We even offered to take a smaller unit for a chance of an Ocean Front unit. We did everything we could do to confirm an Ocean Front unit before, during, and after our arrival, short of the monetary bribe that some guests felt forced to offer. Before departure, we emailed the resort's concierges and were never told that all the Ocean Front Units were booked by owners so that we might be able to exchange elsewhere. This is deceptive and dishonest.

Rooms:
Two bedroom suite absolutely beautiful; however, you will not be able to use the balcony and plunge pool unless you secure an Ocean Front Unit. No sun in the back and lots of noise.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Daily noise from loud lawn equipment and pounding jackhammers, plus the terrible views of a parking structure and street did not allow us to enjoy our balcony unit or our plunge pool, so these features are not really applicable if you cannot use them. There was never any sun and needless to say, sunset, available from our unit. The "Marina View" in the "New Building" eventually offered to us at check -in offered no view of a Marina whatsoever. Only the bobbing tops of sailboats appeared in the distance. It all would have been funny if it weren't so humiliating, frustrating, annoying and deceptive.

The Lazy River and the wave pools need big machines to run them, and they make a lot of noise all day, including a siren that sounds remarkably like our tornado warnings here in the midwest. The activity pool has a DJ with a loudspeaker that you can here all over the resort. I love some great music and fun activities, don't get me wrong, but only when I want them. Not all day long. The only quiet is on the beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:

Buy fresh fish just out of the ocean from the little seafood shop in Mezcales.

Other Comments:
Go to a resort that will guarantee you an Ocean Front unit (if that is what you want) before you leave home.

We stayed the following week at the Villa Varadero, just down the beach. Smaller, fewer Americans, beautiful ocean views, very reasonable rates,charming.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Deceptive sales practices"

Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta
User Rating:  Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  L.  on Oct 5, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
264 people found this review helpful

We toured on the grounds of the Grand Mayan property last year and were enchanted with the Lazy River feature. Thought it would be great to bring grandkids on future stays. We expressed our delight with that particular feature as we signed on the dotted line. Big mistake. When we arrived for our first stay this year we were informed that we had purchased the other Mayan property that did not include the Lazy River water feature. With a stright face they produced our contract and showed us the print at the top that had Mayan Palace for letter head. Naive, dumb, trusting you name it. We were never told that there were separate Mayan properties. We were never taken to the Mayan Palace so why would we think we were not singing on to the property we looked at. Still infuriated. I call this deceptive sales practices.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Grand Mayan warning"

Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta
User Rating:  Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Scott  on May 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
309 people found this review helpful

At the constant urging of an alledged tour guide, I went and looked at the Grand Mayan resort. While it is beautiful, I caution other visitors to beware! I was promised $200 cash USD, a box of cuban cigars, and two bottles of tequila, none of which did I receive.
My tour agent, a very pleasant young man named Seth, told me that people who bring qualified buyers in to look at the resort are paid $700! I was impressed with their sales presentation, and was kind of enthralled with the idea that they claim if you can't use your unit, they will rent it for you and mail you a check! Talked to some owners, who flat out said that was a lie, and they have NEVER received a rent check.
End of the year, supposedly all those vultures will be gone from the airport, where they badger you to come see this or that and all but never accept no for an answer. I'm told the toursism department is ending those practices!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube